DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 10/10/2025. The previous objections to the specification have been withdrawn. Furthermore, the previous 35 USC 112 rejections have also been withdrawn. Claims 1-5, 7, 15-19, and 21-29 remain pending for consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 15-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertolini et al. (US 20190293335 A1, herein after referred to as Bertolini), in view of Yoshikazu (JPH06273014A), and in further view of Hiroshige et al. (CN100338419C, herein after referred to as Hiroshige).
Regarding claim 1, Bertolini teaches an ice maker (automatic spherical ice maker 18 Fig. 2), comprising: a cell (mold M1 Fig. 5A) in which a liquid (disclosed “water” in paragraph [0050]) is phase-changed into ice (spherical ice balls IB Fig. 8); a first tray (upper stationary ice mold 30 Fig. 4) configured to define at least a portion (upper wall forming mold M1 Fig. 5A) of a wall (upper and lower walls forming mold M1 Fig. 5A) for providing the cell (Fig. 5A); a second tray (lower rotatable ice mold 40 Fig. 4) configured to define at least another portion of the wall (lower wall forming mold M1 Fig. 5A) for providing the cell (Fig. 5A); a temperature sensor (thermistor T Fig. 4) disposed adjacent to the first tray (Fig. 4); a first tray case (mold support plate 33 Fig. 4) coupled to the first tray (Fig. 4), the temperature sensor being installed in the first tray case (Fig. 4); a driver (drive motor 50 Fig. 4) connected to the second tray (Fig. 3) and providing power to the second tray (Fig. 3 and paragraph [0061]); a second tray case (corresponds to the bottom plate which receives second heating element 72’ Figs. 3 and 4) coupled to the second tray (Figs. 3-4); a first heater (first heating element 72 Fig. 4) and a second heater (second heating element 72' Fig. 4) configured to supply heat to at least one of the first tray or the second tray (paragraph [0052]); an ice making process (disclosed “ice production mode” in paragraph [0061]) at an ice making position (corresponds to the position of lower rotatable ice mold 40 illustrated in Fig. 2) where the second tray is in contact with the first tray in order to form the ice in the cell (paragraph [0061] and Fig. 2), and an ice separation process (disclosed “ice harvesting mode” in paragraph [0061]) in which the second tray is spaced apart from the first tray to separate the ice from the cell (paragraph [0061]), the ice separation process including a step to turn on the second heater (paragraph [0061]).
Bertolini teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “a controller configured to: perform the ice making process, and perform the ice separation process, wherein the controller is configured to: turn on the first heater when the controller determines that a turn-on condition of the first heater is satisfied after a liquid supply is completed, the first heater being not turned on immediately after the ice making process is started and the liquid supply is completed, turn off the first heater when the controller determines that a first turn-off condition of the first heater is satisfied, and start the ice separation process when a temperature sensed by the temperature sensor reaches a reference temperature after the first heater is turned off”.
However, Yoshikazu teaches a controller (microcomputer 51 Fig. 5) configured to: perform an ice making process (Fig. 6 where steps S1 to S9 Fig. 6 correspond to the ice making process of Bertolini) and an ice separation process (steps S10 to S17 Fig. 6 correspond to the ice separation process of Bertolini); wherein the controller is configured to: turn on a first heater (paragraph [0014] where lid heater 20 Fig. 3 corresponds to the first heater of Bertolini) when the controller determines that a turn-on condition of the first heater (disclosed “temperature detected by the temperature sensor 37” in paragraph [0013]) is satisfied after a liquid supply (step S1 Fig. 6 and paragraph [0013]) is completed, the first heater being not turned on immediately after the ice making process is started and the liquid supply is completed (paragraphs [0013] and [0014] where it is disclosed that the ice making process of Yoshikazu starts with water being supplied to the tray then pulse motor 23 being energized before lid heater 20 being turned on), turn off the first heater when the controller determines that a first turn-off condition of the first heater (corresponds to the completion of ice making as disclosed in paragraph [0015]) is satisfied, and start the ice separation process when a temperature (corresponds to the temperature detected by temperature sensor 37 in step S7 paragraph [0015]) sensed by a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 37 Fig. 4 corresponds to the temperature sensor of Bertolini) reaches a reference temperature (corresponds to a detected temperature of below -13.5 degrees as disclosed in paragraph [0015]) after the first heater is turned off (paragraph [0015]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Bertolini to include “a controller configured to: perform the ice making process, and perform the ice separation process, wherein the controller is configured to: turn on the first heater when the controller determines that a turn-on condition of the first heater is satisfied after a liquid supply is completed, the first heater being not turned on immediately after the ice making process is started and the liquid supply is completed, turn off the first heater when the controller determines that a first turn-off condition of the first heater is satisfied, and start the ice separation process when a temperature sensed by the temperature sensor reaches a reference temperature after the first heater is turned off” in view of the teachings of Yoshikazu to automate both the ice making and ice separation processes.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the controller is further configured to: determine that the first turn-off condition of the first heater is satisfied, based on a time in the ice making process”.
