DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
In response to the drawing objections, claim objections, and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, the examiner has withdrawn the above due to amendment filed on January 26, 2026.
In regards to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), Applicant's arguments filed January 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A)Regarding claims 1 and 14, the applicants argues: “…Birch does not disclose a power semiconductor module of an electric drive device… nowhere does Birch specifically indicate that it is directed towards monitoring a condition of a power semiconductor module of an electric drive device, and more so, monitoring a condition of dendrite and whisker growth in a power semiconductor module of an electric drive device…”
First, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “…monitoring a condition of dendrite and whisker growth…”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Secondly, Applicant’s arguments rely on language solely recited in preamble recitations in claim(s) 1 and 14. When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation “…for monitoring a condition of a power semiconductor of an electric drive device…” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP § 2111.02.
B) Further regarding claims 1 and 14, the applicants argue: “…As such, Birch does not disclose "wherein said first PCB copper trace sensor element is connected to a positive DC supply voltage source (UDC+) of said electric drive device, and said second PCB copper trace sensor element is connected to a negative DC supply voltage source (UDC-) of said electric drive device so that upon applying the DC supply voltage of said electric drive device said DC supply voltage is applied to said at least one pair of sensor elements at the same time as to the circuit components of the power semiconductor module."”
First, while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function alone. See MPEP 2114. Lastly, in response to applicant's argument that “…Birch does not disclose… applying the DC supply voltage of said electric drive device said DC supply voltage is applied to said at least one pair of sensor elements at the same time as to the circuit components of the power semiconductor module…”, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Therefore, the examiner believes the prior art still reads on the claimed invention.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 6, of the amended claim, “the electric drive device.” should be change to --the electric drive device,-- in order to replace the period with a comma. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Birch et al (US Pub 2020/0025671).
Regarding claim 1, Birch et al disclose [see Figs. 1 and 3 above] an arrangement (system 100) for monitoring the condition of a power semiconductor module of an electric drive device (electronic device 101), the arrangement (100) comprising: at least one pair of sensor elements (traces 312 and 314), each pair including a first PCB copper trace sensor element (positive trace 314) and a second PCB copper trace sensor element (negative trace 312), arranged on a printed circuit board (sacrificial PCB 110) parallel next to each other as a sensor element pair [see Fig 3 above], said printed circuit board (110) is disposed within or proximate to the electric drive device (101), wherein said first PCB copper trace sensor element (314) is connected to a positive DC supply voltage source (input 316) of said electric drive device (101), and said second PCB copper trace sensor element (312) is connected to a negative DC supply voltage source (output 318) of said electric drive device (101) so that upon applying the DC supply voltage of said electric drive device (101) said DC supply voltage is applied to said at least one pair of sensor elements (312/314) at the same time as to the circuit components of the power semiconductor module.
Regarding claim 2, Birch et al disclose wherein said at least one pair of sensor elements (312/314) consists of two pairs of sensor elements [see Fig. 3 which has multiple electrode fin group], said two sensor element pairs (312/314) having a different clearance between the elements in said element pair [see Fig. 3 where each fin group width is greater than the next as the number of groups increase].
Regarding claim 3, Birch et al disclose wherein said at least one pair of sensor elements (312/314) consists of at least three pairs of sensor elements [see Fig. 3 which has multiple electrode fin group], at least two of said sensor element pairs having a different clearance between the elements in said element pair [see Fig. 3 where each fin group width is greater than the next as the number of groups increase].
Regarding claim 4, Birch et al disclose wherein the PCB copper trace sensor elements (312/314) of said at least one pair of sensor elements (312/314) inherently [see Note below] comprises 1 mm to 50 mm long PCB copper traces.
[Note: Although the prior art does not specifically disclose the claimed length of sensor elements, this feature is seen to be an inherent teaching of that device since traces are disclosed and it is apparent that the length has to be at least 1mm for the printed circuit board to function as intended.]
Regarding claim 5, Birch et al disclose wherein the PCB copper trace sensor elements (312/314) of said at least one pair of sensor elements (312/314) do not have any coatings.
Regarding claim 6, Birch et al disclose wherein said arrangement (100) comprises detection electronics (controller 106) arranged to detect a voltage potential [see paragraph [0045] for details] and/or a short circuit between said sensor elements (312/314).
Regarding claim 7, Birch et al disclose wherein said detection electronics (106) includes at least one amplifier, at least one voltage divider [see paragraph [0045] for details], at least one voltage limiter, at least one overvoltage protection and/or at least one buffer isolator.
