DETAILED ACTION
This is a final office action on the merits. The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (the Office) has received claims 1 – 20.
Claims 1, 10, and 19 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Regarding 35 USC § 101
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/22/2025, with respect to 35 USC § 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 35 USC § 101 has been withdrawn.
Regarding 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Harrison teaches storing reward related data associated with the cardholder, establishing one or more redemption conditions, continuously checking whether those conditions are met and upon satisfaction, automatically initiating a cryptocurrency transfer using the platform wallet address, the cardholder wallet address, and the amount of cryptocurrency transfer using the platform wallet address, the cardholder wallet address, and the amount of cryptocurrency to be transferred. Swamidurai further teaches a blockchain network having multiple blockchain nodes maintaining copies of the blockchain, propagating blockchain data among nodes, validating blocks, and writing blocks through consensus. Therefore, the combination teaches the amended claims. Please see the updated rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The factual inquires set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1066), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103 are summarized as follows:
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swamidurai (US20190311392A1) in view of Harrison et al. (US20200065847A1) hereinafter Harrison.
Regarding Claims 1, 10, and 19. Swamidurai teaches:
access the blockchain network through a first blockchain node computing device, the blockchain network including a plurality of node computing devices that store a respective copy of a plurality of blockchains,
Swamidurai - The systems...may use a distributed ledger maintained by a plurality of computing devices (e.g., nodes)…Each computing device maintains a copy…The distributed ledger may use features…including…cryptographically chained blocks of data. Each block may link to the previous block and may include a timestamp. Blocks may be linked because each block may include the hash of the prior block in the blockchain. Access to data stored on the blockchain (¶ 0019). transfer blockchain node 135-1 (e.g., a consensus participant) may be configured to allow transaction network 101 access to transfer blockchain 140 (¶ 0031). Transfer blockchain 140 may be maintained on various transfer blockchain nodes 135 in the form of copies of the transfer blockchain (¶ 0034).
each blockchain including a sequence of one or more blocks that are cryptographically verifiable and enforce a chronological order of data stored in subsequent blocks, wherein each block after a first block includes a description of data stored in a previous block;
Swamidurai - Blocks may be linked because each block may include the hash of the prior block in the blockchain. The linked blocks form a chain (¶ 0019). may be ensured that the rewards transfer message written to transfer blockchain 140 (e.g., in step 316, with brief reference to FIG. 3) was not tampered with or modified before being retrieved in step 404. In response to the (first) rewards transfer message hash not matching the second rewards transfer message hash, rewards partner 150-1, 150-2, 150-3 may be noticed that the rewards transfer message written to transfer blockchain 140 (e.g., in step 316, with brief reference to FIG. 3) was tampered with or modified before being retrieved in step 404 (¶ 0054).
broadcast an update to the plurality of node computing devices of the blockchain network, the update including the reward token transaction;
Swamidurai - The system may also increase the reliability of data transfers in a network environment having reliable and unreliable peers, as each node broadcasts messages to all connected peers, and, as each block comprises a link to a previous block, a node may quickly detect a missing block and propagate a request for the missing block to the other nodes in the blockchain network (¶ 0021). retrieve and update data in rewards database 115, in response to changes in user reward points (e.g., reward points earned, reward points spent, redeemed, or transferred, etc.) (¶ 0028).
validate the reward token transaction; and
Swamidurai - validate, and/or keep track of rewards transfer messages and/or rewards transfer response messages to ensure that reward points are being transferred accurately and timely. Data transfers (e.g., rewards transfer messages and/or rewards transfer response messages) performed through the system may propagate to the connected peers within the blockchain network within a duration that may be determined by the block creation time of the specific blockchain technology implemented (¶ 0020).
in response to validation of the reward token transaction, generate and store a new block the blockchain network with the reward token transaction.
Swamidurai - The system may write the rewards transfer message hash and the encrypted rewards transfer message to a transfer blockchain. The system may propagate the rewards transfer message hash and the encrypted rewards transfer message to the blockchain network ( 0003). Each computing device maintains a copy and/or partial copy of the distributed ledger and communicates with one or more other computing devices in the network to validate and write data to the distributed ledger. The blockchain may comprise a ledger of interconnected blocks ... Each block may link to the previous block and may include a timestamp. Blocks may be linked because each block may include the hash of the prior block in the blockchain (¶ 0019). a new data entry may become available within about 13-20 seconds as of the writing (¶ 0020) and Fig. 5.
