Remarks
Applicant elects Group I (Claims 1-15) without traverse. Group II (Claims 16-20) has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claim(s) 9, 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Enzinna (2022/0334160).
Regarding Claim 9, Enzinna (2022/0334160) discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a power source (102) configured to provide a voltage (fig. 7);
a transformer (715) comprising a primary and a secondary, the secondary coupled to an output of the power source (102) (fig. 7);
a time-varying source (705) coupled to the primary of the transformer and configured to inject a time-varying signal onto a conduction path between the power source (102) and a node (109) (fig. 7); and
a monitor (103) configured to measure time-varying amplitude in the conduction path via a portion of the primary (“a current monitor 103 configured to measure time-varying current in the conduction path”, paragraphs [0050], [0064], [0080]).
Regarding Claim 14, Enzinna discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the time-varying source is configured to provide a constant amplitude (“maintain a substantially constant amplitude of the time-varying current provided to the load”, paragraph [0012] while an amplitude at the monitor varies in response to a capacitance (“More specifically, it has been found that it is common for the time-varying signal to change amplitude with changing capacitive load resulting in non-linearities in the capacitance sensing”, paragraph [0064]) seen at the node (fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 15, Enzinna discloses the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the monitor (103) provides feedback configured to adjust the power source in response to the capacitance seen at the node (fig. 7).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 8, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enzinna (2022/0334160) in view of Millner et al. (2007/0103092).
Regarding Claim 1, Enzinna (2022/0334160) discloses a system, comprising:
a power source (102) configured to provide a voltage to a node (109) (Fig. 7);
a transformer (715) having a primary and a secondary (paragraph [0040], fig. 7), the secondary coupled to the power source (102) and the node (109) (fig. 7), the primary comprising a center tap;
a time-varying source (705) coupled to the primary of the transformer (fig. 7); and
a sensing circuit (718) coupled to the primary of the transformer, and configured to measure a time-varying amplitude (paragraphs [0064], [0080]) .
As discussed above, Enzinna essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the primary comprising a center tap.
However, Millner et al. (2007/0103092) discloses a center tap coupled to the transformer for applying a voltage of a first polarity to the first lead and a voltage of a second polarity to the second lead, resulting in electric field flux traversing a cross-sectional area between the first and second electrode to generate the plasma body (paragraph [0012]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a center tap to the transformer in Enzinna in order to result in electric field flux traversing a cross-sectional area between the first and second electrode to generate the plasma body as taught by Millner.
Regarding Claim 4, Enzinna discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the center tap (fig. 5A of Millner, connected to ground) and the time-varying source (205 of Enzinna) are referenced to a common voltage (Fig. 2 of Enzinna, connected to ground too).
Regarding Claim 6, Enzinna discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising a resistive device (resistive shunt, paragraph [0043]) at an output of the primary to provide a ground referenced voltage measurement (fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 8, Enzinna discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the amplitude on the second side of the center tap is proportional to a capacitance at the node (“More specifically, it has been found that it is common for the time-varying signal to change amplitude with changing capacitive load resulting in non-linearities in the capacitance sensing”, paragraph [0064]).
Regarding Claim 10, as discussed above, Enzinna essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the apparatus of claim 9, wherein a center tap separates the portion of the primary coupled to the monitor from the portion of the primary coupled to the time-varying source.
However, Millner et al. (2007/0103092) discloses a center tap coupled to the transformer for applying a voltage of a first polarity to the first lead and a voltage of a second polarity to the second lead, resulting in electric field flux traversing a cross-sectional area between the first and second electrode to generate the plasma body (paragraph [0012]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a center tap to the transformer in Enzinna to sperate the portion of the primary coupled to the monitor from the portion of the primary coupled to the time-varying source in order to result in electric field flux traversing a cross-sectional area between the first and second electrode to generate the plasma body as taught by Millner.
Claim(s) 2, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enzinna (2022/0334160) in view of Millner et al. (2007/0103092) further in view of Zhao et al. (2020/0214087).
Regarding Claim 2, as discussed above, Enzinna essentially discloses a filter (filtering, paragraphs [0045], [0084], [0085]) arranged between the node and a capacitive load (abstract, paragraph [0012]) but does not explicitly disclose the system of claim 1, wherein an amplitude and/or frequency of the time-varying source is configured to match a bandpass of a filter arranged between the node and a capacitive load.
However, Zhao et al. (2020/0214087) discloses that the programmable power supply may input, based on match relationships between outputted AC heating powers and conduction frequencies of the bandpass filters BPF, an AC heating power to a matched heater unit to perform heating, thereby achieving zoned temperature control; the disclosures offer a simple circuit structure due to eliminating the need of switch elements, thereby offering a simple control manner (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have matched the AC power (amplitude) with the bandpass filter in Enzinna in order to achieve zoned temperature control, offer a simple control as taught by Zhao.
