DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 11-12, 14-19 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0327834; already of record and hereinafter referenced as Kim’834) in view of Yang et al (WO 2020/027443 published on 06.02.2020; however for the purpose of the rejection below, the examiner refers to Yang et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0233455; already of record) for citation and already of record in IDS) and in view of Li (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0309981).
Regarding claim 1, Kim’834 discloses a display device (10), (fig. 1, [0064]), comprising:
a plurality of multi-color pixel arrays (i.e. first to seventh subpixel columns having red, blue and green subpixels) interleaved on a one-to-one basis with a substantially same plurality of data lines (DL1-DL7);
a first pixel array (i.e. first column having subpixels R and B) of the plurality including first-color pixels (R) and second-color pixels (B);
a second pixel array (i.e. third column having subpixels B and R) of the plurality including the second-color pixels (B) and the first-color pixels (R);
a third pixel array (i.e. second column having subpixels G) of the plurality including third-color pixels (G), and disposed between the first pixel array (first column of subpixels) and the second pixel array (third column of subpixels);
first to seventh data lines (DL1-DL7) of the substantially same plurality arranged consecutively in a first direction (X direction) and extending in a second direction (Y direction) crossing the first direction, (fig. 10, [0129-0131 and 0135]);
a first demultiplexer (SW21, SW22);
a third demultiplexer (SW23, SW24);
a second demultiplexer (SW25, SW26), (fig. 10, [0177]);
wherein the first-color pixels (R) of the first pixel array (first column subpixels) are connected to the first data line (DL1);
wherein the first-color pixels (R) of the second pixel array (third column subpixels) are connected to the third data line (DL3);
wherein the second-color pixels (B) of the second pixel array (third column subpixels) are connected to the third data line (DL3);
wherein the third-color pixels (G) of the third pixel array (second column subpixels) are connected to the second data line (DL2), (fig. 10, [0131]).
However, Kim’834 does not mention a first-color demultiplexer configured to electrically connect the first data line and the third data line to a first-color data output.
In a similar field of endeavor, Yang teaches:
a first-color demultiplexer (i.e. switch SWS1 connected to data line RDL1 and switch SWS3 connected to data line LDL3) configured to electrically connect the first data line (RDL1) and the third data line (LDL3) to a first-color data output line (i.e. source channel SC1 is for outputting data to red subpixels R);
a third-color demultiplexer (i.e. switch SWS1 connected to data line LDL2 and switch SWS4 connected to data line RDL4) configured to electrically connect the second data line (LDL2) and the fourth data line (RDL4) to a third-color data output line (i.e. source channel SC2 is for outputting data to green subpixels G); and
a second-color demultiplexer (i.e. switch SWS4 connected to data line LDL5 and switch SWS2 connected to data line RDL7) configured to electrically connect the fifth data line (LDL5) and the seventh data line (RDL7) to a second-color data output line (i.e. source channel SC3 is for outputting data to blue subpixels B),
wherein the second-color pixels (B) of the second pixel array (third column of subpixel B and R) are connected to the fifth data line (LDL5) (i.e. subpixel B1 of the third column is connected to the fifth data line LDL5 through the third data line RDL3 and switches SWS1 and SWS4);
wherein the first-color data output line (SC1) is exclusively connectable to the first-color pixels (red subpixels R), the third-color data output line (SC2) is exclusively connectable to the third-color pixels (green subpixels G), and the second-color data output line (SC3) is exclusively connectable to the second-color pixels (blue subpixels B), (fig. 4, [0081-0086]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’834, by specifically providing the first to third color demultiplexers, as taught by Yang, for the purpose of preventing a coupling between data lines without a dummy source channel, [0005].
However, Kim’834 in view of Yang does not mention wherein each of the second-color pixels of the second pixel array is connected to the fifth data line through the pixel contact and the connection wire, wherein the connection wire overlaps the fourth data line.
