DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant amended independent claim 1 to recite “wherein the one or more spectrometers generate separate spectral measurements of light from the two or more output waveguides to provide a wavelength-resolved modal decomposition of the input light” and “determine wavelength-resolved measurements of amplitudes and phases associated with modes of the input light based on the separate spectral measurements from the one or more spectrometers”. Applicant argues that Bland-Hawthorn explicitly discloses an optical manipulation device in the form of an array waveguide grating which selectively combines single-mode signals into a continuous spectrum and further argues that combining single-mode signals into a continuous spectrum at a detector represents a different technical approach than the claimed invention. Applicant further notes that Bland-Hawthorn fails to determine wavelength-resolved measurement of amplitudes and phases associated with modes of the input light and particularly “based on the separate spectral measurements from the one or more spectrometers” as recited in amended claim 1.
In response to Applicant’s arguments, the Examiner acknowledges that Bland-Hawthorn discloses a system of stacked arrays of single-mode fibers which output light into a stacked array of waveguide gratings where the waveguide gratings are configured to disperse the single-mode signals where one such measurement involves detecting a continuous spectrum at a detector. However, Bland-Hawthorn also discloses in paragraph [0095] measurements suggesting the measurement system comprises other elements (53, 55) where “these elements act to cross-disperse the optical signal thereby spatially separating different spectral bands that may be present within the incident radiation field”, which is interpreted as generating separate spectral measurements. As far as the emphasis on measurements of the amplitudes and phases associated with modes of the input light, paragraphs [0058]-[0063] describes the propagation of LP modes along optical fibers in Bland-Hawthorn’s system, where one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize such modes as inherently comprising amplitude and phase information. Therefore, for the reasons outlined above, the rejection of claim 1 is maintained. The rejections of claims are maintained due to their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8-10, 13-14, 16, 18-19, 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bland-Hawthorn et al. (US 2012/0200854 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bland-Hawthorn discloses a sensor comprising:
one or more photonic lanterns (9), each of the one or more photonic lanterns including a waveguide structure (see Fig. 4, 6a-c) with an input waveguide (25) at an input end (33) and two or more output waveguides (29) at an output end (Fig. 1-5; [0046]; [0065]-[0068]; [0074], lines 1-9), wherein the two or more output waveguides of each of the one or more photonic lanterns are optically decoupled (Fig. 5; [0069] – Figure 5 shows the mode propagation principle inside the photonic lantern, in a reverse orientation to that of the embodiment, where m uncoupled single-mode fiber sections 29 are described as each supporting a single spatial mode), wherein a distribution of intensities of light (represented by spatial modes) exiting the two or more output waveguides of each of the one or more photonic lanterns corresponds to a modal decomposition of input light coupled into the input waveguide of a corresponding one of the one or more photonic lanterns (Fig. 5; [0069]; where the modal decomposition of input light is an inherent function of photonic lanterns); and
one or more spectrometers (interpreted as the spectrograph comprising a dispersing optical element and a detector 15) coupled to the two or more output waveguides of the one or more photonic lanterns, wherein the one or more spectrometers generate separate spectral measurements of light from the two or more output waveguides to provide a wavelength-resolved modal decomposition of the input light (Fig. 1, 3; [0068], last 4 lines; [0090]; [0094]-[0095]); and a controller communicatively coupled to the one or more spectrometers, the controller including one or more processors configured to execute program instructions causing the one or more processors to determine wavelength-resolved measurements of amplitudes and phases associated with modes of the input light based on the separate spectral measurements from the one or more spectrometers (Fig. 8; [0063]; [0068], last 4 lines; [0069]; [0090]; [0094]-[0095] – “These elements act to cross-disperse the optical signal thereby spatially separating different spectral bands that may be present within the incident radiation field”; also, see paragraphs [0058]-[0063] which describes the propagation of LP/spatial modes in optical fibers where one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as inherently comprising amplitude and phase information; [0099]-[0100]).
Regarding claim 4, Bland-Hawthorn discloses the sensor of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the one or more photonic lanterns comprise a single photonic lantern (Fig. 2; [0049]).