However, Hiroshige teaches a controller (the disclosed “control device” in paragraph [67] corresponds to the controller of Yoshikazu) is further configured to determine that a first turn-off condition of a first heater (corresponds to the first turn-off condition of heater 22 Fig. 7 where heater 22 corresponds to the first heater of Bertolini) is satisfied, based on a time in an ice making process (disclosed “predetermined time” that has passed from the power-on start time of the heater 22 in paragraph [57]) to provide an ice maker that can still determine ice completion even in the event of a temperature sensor failure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the controller is further configured to: determine that the first turn-off condition of the first heater is satisfied, based on a time in the ice making process” in view of the teachings of Hiroshige to provide an ice maker that can still determine ice completion even in the event of a temperature sensor failure.
Regarding claim 2, the combined teachings teach wherein the first turn-off condition of the first heater in the ice making process is different from a condition (paragraph [57] of Hiroshige where a person skilled in the art would recognize that the completion of the ice making process can be determined based on a temperature sensed by sensor 18 while the turn-off condition of heater 22 can be determined based on how long heater 22 has been energized) to determine that the ice making process is completed.
Regarding claim 3, the combined teachings teach wherein the controller is configured to determine that the first turn-off condition of the first heater is satisfied, based on a time in the ice making process (paragraph [57] of Hiroshige), and determine that the ice making process is completed, based on a temperature (temperature Ta in paragraph [69] of Hiroshige) sensed by the temperature sensor (temperature sensor 18 Fig. 7 of Hiroshige corresponds to the temperature sensor of Bertolini).
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings teach wherein the controller is configured to turn off the second heater when the temperature of the cell sensed by the temperature sensor reaches an off-reference temperature (disclosed “zero degree or higher” in paragraph [0016] of Yoshikazu) in the ice separation process (paragraph [0016] of Yoshikazu).
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings teach a refrigerator (refrigerator appliance 10 Fig. 1 of Bertolini).
