DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-20 are under examination. Claims 1-20 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
Filing Receipt
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11, 17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 and 17 are directed to providing “rapid hydrolysis of phospholipid molecules”. The term “rapid” in claims 1 and 17, is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “rapid” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “rapid” may mean 100% hydrolysis of all phospholipid molecules in a certain amount of time, or a timeframe wherein initial hydrolyzed phospholipids start to appear, or a maximum of phospholipids that can be hydrolyzed are hydrolyzed in a certain timeframe.
The term “rapid” is recited in claim 1 and 17. Claims 1, and 17 and the dependent claims do not define the term “rapid”. The specification exemplifies the term “rapid” on page 22 as a time or a space time. The examples of the term “rapid” provided by the specification are not a definition. Clarification is needed.
Concerning claim 13 and the use of the phrase “rapid hydrolysis”. The word “rapid” herein is interpreted to be definite because of the “space time” of 10 seconds to 2 minutes in claim 12 from where claim 13 depends. Any rapid hydrolysis must be conducted within the claimed timeframe. Thus, the word “rapid” is interpreted to be 10 seconds to 2 minutes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bjorklof et al. (USPGPub2020/0190426, Published 06-2020), La Tourangelle (Is Vegetable Oil Bad for You?, 5 pages, Published online 07/16/2021) and Coppola et al. (USPGPub 2016/0124028, Published 07-2016).
Scope of the Prior Art
Bjorklof et al. teach the following (claim 1).
The above 5 to 70 bar equates to 72 to 1015 psi. This pressure and the above temperatures overlap the current pressures and temperatures in claims 7 and 12.
Concerning the current space time, Bjorklof et al. teach residence times of 10 min. to 12 hours (par. 102). This overlaps with ranges of 10 seconds to 15 minutes utilized by the specification that exemplifies the space time parameter (par. 0023).
The first and second streams are the current partitioning and separation of the aqueous phase and refined vegetable oil.
Concerning the at least one reactant/metal scavenger (claim 3), Bjorklof et al. teach “In the purification, the renewable feedstock comprising fatty acid, is treated with an aqueous medium” (par. 84). Bjorklof et al. goes on to teach “In an embodiment, the aqueous medium comprises an acid selected from sulphuric acid, citric, and/or C1-C10 organic acids (par. 90).
Concerning the hydrolysis of phospholipid molecules, Bjorklof et al. teach “In the purification, phospholipids present in the feedstock are selectively hydrolyzed whereby the phosphorus can be found in the aqueous phase and the liberated fatty acid in the oil phase (par. 112).
Concerning the current inorganic contaminants, Bjorklof et al. teach overlapping inorganic contaminants (par. 33).
Concerning the minimization of hydrolysis of glycerides, Bjorklof et al. teach “The purification process removes effectively the impurities but maintains the valuable organic compounds in the stream comprising oil, without effecting hydrolysis of acylglycerols to any significant extent” (par. 83).
Concerning the minimization of glycerides and/or free fatty acid (FFA) content in the organic portion, this would have occurred when minimizing the hydrolysis of acylglycerols to any significant degree as taught by Bjorklof et al. (par. 83).
Concerning the prevention of thermal cracking of organic acids and isomerization, Bjorklof et al. teach “The purification process removes effectively the impurities but maintains the valuable organic compounds in the stream comprising oil, without effecting hydrolysis of acylglycerols to any significant extent” (par. 83). The maintenance of the valuable organic compounds would have precluded any and all alterations thereof, including the current thermal cracking and isomerization. Additionally, the maintenance of the valuable organic compounds would have precluded an increase in total acid number of the organic portion of less than 500% due to a lack of the hydrolysis of the acylglycerols to any significant extent (current claim 9).
Concerning the separation of the effluent into the aqueous phase and a refined
vegetable oil having lower concentration of the inorganic contaminants, Bjorklof et al. teach
Concerning the hydrothermal reactor, Bjorklof et al. teach the purification process may be carried out in any suitable reactor, such as a plug-flow reactor (par. 100). The plug-flow reactor is the current hydrothermal reactor. Current claim 8.
