DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Notes
Remarks
Claims 1, 4, 7, and 11 are amended.
Claims 5 are cancelled.
Claims 1-4 and 6-14 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the first photovoltaic portion” in line 21. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this office action, the recitation will be treated as if it recites “the photovoltaic conversion structure”. All claims which depend on clam 1 are rejected by virtue of dependency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 recites “a first photovoltaic portion” in line 4. It is unclear whether the claimed “a first photovoltaic portion” is identical to or a different feature from the claimed “the first photovoltaic portion” in claim 1. All claims which depend on clam 7 are rejected by virtue of dependency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 recites “the first photovoltaic portion” in line 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this office action, the recitation will be treated as if it recites “the photovoltaic conversion structure”. All claims which depend on clam 11 are rejected by virtue of dependency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AZUMA (JP 2013077749 A, see English Machine Translation) in view of YOON (KR 20150039534 A, see English Machine Translation) and ALAM (US 20140217535 A1).
Regarding claim 1, AZUMA teaches a solar cell (see the thin film solar cell in Fig. 1D attached below) comprising:
a plurality of sub-cells (see the sub-cells (regions 51) in Fig. 1D attached below), wherein the plurality of sub-cells are electrically connected to each other (see Fig. 1D attached below);
a dead zone (see the dead zone (separation/electrode connection region 50) in Fig. 1D attached below), disposed between two adjacent sub-cells (see Fig. 1D attached below), the dead zone including a main portion, a first hollowed portion, a second hollowed portion, and a recessed portion (see Fig. 1D attached below);
a reflection structure (see the light-guiding section 41 with the semi-cylindrical linear cylindrical lens 401 & the reflective member 402), disposed on at least a part of surfaces of the dead zone (see Fig. 1D attached below), and configured to reflect incident light radiated on the dead zone (The light-guiding section 41 has this function; see Fig. 1D attached below);
a packaging structure (see the adhesive filling layer 20 & surface protection layer 30) including an adhesive film (see the adhesive filling layer 20) and a cover plate (see the surface protection layer 30), disposed on a side of the reflection structure away from the dead zone (see Fig. 1D attached below), and configured to reflect the incident light, which is reflected by the reflection structure, to a surface of the sub-cell to convert the incident light into electrical energy (The surface protection layer 30 has this function; see Fig. 1D attached below)
wherein the reflection structure comprises a body portion and an extension portion (see the body portion and the extension portion in Fig. 1D attached below), the body portion is disposed in the recessed portion (see Fig. 1D attached below), and the extension portion protrudes from a surface of the main portion (see the top surface of the main portion of the dead zone), the surface being oriented toward the packaging structure (see Fig. 1D attached below),
the extension portion is on a side of the adhesive film away from the cover plate (see Fig. 1D attached below), the main portion comprises a first electrode layer, a photovoltaic conversion structure, and a second electrode layer (see the back electrode 13, the photoelectric conversion layer 14, and the transparent electrode 15 in the main portion) (see Fig. 1D attached below), and
the second electrode layer comprising a first electrode portion and a second electrode portion (see the first electrode portion and the second electrode portion in Fig. 1D attached below), wherein the first electrode portion is located on a surface of the first photovoltaic portion (see Fig. 1D attached below), the surface being oriented back from the first electrode layer (see Fig. 1D attached below), and the recessed portion runs through at least the first electrode portion (see Fig. 1D attached below).
Regarding the claimed “the body portion and the extension portion are made of a same material, which is an insulative reflection material configured to directly reflect the incident light radiated on the dead zone”, AZUMA teaches the body portion and the extension portion are made of a same material (see Fig. 1D attached below and [0089] a semi-cylindrical linear cylindrical lens 401 made of an insulating inorganic or organic material), which is an insulative reflection material ([0098] the linear cylindrical lens may be made of insulating inorganic materials such as SiO2, Al2O3, SiN, and SiON; The SiO2, Al2O3, SiN, and SiON materials are insulative reflection materials), but does not explicitly disclose the claimed “configured to directly reflect the incident light radiated on the dead zone”. However, YOON discloses a reflective member in a solar cell, wherein Fig. 2 shows that the body portion and the extension portion of the reflective member 700 are made of a same material, which is an insulative reflection material (see TiO2, SiO2) configured to directly reflect the incident light radiated on the dead zone (see Fig. 2, P10-P11). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the reflective member of YOON, which is made of the same insulative reflection material and directly reflects the incident light radiated on the dead zone, for the light-guiding section of AZUMA, because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144).