Regarding claim 15, Bertolini teaches an ice maker (automatic spherical ice maker 18 Fig. 2), comprising: a cell (mold M1 Fig. 5A) in which a liquid (disclosed “water” in paragraph [0050]) is phase-changed into ice (spherical ice balls IB Fig. 8); a first tray (upper stationary ice mold 30 Fig. 4) configured to define at least a portion (upper wall forming mold M1 Fig. 5A) of a wall (upper and lower walls forming mold M1 Fig. 5A) for providing the cell (Fig. 5A); a second tray (lower rotatable ice mold 40 Fig. 4) configured to define at least another portion of the wall (lower wall forming mold M1 Fig. 5A) for providing the cell (Fig. 5A); a temperature sensor (thermistor T Fig. 4) disposed adjacent to the first tray (Fig. 4); a first tray case (mold support plate 33 Fig. 4) coupled to the first tray (Fig. 4), the temperature sensor being installed in the first tray case (Fig. 4); a driver (drive motor 50 Fig. 4) connected to the second tray (Fig. 3) and providing power to the second tray (Fig. 3 and paragraph [0061]); a second tray case (corresponds to the bottom plate which receives second heating element 72’ Figs. 3 and 4) coupled to the second tray (Figs. 3-4); a first heater (first heating element 72 Fig. 4) and a second heater (second heating element 72' Fig. 4) configured to supply heat to at least one of the first tray or the second tray (paragraph [0052]); an ice making process (disclosed “ice production mode” in paragraph [0061]) at an ice making position (corresponds to the position of lower rotatable ice mold 40 illustrated in Fig. 2) where the second tray is in contact with the first tray in order to form the ice in the cell (paragraph [0061] and Fig. 2), and an ice separation process (disclosed “ice harvesting mode” in paragraph [0061]) in which the second tray is spaced apart from the first tray to separate the ice from the cell (paragraph [0061]), start the ice making process in a state (paragraph [0061] and Fig. 2) in which the second tray moves to the ice making position (Fig. 2), the ice separation process including a step (paragraph [0061]) to turn on the second heater.
Bertolini teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “a controller configured to: perform the ice making process and the ice separation process, wherein the controller is configured to: determine that a turn-on condition of the first heater is satisfied when a first temperature of the cell sensed by the temperature sensor reaches a turn-on reference temperature, turn on the first heater when the controller determines that the turn-on condition of the first heater is satisfied after a liquid supply is completed, the first heater being not turned on immediately after the ice making process is started and the liquid supply is completed, after the first heater turns on, turn off the first heater when the controller determines that a turn-off condition of the first heater is satisfied, and start the ice separation process when a second temperature sensed by the temperature sensor reaches a reference temperature after the first heater is turned off, wherein the controller is further configured to determine that a turn-off condition of the second heater is satisfied, based on a third temperature of the cell sensed by the temperature sensor in the ice separation process”.
However, Yoshikazu teaches a controller (microcomputer 51 Fig. 5) configured to: perform an ice making process (Fig. 6 where steps S1 to S9 Fig. 6 correspond to the ice making process of Bertolini) and an ice separation process (steps S10 to S17 Fig. 6 correspond to the ice separation process of Bertolini); wherein the controller is configured to: determine that a turn-on condition of a first heater (corresponds to the turn-on condition of lid heater 20 Fig. 3 where lid heater 20 corresponds to the first heater of Bertolini) is satisfied when a first temperature of the cell (corresponds to the temperature detected by temperature sensor 37 in step S2 paragraph [0013]) sensed by a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 37 Fig. 4 corresponds to the temperature sensor of Bertolini) reaches a turn-on reference temperature (disclosed “temperature” higher than the water supply” in paragraph [0013]), turn on the first heater (paragraph [0014]) when the controller determines that the turn-on condition of the first heater is satisfied after a liquid supply (step S1 Fig. 6 and paragraph [0013]) is completed (paragraph [0013]), the first heater being not turned on immediately after the ice making process is started and the liquid supply is completed (paragraphs [0013] and [0014] where it is disclosed that the ice making process of Yoshikazu starts with water being supplied to the tray then pulse motor 23 being energized before lid heater 20 being turned on), after the first heater turns on, turn off the first heater when the controller determines that a turn-off condition of the first heater (corresponds to the completion of ice making as disclosed in paragraph [0015]) is satisfied, and start the ice separation process when a second temperature (corresponds to the temperature detected by temperature sensor 37 in step S7 paragraph [0015]) sensed by a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 37 Fig. 4 corresponds to the temperature sensor of Bertolini) reaches a reference temperature (corresponds to a detected temperature of below -13.5 degrees as disclosed in paragraph [0015]) after the first heater is turned off, wherein the controller is further configured to determine that a turn-off condition of a second heater (corresponds to the temperature detected in step S12 as disclosed in paragraph [0016] where dish heater 33 Fig. 4 corresponds to the second heater of Bertolini) is satisfied, based on a third temperature of the cell (disclosed “zero degree or higher” in paragraph [0016]) sensed by the temperature sensor in the ice separation process (paragraph [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Bertolini to include “a controller configured to: perform the ice making process and the ice separation process, wherein the controller is configured to: determine that a turn-on condition of the first heater is satisfied when a first temperature of the cell sensed by the temperature sensor reaches a turn-on reference temperature, turn on the first heater when the controller determines that the turn-on condition of the first heater is satisfied after a liquid supply is completed, the first heater being not turned on immediately after the ice making process is started and the liquid supply is completed, after the first heater turns on, turn off the first heater when the controller determines that a turn-off condition of the first heater is satisfied, and start the ice separation process when a second temperature sensed by the temperature sensor reaches a reference temperature after the first heater is turned off, wherein the controller is further configured to determine that a turn-off condition of the second heater is satisfied, based on a third temperature of the cell sensed by the temperature sensor in the ice separation process” in view of the teachings of Yoshikazu to automate both the ice making and ice separation processes.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “vary an output of the first heater, wherein the controller is further configured to determine that the turn-off condition of the first heater is satisfied, based on a time in the ice making process”.
