DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species B (the device with an integrated controller with a wired connection communicating to the water pump) in the reply filed on March 2, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 5 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 2, 2026.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a fastening part to which the side surface of the reservoir tank is fastened” and “a mounting part which is bent below the reservoir tank and on which the lower portion of the reservoir tank is seated” in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 8, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 4, it is unclear what components are included in “surrounding components”.
In claim 8, “the side surface of the reservoir tank” lacks clear antecedent basis in claim 8 (dependent on claim 1). It is unclear if the dependency is correct.
Claim 10 recites “multiple water pumps or valves are arranged, and each water pump and each valve are configured to be individually controlled based on commands that are received from the integrated controller.” It is unclear if the scope of the claim requires multiple water pumps or multiple water valves (i.e. potentially only two pumps or two valves but not necessarily both pumps and valves) or if the claim requires multiple water pumps and multiple water valves because the each of the water pumps and each of the water valves must be controlled based on commands that are received from the integrated controller.
In claim 11, it is unclear what information is included in the scope of “various types of information”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et alia (US Patent Number 12,140,069), hereinafter “Lee”.
Re claim 1, Lee discloses a cooling medium circulation device comprising: a reservoir tank (100) in which a cooling medium (water) is stored and which has an upper portion provided with a coolant inlet (120); a water pump (200) coupled to a lower portion of the reservoir tank so as to circulate the cooling medium; and an integrated controller (400) mounted to the reservoir tank so as to control an operation of the water pump.
Re claim 2, Lee discloses the cooling medium circulation device of claim 1, wherein the integrated controller is mounted on a side surface of the reservoir tank (see Figs. 2, 3, 6, and 7 and claim 1 of the ‘169 patent).
Re claim 3, Lee discloses the cooling medium circulation device of claim 2, wherein a mounting end is disposed on the side surface of the reservoir tank, and the integrated controller is fastened to the reservoir tank via the mounting end and spaced apart from the reservoir tank (see Figs. 6 and 7 showing the spacing).
Re claim 4, Lee discloses the cooling medium circulation device of claim 1, wherein the integrated controller is installed at a position on the reservoir tank in which the integrated controller does not interfere with surrounding components comprising the water pump (see Figs. 2, 3, 6, and 7 and the last four lines of claim 1 of the ‘169 patent).
Re claim 6, Lee discloses the cooling medium circulation device of claim 1, further comprising a connector which is mounted to the reservoir tank, is electrically connected to the integrated controller, and has a wire connected to the water pump (see col. 4, lines 20-22 describing the cable wire connection and Figs. 6 and 8 showing the cable and wire).
Re claim 7, Lee discloses the cooling medium circulation device of claim 6, wherein the integrated controller and the connector are arranged on the side surface of the reservoir tank, and the connector is disposed below the integrated controller (see Figs. 6 and 8 showing the location of the connector and cable below the controller).
Re claim 9, Lee discloses the cooling medium circulation device of claim 1, wherein the reservoir tank further comprises a valve (300) connected to the coolant inlet, and the valve is configured to operate based on a command received via the integrated controller (see col. 4, lines 6-26).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 10, and 11 may be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims (depending on the nature of the amendment).
Conclusion
/ERIC KEASEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753