Concerning claim 6, Bjorklof et al. teach fractionation and/or drying of the second stream can be accomplished via vacuum distillation. Upon applying a vacuum the volatile substances and water would be stripped from the oil phase and flash to steam.
Ascertain the Differences
Bjorklof et al. does not teach vegetable oil nor the turbulent flow condition.
Secondary References
La Tourangelle teach vegetable oil is a broad term for many different types of plant-based oils (page 2 of 5). The vegetable oil taught by La Tourangelle is the current crude vegetable oil.
Coppola et al. teach hydrothermal reactors include plug-flow reactors (PFR) (par. 27). Coppola et al. teach “In general, PFR systems will exhibit a Reynold Number (Re) of at least 2,000, such as 2,000-4,000, resulting in turbulent flow, high-heat transfer rate, and intimate mixing (par. 27). Coppola et al. teach Reynolds Numbers greater than 40,000 (page 8, Table 3). The above Re numbers overlap the current Re numbers in claims 8, 12, and 18.
Obviousness
It would have been prima facie obvious for an ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized plant oils with a reasonable expectation of success in the process for purifying renewable feedstock taught by Bjorklof et al. The reason being Bjorklof et al. taught plant oils.
Next, It would have been prima facie obvious for an ordinary artisan before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the vegetable oil taught by La Tourangelle as a feedstock in the process for purifying renewable feedstock taught by Bjorklof et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have done so with a reasonable expectation of success to satisfy a source of plant oils. Moreover, due to vegetable oil being a plant-based oil.
The ordinary artisan would have next utilized the plug-flow reactors (PFR) taught by Coppola et al. to satisfy a source for the plug-flow reactor taught by Bjorklof et al. Additionally, the ordinary artisan would have utilized the plug-flow reactor to achieve turbulent flow, high-heat transfer rate, and intimate mixing. A reasonable expectation of success because Bjorklof et al. teach the purification process may be carried out in any
suitable reactor, such as a plug-flow reactor (par. 100).
The ordinary artisan would next have utilized sulphuric acid, citric, and/or C1-C10 organic acids in the process for purifying renewable feedstock arrived at by the ordinary artisan. The ordinary artisan would have done so with a reasonable expectation of success because Bjorklof et al. teach “In an embodiment, the aqueous medium comprises an acid selected from sulphuric acid, citric, and/or C1-C10 organic acids (par. 90). Upon adding the vegetable oil and water and the acid, the oil-water mixture would have been prepared. Next adding the mixture to the plug-flow reactor would have been obvious so that the process to purify a renewable feedstock would proceed.
Concerning the predetermined process parameters of temperature, pressure and space time, MPEP 2144.05 I.: “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).” Upon applying the obvious pressures and temperatures, the oil-water mixture would have been under pressure and subjected to heat within the hydrothermal reactor.
Upon arriving at the current predetermined process parameters, rapid hydrolysis of phospholipid molecules and reaction of inorganic contaminants with the at least one reactant forming inorganic salts that partition into an aqueous phase would have occurred. The reason being, substantially identical methods yield substantially identical
products.
The prior art was argued to have overlapping contaminants and reactants/metal scavengers within the current oil/water mixture. Thus, any and all reactions and products therefrom achieved by the combinational teachings of the prior art would have
been at least substantially identical to those instantly claimed.
The methods arrived at by the ordinary artisan are substantially identical to those of the current invention as articulated above. See MPEP 2112.01 I. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709,
15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Concerning the minimize hydrolysis of glycerides and minimize free fatty acid content in an organic portion of the oil-water mixture, to prevent thermal cracking of organic acids, and further selected to prevent one or more compounds in the organic portion of the oil-water mixture from isomerizing to form a hydrothermal reactor effluent, the ordinary artisan would have set up the process parameters to remove the impurities but maintained the valuable organic compounds in the stream comprising oil, without effecting hydrolysis of acylglycerols to any significant extent. Thus, the minimizing free fatty acid content, preventing thermal cracking of organic acids, and preventing isomerization of one or more compounds in the organic stream to form a hydrothermal reactor effluent would have occurred while maintaining the valuable organic compounds. Cracking and isomerization would not have occurred if the valuable organic compounds were maintained.