However, Hiroshige teaches vary an output of a heater (paragraph [58] where heater 22 Fig. 7 corresponds to the heater of Bertolini), wherein a controller (the disclosed “control device” in paragraph [67] corresponds to the controller of Yoshikazu) is further configured to determine that a turn-off condition of the first heater (corresponds to the turn-off condition of heater 22 Fig. 7) is satisfied, based on a time in the ice making process (disclosed “predetermined time” that has passed from the power-on start time of the heater 22 in paragraph [57]) to provide an ice maker that can still determine ice completion even in the event of a temperature sensor failure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “vary an output of the first heater, wherein the controller is further configured to determine that the turn-off condition of the first heater is satisfied, based on a time in the ice making process” in view of the teachings of Hiroshige to provide an ice maker that can still determine ice completion even in the event of a temperature sensor failure.
Regarding claim 16, the combined teachings teach wherein the turn-off condition of the first heater is different from a condition (paragraph [57] of Hiroshige where a person skilled in the art would recognize that the completion of the ice making process can be determined based on a temperature sensed by sensor 18 while the turn-off condition of heater 22 can be determined based on how long heater 22 has been energized) to determine that the ice making process is completed.
Regarding claim 17, the combined teachings teach wherein the controller is configured to determine that the turn-off condition of the first heater is satisfied, based on a time in the ice making process (paragraph [57] of Hiroshige), and determine that the ice making process is completed, based on a temperature (temperature Ta in paragraph [69] of Hiroshige) sensed by the temperature sensor (temperature sensor 18 Fig. 7 of Hiroshige corresponds to the temperature sensor of Bertolini).
Regarding claim 19, the combined teachings teach wherein the controller is configured to turn off the second heater when the third temperature of the cell sensed by the temperature sensor reaches an off-reference temperature (disclosed “zero degree or higher” in paragraph [0016] of Yoshikazu).
Claims 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertolini, Yoshikazu, and Hiroshige as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Song et al. (US 20200340726 A1, herein after referred to as Song).
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein a turn-on reference temperature of the first heater in the ice making process is below zero degrees Celsius”.
However, Song teaches wherein a turn-on reference temperature (see below annotated Fig. 24 of Song) of a first heater (heater 120 Fig. 6 corresponds to the first heater of Bertolini) in an ice making process (the ice making process illustrated in Fig. 22 corresponds to the ice making process of Bertolini) is below zero degrees Celsius (Fig. 24) to efficiently control the rate of change of temperature of the ice making container (paragraph [0150]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein a turn-on reference temperature of the first heater in the ice making process is below zero degrees Celsius” in view of the teachings of Song to efficiently control the rate of change of temperature of the ice making container.
Regarding claim 18, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly “wherein the turn-on reference temperature of the first heater is below zero degrees Celsius”.
