DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3, 5-9, and 12-21 are pending in the office action.
Claims 1, 16, and 19 have been amended.
Claims 4,10, and 11 have been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Claim objection is withdrawn.
35 U.S C 112:
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-9, filed 05/06/2026, with respect to claims 1-3, 5-9, and 16-21 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim rejection under 35 U.S.C 112 first paragraph and second paragraph is withdrawn.
35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-9, filed 05/06/2026, with respect to claims 1-3 and 16-21 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim rejection under 35 U.S.C 103 is withdrawn.
However, regarding to claims 5-8, Applicant did not argue, assuming that Applicant agrees with Examiner’s position. Hence, claim rejection is sustained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (U.S. Pat. 8,330,469) (see reproduction fig. 8 as below).
As per claim 5: Miyamoto teaches a method, comprising:
comparing a voltage across each battery cell of multiple battery cells with a non-zero threshold voltage (fig. 8, COMP1 compares first battery terminal V6 and second battery terminal V7 of the cell C5 with a non-zero threshold voltage at the threshold terminal Vref); and
responsive to the comparing, determining at least one of: whether a fault condition exists in any of the multiple battery cells, or a fault condition exists in processing circuitry that processes results of the comparing (fig. 4A-4B, fig. 7, T23, fig. 11, col. 2, ll. 9-44, abnormal potential to detect disconnection, detect defects of excess voltage for detecting disconnect; col. 8, line 43 – col. 9, line 20, leak current; col. 9, ll. 35-48, detecting disconnect).
As per claim 6: Miyamoto teaches the method of claim 5, wherein comparing a voltage across each battery cells of multiple cells with a threshold includes comparing the voltage across each battery cell of the multiple battery cells with threshold using multiple comparators (fig. 8, multiple battery cells C5-C8, each cell has voltage across to be compared with Vref), and the method further comprises processing output signal of the multiple comparators with the processing circuitry (fig. 8, multiple comparator SEN1-SEN4 and processing circuitry LOG1 and LOG2, such as IC2).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyamoto et al., (U.S. Pat. 8,330,469) in view of Izawa (U.S. Pub. 20180024198).
As per claim 7: Miyamoto teaches the method of claim 5, wherein comparing a voltage across each battery cells of multiple cells with a threshold (fig. 8, COMP1 compares first battery terminal V6 and second battery terminal V7 of the cell C5 with a non-zero threshold voltage at the threshold terminal Vref) includes connecting each battery cell of the multiple battery cells to comparator (see fig. 8, COMP1 and COMP2), and processing an output signal of the comparator for each battery cell with the processing circuitry (fig. 8, 1st and 2nd processing circuitries, LOG1 and LOG2)
Miyamoto does not teaches connecting each battery cell of the multiple battery cells to comparator using a multiplexer.
Izawa teaches connecting each battery cell of the multiple battery cells to comparator using a multiplexer (fig. 1, fig. 3, and fig. 6, battery cells, mux 11, comparator 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art at the time of the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine Izawa and Miyamoto to modify Miyamoto’s voltage monitoring apparatus using Izawa’s a battery monitoring system connecting each battery cell of the multiple battery cells to comparator using a multiplexer for selecting voltage values (voltage signal in a first route and voltage signal second route) to be measure with respective measuring circuits and comparator 13 for comparing output values from the respective measuring circuits that detects the presence/absence of disconnection of the input and failure of the multiplexer (Izawa’s, par. [0039] [0040]).
As per claim 8: Miyamoto and Izawa teach the method of claim 7, further comprising storing output signal of the comparator for each battery cell in a respective register of multiple register, and providing the stored output signal to the processing circuitry from the multiple register (Izawa, fig. 1, fig. 3, and fig. 6, control unit 14).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if claim 9 is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not teach the combination of limitations recited claim 9, comprise: wherein the processing circuitry includes a logical AND gate and a logical OR gate; wherein whether the fault condition exists in any of the multiple battery cells is determined responsive to an output state of the AND gate; and wherein whether the fault condition exists in the processing circuitry is determined responsive to an output state of the OR gate
Claims 1-3 and 16-21 are allowed based on Applicant’s argument.
Claims 12-15 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: see the previous office action mailed on 02/13/2025.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NGHIA M. DOAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2851
/NGHIA M DOAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851