Regarding claim 8, Bland-Hawthorn discloses the sensor of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the one or more spectrometers comprise a single spectrometer (interpreted as the spectrograph comprising a dispersing optical element and a detector) with a single two-dimensional detector (15), wherein the sensor further comprises:
two or more optical fibers (37) coupled with the two or more output waveguides of the one or more photonic lanterns (Fig. 2-3; [0078]), wherein output ends of the two or more optical fibers are arranged in a linear distribution along a first direction at an input of the single spectrometer, wherein the single spectrometer includes a dispersive element (13) to disperse the light from the two or more optical fibers along a second direction orthogonal to the first direction ([0081]-[0084]; [0094]; see [0100] describes a arranging outputs of the photonic lanterns along a vertical direction and dispersing spectral orders horizontally on the 2D detector).
Regarding claim 9, Bland-Hawthorn discloses the sensor of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the waveguide structure of at least one of the one or more photonic lanterns comprises a fiber waveguide structure (Fig. 4, 6a-c; [0046]; [0074]).
Regarding claim 10, Bland-Hawthorn discloses an imaging system comprising:
an imaging sub-system including optics configured to image one or more objects onto a field plane;
a sensor at the field plane comprising:
one or more photonic lanterns (9), each of the one or more photonic lanterns including a waveguide structure (see Fig. 4, 6a-c) with an input waveguide (25) at an input end (33) and two or more output waveguides (29) at an output end (see Fig. 4, 6a-c), wherein the two or more output waveguides of each of the one or more photonic lanterns are optically decoupled (Fig. 5; [0069] – Figure 5 shows the mode propagation principle inside the photonic lantern, in a reverse orientation to that of the embodiment, where m uncoupled single-mode fiber sections 29 are described as each supporting a single spatial mode), wherein a distribution of intensities of light (represented by spatial modes) exiting the two or more output waveguides of each of the one or more photonic lanterns corresponds to a modal decomposition of input light coupled into the input waveguide of a corresponding one of the one or more photonic lanterns (Fig. 5; [0069]; where the modal decomposition of input light is an inherent function of photonic lanterns); and
one or more spectrometers (interpreted as the spectrograph comprising a dispersing optical element and a detector 15) coupled to the two or more output waveguides of the one or more photonic lanterns, wherein the one or more spectrometers generate separate spectral measurements of light from the two or more output waveguides to provide a wavelength-resolved modal decomposition of the input light (Fig. 1, 3, 8; [0068], last 4 lines; [0069]; [0090]; [0094]-[0095] – “These elements act to cross-disperse the optical signal thereby spatially separating different spectral bands that may be present within the incident radiation field”; also, see paragraphs [0058]-[0063] which describes the propagation of LP/spatial modes in optical fibers where one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as inherently comprising amplitude and phase information; [0099]-[0100]); and
a controller communicatively coupled to the one or more spectrometers, the controller including one or more processors configured to execute program instructions causing the one or more processors to:
receive the separate spectral measurements providing the wavelength-resolved modal decomposition of the input light; and
generate an image of the one or more objects based on the separate spectral measurements (Fig. 1, 3, 8; [0063]; [0068], last 4 lines; [0069]; [0090]; [0094]-[0095]; [0099]-[0100] – see citations noted above).
Regarding claim 13, Bland-Hawthorn discloses the imaging system of claim 10, wherein the image has a resolution below a diffraction limit of the imaging sub-system ([0091]; [0106]).
Regarding claim 14, Bland-Hawthorn discloses the imaging system of claim 10, wherein the imaging sub-system comprises:
a telescope ([0106]).
Regarding claim 16, Bland-Hawthorn discloses the imaging system of claim 10, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the program instructions further cause
the one or more processors to:
determine wavelength-resolved measurements of an amplitude and a phase associated with modes of the input light (Fig. 1, 3, 8; [0063]; [0068], last 4 lines; [0069]; [0090]; [0094]-[0095] – “These elements act to cross-disperse the optical signal thereby spatially separating different spectral bands that may be present within the incident radiation field”; also, see paragraphs [0058]-[0063] which describes the propagation of LP/spatial modes in optical fibers where one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as inherently comprising amplitude and phase information; [0099]-[0100]).
