DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/14/2024 was filed on or after the mailing date of the application.
The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species D in the reply filed on 03/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4 and 9-10 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/20/2026.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 08/26/2021. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the JP2021-138006 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
Regarding Claim 1, the recitation of “a housing” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Regarding Claim 1, the recitation of “an outer surface of the housing” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant' s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4 and 5-8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 1 & 6, the recitation of “the internal refrigerant channels.”
The claim should be amended to recite - - the plurality of internal refrigerant channels - - for clarity. This is throughout the claims.
Claims 2-3, 5 and 7-8 are objected to because of dependency from an objected to claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Regarding claim 1, the recitation of claim limitation “a compressor module…including component devices” in at least claim 1.
Corresponds to “a compressor 11, a muffler portion 12, a heating expansion valve 15a, a cooling expansion valve 15b, a refrigerating expansion valve 15c, a hot gas flow regulating valve 15d, an evaporator pressure control valve 19, a chiller 20, an accumulator portion 21, a dehumidifying on-off valve 23a, a heating on-off valve 23b, and the like are integrated” in the specification.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation of claim limitation “external component devices" in at least claim 1.
Corresponds to “The interior evaporator 18 is disposed outside the housing space 113. Therefore, in the present embodiment, the interior evaporator” in the paragraph 0238 of the specification.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation of claim limitation “channel forming member " in at least claim 1.
Corresponds to “channel box 111 is a mounting member like the channel box 101 described in relation to the first embodiment,” in paragraph 0221, further as “The manifold is a channel forming member or a channel connecting member that has refrigerant piping or heating medium piping formed therein” in paragraph 0003 of the specification.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation of claim limitation “component devices" in at least claim 1.
Corresponds to “the compressor 11, a water refrigerant heat exchanger 141, the cooling expansion valve 15b, the refrigerating expansion valve 15c, the hot gas flow regulating valve 15d, the evaporator pressure control valve 19, the chiller 20” in paragraph 0220 of the specification.
Regarding claim 5, the recitation of claim limitation “vibration insulating member" in at least claim 5.
Corresponds to “rubber vibration insulators 11c” in paragraph 0486 of the specification.
Regarding claim 6, the recitation of claim limitation “electrical device " in at least claim 6.
Corresponds to “such electrical devices as the cooling expansion valve 15b, refrigerating expansion valve 15c, and hot gas flow regulating valve 15d” in paragraph 0458 of the specification further in 0026 of the specification “the compressor” in 0041 of the specification “on-off valve”, in 0060 of the specification “control valve”, in 0083 of the specification “Electrical devices housed in the housing space 103 are connected to the controller” in 0085 of the specification “electric water pump” in 0101 of the specification “sensors are all included” in 0247 of the specification “flow regulating valve” in 0490 of the specification “controls a temperature of an object to be temperature-controlled (for example, a computer, a server for a computer, other electrical devices)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the
subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-3 and 5-8 are rejected to because of dependency from an objected to claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5 are/is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated
By Lehmann (US5839295A).
Regarding Claim 1, Lehmann teaches a compressor module [col. 1 lines 32-33 “compressor mounted in the closed interior”] for a heat pump cycle [Abstract “Heat pump system”] including component devices [fig. 1; at least (10) (16a) (20) (13) (17)], the compressor module [col. 1 lines 32-33] comprising:
a compressor [10] configured to suck, compress, and discharge a refrigerant [col. 2 lines 51-54 “compressor 10 of a conventional construction operable to compress vapor supplied at an inlet 11 and a discharge vapor at higher pressure at an outlet ”];
a channel forming member [Fig. 3; 44] configured to define therein a plurality of internal refrigerant channels [at least 21, 12A, 24, 36 etc.] through which the refrigerant flows [col. 3 lines 15-25]; and
a cover member [annotated fig. 2; Image I below] configured to define a housing space [Image I below] of a housing [Image I below], which houses the compressor [10], together with the channel forming member [44], wherein the housing [Image I below] is provided therein with a compressor-side inlet [12] and a compressor-side outlet [11] communicating to the plurality of internal refrigerant channels [figs. 2-4; at least 21, 12A, 24, 36 etc.], the housing [Image I below] is provided with an outside connection port [fig. 3; 34/37 and 30/32] outside of the housing space [Fig. 3] and communicating to the plurality of internal refrigerant channels [fig. 3 clearly showing the communication to the plurality of internal refrigerant channels], the compressor [10] has a refrigerant discharge port [22] coupled to the compressor-side inlet [12], and a refrigerant suction port [28] coupled to the compressor-side outlet [11], the outside connection port [34/37 and 30/32] is configured to be connected to inflow and outflow sides of external component devices [fig. 1 clearly showing the connection to external component devices not shown which are disposed outside the housing space] disposed outside the housing space [col. 5 lines 41-43, further there is a clear typo 33 should be reference number 32], in the component devices [at least (10) (16a) (20) (13) (17)] of the heat pump cycle [heat pump system], and at least a part of an outer surface [at least where the channel forming member and the cover member meet] of the housing [image I below] is defined by both of the channel forming member and the cover member [Image I below].