In a similar field of endeavor, Li teaches
wherein each of the second-color pixels (i.e. green pixels G in the third column) of the second pixel array (i.e. pixel array of the third column) includes a connection wire and a pixel contact (i.e. connection line connecting the pixel to the data line D5),
wherein each of the second-color pixels (G) of the second pixel array (i.e. pixel array of the third column) is connected to the fifth data line (D5) through the pixel contact and the connection wire,
wherein the connection wire overlaps the fourth data line (i.e. green pixel G is connected to data line D5 and overlaps the fourth data line D4), (fig. 4, [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’834 in view of Yang, by specifically providing the connection wire overlaps the fourth data line, as taught by Li, for the purpose of improving the display effects of the display panel, [0032].
Regarding claim 3, Yang discloses further comprising:
a data driver (150) configured to:
output a data signal (data voltages) of a first-color (R) , which is to be provided to the first-color pixels (R1) of the first pixel array (first column of subpixels R1, B3), to the first-color data output line (SC1),
output a data signal (data voltages) of a second-color (B), which is to be provided to the second-color pixels (B1) of the second pixel array (third column of subpixels B1, R3), to the second data output line (SC3), and
output a data signal (data voltages) of a third-color (G), which is to be provided to the third-color pixels (G1) of the third pixel array (second column of subpixels G1, G’3), to the third-color data output line (SC2), (figs. 1-2, [0063 and 0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’834, by specifically providing the data voltages to first, second and third-color subpixels, as taught by Yang, for the purpose of preventing a coupling between data lines without a dummy source channel, [0005].
Regarding claim 4, Yang discloses further comprising:
a data driver (150) configured to:
output data signals (data voltages) of a first-color (R), which is to be provided to the first-color pixels (red subpixels R1 and R3) of the first pixel array (R1, B3) and the second pixel array (B1, R3), to the first-color data output line (SC1),
output a data signal (data voltages) of a second-color (B), which is to be provided to the second-color pixels (B1) of the second pixel array (B1, R3), to the second-color data output line (SC3), and
output a data signal (data voltages) of a third-color (G), which is to be provided to the third-color pixels (G1) of the third pixel array (G1, G’3), to the third-color data output line (SC2), (figs. 1-2, [0063 and 0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’834, by specifically providing the data voltages to first, second and third color subpixels, as taught by Yang, for the purpose of preventing a coupling between data lines without a dummy source channel, [0005].
Regarding claim 5, Yang discloses wherein:
the first-color pixels (R1 and R3) of the first pixel array (R1, B3) and the second pixel array (B1, R3) emit light corresponding to the first-color (R), and
the second-color pixels (B3 and B1) of the first pixel array (R1, B3) and the second pixel array (B1, R3) emit light corresponding to the second-color (B), (fig. 2, [0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’834, by specifically providing the first, second and third color subpixels, as taught by Yang, for the purpose of preventing a coupling between data lines without a dummy source channel, [0005].
Regarding claim 6, Kim’834 discloses wherein the first pixel array (first column of subpixels R and B), the third pixel array (second column of subpixels G) and the second pixel array (third column of subpixels B and R) are sequentially disposed in this order according to a first direction (X direction) crossing the second direction (Y direction), (fig. 10).
Regarding claim 7, Kim’834 discloses further comprising a plurality of scan lines (SL) extending in a first scan line (i.e. top scan line SL), (fig. 3, [0067]).
Regarding claim 8, Yang discloses wherein the first-color pixels (R3) and the second-color pixels (B1) of the second pixel array (B1, R3) are connected to different scan lines (i.e. B1 is connected to SL1 and R3 is connected to SL2) among the plurality of scan lines (SL1-SLL), (fig. 2, [0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’834, by specifically providing the color pixels connected to different scan lines, as taught by Yang, for the purpose of preventing a coupling between data lines without a dummy source channel, [0005].