Concerning the separation of the effluent (claimed reactor effluent) into the aqueous phase and a refined vegetable oil having lower concentration of the inorganic contaminants, see Bjorklof et al. paragraph 103.
Upon completion of the separation the ordinary artisan would have obtained the claimed refined vegetable oil having edible oil specifications.
Without a definition of specifications associated with edible oil, the current process would have led to the claimed edible oil specifications. Thus, arriving at and completing the claimed process steps, the ordinary artisan would have obtained the refined crude vegetable oil that meets edible oil specifications.
Concerning claims 2 and 4-5 and any limitation concerning steps, e.g. preheating, premixing and/or sequence of steps, e.g. addition of reagents, Selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) and Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious. In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930). See MPEP 2144.04 IV C.
Concerning claim 9, upon maintaining the valuable organic compounds, an increase in total acid number of the organic portion of less than 500% would have occurred. (current claim 9).
Concerning claim 19 and the less than 5 mg of KOH/g of oil, this would have
occurred due to substantially identical methods yield substantially identical products and when maintaining the valuable organic compounds.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Bjorklof et al. (USPGPub2020/0190426, Published 06-2020), La Tourangelle (Is Vegetable Oil Bad for You?, 5 pages, Published online 07/16/2021) and Coppola et
al. (USPGPub 2016/0124028, Published 07-2016) as applied to claims 1-9, 17 and 19 and in further view Ghazani et al. (Minor Components in Canola Oil and Effects of Refining on These Constituents: A Review, J Am Oil Chem Soc, 90, pp. 923–932 Published 2013).
Scope of the Prior Art
The teachings of Bjorklof et al., La Tourangelle and Coppola et al. are in the
above 103 rejection and are incorporated by reference.
As a reminder Bjorklof et al. teach the use of citric acid when processing vegetable oils (par. 92).
Additional teachings of Bjorklof et al. are as follows. Bjorklof et al. teach the second stream containing the processed oil may contain fatty acids (par. 104). Additionally, as argued above, the products obtained from the combinational teachings of the prior art are substantially identical to those instantly claimed. Thus, fatty acids, phospholipids, chlorophyll and other colored bodies would have been present in the product oil obtained from the combinational teachings of the prior art.
Ascertain the Differences
The prior art does not teach a caustic step that removes free fatty acids, phospholipids, and chlorophyll and other colored bodies.
Secondary References
Ghazani et al. teach a caustic step (NaOH) after subjecting canola oil to citric acid for removal of fatty acid as a soap stock with centrifugation (p. 927, right column).
Obviousness
It would have been prima facie obvious for an ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have treated the obtained current product from the combinational teachings of the prior art with caustic (NaOH) and remove the fatty acids as a soap stock using centrifugation with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have done so because, the prior art taught the existence of fatty acids after subjecting vegetable oil to acids and the subsequent removal of the fatty acids as a soap stock via centrifugation.
Concerning the phospholipids, and chlorophyll and other colored bodies, due to the products and methods of the prior art being substantially identical to those of the current invention, the product would have contained phospholipids, and chlorophyll and other colored bodies. Additionally, after performing the current caustic step on the substantially identical product arrived at by the ordinary artisan, the phospholipids, and chlorophyll and other colored bodies would have necessarily been removed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9, 11-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,781,075 (075’) in view of Bjorklof et al. (USPGPub2020/0190426, Published 06-2020), La Tourangelle (Is Vegetable Oil Bad for You?, 5 pages, Published online 07/16/2021) and Coppola et al. (USPGPub 2016/0124028, Published 07-2016) and Ghazani et al. (Minor Components in Canola Oil and Effects of Refining on These Constituents: A Review, J Am Oil Chem Soc, 90, pp. 923–932 Published 2013).
