Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figure 4 includes an arrow pointing towards the guardrail without a reference numeral.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richardson (WO 2013140149) in view of Brickell et al. (US 8,602,161) and Soeda (JP 2002326792).
Richardson discloses:
1. A lift device (10, figure 1, see below), comprising:
a base (12, figure 1, see below);
a mast assembly (16, figure 1, see below) including an inner mast section (20, figure 4) coupled to the base (figure 1) and an outer mast section (22, figure 4);
a platform assembly (18, figure 1, see below) coupled to the outer mast section (figure 1, see below);
a guardrail assembly (unnumbered guardrail assembly of platform 18, figure 1) coupled to the outer mast section (figure 1); and a
a crank assembly (figure 6, see below) including a drive gear (40, figure 6) that is rotatably coupled to a pulley assembly (figure 7, see below), wherein rotation of the pulley assembly is configured to move the outer mast section relative to the inner mast section (figure 7, 8 and 10).
Richardson does not disclose a lift assist motor rotatably coupled to the drive gear and configured to selectively apply an assisting torque, or that the platform and guardrail assembly are pivotally coupled to the outer mast section.
However, Brickell teaches
a lift assist motor (20, figure 4) rotatably coupled to the drive gear (of 21) and configured to selectively apply an assisting torque on the drive gear to assist in raising the outer mast section, the platform assembly, and the guardrail assembly relative to the base (or in this case assist in the raising of climber 3 relative the ladder 2; system sensing climber ascending and provides lifting assistance; figure 1; Abstract and col. 9, line 54-56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lift device of Richardson with a lift assist motor, like that taught by Brickell, so as to further assist the user as they manually crank/raise the outer mast section relative to the inner mast section, creating a smoother lifting and lowering process. While Richardson does include gas struts for assistance, the lift device may at times require additional lifting assistance for heavier loads and/or in the event the glass struts are not operating at full assistance.
Additionally, Soeda teaches:
a platform assembly (50,53 figures 1 & 4, see below) pivotally coupled to the outer mast section (figure 4-5, see below); and
a guardrail assembly (54, 55, see below) pivotally coupled to the outer mast section (figure 4-5, see below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the platform and guardrail assemblies of Richardson to be pivotally coupled to the outer mast section as taught by Soeda, so as to provide a more versatile lift device easily convertible to a compact configuration, allowing for easier storage and transportation from one work site to the next.
The combination of Richardson modified with the assist motor of Brickell, as advanced above would results in:
2. The lift device of claim 1, wherein the lift assist motor (of Brickell) is rotatably coupled to an outer gear (48 of Richardson, figure 6).
3. The lift device of claim 2, wherein the outer gear (48, Richardson) is rotatably fixed to the drive gear (Richardson figure 6).
4. The lift device of claim 3, wherein the outer gear (48 Richardson) is rotatably fixed to the drive gear (40 Richardson) by a handle (Richardson, 44 being part of the crank/handle assembly) that is rigidly coupled between the outer gear and the drive gear (figure 6, Richardson).
5. The lift device of claim 1, wherein the pulley assembly is rotatably coupled to the drive gear by a driven gear (Richardson figure 7).
6. The lift device of claim 1, further comprising a torque sensor and a controller in communication with the lift assist motor and the torque sensor (Soeda, col. 9, lines 48-56).
7. The lift device of claim 6, wherein the controller is configured to detect, via the torque sensor, that the outer mast section (climber) is being raised and, in response, instruct the lift assist motor to generate the assisting torque (Soeda, col. 9, lines 48-56).
8. The lift device of claim 1, further comprising a support plate (Richardson figure 6) coupled to the outer mast section (figure 6), wherein the lift assist motor is mounted within the support plate (when in combination with Soeda the motor would be mounted adjacent the gears).
9. A lift device (10, figure 1, see below), comprising:
a base (12, figure 1, see below);
a mast assembly (16, figure 1, see below) including an inner mast section (20, figure 4) coupled to the base (figure 1) and an outer mast section (22, figure 4);
a platform assembly (18, figure 1, see below) coupled to the outer mast section (figure 1);
a guardrail assembly (unnumbered guardrail assembly of platform 18, figure 1) coupled to the outer mast section (figure 1, see below); and a
a crank assembly (figure 6, see below) including a handle (26,44, figure 6), a drive gear (40, figure 6), a driven gear (46), and a pulley assembly (figure 7), wherein the handle is rotatably affixed to the drive gear (figure 6), and the driven gear is rotatably affixed to the pulley assembly (figure 7, see below), and wherein the pulley assembly is coupled between the inner mast section and the outer mast section so that rotation of the pulley assembly is configured to move the outer mast section relative to the inner mast section (figure 7, 8 and 10).
Richardson does not disclose a lift assist motor rotatably coupled to the drive gear and configured to selectively apply an assisting torque, or that the platform and guardrail assembly are pivotally coupled to the outer mast section.
However, Brickell teaches
a lift assist motor (20, figure 4) rotatably coupled to the drive gear (of 21) and configured to selectively apply an assisting torque on the drive gear that reduces a torque required to rotate the handle (in this case the equivalent to the manual crank is the climber manually climbing the ladder pulling the rope 4 as they climb) and raise the outer mast section, the platform assembly, and the guardrail assembly relative to the base via the pulley assembly (or in this case assist in the raising of climber 3 relative the ladder 2; system sensing climber ascending and provides lifting assistance; figure 1; col. 9, line 54-56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lift device of Richardson with a lift assist motor, like that taught by Brickell, so as to further assist the user as they manually crank/raise the outer mast section relative to the inner mast section, creating a smoother lifting and lowering process. While Richardson does include gas struts for assistance, the lift device may at times require additional lifting assistance for heavier loads and/or in the event the glass struts are not operating at full assistance.