Regarding the claimed “the second electrode portion fills completely the second hollowed portion and connects the first electrode portion and the first electrode layer”, AZUMA teaches the second electrode portion connects the first electrode portion and the first electrode layer (see Fig. 1D attached above), but does not explicitly disclose the claimed “fills completely the second hollowed portion”. However, ALAM discloses a thin film photovoltaic panel, wherein the second electrode portion of the conductive layer 140 (corresponding to the claimed “the second electrode portion of the second electrode layer”) fills completely the second scribe 135 (corresponding to the claimed “second hollowed portion”) (see Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transparent electrode 15 so as to fill completely the second hollowed portion
in AZUMA as taught by ALAM, because the change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 2, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
AZUMA teaches the reflection portion covers all surfaces, oriented toward the packaging structure, of the dead zone (see the rejection of claim 1 and Fig. 1D attached in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
AZUMA teaches the reflection structure comprises a curved convex surface protruding away from the dead zone (see the rejection of claim 1 and Fig. 1D attached in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
AZUMA teaches the plurality of sub-cells each comprise two end portions (see the left and right end portions of each of the sub-cells) disposed opposite to each other (see Fig. 1D attached below); and the main portion connects the end portions of the two adjacent sub-cells, the recessed portion is formed by recessing the dead zone relative to the main portion (see Fig. 1D attached below), and the reflection structure is disposed on the main portion and/or the recessed portion (see Fig. 1D attached below).
Regarding claim 6, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
AZUMA teaches a part of the extension portion is located on the surface of the main portion, the surface being oriented toward the packaging structure (see Fig. 1D attached in the rejection of claim 4 and in the rejection of claim 5).
Regarding claim 7, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 4.
AZUMA teaches the photovoltaic conversion structure comprises a first photovoltaic portion and a second photovoltaic portion (see the first photovoltaic portion and the second photovoltaic portion in Fig. 1D attached below), the first photovoltaic portion is located on a surface of the first electrode layer (see the top surface of the back electrode layer 13 in the main portion), and the second photovoltaic portion connects the first photovoltaic portion and the first electrode layer (see Fig. 1D attached below).
Regarding claim 8, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 7.
AZUMA teaches the photovoltaic conversion structure comprises a photovoltaic conversion layer (see the photovoltaic conversion structure comprising the photoelectric conversion layer 14 in the main portion), and the photovoltaic conversion layer is located at least between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer (see the rejection of claim 7 and Fig. 1D); the photovoltaic conversion structure further comprises an electron transport layer, and the electron transport layer is located between the photovoltaic conversion layer and the second electrode layer; and/or the photovoltaic conversion structure further comprises a hole transport layer, and the hole transport layer is located between the photovoltaic conversion layer and the first electrode layer ([0072] The buffer layer needs to be light-transmitting so that the light incident from the transparent electrode 15 can be transmitted to the photoelectric conversion layer 14; [0073] The buffer layer is made of CdS; The photovoltaic conversion component further comprises the buffer layer made of CdS between the transparent electrode 15 and the photoelectric conversion layer 14, wherein the CdS layer is an electron transport layer because the CdS layer is an n-type semiconductor and transport electrons).
Regarding claim 9, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
AZUMA teaches a photovoltaic module (see the integrated thin-film solar cell module in Fig. 1D), comprising the solar cell according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 10, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 9.
AZUMA teaches an electrical device (see the integrated thin-film solar cell module in Fig. 1D, which is an electrical device), comprising the photovoltaic module according to claim 9 (see the rejection of claim 9).
Regarding claim 11, AZUMA teaches a solar cell manufacturing method (see the integrated thin-film solar cell module manufacturing method; see Fig. 1D, [0051]-[0089]), comprising:
providing a plurality of sub-cells (see the sub-cells (regions 51) in Fig. 1D attached below), wherein the sub-cells are electrically connected to each other (see Fig. 1D attached below), and a dead zone (see the dead zone (separation/electrode connection region 50) in Fig. 1D attached below) is disposed between two adjacent sub-cells (see Fig. 1D attached below), the dead zone including a main portion, a first hollowed portion, a second hollowed portion, and a recessed portion (see Fig. 1D attached below);
providing a reflection structure (see the light-guiding section 41 with the reflective member 402), disposed on at least a part of surfaces of the dead zone (see Fig. 1D attached below); and
providing a packaging structure (see the adhesive filling layer 20 & surface protection layer 30) including an adhesive film (see the adhesive filling layer 20) and a cover plate (see the surface protection layer 30), disposed on a side of the reflection portion away from the dead zone (see Fig. 1D attached below),
wherein the reflection structure comprises a body portion and an extension portion (see the body portion and the extension portion in Fig. 1D attached below), the body portion is disposed in the recessed portion (see Fig. 1D attached below), and the extension portion protrudes from a surface of the main portion (see the top surface of the main portion of the dead zone), the surface being oriented toward the packaging structure (see Fig. 1D attached below),
the extension portion is on a side of the adhesive film away from the cover plate (see Fig. 1D attached below),
the main portion comprises a first electrode layer, a photovoltaic conversion structure, and a second electrode layer (see the back electrode 13, the photoelectric conversion layer 14, and the transparent electrode 15 in the main portion) (see Fig. 1D attached below), and
the second electrode layer comprising a first electrode portion and a second electrode portion (see the first electrode portion and the second electrode portion in Fig. 1D attached below), wherein the first electrode portion is located on a surface of the first photovoltaic portion (see Fig. 1D attached below), the surface being oriented back from the first electrode layer (see Fig. 1D attached below), and the recessed portion runs through at least the first electrode portion (see Fig. 1D attached below).
