DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3 are amended. Claim 4 is canceled. Claims 5-12 are added new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant stated that in Claim 1 Kariya discloses the first stage-21 and the second stage-22, the screw -10 is designed such that a first stage -21 including a feed section -23 and a compression section -24 is provided on a rear side of the screw -10, and a second stage -22 including a feed section -25 and a compression section- 26 is connected to the first stage -21. Thus, Kariya's first stage 21 and second stage 22 do not satisfy the claim limitation "the first region being a downstream end region of the feeding zone, the second region being an upstream end region of the compressing zone, the first region and the second region being next to each other".
Examiner states that in Kariya a first stage 21 including a feed section 23 and a compression section 24 is provided on a rear side of the screw 10, and a second stage 22 including a feed section 25 and a compression section 26 is connected to the first stage 21. The limitation where the first region being a downstream end region of the feeding zone, the second region being an upstream end region of the compressing zone, and the first region and the second region being next to each other could still be met the a part of stage-21 is still being a downstream end region of the feeding zone (Figures 3A, 5A, feeding zone-23, [0041]), the claim limitation didn’t specify that the entire first region has to be downstream of the feeding zone-23. Also, re: the second region being an upstream end region of the compressing zone, Kariya discloses the second region being an upstream end region of the compressing zone (Figure 3A, 5A, [0041], compression -26), which shows that a part of second region-22 is upstream of the compression region-26, as the claim limitation didn’t specify that the entire second region-22 is upstream of the compression region-26, therefor the claim limitation is met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 anticipated by KARIYA (US 20160009010)
Regarding Claim1 KARIYA discloses an injection molding machine, comprising: a cylinder configured to heat a molding material….; and a rotating member which a helical groove is formed, provided in the cylinder (Figure 1, [0002], [0041]), wherein the molding material is fed from upstream to downstream along a helical groove , the rotating member sequentially includes a feeding zone and a compressing zone downstream of the feeding zone, (Figure-1, [0040]) , the rotating member includes a first region and a second region downstream of the first region (Figures 5A-E, [0042]), the first region and the second region are different in shape, dimensions, or both, ( Figure 5b) and a retention time of the molding material in the first region is longer than in a case in which the first region has same shape and same dimensions as in the second region (Figure 5A, same shape and dimension, a pitch of the flight is narrower in the first region than in the second region downstream of the first region, the first region being a downstream end region of the feeding zone, the second region being an upstream end region of the compressing zone, the first region and the second region being next to each other, pitch directly affects the retention therefore using a shorter pitch or narrowing the flight increases the shear and pressure on the plastic, which increases residence time by slowing its forward movement. time of the plastic in the barrel ). Further KARIYA didn’t disclose that cylinder configured to heat a molding material including bioplastic , however Examiner notes that the material used is not given patentable weight in apparatus claims -the manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself. In re Casey 152 USPO 235. The process of using an apparatus is viewed as a recitation of intended use and is given no patentable weight. Please see MPEP 2114 Ri - 21415 R2 for further details.
Regarding Claim 2 KARIYA discloses , wherein the rotating member includes a flight, and a pitch of the flight is narrower in the first region than in the second region downstream of the first region (Figures 5A-E, [0042]).
Regarding Claim 3 KARIYA disclose an injection molding machine , comprising: a cylinder configured to heat a molding material; and a rotating member in which a helical groove is formed, the rotating member being provided in the cylinder, wherein the rotating member is configured to rotate to feed the molding material from upstream to downstream along a helical groove formed in the rotating member by the rotating member being rotated, the rotating member sequentially includes a feeding zone and a compressing zone downstream of the feeding zone (Figure 1), the rotating member includes a first region and a second region downstream of the first region, the first region being a downstream end region of the feeding zone, the second region being an upstream end region of the compressing zone, the first region and the second region being next to each other, (Figure 5A), the rotating member includes a flight, and a pitch of the flight is narrower in the first region than in the second region downstream of the first region (Figure 5A).