(Lehmann; annotated fig. 2; Image I)
Regarding Claim 2, Lehmann teaches the compressor module according to claim 1 and Lehmann teaches wherein the housing space is a sealed space housing [ col. 1 lines 26-27 “closed interior”] at least a part of the compressor [fig. 2].
Regarding Claim 5, Lehmann teaches the compressor module according to claim 1 and Lehmann teaches wherein the compressor [10] is fixed to the channel forming member [44-45] through a vibration insulating member [59], and the vibration insulating member [59] is made of a material having a thermoplasticity [col. 4 lines 59-65 “vibration dampening rubber support”] and is disposed to be heated by heat generated by the compressor [someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that compressors give off heat therefore the and the vibration insulating member being in the sealed box would be heated by the compressor].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehmann (US5839295A) as applied to claim 1 above and in view of Hirayama (US20190277541A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Lehmann teaches the compressor module according to claim 1 and Lehmann teaches further comprising:
a low-pressure hose [29] connecting the compressor-side outlet [Fig. 2] and the refrigerant suction port [28] of the compressor with each other [fig. 1]; and
a high-pressure hose [12a] connecting the refrigerant discharge port [22] of the compressor [10] and the compressor-side inlet [12] with each other [fig. 1],
wherein the low-pressure hose [29] and the high-pressure hose [12a] are attached to the compressor [Fig. 2 showing that 12a and 29 being curved] and the channel forming member [fig. 3 in view of fig. 1 are attached to the compressor and 45 through attachment to 15A and 16 A respectively], respectively, in a curved state [Figs.2-3 showing the curves].
Lehmann does not explicitly teach wherein the low-pressure hose and the high-pressure hose are flexible and attached to the compressor and the channel forming member. However, Hirayama teaches wherein the low-pressure hose [20 corresponding to 29 of Lehmann] and the high-pressure hose [18 corresponding to 12a of Lehmann] are flexible [0031 “all flexible pipes”] and attached [fig. 1 shows 18 and 20 attachment] to the compressor [12 corresponding to 10 of Lehmann] and the channel forming member [16 corresponding to 44 of Lehmann].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Lehmann teaching with Hirayama by combining wherein the low-pressure hose and the high-pressure hose are flexible and attached to the compressor and the channel forming member where the elements could have been combined by known methods with and a Simple substitution would give the system the necessary flexible hoses .The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are yielded,
i.e. secures a compressor module with flexible hoses connecting the compressor and the channel forming member which someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize allows for ease of install and modifications to design.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehmann as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Mancini et al. (US20190070924A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Lehmann teaches the compressor module according to claim 1 and Lehmann teaches the channel forming member [44], the heat pump cycle [heat pump system], the internal refrigerant channels [at least 12A and 21].
Lehmann does not explicitly teach wherein an electrical device, electrically operated, is fixed to the channel forming member, and the electrical device is disposed to be cooled by a low pressure-side refrigerant of the heat pump cycle, flowing through the internal refrigerant channels.