Regarding claim 11, Kim’834 discloses wherein:
the first-color pixels (R) of the first pixel array (first column subpixels R and B) and the second pixel array (third column subpixels B and R) are red-color pixels (R), and
the second-color pixels (B) of the first pixel array (first column subpixels R and B) and the second pixel array (third column subpixels B and R) are blue-color pixels (B), (fig. 10).
Regarding claim 12, Kim’834 discloses further comprising:
a fourth pixel array (fourth column of subpixels G) including the third-color pixels (G); and
a fifth pixel array (fifth column of subpixels R and B) including the first-color pixels (R) and the second-color pixels (B), (fig. 10).
Regarding claim 14, Kim’834 discloses a display device (10), (fig. 1, [0064]), comprising:
a display panel (100) including first-color pixels (red subpixel R), second-color pixels (blue subpixels B) and third-color pixels (green subpixels G) arranged in a plurality of multi-color pixel columns (i.e. first to seventh subpixel columns having red, blue and green subpixels) interleaved on a one-to-one basis with a substantially same plurality of data lines (DL1-DL7), (figs. 2 and 10, [0067 and 0129-0131]);
a data driver (200) configured to electrically connect to a first-color data output line (FOL1), a second-color data output line (FOL2) and a third-color data output line (FOL3), (fig. 2, [0071-0072]); and
a demultiplexer (160), (fig. 10, [0128]),
wherein:
the first-color pixels (R) in a first column (i.e. first column of subpixels R and B) of the plurality are connected to the first data line (DL1), the first-color pixels (R) in a third column (i.e. third column of subpixels B and R) of the plurality are connected to the third data line (DL3),
the second-color pixels (B) in the fifth column (i.e. fifth column of subpixels R and B) are connected to the fifth data line (DL5),
the third-color pixels (G) in a second column are connected to the second data line (DL2), and the third-color pixels (G) in a fourth column are connected to the fourth data line (DL4),
wherein the first to fifth data lines (DL1-DL5) are arranged consecutively in a first direction (X direction) and extend in a second direction (Y direction) crossing the first direction, (fig. 10, [0129-0131]).
However, Kim’834 does not mention the demultiplexer configured to electrically connect a first data line of the substantially same plurality and a third data line of the substantially same plurality to the first-color data output line.
In a similar field of endeavor, Yang teaches:
a demultiplexer (120a) configured to:
electrically connect a first data line (RDL1) of the substantially same plurality and a third data line (LDL3) of the substantially same plurality to the first-color data output line (i.e. source channel SC1 is for outputting data to red subpixels R),
electrically connect a second data line (LDL2) of the substantially same plurality and a fourth data line (RDL4) of the substantially same plurality to the third-color data output line (i.e. source channel SC2 is for outputting data to green subpixels G), and
electrically connect a fifth data line (LDL5) of the substantially same plurality and a seventh data line (RDL7) of the substantially same plurality to the second-color data output line (i.e. source channel SC3 is for outputting data to blue subpixels B), wherein:
the first-color pixels (R) in a fifth column (i.e. subpixel R2 in the fifth column) of the plurality are connected to the third data line (LDL3) through switches SWS2 and SWS3,
the second-color pixels (B) in the third column (i.e. subpixel B1 in the third column) are connected to the fifth data line (LDL5) through switches SWS1 and SWS4, and
wherein the first-color data output line (SC1) is exclusively connectable to the first-color pixels (red subpixels R), the third-color data output line (SC2) is exclusively connectable to the third-color pixels (green subpixels G), and the second-color data output line (SC3) is exclusively connectable to the second-color pixels (blue subpixels B), (fig. 4, [0081-0086]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’834, by specifically providing the demultiplexer, as taught by Yang, for the purpose of preventing a coupling between data lines without a dummy source channel, [0005].
However, Kim’834 in view of Yang does not mention wherein each of the second-color pixels in the third column is connected to the fifth data line through the pixel contact and the connection wire, wherein the connection wire overlaps the fourth data line.