Regarding claim 18, Bland-Hawthorn discloses the imaging system of claim 10, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the one or more photonic lanterns comprise a single photonic lantern (Fig. 2; [0049]).
Regarding claim 19, Bland-Hawthorn discloses the imaging system of claim 18, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the program instructions further cause
the one or more processors to:
determine wavelength-resolved measurements of at least one of amplitudes and phases associated with modes of the input light ([0090]; [0063]; where measurement of spatial modes in waveguides imply amplitude measurements).
Regarding claim 22, Bland-Hawthorn discloses the imaging system of claim 10, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the one or more spectrometers (interpreted as the spectrograph comprising a dispersing optical element and a detector) comprise a single spectrometer with a single two-dimensional detector (15), wherein the imaging system further comprises:
two or more optical fibers (37) coupled with the two or more output waveguides of the one or more photonic lanterns (Fig. 2-3; [0078]), wherein output ends of the two or more optical fibers are arranged in a linear distribution along a first direction at an input of the single spectrometer, wherein the single spectrometer includes a dispersive element (13) to disperse the light from the two or more optical fibers along a second direction orthogonal to the first direction ([0081]-[0084]; [0094]; see [0100] describes arranging outputs of the photonic lanterns along a vertical direction and dispersing spectral orders horizontally on the 2D detector).
Regarding claim 23, Bland-Hawthorn discloses the imaging system of claim 10, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the waveguide structure of at least one of the one or more photonic lanterns comprises a fiber waveguide structure (Fig. 4, 6a-c; [0046]; [0074]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7, 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Bland-Hawthorn et al. (US 2012/0200854 A1) in view of Vuong et al. (US 2021/0349324 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Bland-Hawthorn discloses the sensor of claim 4, as outlined above wherein determining the wavelength-resolved measurements of the amplitudes and the phases associated with the modes of the input light based on the separate spectral measurements from the one or more spectrometers ((Fig. 8; [0063]; [0068], last 4 lines; [0069]; [0090]; [0094]-[0095] – “These elements act to cross-disperse the optical signal thereby spatially separating different spectral bands that may be present within the incident radiation field”; also, see paragraphs [0058]-[0063] which describes the propagation of LP/spatial modes in optical fibers where one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as inherently comprising amplitude and phase information; [0099]-[0100])) but does not disclose
determining the wavelength-resolved measurements of the amplitudes and the phases associated with the modes of the input light using a machine learning algorithm.
However, Vuong, in the field of endeavor of imaging utilizing spatial encoding reconstruction mehtods, discloses a method for determining wavelength-resolved measurements of amplitudes and phases associated with modes of an input light using a machine learning algorithm ([0098]; [0109]; [0121]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bland-Hawthorn with a generalized machine learning method to identify individual spatial modes in a spectrometer in order to allow for increased automation and enhanced accuracy and processing speed, compared to conventional detection methods.
Regarding claim 7, Bland-Hawthorn in view of Vuong discloses the sensor of claim 6, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the machine learning algorithm is trained on wavelength-resolved modal decompositions associated with a plurality of configurations of the input light with known values of at least one of amplitudes or phases of associated modes (Vuong: [0109]).
Regarding claim 20, Bland-Hawthorn discloses the imaging system of claim 19, as outlined above, and further discloses determining the wavelength-resolved measurements of amplitudes and phases associated with the modes of the input light ([0090]; [0063]) but does not disclose
determining the wavelength-resolved measurements of at least one of amplitudes or phases associated with the modes of the input light using a machine learning algorithm.
However, Vuong, in the field of endeavor of imaging utilizing spatial encoding reconstruction methods, discloses determining wavelength-resolved measurements of amplitudes and phases associated with modes of an input light using a machine learning algorithm ([0098]; [0109]; [0121]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bland-Hawthorn with a generalized machine learning method to identify individual spatial modes in a spectrometer in order to allow for increased automation and enhanced accuracy and processing speed, compared to conventional detection methods.
Regarding claim 21, Bland-Hawthorn in view of Vuong further discloses the imaging system of claim 20, as outlined above, wherein the machine learning algorithm is trained on wavelength-resolved modal decompositions associated with a plurality of configurations of the input light with known values of at least one of amplitudes or phases of associated modes (Vuong: [0109]).