Regarding Claim 11, as discussed above, Enzinna discloses filtering, paragraphs [0045], [0084], [0085]) but does not explicitly disclose the apparatus of claim 10, wherein a frequency of the time-varying source is configured to correspond with a passband of a filter arranged between the node and a capacitive load.
However, Zhao et al. (2020/0214087) discloses that the programmable power supply may input, based on match relationships between outputted AC heating powers and conduction frequencies of the bandpass filters BPF, an AC heating power to a matched heater unit to perform heating, thereby achieving zoned temperature control; the disclosures offer a simple circuit structure due to eliminating the need of switch elements, thereby offering a simple control manner (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have corresponded the AC power (amplitude) with the bandpass filter in Enzinna in order to achieve zoned temperature control, offer a simple control as taught by Zhao.
Claim(s) 3, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enzinna (2022/0334160) in view of Millner et al. (2007/0103092) further in view of Zhao et al. (2020/0214087), further in view of Hori et al. (2012/0175515).
Regarding Claim 3, as discussed above, Enzinna essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the system of claim 2, wherein the time-varying source operates at a frequency of 5 Hz to 50 Hz.
However, Hori et al. (2012/0175515) discloses that the frequency of the n-phase AC power source is preferably about 20 Hz to about 200 Hz. And a commercial power source (50 Hz or 60 Hz) may be incorporated into a power circuit [0099].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided a commonly used or commercial power source at 20Hz or 50Hz in Enzinna in order to facilitate the operation of the plasma generation as taught by Hori et al.
Regarding Claim 12, as discussed above, Enzinna essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the frequency of the time-varying source is between 5 Hz and 50 Hz.
However, Hori et al. (2012/0175515) discloses that the frequency of the n-phase AC power source is preferably about 20 Hz to about 200 Hz. And a commercial power source (50 Hz or 60 Hz) may be incorporated into a power circuit [0099].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided a commonly used or commercial power source at 20Hz or 50Hz in Enzinna in order to facilitate the operation of the plasma generation as taught by Hori et al.
Claim(s) 5, 7, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enzinna (2022/0334160) in view of Millner et al. (2007/0103092), further in view of Chawla et al. (6,046,641).
Regarding Claim 5, as discussed above, Enzinna in view of Millner essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the secondary of the transformer has fewer turns than a number of turns in the primary and the secondary coupled in series to the power source and the node.
However, Chawla et al. (6,046,641) discloses that an isolating transformer T1 has a primary connected between the input terminal and ground, and a secondary with one end coupled to the gate G of transistor Q1 and the other end tied to the source S. The transformer T1 has a turn ratio of 3:1. (Col. 5, lines 37-56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the secondary of the transformer has fewer turns than a number of turns in the primary and the secondary coupled in series to the power source and the node (e.g. turn ratio of 3 (primary):1 (secondary)) in order to achieve a desired power output in Enzinna as taught by Chawla.
Regarding Claim 7, as discussed above, Enzinna essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the system of claim 1, wherein a number of turns of the primary on both sides of the center tap is selected to achieve a desired gain between the time-varying source and the sensing circuit.
However, Chawla et al (6,046,641) discloses particular turn ratio of the primary and secondary in the transformer to provide stable operation such as power gain (Col. 5, lines 37-56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have adjust particular numbers of turns in the primary and secondary windings of the transformer in Enzinna in order to achieve desired power gain for stable operation as taught by Chawla.
Regarding Claim 13, as discussed above, Enzinna essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the secondary of the transformer has fewer turns than a number of turns in the primary.
However, Chawla et al. (6,046,641) discloses that an isolating transformer T1 has a primary connected between the input terminal and ground, and a secondary with one end coupled to the gate G of transistor Q1 and the other end tied to the source S. The transformer T1 has a turn ratio of 3:1. (Col. 5, lines 37-56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the secondary of the transformer has fewer turns than a number of turns in the primary and the secondary coupled in series to the power source and the node (e.g. turn ratio of 3 (primary):1 (secondary)) in order to achieve a desired power output in Enzinna as taught by Chawla.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yamazawa (2017/0338081) discloses a plasma processing apparatus.
Yuzurihara et al. (2017/0279364) discloses regeneration circulator high frequency power supply device.
Fahimi (8,940,243) discloses a reforming chamber with constant electric discharge to generate hydrogen.
Correspondence
/WILSON LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845