In a similar field of endeavor, Li teaches
wherein each of the second-color pixels (i.e. green pixels G in the third column) in the third column (i.e. pixel array of the third column) includes a connection wire and a pixel contact (i.e. connection line connecting the pixel to the data line D5),
wherein each of the second-color pixels (G) in the third column (i.e. pixel array of the third column) is connected to the fifth data line (D5) through the pixel contact and the connection wire,
wherein the connection wire overlaps the fourth data line (i.e. green pixel G is connected to data line D5 and overlaps the fourth data line D4), (fig. 4, [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’834 in view of Yang, by specifically providing the connection wire overlaps the fourth data line, as taught by Li, for the purpose of improving the display effects of the display panel, [0032].
Regarding claim 15, Kim’834 discloses wherein the first-color pixels (R) and the second-color pixels (B) in the first column are alternately disposed according to a second direction (Y direction), and the second-color pixels (B) and the first-color pixels (R) in a third column are alternately disposed according to the second direction (Y direction),
wherein color pixels (subpixels R, B and G) connected to respective data lines (DL1 and DL2) are directly connected to said data lines (i.e. subpixels R and B are directly connected to DL1 and subpixel G is directly connected to DL2),
wherein no more than one data line extending in the second direction is disposed between each pair of adjacent pixel columns in the first direction (i.e. first and third columns of subpixels only has one data line DL1 disposed between) in the first direction (X direction), (fig. 10).
However, Kim’834 does not mention wherein each of the substantially same plurality of data lines is a single-color data line configured to exclusively conduct data of a single color.
In a similar field of endeavor, Yang teaches wherein each of the substantially same plurality of data lines (i.e. LDL1, RDL1 and LDL2) is a single-color data line configured to exclusively conduct data of a single color (i.e. data line LDL1 conducts data for blue pixels B, data line RDL1 conducts data for red pixels R and data line RDL2 conducts data for green pixels G1), (fig. 4, [0080-0082]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’834, by specifically providing the data line is a single-color data line, as taught by Yang, for the purpose of preventing a coupling between data lines without a dummy source channel, [0005].
Regarding claim 16, Yang discloses wherein the data driver (150) is configured to:
output a data signal (data voltages) of a first-color (R), which is to be provided to the first-color pixels (R1), to the first-color data output line (SC1),
output a data signal (data voltages) of a second-color (B), which is to be provided to the second-color pixels (B1), to the second-color data output line (SC3), and
output a data signal (data voltages) of a third-color (G), which is to be provided to the third-color pixels (G1), to the third-color data output line (SC2), (figs. 1-2, [0063 and 0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’834, by specifically providing the data voltages to first, second and third color subpixels, as taught by Yang, for the purpose of preventing a coupling between data lines without a dummy source channel, [0005].
Regarding claim 17, Kim’834 discloses wherein:
the first-color pixels (R) emit light corresponding to the first-color (red),
the second-color pixels (B) emit light corresponding to the second-color (blue), and
the third-color pixels (G) emit light corresponding to the third-color (green), (fig. 10, [0131]).
Regarding claim 18, Kim’834 discloses further comprising a plurality of scan lines (SL) extending in a first direction (horizontal direction), (fig. 3, [0067]),
wherein the first to fifth and seventh data lines (DL1-DL5 and DL7) are consecutively arranged in the first direction (X direction), (fig. 10).
Regarding claim 19, Yang discloses wherein:
the first-color pixels (R1) and the second color pixels (B3) in the first column are connected to different scan lines (i.e. connected to SL1 and SL2, respectively) among the plurality of scan lines (SL1-SLL), and
the first-color pixels (R3) and the second color pixels (B1) of in the third column are connected to different scan lines (i.e. connected to SL2 and SL1, respectively) among the plurality of scan lines (SL1-SLL), (fig. 2, [0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’834, by specifically providing the color subpixels connected to different scan lines, as taught by Yang, for the purpose of preventing a coupling between data lines without a dummy source channel, [0005].