Regarding claim 8, Birch et al disclose [see Fig. 3] wherein said first PCB copper trace sensor element (314) is connected to the positive DC supply voltage source (316) and said second PCB copper trace sensor element (312) is connected to the negative DC supply voltage source (318) of said electric drive device (101), wherein the first PCB copper trace sensor element (314) or the second PCB copper trace sensor element (312) is connected via a current limiter and/or an overcurrent protector [via controller 106].
Regarding claim 9, Birch et al disclose wherein said printed circuit board (110) is a small separate printed circuit board arranged on top of another printed circuit board (printed circuit board 102) [see paragraph [0017] for details].
Regarding claim 10, Birch et al disclose wherein said printed circuit board (110) or said another printed circuit board (102) is the printed circuit board of an electronic circuitry controlling a gate (multiplexer 112) signaling of said power semiconductor module.
Regarding claim 11, Birch et al disclose wherein said printed circuit board (110) or said another printed circuit board (102) is arranged inside said power semiconductor module.
Regarding claim 12, Birch et al disclose wherein said printed circuit board (110) includes ceramic material and/or composite material or said another printed circuit board (102) includes ceramic material and/or composite material or said printed circuit board (110) and said another printed circuit board (102) include ceramic material and/or composite material.
Regarding claim 13, Birch et al disclose wherein said arrangement (100) is arranged to perform condition monitoring activities based on said detected voltage potential [see paragraph [0045] for details] and/or said detected short circuit between said sensor elements (312/314).
Regarding claim 14, Birch et al disclose [see Figs. 1 and 3 above] an electric device (electronic 101) comprising a power semiconductor module and an arrangement (system 100) for monitoring a condition of the power semiconductor module of an electric drive device (101), the arrangement (100) including: at least one pair of sensor elements (traces 312 and 314), each pair including a first PCB copper trace sensor element (positive trace 314) and a second PCB copper trace sensor element (negative trace 312), arranged on a printed circuit board (sacrificial PCB 110) parallel next to each other as a sensor element pair [see Fig 3 above], said printed circuit board (110) is disposed within or proximate to the electric drive device (101), wherein said first PCB copper trace sensor element (314) is connected to a positive DC supply voltage source (input 316) of said electric drive device (101), and said second PCB copper trace sensor element (312) is connected to a negative DC supply voltage source (output 318) of said electric drive device (101) so that upon applying the DC supply voltage of said electric drive device (101) said DC supply voltage is applied to said at least one pair of sensor elements (312/314) at the same time as to the circuit components of the power semiconductor module.
Regarding claim 15, Birch et al disclose wherein the PCB copper trace sensor elements (312/314) of said at least one pair of sensor elements (312/314) inherently [see Note below] comprises 1 mm to 50 mm long PCB copper traces.
[Note: Although the prior art does not specifically disclose the claimed length of sensor elements, this feature is seen to be an inherent teaching of that device since traces are disclosed and it is apparent that the length has to be at least 1mm for the printed circuit board to function as intended.]
Regarding claim 16, Birch et al disclose wherein the PCB copper trace sensor elements (312/314) of said at least one pair of sensor elements (312/314) do not have any coatings.
Regarding claim 17, Birch et al disclose wherein said arrangement (100) comprises detection electronics (controller 106) arranged to detect a voltage potential [see paragraph [0045] for details] and/or a short circuit between said sensor elements (312/314).
Regarding claim 18, Birch et al disclose [see Fig. 3] wherein said first PCB copper trace sensor element (314) is connected to the positive DC supply voltage source (316) and said second PCB copper trace sensor element (312) is connected to the negative DC supply voltage source (318) of said electric drive device (101), wherein the first PCB copper trace sensor element (314) or the second PCB copper trace sensor element (312) is connected via a current limiter and/or an overcurrent protector [via controller 106].
Regarding claim 19, Birch et al disclose wherein said printed circuit board (110) is a small separate printed circuit board arranged on top of another printed circuit board (printed circuit board 102) [see paragraph [0017] for details].
Regarding claim 20, Birch et al disclose wherein said printed circuit board (110) or said another printed circuit board (102) is the printed circuit board of an electronic circuitry controlling a gate (multiplexer 112) signaling of said power semiconductor module.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for details.
Base on the arguments and rejections above, the following is being applied.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JERMELE M HOLLINGTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858