DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 08/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “relatively away” and “relatively close” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “relatively away” and “relatively close” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The claim does not specify what the transition layer is “relatively close” to, and the claim does not specify what the oxide layer is “relatively away” from. Therefore, the positions of the transition layer and the oxide layer are rendered indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN-112928252-A) (see translation), and in further view of Pan (CN-113991081-A) (see translation).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao discloses a positive electrode material, comprising: a sodium-containing positive electrode material substrate (see e.g., Zhao; [0014], [0017], [0021]-[0022], regarding the positive electrode material containing Na); and a coating layer, covering at least a part of a surface of the sodium-containing positive electrode material substrate (see e.g., Zhao; [0012], [0025], [0084], regarding sodium salt coating).
Zhao discloses wherein the coating layer of sodium salt comprises any one or a combination of at least two of sodium borate, sodium phosphate, or sodium aluminate (see e.g., Zhao; [0012]), and provides examples with sodium borate (see e.g., Zhao; [0084], [0091], [0098], [0112], regarding examples 1, 2, 3, and 5). Zhao does not explicitly disclose wherein the coating layer comprises NaxMyO2, wherein M comprises at least one of B, Si, or P, x > 0, and y > 0. However, Pan discloses wherein a coating layer on a positive electrode material may be sodium metaborate (NaBO2) (see e.g., Pan; [0010]-[0011], [0045]), which is a specific type of sodium borate, and which corresponds with the claimed NaxMyO2, wherein M comprises at least one of B, Si, or P, x > 0, and y > 0. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the coating layer disclosed by Zhao to be a sodium metaborate as disclosed by Pan in order to improve the cycle stability, voltage retention rate and rate performance of the cathode (see e.g., Pan; [0011], [0084]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Zhao teaches the positive electrode material according to claim 1. Zhao discloses wherein the sodium-containing positive electrode material substrate comprises a layered oxide (see e.g., Zhao; [0084], regarding layered structure, and [0014] wherein the general chemical formula is a layered structure), examples wherein the particle size is 5 μm (see e.g., Zhao; [0105], [0109], [0112], [0116]), that the sodium salt accounts for 0.2-6% of the mass of the positive electrode material (see e.g., Zhao; [0018]) and provides examples such as 0.2%, 2%, and 0.5% (see e.g., Zhao; [0084], [0098], [0112]).
Therefore, modified Zhao teaches wherein the positive electrode material satisfies at least one of following conditions: the sodium-containing positive electrode material substrate comprises one or more of a layered oxide, a Prussian blue compound, or a polyanionic compound; the sodium-containing positive electrode material substrate is a micron-scale particle, and an average particle diameter of the micron-scale particle is 1 μm to 25 μm; a mass percent of the coating layer in the positive electrode material is 0.001% to 3%; and a thickness of the coating layer is 0.5 nm to 30 nm.
Regarding claim 5, modified Zhao teaches a positive electrode plate, comprising the positive electrode material according to claim 1 (see e.g., Zhao; [0049], [0141]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Zhao a secondary battery, comprising the positive electrode plate according to claim 5 (see e.g., Zhao; [0049], [0141]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Zhao teaches the secondary battery according to claim 6.
Zhao does not explicitly disclose an electrical device, comprising the secondary battery according to claim 6. However, Pan discloses where batteries may be applied in small electronic products (see e.g., Pan; [0003]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the secondary battery of Zhao in an electrical device as disclosed by Pan to provide the benefit of long service life (see e.g., Pan; [0003])
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN-112928252-A) (see translation), Pan (CN-113991081-A) (see translation), and in further view of Yukinobu (US-20160301063-A1).
Regarding claim 2, modified Zhao teaches the positive electrode material according to claim 1, wherein the coating layer comprises: an oxide layer relatively away from the sodium-containing positive electrode material substrate, wherein the oxide layer comprises NaxMyO2 (see above regarding claim 1, regarding NaBO2 coating, which is an oxide layer relatively away from the positive electrode material).
Zhao does not explicitly disclose wherein the coating layer comprises: a transition layer relatively close to the sodium-containing positive electrode material substrate, wherein the transition layer comprises an element M-doped region. However, Yukinobu discloses positive electrode oxide particles, which may be of a sodium-ion battery containing sodium in the positive electrode material (see e.g., Yukinobu; [0064], [0068]), wherein the particle surfaces may be treated with a volatile acidic compound including boron (see e.g., Yukinobu; claim 1, [0024], [0028], [0071]), which corresponds with a transition layer relatively close to the sodium-containing positive electrode material substrate, wherein the transition layer comprises an element M-doped region. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the positive electrode particles of Zhao by treating the surface with a compound such as boron as disclosed by Yukinobu, which forms a transition layer comprising an element M-doped region, in order to improve stability of a paste for forming the material (see e.g., Yukinobu; [0073]), and to provide a simple process, lower cost, and improve various properties of the battery (see e.g., Yukinobu; [0021]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Zhao teaches the positive electrode material according to claim 2. Zhao discloses that the sodium salt accounts for 0.2-6% of the mass of the positive electrode material (see e.g., Zhao; [0018]), and provides examples such as 0.2%, 2%, and 0.5% (see e.g., Zhao; [0084], [0098], [0112]), which corresponds with wherein the positive electrode materials has a content of residual alkali on a surface of the positive electrode material of 0.5 wt% to 5.5 wt%.
Therefore, modified Zhao teaches the claimed the positive electrode material satisfies at least one of following conditions: a content of residual alkali on a surface of the positive electrode material is 0.5 wt% to 5.5 wt%; and based on a total mass of the coating layer, a mass percent of the element M in the doped region is greater than a mass percent of the element M in the oxide layer.
Conclusion
/KEVIN SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728