However, Song teaches wherein a turn-on reference temperature (see below annotated Fig. 24 of Song) of a first heater (heater 120 Fig. 6 corresponds to the first heater of Bertolini) is below zero degrees Celsius (Fig. 24) to efficiently control the rate of change of temperature of the ice making container (paragraph [0150]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the turn-on reference temperature of the first heater is below zero degrees Celsius” in view of the teachings of Song to efficiently control the rate of change of temperature of the ice making container.
Claims 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertolini, Yoshikazu, and Hiroshige as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Boarman et al. (US 20140165598 A1, herein after referred to as Boarman).
Regarding claims 21 and 23, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising a first tray cover provided with an opening corresponding to a shape of at least a portion of the cell of the first tray and coupled to the first tray”.
However, Boarman teaches further comprising a first tray cover (chill ring cover 504 Fig. 35) provided with an opening (chill ring receiving form 534 Fig. 35) corresponding to a shape (Fig. 35) of at least a portion of a cell (upper portion of unitary mold cavity 440 Figs. 26 and 35 where mold cavity 440 corresponds to the cell of Bertolini) of a first tray (chill ring 508 Fig. 35 corresponds to the first tray of Bertolini) and coupled to the first tray (Fig. 29) to provide an insulation layer for the icemaker (paragraph [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising a first tray cover provided with an opening corresponding to a shape of at least a portion of the cell of the first tray and coupled to the first tray” in view of the teachings of Boarman to provide an insulation layer for the icemaker.
Claims 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertolini, Yoshikazu, and Hiroshige as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20140000304 A1, herein after referred to as Kim).
Regarding claims 22 and 24, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising a bracket, wherein each component of the ice maker is provided inside or outside the bracket, and wherein the first tray case is manufactured as a separate part from the bracket and then is coupled to the bracket or is integrally formed with the bracket”.
However, Kim teaches further comprising a bracket (ice maker bracket 250 Fig. 7), wherein each component of an ice maker (all components illustrated in Fig. 6 where ice maker 200 corresponds to the ice maker of Bertolini) is provided inside or outside the bracket (Figs. 6-7), and wherein a first tray case (tray part 212 Fig. 6 corresponds to the first tray case of Bertolini) is manufactured as a separate part from the bracket (Figs. 6-7) and then is coupled to the bracket (Figs. 6-7) to provide installation means for the ice maker (paragraph [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising a bracket, wherein each component of the ice maker is provided inside or outside the bracket, and wherein the first tray case is manufactured as a separate part from the bracket and then is coupled to the bracket or is integrally formed with the bracket” in view of the teachings of Kim to provide installation means for the ice maker.
Claims 25 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertolini and Yoshikazu.
Regarding claim 25, Bertolini teaches an ice maker (automatic spherical ice maker 18 Fig. 2), comprising: a cell (mold M1 Fig. 5A) in which a liquid (disclosed “water” in paragraph [0050]) is phase-changed into ice (spherical ice balls IB Fig. 8); a first tray (upper stationary ice mold 30 Fig. 4) configured to define at least a portion (upper wall forming mold M1 Fig. 5A) of a wall (upper and lower walls forming mold M1 Fig. 5A) for providing the cell (Fig. 5A); a second tray (lower rotatable ice mold 40 Fig. 4) configured to define at least another portion of the wall (lower wall forming mold M1 Fig. 5A) for providing the cell (Fig. 5A); a temperature sensor (thermistor T Fig. 4) disposed adjacent to the first tray (Fig. 4); a driver (drive motor 50 Fig. 4) connected to the second tray (Fig. 3) and providing power to the second tray (Fig. 3 and paragraph [0061]); a first heater (first heating element 72 Fig. 4) configured to supply heat to the cell (paragraph [0052]); a second heater (second heating element 72' Fig. 4) configured to supply heat to the cell (paragraph [0052]); an ice making process (disclosed “ice production mode” in paragraph [0061]) at an ice making position (corresponds to the position of lower rotatable ice mold 40 illustrated in Fig. 2) where the second tray is in contact with the first tray to form the ice in the cell (paragraph [0061] and Fig. 2), and an ice separation process (disclosed “ice harvesting mode” in paragraph [0061]) in which the second tray is spaced apart from the first tray to separate the ice from the cell (paragraph [0061]), the ice separation process including a step (paragraph [0061]) to turn on the second heater (paragraph [0061]).
