DETAILED ACTION
[1] The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Notice to Applicant
[2] This communication is in response to the amendment filed 20 December 2025. Claims 5 and 15 have been cancelled. Claims 1-3, 6-8, 12-13, 16-17, and 20 have been amended. Claims 21-22 have been added. The Information Disclosure Statements (IDSs) filed 18 November 2025 and 31 March 2025 have been entered and considered. Claims 1-4, 6-14, and 16-22 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
[3] Claim(s) 1-4, 6-14, and 16-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tripathy et al. (United States Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0139417 hereinafter ‘Tripathy’) in view of Roper, JR et al. (United States Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0217114 hereinafter ‘Roper’) and further in view of Kulkarni et al. (United States Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0134682 hereinafter ‘Kulkarni’).
With respect to (currently amended) claim 1, Tripathy discloses a method comprising: receiving a specification of a desired workflow (Tripathy et al.; paragraphs [0022] [0027] [0053] [0072]; See at least text/natural language problem/workflow description. See further mapping natural language description to groups of workflow templates); and generating a template for the desired workflow via a workflow predictive model (Tripathy et al.; paragraphs [0037] [0053]; See at least machine learning model maps description to template), wherein generating the template includes: identifying one of the one or more workflow clusters corresponding to the specification of the desired workflow (Tripathy et al.; paragraphs [0029] [0076]-[0082]; See at least mapping to template types in template repository); and using a portion of the workflow predictive model trained using the identified one workflow pattern cluster to generate the template for the desired workflow (Tripathy et al.; paragraphs [0029] [0037]; See at least machine-learning model trained to learning mappings to map description statement to types of templates in the template repository).
With respect to workflow pattern clusters, Tripathy discloses workflow patterns for a user and further references and applies a mapping process to groups of templates to match a pattern of activities/tasks to a template. While Tripathy discloses workflow patterns and groups of workflows by type, Tripathy fails to apply a clustering process to form a group of templates by pattern.
However, as evidenced by Roper, it is well-known in the art to apply usage patterns to workflow templates to generate clusters of workflow templates based on usage patterns and to further apply template embeddings for future mapping to workflow descriptions (Roper et al.; paragraphs [0261] [0262]; See at least template embeddings and clustering of templates based on historical usage patterns).
Claim 1 has been amended to further specify that the previously recited “clustering” is performed “…using a clustering machine learning model, a plurality of workflow patterns into one or more workflow pattern clusters based at least in part on similarities between a plurality of existing workflows, wherein each of the plurality of workflow patterns was based on one or more of the plurality of existing workflows;…” and that the previously recited “identifying” is of “…a workflow pattern cluster of the one or more workflow pattern clusters…”.
Neither Tripathy nor Roper teaches these elements.
However, as evidenced by Kulkarni, the use of clustering machine learning models to identify workflow pattern clusters to generate a workflow template is well-known in the art (Kulkarni et al.; paragraphs [0043]-[0047] [0052]; See at least application of clustering algorithm to generate clusters of workflows and see use of machine learning mode to classify/cluster workflows based on pattern).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the workflow type-based repositories and description to template matching by similarity scoring of Tripathy by further including well-known template matching by template and description embeddings and clustering workflow templates by usage patterns as taught by Roper. The instant invention is directed to a system and method of generating a workflow template from natural language descriptions. As Tripathy disclose the use of workflow type-based repositories and description to template matching by similarity scoring in the context of a system and method for generating a workflow template from natural language descriptions and Roper similarly discloses the utility template matching by template and description embeddings and clustering workflow templates by usage patterns in the context of a system and method for generating a workflow template from natural language descriptions, the teachings are reasonably considered to have been derived from analogous references and applied in the manner disclosed by the respective references. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the noted combination/modification as rationalized by the simple substitution of one known element (e.g., similarity scoring to match templates and workflow type repository) for another (e.g., embeddings to perform similarity matching and template clustering based on usage patterns) to obtain the predictable result of continually improving workflow generation by accurately matching available templates to a general description of a workflow need, thereby reducing lengthy development times and minimizing the need for human operators having specialized knowledge (Tripathy; paragraph [0002]).
Regarding the combination that includes Kulkarni, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the workflow type-based repositories and description to template matching by similarity scoring of Tripathy by further including well-known application of clustering algorithm to generate clusters of workflows and see use of machine learning mode to classify/cluster workflows based on pattern as taught by Kulkarni. The instant invention is directed to a system and method of generating a workflow template from natural language descriptions. As Tripathy disclose the use of workflow type-based repositories and description to template matching by similarity scoring in the context of a system and method for generating a workflow template from natural language descriptions and Kulkarni similarly discloses the utility of application of clustering algorithm to generate clusters of workflows and see use of machine learning models to classify/cluster workflows based on pattern in the context of a system and method for generating a workflow template from natural language descriptions, the teachings are reasonably considered to have been derived from analogous references and applied in the manner disclosed by the respective references. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the noted combination/modification as rationalized by the simple substitution of one known element (e.g., similarity scoring to match templates and workflow type repository) for another (e.g.,) to obtain the predictable result of continually improving workflow generation by accurately matching available templates to a general description of a workflow need, thereby reducing lengthy development times and minimizing the need for human operators having specialized knowledge.