Regarding the claimed “the body portion and the extension portion are made of a same material, which is an insulative reflection material configured to directly reflect the incident light radiated on the dead zone”, AZUMA teaches the body portion and the extension portion are made of a same material (see Fig. 1D attached below and [0089] a semi-cylindrical linear cylindrical lens 401 made of an insulating inorganic or organic material), which is an insulative reflection material ([0098] the linear cylindrical lens may be made of insulating inorganic materials such as SiO2, Al2O3, SiN, and SiON; The SiO2, Al2O3, SiN, and SiON materials are insulative reflection materials), but does not explicitly disclose the claimed “configured to directly reflect the incident light radiated on the dead zone”. However, YOON discloses a reflective member in a solar cell, wherein Fig. 2 shows that the body portion and the extension portion of the reflective member 700 are made of a same material, which is an insulative reflection material (see TiO2, SiO2) configured to directly reflect the incident light radiated on the dead zone (see Fig. 2, P10-P11). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the reflective member of YOON, which is made of the same insulative reflection material and directly reflects the incident light radiated on the dead zone, for the light-guiding section of AZUMA, because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144).
Regarding the claimed “the second electrode portion fills completely the second hollowed portion and connects the first electrode portion and the first electrode layer”, AZUMA teaches the second electrode portion connects the first electrode portion and the first electrode layer (see Fig. 1D attached above), but does not explicitly disclose the claimed “fills completely the second hollowed portion”. However, ALAM discloses a thin film photovoltaic panel, wherein the second electrode portion of the conductive layer 140 (corresponding to the claimed “the second electrode portion of the second electrode layer”) fills completely the second scribe 135 (corresponding to the claimed “second hollowed portion”) (see Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transparent electrode 15 so as to fill completely the second hollowed portion
in AZUMA as taught by ALAM, because the change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 12, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 11.
AZUMA teaches the providing a reflection structure disposed on at least a part of surfaces of the dead zone comprises: applying the reflection structure onto at least a part of surfaces of the dead zone by filling or coating (see Fig. 1D, [0095], [0085]-[0088]).
Regarding claim 13, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
AZUMA teaches the body portion and the extension portion are made of the same material (see the rejection of claim 1), which is selected from at least one of reflection powder, titanium dioxide powder, glass microsphere powder, or insulative reflection filaments ([0098] the linear cylindrical lens may be made of insulating inorganic materials such as SiO2, Al2O3, SiN, and SiON by sputtering, plasma CVD, EB deposition, or the like; One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the layer made of SiO2, Al2O3, SiN, and SiON by sputtering method comprises particle powder morphology. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the SiO2, Al2O3, SiN, and SiON layer formed by sputtering method, which comprises particle powder morphology, for the semi-cylindrical linear cylindrical lens in AZUMA, because AZUMA suggests the SiO2, Al2O3, SiN, and SiON layer formed by sputtering method are the proper material for the semi-cylindrical linear cylindrical lens.
Regarding claim 14, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 11.
AZUMA teaches the body portion and the extension portion are made of the same material (see the rejection of claim 1), which is selected from at least one of reflection powder, titanium dioxide powder, glass microsphere powder, or insulative reflection filaments ([0098] the linear cylindrical lens may be made of insulating inorganic materials such as SiO2, Al2O3, SiN, and SiON by sputtering, plasma CVD, EB deposition, or the like; One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the layer made of SiO2, Al2O3, SiN, and SiON by sputtering method comprises particle powder morphology. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the SiO2, Al2O3, SiN, and SiON layer formed by sputtering method, which comprises particle powder morphology, for the semi-cylindrical linear cylindrical lens in AZUMA, because AZUMA suggests the SiO2, Al2O3, SiN, and SiON layer formed by sputtering method are the proper material for the semi-cylindrical linear cylindrical lens.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 01/08/2026 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Applicant’s argument regarding that the prior art does not teach or suggest the new limitation in the amended claims 1 and 11 in P7-P8, is not persuasive.
ALAM discloses the second electrode portion of the conductive layer 140 (corresponding to the claimed “the second electrode portion of the second electrode layer”) fills completely the second scribe 135 (corresponding to the claimed “second hollowed portion”) (see Fig. 1). Therefore, AZUMA in view of ALAM teaches all limitation required by the amended claims 1 and 11.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the modified and/or new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAE-SIK KANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728