DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-18 are currently pending.
Claims 10-18 are withdrawn from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9, in the reply filed on 10/14/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/14/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2017/0302766 A1) in view of Sunwoo et al. (KR 10-2336592 B1 with US 2022/0195235 A1 as the English equivalent).
Regarding claims 1, 4, and 6,
Lee teaches an electronic device comprising: a housing defining an outer surface of the electronic device, wherein the housing comprises: metal regions (610) comprising a surface treatment layer (619-1) defining the outer surface at the metal regions; an insulation region (620) which is between the metal regions and coupled to each of the metal regions, the insulation region comprising a synthetic resin material (a polymer material portion) and various coating layers (619) which are on the polymer material portion and defines the outer surface at the insulation region (Lee: abstract; Fig. 6A-C; par. 0069-0093).
However, Lee does not explicitly teach a coating layer that comprises a polymer matrix and siloxane, wherein the polymer matrix is an epoxy or acrylate polymer and wherein the siloxane contains dimethylsiloxane.
Sunwoo teaches coating resin compositions (corresponds to a coating layer) for use in electronic display devices to improve strength and flexibility (Sunwoo: abstract; par. 0016 and 0025). The coating resin may comprise a urethane (meth)acrylate polymer (corresponds to an acrylate polymer matrix) with polydimethylsiloxane (corresponds to the siloxane that contains dimethylsiloxane) as an additive to remove bubbles and control viscosity (Sunwoo: abstract; par. 0017, 0024, 0059, and 0080). The coating resin (140, 141, or 142) may be placed over other resin layers or between/under other resin layers as shown in Figures 3-4 (Sunwoo: Figs. 3-4; par. 0099-0100). Additionally, the coating resin layer may be transparent (Sunwoo: par. 0126-0127).
Lee and Sunwoo are in the corresponding field of resin coating layers over electronic devices to improve strength of the device surface. Therefore it would be obvious to implement a coating layer over the insulation region of Lee composed of an acrylate polymer matrix and a siloxane, such as a polydimethylsiloxane), which is transparent, to provide improved strength and flexibility as taught by Sunwoo.
Regarding claim 2,
Lee and Sunwoo teach the electronic device required by claim 1. Lee and Sunwoo is silent towards the coating layer being water-repellent.
However, Lee and Sunwoo teach the claimed materials such as an acrylate polymer matrix and a siloxane mixed with the matrix to form a coating layer and thus would be expected to have water-repellency to some degree. When the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the prior art products necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. See MPEP 2112.01.
Additionally, as Applicant does not specifically define “water-repellent” in the specification and generally claims it, the coating layer of Lee and Sunwoo is a physical layer, made of the claimed compositions, it would be expected to at least physically repel water to some degree.
Regarding claim 8,
Lee and Sunwoo teach the electronic device required by claim 1. Lee further teaches a primer layer (619-1) that adheres the surface of both the metal and insulation regions and thus, the sections of said primer layer to the respective members may be considered “bonding members” as they are areas of material which bond the respective layers together to the surface treatment layer (619-2) (Lee: Fig. 6C; par. 0090-0092).
Regarding claim 9,
Lee and Sunwoo teach the electronic device required by claim 1. Applicant details the “level difference” between the surface treatment layer and the surface coating layer is the difference between top surface of one layer to the top surface of the other layer (Applicant’s specification: Fig. 3C). As Lee teaches coating layers (such as layer 619-1) may have a thickness of 20 to 2000 nm (0.02 to 2 micrometers), and the surface treatment layer (619-2) may be laminated directly on top of other coating layers such as layer 619-2, there may exists an embodiment in which the coating layers level difference would be the thickness of said coating layer and would overlap with the claimed range for level difference as interpreted (Lee: par. 0092). A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges overlap or are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Sunwoo and in further view of Lasarov et al. (US 2014/0098502 A1).
Regarding claim 5,
Lee and Sunwoo teach the electronic device required by claim 1. Lee and Sunwoo do not explicitly teach the surface treatment layer comprises an anodized layer defining the outer surface of the metal region. However, the surface layer (619-2) of Lee may be a surface treatment layer having various properties such as anti-fouling or anti-corrosion and may be formed by metal oxides, such as aluminum oxide (Lee: par. 0091-0093).
Lasarov teaches metal and plastic portions of an electronic device housing (Lasarov: abstract). Coatings may be formed on said metal and plastic components via anodization and may be metal oxides, such as aluminum oxide, to provide improved scratch resistance (Lasarov: par. 0028).
Lee and Lasarov are in the corresponding field of electronic housings comprising metal oxide coatings. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the surface treatment layer of Lee to comprise an anodized layer defining the outer surface at the metal regions to provide improved scratch resistance as taught by Lasarov.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 7 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3,
That is, the closest cited prior art of record does not teach or suggest wherein roughness of the outer surface defined by the coating layer is lower than a roughness of the upper surface of the polymer material portion and the outer surface defined by the metal regions is physically or chemically roughened. That is, the cited prior art does not teach or suggest the roughness differences as claimed and it would constitute impermissible hindsight to configure the roughness differences between the coating layer and the polymer material portion lacking a motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to do so.
Regarding claim 7,
Additionally, the cited prior art of record does not teach or suggest the upper surface comprises protrusions having a refractive index that are higher than the refractive index of the coating layer that covers said protrusions. That is, the cited prior art does not teach or suggest the protrusions on an upper surface having the refractive index difference from the coating layer that covers said protrusions as claimed and it would constitute impermissible hindsight to configure the claimed structure having the property relationships lacking a motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to do so.
Conclusion
/TRAVIS M FIGG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783