Additionally, Soeda teaches:
a platform assembly (50,53 figures 1 & 4, see below) pivotally coupled to the outer mast section (figure 4-5); and
a guardrail assembly (54, 55, see below) pivotally coupled to the outer mast section (figure 4-5, see below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the platform and guardrail assemblies of Richardson to be pivotally coupled to the outer mast section as taught by Soeda, so as to provide a more versatile lift device easily convertible to a compact configuration, allowing for easier storage and transportation from one work site to the next.
The combination of Richardson modified with the assist motor of Brickell, as advanced above would results in:
10. The lift device of claim 9, wherein the crank assembly (Richardson, figure 6) further comprises an outer gear (Richardson, 48), and the lift assist motor (Soeda) is rotatably coupled to the outer gear (combination advanced above).
11. The lift device of claim 10, wherein the outer gear (Richardson, 48) is rotatably fixed to the drive gear (Richardson figure 6).
12. The lift device of claim 11, wherein the handle (26, 44, Richardson) is rigidly coupled between the outer gear (48) and the drive gear (40) so that the outer gear is rotatably fixed to the drive gear (Richardson, figure 6; 44 being part of the crank/handle assembly).
13. The lift device of claim 9, further comprising a torque sensor and a controller in communication with the lift assist motor and the torque sensor (Soeda, col. 9, lines 48-56).
14. The lift device of claim 13, wherein the controller is configured to detect, via the torque sensor, that the outer mast section (climber) is being raised and, in response, instruct the lift assist motor to generate the assisting torque (Soeda, col. 9, lines 48-56).
15. The lift device of claim 9, further comprising a support plate (Richardson, figure 6) coupled to the outer mast section, wherein the lift assist motor is mounted within the support plate (when in combination with Soeda the motor would be mounted adjacent the gears).
16. A lift device (10, figure 1, see below), comprising:
a base (12, figure 1, see below);
a mast assembly (16, figure 1, see below) including an inner mast section (20, figure 4) coupled to the base (figure 1) and an outer mast section (22, figure 4);
a platform assembly (18, figure 1, see below) coupled to the outer mast section (figure 1);
a guardrail assembly (unnumbered guardrail assembly of platform 18, figure 1) coupled to the outer mast section (figure 1, see below); and a
a crank assembly (figure 6, see below) including a handle (26, 44, figure 6) and a pulley assembly (figure 7, see below), wherein the pulley assembly is coupled between the inner mast section and the outer mast section, and wherein the handle is rotatably coupled to the pulley assembly (figure 7) so that rotation of the handle in a first direction is configured to raise the outer mast section, the platform and guardrail assembly relative to base (figure 7, 8 and 10).
Richardson does not disclose a lift assist motor, a torque sensor or controller, or that the platform and guardrail assembly are pivotally coupled to the outer mast section.
However, Brickell teaches
and a lift assist motor (20, figure 4);
a torque sensor (col. 9, line 54-62); and
a controller in communication with the lift assist motor and the torque sensor (figures 3a, 3b), the controller being configured to:
detect, via the torque sensor, that the handle is being rotated in the first direction (in this case the rope 4 is being pulled upward by the climber signaling a desire to move in the first direction) and, in response, instruct the lift assist motor to generate an assisting torque that reduces a torque required to rotate the handle and raise the outer mast section, the platform assembly, and the guardrail assembly relative to the base via the pulley assembly (or in this case assist in the raising of climber 3 relative the ladder 2; system sensing climber ascending and provides lifting assistance; figure 1; col. 9, line 54-62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lift device of Richardson with a lift assist motor, like that taught by Brickell, so as to further assist the user as they manually crank/raise the outer mast section relative to the inner mast section, creating a smoother lifting and lowering process. While Richardson does include gas struts for assistance, the lift device may at times require additional lifting assistance for heavier loads and/or in the event the glass struts are not operating at full assistance.
Additionally, Soeda teaches:
a platform assembly (50,53, figures 1 & 4, see below) pivotally coupled to the outer mast section (figure 4-5); and
a guardrail assembly (54, 55, see below) pivotally coupled to the outer mast section (figure 4-5, see below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the platform and guardrail assemblies of Richardson to be pivotally coupled to the outer mast section as taught by Soeda, so as to provide a more versatile lift device easily convertible to a compact configuration, allowing for easier storage and transportation from one work site to the next.
The combination of Richardson modified with the assist motor of Brickell, as advanced above would results in:
17. The lift device of claim 16, wherein the crank assembly (Richardson, figure 6) further comprises a drive gear (Richardson 40) and an outer gear (Richardson 48), and the lift assist motor (Soeda) is rotatably coupled to the outer gear (combination advanced above).
18. The lift device of claim 17, wherein the outer gear (Richardson, 48) is rotatably fixed to the drive gear (Richardson figure 6).
19. The lift device of claim 18, wherein the handle (26,44, Richardson) is rigidly coupled between the outer gear (48) and the drive gear (40) so that the outer gear is rotatably fixed to the drive gear (Richardson, figure 6; 44 being part of the handle assembly).
20. The lift device of claim 16, further comprising a support plate (Richardson, figure 6) coupled to the outer mast section, wherein the lift assist motor is mounted within the support plate (when in combination with Soeda the motor would be mounted adjacent the gears).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
COLLEEN M. CHAVCHAVADZE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3634
/COLLEEN M CHAVCHAVADZE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634