Bertolini teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “a controller configured to: perform the ice making process and the ice separation process, wherein the controller is configured to: turn on the first heater when the controller determines that a turn-on condition of the first heater is satisfied after a liquid supply is completed, the first heater being not turned on immediately after the ice making process is started and the liquid supply is completed, turn off the first heater when the controller determines that a first turn-off condition of the first heater is satisfied, and start the ice separation process when a temperature sensed by the temperature sensor reaches a reference temperature after the first heater is turned off”.
However, Yoshikazu teaches a controller (microcomputer 51 Fig. 5) configured to: perform an ice making process (Fig. 6 where steps S1 to S9 Fig. 6 correspond to the ice making process of Bertolini) and an ice separation process (steps S10 to S17 Fig. 6 correspond to the ice separation process of Bertolini); wherein the controller is configured to: turn on a first heater (paragraph [0014] where lid heater 20 Fig. 3 corresponds to the first heater of Bertolini) when the controller determines that a turn-on condition of the first heater (disclosed “temperature detected by the temperature sensor 37” in paragraph [0013]) is satisfied after a liquid supply (step S1 Fig. 6 and paragraph [0013]) is completed, the first heater being not turned on immediately after the ice making process is started and the liquid supply is completed (paragraphs [0013] and [0014] where it is disclosed that the ice making process of Yoshikazu starts with water being supplied to the tray then pulse motor 23 being energized before lid heater 20 being turned on), turn off the first heater when the controller determines that a first turn-off condition of the first heater (corresponds to the completion of ice making as disclosed in paragraph [0015]) is satisfied, and start the ice separation process when a temperature (corresponds to the temperature detected by temperature sensor 37 in step S7 paragraph [0015]) sensed by a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 37 Fig. 4 corresponds to the temperature sensor of Bertolini) reaches a reference temperature (corresponds to a detected temperature of below -13.5 degrees as disclosed in paragraph [0015]) after the first heater is turned off (paragraph [0015]) to automate both the ice making and ice separation processes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Bertolini to include “a controller configured to: perform the ice making process and the ice separation process, wherein the controller is configured to: turn on the first heater when the controller determines that a turn-on condition of the first heater is satisfied after a liquid supply is completed, the first heater being not turned on immediately after the ice making process is started and the liquid supply is completed, turn off the first heater when the controller determines that a first turn-off condition of the first heater is satisfied, and start the ice separation process when a temperature sensed by the temperature sensor reaches a reference temperature after the first heater is turned off” in view of the teachings of Yoshikazu to automate both the ice making and ice separation processes.
Regarding claim 29, the combined teachings a refrigerator (refrigerator appliance 10 Fig. 1 of Bertolini).
Claims 26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertolini and Yoshikazu as applied to claim 25 above, and further in view of Kim.
Regarding claim 26, the combined teachings teach a first tray case (mold support plate 33 Fig. 4 of Bertolini) coupled to the first tray (Fig. 4 of Bertolini), the temperature sensor being installed in the first tray case (Fig. 4 of Bertolini).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the first tray case formed as a separate part from the first tray”.
However, Kim teaches a first tray case (tray case 221 Fig. 6) formed as a separate part (Fig. 6) from a first tray (tray body 223 corresponds to the first tray of Bertolini) to define an outer appearance of the first tray (paragraph [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “the first tray case formed as a separate part from the first tray” in view of the teachings of Kim to define an outer appearance of the first tray.
Regarding claim 28, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising a bracket, wherein each component of the ice maker is provided inside or outside the bracket, and wherein the first tray case is manufactured as a separate part from the bracket and then is coupled to the bracket or is integrally formed with the bracket”.