Regarding Claim 5 Kariya discloses wherein the feeding zone is a region where the molding material in pellet form is fed forward while the molding material is maintained in a solid phase ([0039], resin pellet is fed), and the compressing zone is a region where the molding material fed from the feeding zone is compressed and is fed forward while the molding material is being melted (Figure 3A, [0041], compression zone-24).
Regarding Claim 6 Kariya discloses , wherein the feeding zone is a region where the molding material in pellet form is fed forward while the molding material is maintained in a solid phase ([0039], resin pellet is fed), and the compressing zone is a region where the molding material fed from the feeding zone is compressed and is fed forward while the molding material is being melted (Figure 3A, [0041], compression zone-24).
Regarding Claim 7 Kariya discloses injection molding machine, comprising: a cylinder configured to heat a molding material….; and a rotating member includes a flight along which a helical groove is formed (Figure 1, [0002], [0041]), the rotating member being provided in the cylinder, wherein the rotating member is configured to rotate to feed the molding material from upstream to downstream along the helical groove (Figure 5A, [0042]), the rotating member sequentially includes a feeding zone and a compressing zone downstream of the feeding zone (Figure 3A, feeding zone-23, compression zone-26), and a pitch of the flight continuously decreases from downstream to upstream over a region extending from a downstream end of an upstream end region of the compressing zone to an upstream end of the feeding zone (Figure 5A). Further KARIYA didn’t disclose that cylinder configured to heat a molding material including bioplastic , however Examiner notes that the material used is not given patentable weight in apparatus claims -the manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself. In re Casey 152 USPO 235. The process of using an apparatus is viewed as a recitation of intended use and is given no patentable weight. Please see MPEP 2114 Ri - 21415 R2 for further details.
Regarding Claim 8 Kariya discloses, wherein the feeding zone is a region where the molding material in pellet form is fed forward while the molding material is maintained in a solid phase ([0039], resin pellet is fed), and the compressing zone is a region where the molding material fed from the feeding zone is compressed and is fed forward while the molding material is being melted (Figure 3A, [0041], compression zone-24).
Regarding Claim 9 Kariya discloses, wherein the upstream end region of the compressing zone is next to a downstream end region of the feeding zone ().
Regarding Claim 10 Kariya discloses, comprising: a cylinder configured to heat a molding material.. (Figure 1, [0002], [0041]); and a rotating member in which a helical groove is formed, the rotating member being provided in the cylinder (Figure 1, [0041]), wherein the rotating member is configured to rotate to feed the molding material from upstream to downstream along the helical groove (Figure 5A), the rotating member sequentially includes a feeding zone and a compressing zone downstream of the feeding zone (Figure 5A), and a retention time of the molding material continuously increases from downstream to upstream over a region extending from a downstream end of an upstream end region of the compressing zone to an upstream end of the feeding zone (Figure 5A, , pitch directly affects the retention therefore using a shorter pitch or narrowing the flight increases the shear and pressure on the plastic, which increases residence time by slowing its forward movement time of the plastic in the barrel). Further KARIYA didn’t disclose that cylinder configured to heat a molding material including bioplastic , however Examiner notes that the material used is not given patentable weight in apparatus claims -the manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself. In re Casey 152 USPO 235. The process of using an apparatus is viewed as a recitation of intended use and is given no patentable weight. Please see MPEP 2114 Ri - 21415 R2 for further details.
Regarding Claim 11 Kariya discloses, wherein the feeding zone is a region where the molding material in pellet form is fed forward while the molding material is maintained in a solid phase ([0039], resin pellet is fed), and the compressing zone is a region where the molding material fed from the feeding zone is compressed and is fed forward while the molding material is being melted (Figure 3A, [0041], compression zone-24).
Regarding Claim 12 Kariya discloses, wherein the upstream end region of the compressing zone is next to a downstream end region of the feeding zone (Figure 3A).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEBJANI ROY/ Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741