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct
from each other because the instantly claimed subject matter embraces or is embraced by the patented subject matter. For example, 075’ claims the following.
075’ does not claim a vegetable oil but does claim plant oils in claim 3.
The combinational teachings of the prior art Bjorklof et al., La Tourangelle, Coppola et al. and Ghazani et al. teach this limitation.
Furthermore the combinational teachings of the prior art are in the above 103
rejections and are incorporated by reference. Additionally, any and all remaining limitations in the current claims are met with combinational teachings of the prior art.
Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation
of the instantly claimed subject matter over the patented subject matter.
Note: the claims directed to the current bleaching are not being currently rejected over any of the claims in 075’.
Claims 1-9, 11-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,630,772 (772’) in view of Bjorklof et al. (USPGPub2020/0190426, Published 06-2020), La Tourangelle (Is Vegetable Oil Bad for You?, 5 pages, Published online 07/16/2021) and Coppola et al. (USPGPub 2016/0124028, Published 07-2016) and Ghazani et al. (Minor Components in Canola Oil and Effects of Refining on These Constituents: A Review, J Am Oil Chem Soc, 90, pp. 923–932 Published 2013).
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instantly claimed subject matter embraces or is embraced by the patented subject matter. For example, 772’ claims the following.
limitations in the current claims are met with the combinational teachings of the prior art.
772’ does not claim a vegetable oil. However, the combinational teachings of the prior art Bjorklof et al., La Tourangelle, Coppola et al. and Ghazani et al. teach this limitation.
Furthermore the combinational teachings of the prior art are in the above 103
rejections and are incorporated by reference. Additionally, any and all remaining limitations in the current claims are met with combinational teachings of the prior art.
Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instantly claimed subject matter over the patented subject matter.
Note: the claims directed to the current bleaching are not being currently rejected
over any of the claims in 772’.
Claims 1-9, 11, 17-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,606,772 (772’) in view of Bjorklof et al. (USPGPub2020/0190426, Published 06-2020), La Tourangelle (Is Vegetable Oil Bad for You?, 5 pages, Published online 07/16/2021) and Coppola et al. (USPGPub 2016/0124028, Published 07-2016) and Ghazani et al. (Minor Components in Canola Oil and Effects of Refining on These Constituents: A Review, J Am Oil Chem Soc, 90, pp. 923–932 Published 2013).
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instantly claimed subject matter embraces or is embraced by the patented subject matter. For example, 772’ claims the following.
limitations in the current claims are met with the combinational teachings of the prior art.
772’ does not claim adding at least one reactant . However, the combinational teachings of the prior art Bjorklof et al., La Tourangelle, Coppola et al. and Ghazani et al. teach this limitation.
Furthermore the combinational teachings of the prior art are in the above 103
rejections and are incorporated by reference. Additionally, any and all remaining limitations in the current claims are met with combinational teachings of the prior art.
Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instantly claimed subject matter over the patented subject matter.
Note: the claims directed to the current bleaching and residence times are not being currently rejected over any of the claims in 772’. 772’ only claims generally a residence time and not specific numerical values.
Claims 1-9, 11-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/629,378 (378’) in view of Bjorklof et al. (USPGPub2020/0190426, Published 06-2020), La Tourangelle (Is Vegetable Oil Bad for You?, 5 pages, Published online 07/16/2021) and Coppola et al. (USPGPub 2016/0124028, Published 07-2016) and Ghazani et al. (Minor Components in Canola Oil and Effects of Refining on These Constituents: A Review, J Am Oil Chem Soc, 90, pp. 923–932 Published 2013).
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct
from each other because the instantly claimed subject matter embraces or is embraced by the copending subject matter. For example, 378’ claims the following.
…. .
378’ does not claim a vegetable oil. However, the combinational teachings of the prior art Bjorklof et al., La Tourangelle, Coppola et al. and Ghazani et al. teach this limitation.