However, Mancini wherein an electrical device [218], electrically operated [0130 “HVAC vehicle controller” see also 0065 “at least one heating mode”], is fixed to the channel forming member [fig. 13 showing (218) fixed to (1002) corresponding to 44 of Lehmann], and the electrical device [218] is disposed to be cooled by a low pressure-side refrigerant of the heat pump cycle [0070 explaining using (218) in a cooling mode (218) being an evaporator used to cool must be cooled by a low pressure-side refrigerant], flowing through the internal refrigerant channels [fig. 13].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Lehmann to have wherein an electrical device, electrically operated, is fixed to the channel forming member, and the electrical device is disposed to be cooled by a low pressure-side refrigerant of the heat pump cycle, flowing through the internal refrigerant channels. in view of the teachings of Mancini where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a compressor module that has an electrically operated electronic device connected to the channel forming member that is cooled by low pressure refrigerant from the pump cycle flowing through the internal refrigerant channels which would improve efficiency and minimize cost and complexity [Mancini; 0101].
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehmann as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Setoguchi et al. (JP2009014228A).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Jin teaches the compressor module according to claim 1 and Lehmann teaches the housing space [40-44]
Modified Jin does not explicitly teach a heat insulating portion configured to suppress heat transfer between air inside the housing space and air outside the housing space.
However, Setoguchi teaches a heat insulating portion [17] configured to suppress heat transfer between air inside the housing space [figs. 2 & 3 showing a housing space corresponding to 40-44 of Lehmann] and air outside the housing space [0043-0044 describe materials used to suppress heat transfer from the air inside the housing and air outside the housing in view of figs. 2 & 3].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of the modified Jin teaching with Setoguchi by combining a heat insulating portion configured to suppress heat transfer between air inside the housing space and air outside the housing space where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a compressor module where a heat insulating portion configured to suppress heat transfer between air inside the housing space and air outside the housing space which improves operating efficiency [Setoguchi; 0055].
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehmann as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Jin et al. (US20240025226A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Lehmann teaches the compressor module according to claim 1 and Lehmann teaches the heat pump cycle [heat pump system], the compressor [10], and the refrigerant [claim 1 “refrigerant”].
Lehmann does not explicitly teach wherein the heat pump cycle includes: a discharge-side branch portion configured to branch a flow of the refrigerant discharged from the compressor; and a heater configured to heat a fluid to be heated using, as a heat source, the refrigerant of one stream branched at the discharge-side branch portion, and in an operation mode in which the fluid is heated, the heat pump cycle is configured such that the refrigerant flowing out of the heater and the refrigerant of another stream branched at the discharge-side branch portion are merged and sucked into the compressor.
However, Jin teaches wherein the heat pump cycle [heat pump] includes:
a discharge-side branch portion [fig. 1 the branch portion after (600) not given a reference numeral] configured to branch a flow of the refrigerant discharged from the compressor [fig. 1; 600 corresponding to 10 of Lehmann]; and
a heater [200] configured to heat a fluid [0106 “combined with air”] to be heated using, as a heat source [0106 “a PTC”], the refrigerant [0102 “refrigerant” corresponding to refrigerant of Lehmann] of one stream branched at the discharge-side branch portion [fig. 1 showing the refrigerant on one stream branched at the discharge-side branch portion], and in an operation mode [0106 “heating cycles”] in which the fluid is heated [0106 “heating”], the heat pump cycle [heat pump] is configured such that the refrigerant flowing out of the heater [200] and the refrigerant of another stream [201] branched at the discharge-side branch portion [fig. 1 immediately after (600)] are merged and sucked into the compressor [0110-0113 discusses how refrigerant flows from the compressor and ultimately flows through (500) and then back to the compressor].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Lehmann to have wherein the heat pump cycle includes: a discharge-side branch portion configured to branch a flow of the refrigerant discharged from the compressor; and a heater configured to heat a fluid to be heated using, as a heat source, the refrigerant of one stream branched at the discharge-side branch portion, and in an operation mode in which the fluid is heated, the heat pump cycle is configured such that the refrigerant flowing out of the heater and the refrigerant of another stream branched at the discharge-side branch portion are merged and sucked into the compressor in view of the teachings of Jin where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a compressor module with a heat pump cycle that has a discharge branch side that flows the discharged refrigerant from the compressor with a heater that heats a fluid that is used as a heat source and the heated fluid and another stream branched discharged from the compressor merge and are sucked into the compressor which is beneficial to simplify the structure of the thermal management system, reducing the space occupied by integrated valves, and reducing the costs [Jin; 0004].
Conclusion
/ADAM DORREL MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763