Regarding claim 22, Kim’834 discloses wherein:
the first color pixels are red color pixels (R),
the second color pixels are blue color pixels (B), and
the third color pixels are green color pixels (G), (fig. 10).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim’834 in view of Yang in view of Li and in view of Kim et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0342217; already of record and hereinafter referenced as Kim’217).
Regarding claim 2, Kim’834 discloses in each of the first and second pixel arrays (i.e. first column and third column subpixels), the first-color pixels (R) and the second-color pixels (B) are alternately arranged one-by-one in the second direction (Y direction),
wherein color pixels (R, B and G subpixels) connected to respective data lines (DL1 and DL2) are directly connected to said data lines (i.e. subpixels R and B are directly connected to data line DL1 and subpixels G are directly connected to data line DL2),
wherein no more than one data line extending in the second direction (Y direction) is disposed between each pair of adjacent pixel arrays (i.e. first and third columns of subpixels only has one data line DL1 disposed between) in the first direction (X direction), (fig. 10).
However, Kim’834 does not mention wherein each of the substantially same plurality of data lines is a single-color data line configured to exclusively conduct data of a single color.
In a similar field of endeavor, Yang teaches wherein each of the substantially same plurality of data lines (i.e. LDL1, RDL1 and LDL2) is a single-color data line configured to exclusively conduct data of a single color (i.e. data line LDL1 conducts data for blue pixels B, data line RDL1 conducts data for red pixels R and data line RDL2 conducts data for green pixels G1), (fig. 4, [0080-0082]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’834, by specifically providing the data line is a single-color data line, as taught by Yang, for the purpose of preventing a coupling between data lines without a dummy source channel, [0005].
However, Kim’834 in view of Yang and in view of Li does not mention the first, second, third and fourth data lines and the first, second and third pixel arrays are arranged in an adjacent order of first data line, first pixel array, second data line, third pixel array, third data line, second pixel array and fourth data line.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kim’217 teaches
wherein the first, second, third and fourth data lines and the first, second and third pixel arrays are arranged in an adjacent order of first data line (DL1), first pixel array (subpixels of column CM1), second data line (DL2), third pixel array (subpixels of column CM2), third data line (DL3), second pixel array (subpixels of column CM3), fourth data line (DL4), and spaced from one another in the first direction (DR1) crossing the second direction (DR2), (fig. 4, [0054 and 0057-0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’834 in view of Yang and in view of Li, by specifically providing the arrangement in adjacent order of first data line, first pixel array, second data line, third pixel array, third data line, second pixel array and fourth data line, as taught by Kim’217, for the purpose of reducing power consumption, [0004].
Claim(s) 9-10 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim’834 in view of Yang in view of Li and in view of Cha et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0043406; already of record).
Regarding claim 9, Yang discloses wherein a demultiplexing circuit (120) comprising the first-color demultiplexer (i.e. switch SWS1 connected to data line RDL1 and switch SWS3 connected to data line LDL3), the second-color demultiplexer (i.e. switch SWS4 connected to data line LDL5 and switch SWS2 connected to data line RDL7) and the third-color demultiplexer (i.e. switch SWS1 connected to data line LDL2 and switch SWS4 connected to data line RDL4), collectively comprises:
a first switching transistor (SWS1) connected between the first-color data output line (SC1) and the first data line (RDL1);
a second switching transistor (SWS1) connected between the third-color data output line (SC2) and the second data line (LDL2);
a third switching transistor (SWS3) connected between the first-color data output line (SC1) and the third data line (LDL3); and
a fourth switching transistor (SWS4) connected between the third-color data output line (SC2) and the fourth data line (RDL4),
wherein the first switching transistor (SWS1) and the second switching transistor (SWS1) are configured to operate in response to a first switching signal (DMCS1),
wherein each of the demultiplexers is configured to exclusively receive demultiplex (DMCS1-DMCS4) and transmit data of a single color (i.e. for example, switch SWS1 connected to data line RDL1 and switch SWS3 connected to data line LDL3 transmit data of red color), (fig. 4, [0080-0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’834, by specifically providing the demultiplexer, as taught by Yang, for the purpose of preventing a coupling between data lines without a dummy source channel, [0005].