Claim(s) 3, 15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Bland-Hawthorn et al. (US 2012/0200854 A1) in view of Labroille et al. (US 2024/0151962 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Bland-Hawthorn discloses the sensor of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the one or more photonic lanterns comprise two or more photonic lanterns, wherein base modes associated with the modal decomposition of each of the two photonic lanterns are different (Fig. 3; [0049]; [0069]).
Bland-Hawthorn does not disclose wherein the sensor further comprises one or more beamsplitters to receive the input light and direct portions of the input light to the input waveguides of the two photonic lanterns.
However, Labroille, in the field of endeavor of imaging using adaptive optics, discloses a detection system including one or more beamsplitter (2 - mode splitter) to receive input light (I’) and direct portions of the input light (I1-IN) to the input of a photonic device (3) (Fig. 3A-C; [0058]-[0060]; [0072]; [0077]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bland-Hawthorn with the system and methods of Labroille, allowing for a system which can compensate for any distortion in the wavefront of a portion of an incident beam, improving the stability and signal to noise ratio of the imaging system.
Regarding claim 15, Bland-Hawthorn discloses the imaging system of claim 10, as outlined above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the imaging sub-system comprises a microscope.
However, Labroille, discloses a system that may be used in the field of microscopy ([0099])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the imaging sub-system of Bland-Hawthorn, including the modification of Labroille, to the field of microscopy, where disturbances in a propagation medium are also present, increasing the overall functionality and accuracy of such imaging systems.
Regarding claim 17, Bland-Hawthorn discloses the imaging system of claim 10, as outlined above, wherein the one or more photonic lanterns comprise two photonic lanterns, wherein base modes associated with the wavelength-resolved modal decompositions of the two photonic lanterns are different (Fig. 3; [0049]; [0069]), but does not disclose
wherein the imaging system further comprises at least one of a beamsplitter or a lenslet array to receive the input light and direct portions of the input light to the input waveguides of the two photonic lanterns.
However, Labroille, in the field of endeavor of imaging using adaptive optics, discloses a detection system including a beamsplitter (2 - mode splitter) to receive input light (I’) and direct portions of the input light (I1-IN) to the input of a photonic device (3) (Fig. 3A-C; [0058]-[0060]; [0072]; [0077] – where it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the detection system to direct light to a plurality of photonic devices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bland-Hawthorn with the system and methods of Labroille, allowing for a system which can compensate for any distortion in the wavefront of a portion of an incident beam, improving the stability and signal to noise ratio of the imaging system.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Bland-Hawthorn et al. (US 2012/0200854 A1) in view of Wu et al. (US 2022/0171204 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Bland-Hawthorn discloses the imaging system of claim 10, as outlined above, and
constructing the image of the one or more objects based on the wavelength-resolved modal decomposition (Fig. 3; [0049]; [0069]),
but does not explicitly disclose that generating the image of the one or more objects based on the wavelength-resolved modal decomposition of the input light comprises:
solving for phase variations for a particular timeframe (Abstract);
constructing a turbulence-corrected image based on the phase variations (Abstract); and
constructing the image of the one or more objects based on the wavelength-resolved modal decomposition and the turbulence-corrected image.
However, Wu, in the field of endeavor of light detection systems and methods, discloses
solving for phase variations for a particular timeframe (Abstract);
constructing a turbulence-corrected image based on the phase variations (Abstract; [0044]); and
constructing the image of the one or more objects based on the wavelength-resolved modal decomposition and the turbulence-corrected image (Abstract; [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bland-Hawthorn with an imaging system that uses a method that corrects for disturbances in the propagation medium, improving the accuracy and signal to noise ratio of the system.
Regarding claim 12, Bland-Hawthorn discloses the imaging system of claim 10, as outlined above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the imaging sub-system further comprises adaptive optics configured provide that the image is a turbulence-corrected image.
However, Wu discloses an imaging sub-system that further comprises adaptive optics configured provide that the image is a turbulence-corrected image (Abstract; [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bland-Hawthorn with an imaging system that uses a method that corrects for disturbances in the propagation medium, improving the accuracy and signal to noise ratio of the system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHER YAZBACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877