Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claim(s) 9, 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)1 as being anticipated by Enzinna (2022/0334160) (another embodiment illustrated in Fig. 15).
Regarding Claim 9, Enzinna discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a power source (AC source) configured to provide a voltage;
a transformer (transformer in the middle) comprising a primary and a secondary (See annotated Fig. 15 below), the secondary coupled to an output of the power source (AC source);
a time-varying source (Amplifier 1502) coupled to the primary of the transformer and configured to inject a time-varying signal (“an amplifier 1502 configured to couple to the connection path and to apply a DC offset to the injected time-varying signal”, paragraph [0082]) onto a conduction path between the power source (AC source) and a node (Node) (See annotated Fig. 15 below); and
a monitor (current sensing 103) coupled to the primary and configured to measure time-varying amplitude in the conduction path via a portion of the primary (See annotated Fig. 15 below).
Regarding Claim 14, Enzinna discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the time-varying source is configured to provide a constant amplitude (“maintain a substantially constant amplitude of the time-varying current provided to the load”, paragraph [0012]) while an amplitude at the monitor varies in response to a capacitance (“More specifically, it has been found that it is common for the time-varying signal to change amplitude with changing capacitive load resulting in non-linearities in the capacitance sensing”, paragraph [0064]) seen at the node (fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 15, Enzinna discloses the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the monitor (103) provides feedback configured to adjust the power source in response to the capacitance seen at the node (fig. 7).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enzinna (2022/0334160) in view of Chawla et al. (6,046,641).
Regarding Claim 13, as discussed above, Enzinna essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the secondary of the transformer has fewer turns than a number of turns in the primary.
However, Chawla et al. (6,046,641) discloses that an isolating transformer T1 has a primary connected between the input terminal and ground, and a secondary with one end coupled to the gate G of transistor Q1 and the other end tied to the source S. The transformer T1 has a turn ratio of 3:1. (Col. 5, lines 37-56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the secondary of the transformer has fewer turns than a number of turns in the primary and the secondary coupled in series to the power source and the node (e.g. turn ratio of 3 (primary):1 (secondary)) in order to achieve a desired power output in Enzinna as taught by Chawla.
Allowable subject matter
Claims 1-8 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Prior arts of record do not render obvious, nor anticipate the combination of claimed elements including the technique of:
“a power source configured to provide a voltage to a node;
a transformer having a primary and a secondary, the secondary coupled to the power source and the node, the primary comprising a center tap;
a time-varying source coupled to the primary of the transformer on a first side of the center tap; and
a sensing circuit coupled to the primary of the transformer on a second side of the center tap, and configured to receive a measure a time-varying amplitude on the primary of the transformer on the second side of the center tap.”
Claims 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/WILSON LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845