With respect to claim 2, Tripathy discloses a method further comprising: training the workflow predictive model using the one or more workflow clusters (Tripathy et al.; paragraphs [0029] [0037]; See at least machine-learning model trained to learning mappings to map description statement to types of templates in the template repository).
With respect to claim 3, Tripathy discloses a method wherein the desired workflow comprises one or more workflow patterns (Tripathy et al.; paragraphs [0029] [0030]; See at least mapping to workflow template categories).
With respect to claim 4, Tripathy discloses a method wherein one of the plurality of workflow patterns comprises one or more of the following: a plurality of tasks arranged in a sequence, a plurality of tasks connected via a branch decision, or a plurality of tasks triggered by a particular trigger (Tripathy et al.; paragraphs [0039] [0047]-[0048] [0056]; See at least sequences and triggers and conditions to initiate tasks).
Claim 5 is cancelled.
With respect to claim 6, while Tripathy discloses mapping of workflow descriptions to templates using similarity scoring, Tripathy fails to indicate that embeddings are applied to the workflows and or specifications.
However, as evidenced by Roper, it is well-known in the art to apply usage patterns to workflow templates to generate clusters of workflow templates based on usage patterns and to further apply template embeddings for future mapping to workflow descriptions (Roper et al.; paragraphs [0261] [0262]; See at least template embeddings and clustering of templates based on historical usage patterns).
Regarding claim 6, the conclusions of obviousness and rationale to modify as established for claim 1 above are applicable to claim 6 and are hereby incorporated by reference.
With respect to claim 7, Tripathy discloses a method wherein the associated specifications comprise text descriptions in a natural language format, and wherein the specification of the desired workflow comprises a text description in a natural language format (Tripathy et al.; paragraphs [0022] [0027] [0053] [0072]; See at least text/natural language problem/workflow description. See further mapping natural language description to groups of workflow templates).
With respect to claim 8, Tripathy discloses a method further comprising: transforming the specification of the desired workflow into a version of the specification provided to the workflow predictive model, comprising by: correcting one or more errors in the specification of the desired workflow; standardizing or normalizing the specification of the desired workflow; and transforming the specification of the desired workflow into a corresponding description embedding (Tripathy et al.; paragraphs [0022] [0025]; See at least user review and correction of workflow).
With respect to claim 9, Tripathy discloses a method further comprising: providing an editable version of the template for the desired workflow (Tripathy et al.; paragraphs [0022] [0025] [0059]-[0060]; See at least user review and correction of workflow. See further edit interface).
With respect to claim 10, Tripathy discloses a method wherein the editable version of the template for the desired workflow comprises one or more placeholder editable tasks (Tripathy et al.; paragraphs [0022] [0025] [0059]-[0060]; See at least user review and correction of workflow. See further edit interface).
With respect to claim 11, Tripathy discloses a method wherein the editable version of the template for the desired workflow comprises one or more graphical user interface (GUI) elements for adding additional workflow components (Tripathy et al.; paragraphs [0022] [0025] [0059]-[0060]; See at least user review and correction of workflow. See further edit interface).
With respect to new claims 21 and 22, Tripathy discloses a method further comprising:
executing the desired workflow using the template in response to creation or update of a record associated with an application (Tripathy et al.; paragraphs [0022] [0025] [0059]-[0060]; See at least user review and correction of workflow. See further edit interface. The corrections are reasonably a form of update of a record).
Claims 12-14, 16-20, and 22 as presented by amendment substantially repeat the subject matter addressed above with respect to claims 1-4, 6-11, and 21 as directed to the enabling system and computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions. With respect to these elements, Tripathy discloses enabling the disclosed method employing analogous systems and executable instructions. Accordingly, claims 12-14, 16-20, and 22 are rejected under the applied teachings, conclusions obviousness, and rationale to modify as discussed above with respect to claims 1-4, 6-11, and 21.
Response to Remarks/Amendment
[4] Applicant's remarks filed 20 December 2025 have been fully considered and are addressed as follows:
[i] Applicant’s remarks directed to previous rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4, 7-8, 12-13, 116-17, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable as set forth in the previous Office Action mailed 2 October 2025 have been fully considered and are moot in light of newly added grounds of rejection responsive to the amendments to the subject claims. See revised rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 presented above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT D RINES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3625