DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 7-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,453,848. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application claim is merely broader than the patent claim. Here, all of the elements of application claims 7-26 are found in patent claims 1-16. The difference between the claims is that the patent claims include many more elements and thus are much more specific. Thus, the invention of claims 1-16 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of application claims 7-26. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since application claims 7-26 are anticipated by patent claims 1-16, the claims are not patentably distinct.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-12, 14-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grego et al. (Pub. No.: US 2014/0335496).
For claim 7, Grego et al. (hereinafter, Grego) discloses a multi-layer biomimetic organ model (e.g., fig. 5A, 5B) comprising:
at least two channel slabs (fig. 5A, upper and lower slabs), each comprising at least one microchannel 502, 518 (e.g., Table 1 for dimensions on the micron scale);
at least one chamber slab (fig. 5A, where chamber 506 is located) comprising at least one chamber 506 exposed at each of a first surface of the at least one chamber slab and a second surface of the at least one chamber slab (e.g., fig. 5A, 5B); and
a gel layer (e.g., para. 12) disposed in the at least one chamber (e.g., para. 44) of the at least one chamber slab, the gel layer having a first side facing at least one microchannel of a first one of the at least two channel slabs and a second side facing at least one microchannel of a second one of the at least two channel slabs,
wherein the at least one microchannel in each of the at least two channel slabs are in fluid communication through the gel layer (para. 44, fig. 5A, 5B).
For claim 8, Grego discloses the multi-layer biomimetic organ model of claim 7, wherein an internal surface of the at least one chamber, between the first surface and the second surface, is uninterrupted (e.g., fig. 5A, 5B).
For claim 9, Grego discloses the multi-layer biomimetic organ model of claim 8, wherein the gel layer is anchored on the internal surface of the at least one chamber (e.g., para. 44).
For claim 10, Grego discloses the multi-layer biomimetic organ model of claim 9, wherein the gel layer is anchored on the internal surface of the at least one chamber based on a desired contraction time of the gel layer (e.g., para. 46).
For claim 11, Grego discloses the multi-layer biomimetic organ model of claim 7, wherein the at least two channel slabs and the at least one chamber slab individually comprise glass, metal, alloy, plastic, wood, paper, or a polymer (para. 55).
For claim 12, Grego discloses the multi-layer biomimetic organ model of claim 7, wherein one or more of the at least one microchannel has a width from 0.01 nm to 1 cm (Table 1).
For claim 14, Grego discloses the multi-layer biomimetic organ model of claim 7, wherein the gel layer is embedded with tissue or cells (para. 44).
For claim 15, Grego discloses the multi-layer biomimetic organ model of claim 14, wherein the tissue or cells comprise basal stromal tissue or basal stromal cells (para. 28).
For claim 16, Grego discloses the multi-layer biomimetic organ model of claim 7, wherein the gel layer comprises extracellular matrix proteins selected from the group consisting of collagen, fibronectin, laminin, hyaluronic acid, and mixtures thereof (para. 9).
For claim 17, Grego discloses the multi-layer biomimetic organ model of claim 7, wherein the gel layer further comprises at least one type of macrophages, dendritic cells, microbial cells, fibroblasts, endothelial cells, blood monocytes, pericytes, stem cells, immune cells, muscle cells, neural cells, or mixtures thereof (para. 9).
For claim 18, Grego discloses the multi-layer biomimetic organ model of claim 7 further comprising a layer of cells contacting the first side of the gel layer (para. 9).
For claim 19, Grego discloses the multi-layer biomimetic organ model of claim 18, wherein the layer of cells coating the first side of the gel layer comprises epithelial cells (para. 9)
For claim 20, Grego discloses the multi-layer biomimetic organ model of claim 19, wherein the epithelial cells comprise pulmonary epithelial cells, hepatic epithelial cells, or renal epithelial cells (para. 6).
For claim 21, Grego discloses the multi-layer biomimetic organ model of claim 7 further comprising a layer of cells contacting the second side of the gel layer (para. 6).
For claim 22, Grego discloses the multi-layer biomimetic organ model of claim 21, wherein the layer of cells contacting the second side of the gel layer comprises endothelial cells (para. 6).
For claim 23, Grego discloses the multi-layer biomimetic organ model of claim 7, wherein the gel layer is perfused only by fluid flow from one or more of the at least one microchannel disposed in each of the at least two channel slabs (fig. 5A, 5B).
For claim 24, Grego discloses the multi-layer biomimetic organ model of claim 19, wherein the layer of cells contacting the first side of the gel layer further comprises at least one type of macrophages, dendritic cells, microbial cells, or mixtures thereof (para. 44).
For claim 25, Grego discloses the multi-layer biomimetic organ model of claim 22, wherein the layer of cells contacting the second side of the gel layer further comprises at least one type of macrophages, dendritic cells, microbial cells, or mixtures thereof (para. 44).
For claim 26, Grego discloses the multi-layer biomimetic organ model of claim 7 further comprising a first layer of cells contacting the first side of the gel layer and a second layer of cells contacting the second side of the gel layer, wherein the first layer of cells and the second layer of cells are obtained from the same organ (para. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grego et al. (Pub. No.: US 2014/0335496).
For claim 13, Grego discloses the first microchannel or second microchannel have a width from 0.01 nm to 1 cm (Table 1). However, Grego does not specify the microchannel has a length from 1 mm to 10 mm. Given the area and volume dimensions in Table 1, it would have been highly obvious to have selected a microchannel length from 1 mm to 10 mm as an obvious expedient to provide a suitable chamber for endothelial or epithelial cells in order to provide sufficient length to analyze a tissue response to an agent via an airway tissue model system per Grego's disclosure. This modification would have occurred using known methods and would have yielded highly predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed.
Conclusion
/SUBA GANESAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774