However, Kim teaches further comprising a bracket (ice maker bracket 250 Fig. 7), wherein each component of an ice maker (all components illustrated in Fig. 6 where ice maker 200 corresponds to the ice maker of Bertolini) is provided inside or outside the bracket (Figs. 6-7), and wherein a first tray case (tray part 212 Fig. 6 corresponds to the first tray case of Bertolini) is manufactured as a separate part from the bracket (Figs. 6-7) and then is coupled to the bracket (Figs. 6-7) to provide installation means for the ice maker (paragraph [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising a bracket, wherein each component of the ice maker is provided inside or outside the bracket, and wherein the first tray case is manufactured as a separate part from the bracket and then is coupled to the bracket or is integrally formed with the bracket” in view of the teachings of Kim to provide installation means for the ice maker.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertolini and Yoshikazu as applied to claim 25 above, and further in view of Boarman.
Regarding claim 27, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising a first tray cover provided with an opening corresponding to a shape of at least a portion of the cell of the first tray and coupled to the first tray”.
However, Boarman teaches further comprising a first tray cover (chill ring cover 504 Fig. 35) provided with an opening (chill ring receiving form 534 Fig. 35) corresponding to a shape (Fig. 35) of at least a portion of a cell (upper portion of unitary mold cavity 440 Figs. 26 and 35 where mold cavity 440 corresponds to the cell of Bertolini) of a first tray (chill ring 508 Fig. 35 corresponds to the first tray of Bertolini) and coupled to the first tray (Fig. 29) to provide an insulation layer for the icemaker (paragraph [0019])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising a first tray cover provided with an opening corresponding to a shape of at least a portion of the cell of the first tray and coupled to the first tray” in view of the teachings of Boarman to provide an insulation layer for the icemaker.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on pages 18-19 that Bertolini does not disclose or suggest “the claimed first tray case coupled to the first tray, the temperature sensor being installed in the first tray case, and the claimed second tray case coupled to the second tray”, Examiner disagrees.
For clarity purposes, the term “to couple” is interpreted as to join or connect components whether integrally or through separate connecting structures.
Referring to Figs. 3-4, Bertolini discloses mold support plate 33 as integral to upper stationary ice mold 30 and a lower plate which is also integral to rotatable ice mold. Thus, Bertolini teaches a first tray case (mold support plate 33 Fig. 4) coupled to a first tray (upper stationary ice mold 30 Fig. 4), a temperature sensor (thermistor T Fig. 4) being installed in the first tray case (Fig. 4) and a second tray case (corresponds to the bottom plate which receives second heating element 72’ Figs. 3 and 4) coupled to a second tray (lower rotatable ice mold 40 Figs. 3-4).
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejections are maintained.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on pages 19-21 that Yoshikazu does not disclose or suggest the claimed “controller is configured to turn on the first heater when the controller determines that a turn-on condition of the first heater is satisfied after a liquid supply is completed, the first heater being not turned on immediately after the ice making process is started and the liquid supply is completed”, as recited in amended claim 1, Examiner disagrees.
For clarity purposes, Yoshikazu teaches wherein a controller (microcomputer 51 Fig. 5) is configured to: turn on a first heater (paragraph [0014] where lid heater 20 Fig. 3 corresponds to the first heater) when the controller determines that a turn-on condition of the first heater (disclosed “temperature detected by the temperature sensor 37” in paragraph [0013]) is satisfied after a liquid supply (step S1 Fig. 6 and paragraph [0013]) is completed, the first heater being not turned on immediately after the ice making process is started and the liquid supply is completed (paragraphs [0013] and [0014] where it is disclosed that the ice making process of Yoshikazu starts with water being supplied to the tray then pulse motor 23 being energized before lid heater 20 being turned on).
Furthermore, it is important to note that the ice making process of Yoshikazu is understood to start with the water supply steps (S1 and S2 Fig. 6). Thus, Yoshikazu is disclosing not immediately turning on the first heater after the ice making process is started and the liquid supply is completed since following the water supply, pulse motor 23 is energized in step 5 before turning on lid heater 20 in step 6.
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763