Bjorklof et al. teach plant oils being processed in acidic aqueous mixtures in plug-flow reactors. See above 103 combinational teachings. Thus it would have been obvious for the ordinary artisan in need of a contaminated feedstock to utilize the plant-oils.
La Tourangelle teach the vegetable oil being a plant oil. Utilizing veg. oils would have been obvious.
Furthermore the combinational teachings of the prior art are in the above 103
rejections and are incorporated by reference. Additionally, any and all remaining limitations in the current claims are met with combinational teachings of the prior art.
Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instantly claimed subject matter over the patented subject matter.
Note: the claims directed to the current bleaching are not being currently rejected
over any of the claims in 378’.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-9, 11, 17-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/629,411 (411’) in view of Bjorklof et al. (USPGPub2020/0190426, Published 06-2020), La Tourangelle (Is Vegetable Oil Bad for You?, 5 pages, Published online 07/16/2021) and Coppola et al. (USPGPub 2016/0124028, Published 07-2016) and Ghazani et al. (Minor Components in Canola Oil and Effects of Refining on These Constituents: A Review, J Am Oil Chem Soc, 90, pp. 923–932 Published 2013).
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct
from each other because the instantly claimed subject matter embraces or is embraced by the copending subject matter. For example, 411’ claims the following.
411’ does not claim a vegetable oil. However, the combinational teachings of the prior art Bjorklof et al., La Tourangelle, Coppola et al. and Ghazani et al. teach this limitation.
Bjorklof et al. teach plant oils being processed in acidic aqueous mixtures in plug-flow reactors. See above 103 combinational teachings. Thus it would have been obvious for the ordinary artisan in need of a contaminated feedstock to utilize the plant-oils.
La Tourangelle teach the vegetable oil being a plant oil. Utilizing veg. oils would have been obvious.
Furthermore the combinational teachings of the prior art are in the above 103
rejections and are incorporated by reference. Additionally, any and all remaining limitations in the current claims are met with combinational teachings of the prior art.
Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instantly claimed subject matter over the patented subject matter.
Note: the claims directed to the current bleaching and residence times are not being currently rejected over any of the claims in 411’. 411’ only claims generally a residence time and not specific numerical values.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-16 and 18 would be allowable upon overcoming the rejections of record. Claims 12-16 and 18 do not pertain to the closest prior art as follows.
The closest prior art to claim 12 and 18 is Bjorklof et al. (USPGPub2020/0190426, Published 06-2020). Bjorklof et al. teach residence times of 10 min. to 12 hours (par. 102). This is well outside the claimed range of 10 sec. to 2 minutes.
It would not have been obvious to have modified the prior art to arrive at the current invention. There being no motivation to do so.
Note: Claim 18 would be allowable after overcoming the 112(b) and nonstatutory double patenting rejections of record. Claim 18 has the limitation of a “space time” of 10 seconds to 2 minutes. Currently claim 18 is not rejected under 112(b) but its base claim 17 is.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 112(b), but would be allowable upon
remedying the 112(b) rejections presently applied to claim 10 and 20 and to any and all base claims, and rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art to claims 10 and 20 is Bjorklof et al. (USPGPub2020/0190426, Published 06-2020). Bjorklof et al. teach away from the use of bleaching as required in claims 10 and 20. For example Bjorklof et al. teach the following.
Par. 23
Upon reading of the above passages of Bjorklof et al., it would not have been obvious to have modified the prior art to arrive at the current invention. There being no motivation to do so.
NOTE: Ghazani et al. teach a clear distinction between the caustic step of claim 11 and the bleaching step of claim 10, see Ghazani et al. pp. 927 right column to 928 left column. The caustic step is performed with NaOH while the bleaching step is performed with activated or natural bleaching clays. Thus, removing chlorophyll in claim 11 with the use of caustic is not the bleaching step of claim 10.
Conclusion
/B.G.D/ Examiner, Art Unit 1692 /Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625