However, Kim’834 in view of Yang and in view of Li does not mention the third switching transistor and the fourth switching transistor are configured to operate in response to a second switching signal.
In a similar field of endeavor, Cha teaches
a third switching transistor (SW3) connected between the first-color data output line (B1) and the third data line (D3); and
a fourth switching transistor (SW4) connected between the third data output line (B2) and the fourth data line (D4),
the third switching transistor (SW3) and the fourth switching transistor (SW4) are configured to operate in response to a second switching signal (CLb), (fig. 3, [0082, 0085, 0099 and 0101-0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’834 in view of Yang and in view of Li, by specifically providing the third switching transistor and the fourth switching transistor are configured to operate in response to a second switching signal, as taught by Cha, for the purpose of improving image quality and reduce color deviation, [0027].
Regarding claim 10, Cha discloses further comprising:
a driving controller (110) configured to output the first switching signal (CLa) and the second switching signal (CLb), (figs. 1 and 3, [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’834 in view of Yang, by specifically providing the driving controller, as taught by Cha, for the purpose of improving image quality and reduce color deviation, [0027].
Regarding claim 20, please refer to claim 9 for details.
Regarding claim 21, please refer to claim 10 for details.
Claim(s) 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim’834 in view of Kwak et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0025669; already of record) in view of Yang and in view of Li.
Regarding claim 23, Kim’834 discloses an electronic device (10), (fig. 1, [0064]), comprising:
a plurality of multi-color pixel arrays (i.e. first to sixth columns having red, green and blue subpixels) interleaved on a one-to-one basis with a substantially same plurality of data lines (DL1-DL6);
a data driver (200) having first through third-color output lines (FOL1, FOL2 and FOL3), (fig. 2, [0071-0072]);
a demultiplexer (160) connected between the first through third-color output lines (FOL1-FOL3) and zeroth through sixth data lines (DL1-DL7) of the substantially same plurality arranged consecutively in a first direction (X direction) and extending in a second direction (Y direction) crossing the first direction, (fig. 10, [0128, 0131 and 0134]); and
first through third pixel arrays (i.e. subpixels of columns 1-2, subpixels of columns 3-4 and subpixels of columns 5-6) of the plurality connected to the data lines (DL1-DL6), arranged consecutively in the first direction (X direction) and extending in the second direction (Y direction),
wherein the first pixel array (subpixels of columns 1-2) includes first-color pixels (R) connected to the first data line (DL1), second-color pixels (G) connected to the second data line (DL2),
wherein the second pixel array (subpixels of columns 3-4) includes first-color pixels (R) connected to the third data line (DL3), second-color pixels (G) connected to the fourth data line (DL4),
wherein the third pixel array (subpixels of columns 5-6) includes second-color pixels (G) connected to the sixth data line (DL6) and third-color pixels (B) connected to the fifth data line (DL5), (fig. 10, [0129-0131]).
However, Kim’834 does not mention a data driver having first through third color output lines for first through third colors of pixels, respectively.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kwak teaches:
a data driver (300) having first through third-color output lines (O1 to Om-1) for first through third-colors of pixels (R, G and B subpixels), respectively, (fig. 1, [0032 and 0046]);
wherein the first pixel array (subpixels of columns 1-2) includes first-color pixels (B) connected to the first data line (D2), second-color pixels (G) connected to the second data line (D3), and third-color pixels (R) connected to the zeroth data line (D1),
wherein the second pixel array (subpixels of columns 3-4) includes first-color pixels (B) connected to the third data line (D4), second-color pixels (G) connected to the fourth data line (D5) through transistors MA2 and MC2, and third-color pixels (R) connected to the fifth data line (D6) through transistors MC2 and MA2,
wherein the third pixel array (subpixels of columns 5-6) includes first-color pixels (B) connected to the third data line (D4) through transistors MCm-1 and MB2, second color pixels (G) connected to the sixth data line (D3m-5) through transistors MAm-1 and MBm-1, and third-color pixels (R) connected to the fifth data line (D6) through transistors MBm-1 and MA2, (fig. 1, [0035 and 0049-0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’834, by specifically providing the data driver having first through third-color output lines for first through third colors of pixels, as taught by Kwak, for the purpose of improving resolution, [0011].
However, Kim’834 in view of Kwak does not mention wherein the first output line is exclusively connectable to the first-color pixels.
In a similar field of endeavor, Yang teaches
wherein the first output line (SC1) is exclusively connectable to the first-color pixels (R), the second output line (SC2) is exclusively connectable to the second color pixels (G), and the third output line (SC3) is exclusively connectable to the third color pixels (B), (fig. 4, [0083-0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’834 in view of Kwak, by specifically providing the first output line is exclusively connectable to the first color pixels, as taught by Yang, for the purpose of preventing a coupling between data lines without a dummy source channel, [0005].
However, Kim’834 in view of Kwak and in view of Yang does not mention wherein each of the second-color pixels of the second pixel array is connected to the fifth data line through the pixel contact and the connection wire, wherein the connection wire overlaps the fourth data line.
In a similar field of endeavor, Li teaches
wherein each of the second-color pixels (i.e. green pixels G in the third column) of the second pixel array (i.e. pixel array of the third column) includes a connection wire and a pixel contact (i.e. connection line connecting the pixel to the data line D5),
wherein each of the second-color pixels (G) of the second pixel array (i.e. pixel array of the third column) is connected to the fifth data line (D5) through the pixel contact and the connection wire,
wherein the connection wire overlaps the fourth data line (i.e. green pixel G is connected to data line D5 and overlaps the fourth data line D4), (fig. 4, [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’834 in view of Kwak and in view of Yang, by specifically providing the connection wire overlaps the fourth data line, as taught by Li, for the purpose of improving the display effects of the display panel, [0032].
Regarding claim 24, Kim’834 discloses wherein the first-color pixels, the second-color pixels and the third-color pixels (R, G and B subpixels) connected to respective data lines (DL1 and DL2) are directly connected to said data lines (i.e. subpixels R and B are directly connected to data line DL1 and subpixels G are directly connected to data line DL2),
wherein no more than one data line extending in the second direction (Y direction) is disposed between each pair of adjacent pixel arrays (i.e. second and third columns of subpixels only has one data line DL2 disposed between) in the first direction (X direction), (fig. 10).
However, Kim’834 does not mention wherein the demultiplexer consists of a first-color demultiplexer configured to exclusively receive, demultiplex and transmit data of a first color.
In a similar field of endeavor, Yang teaches
wherein the demultiplexer (120) consists of a first-color demultiplexer (i.e. switch SWS1 connected to data line RDL1 and switch SWS3 connected to data line LDL3) configured to exclusively receive, demultiplex and transmit data of a first color (red subpixels R), a second-color demultiplexer (i.e. switch SWS4 connected to data line LDL5 and switch SWS2 connected to data line RDL7) configured to exclusively receive, demultiplex and transmit data of a second color (blue subpixels B), and a third-color demultiplexer (i.e. switch SWS1 connected to data line LDL2 and switch SWS4 connected to data line RDL4) configured to exclusively receive, demultiplex and transmit data of a third color (green subpixels G),
wherein each of the substantially same plurality of data lines is a single-color data line configured to exclusively conduct data of a single color (i.e. for example, switch SWS1 connected to data line RDL1 and switch SWS3 connected to data line LDL3 transmit data of red color), (fig. 4, [0080-0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’834 in view of Kwak, by specifically providing the first, second and third color demultiplexers, as taught by Yang, for the purpose of preventing a coupling between data lines without a dummy source channel, [0005].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 14 and 23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In view of amendment, the reference of Li has been added for new grounds of rejection.
Inquiries
/LONG D PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623