Swamidurai does not teach, however Harrison discloses the following:
An access computing device for automatically transferring tokens using a blockchain network based upon predefined performance data the access computing device comprising at least one processor in communication with at least one memory device, the at least one processor configured to:
Harrison - automatically initiate a transfer of the cryptocurrency rewards to the cardholder (¶ 0077). one or more processors 2402 (¶ 0110). the platform automatically checks to see if these criteria are met (¶ 0076). memory devices 2410 (¶ 0112).
retrieve receiver data including (i) predefined performance data associated with a receiver, and (ii) one or more execution criteria associated with the receiver;
Harrison - the amount of rewards earned, the amount of rewards owed, the type of reward asset desired by the cardholder, the digital wallet address of where to deliver rewards (¶ 0070). one or more conditions that need to be met in order for the rewards to be disbursed (¶ 0076).
compare the predefined performance data to the one or more execution criteria to determine a predetermined criterion of the one or more execution criteria is met;
Harrison - The platform can calculate the sum of rewards a cardholder has earned but not been delivered through its ledger (¶ 0075). the platform automatically checks to see if these criteria are met. The card issuer can create one or more conditions that need to be met in order for the rewards to be disbursed (¶ 0076).
in response to the predetermined criterion being met, automatically generate a reward token transaction,
Harrison - assets are issued periodically (e.g., every 12, 24, or 48 hours). The assets could also be issued to each cardholder after the cardholder has reached a redemption threshold (e.g., following the conclusion of a cycle, after determining the value of the reward exceeds a predetermined threshold, etc.) (¶ 0041). calculating and distributing rewards only once per cycle (¶ 0056).
the reward token transaction including transaction data comprising at least a wallet address of a sender, a wallet address of the receiver, and an amount of reward tokens;
Harrison - specifies the address of the digital wallet belonging to the platform, the address of the digital wallet belonging to the cardholder (e.g., as recorded in a cardholder profile created during registration for the specialized payment card), and the amount of Bitcoin to be transferred. (¶ 0104).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled of the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the reward transfers on a blockchain via nodes and explicitly broadcasting of funding transaction to the blockchain of Swamidurai with the on-chain wallet-to-wallet reward disbursement and block confirmations and the automated reward assignment from an administrative wallet to a user wallet under a reward configuration and the secure off-chain exchange flows of Harrison because doing so reduces fraud, ensures delivery, and provide wallet level allocation with verification.
Regarding Claims 2 and 11. The combination of Swamidurai and Harrison further discloses:
The access computing device of claim 1, wherein the sender of the reward token transaction is an administrative account.
Swamidurai - The system may write the rewards transfer message hash and the encrypted rewards transfer message to a transfer blockchain. The system may propagate the rewards transfer message hash and the encrypted rewards transfer message to the blockchain network ( 0003). Each computing device maintains a copy and/or partial copy of the distributed ledger and communicates with one or more other computing devices in the network to validate and write data to the distributed ledger. The blockchain may comprise a ledger of interconnected blocks ... Each block may link to the previous block and may include a timestamp. Blocks may be linked because each block may include the hash of the prior block in the blockchain (¶ 0019). a new data entry may become available within about 13-20 seconds as of the writing (¶ 0020) and Fig. 5.
Regarding Claims 3 and 12. The combination of Swamidurai and Harrison further discloses:
The access computing device of claim 2, wherein the predetermined criterion comprises an objective performance goal being met.
Harrison - assets are issued periodically (e.g., every 12, 24, or 48 hours). The assets could also be issued to each cardholder after the cardholder has reached a redemption threshold (e.g., following the conclusion of a cycle, after determining the value of the reward exceeds a predetermined threshold, etc.) (¶ 0041). calculating and distributing rewards only once per cycle (¶ 0056).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled of the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the reward transfers on a blockchain via nodes and explicitly broadcasting of funding transaction to the blockchain of Swamidurai with the on-chain wallet-to-wallet reward disbursement and block confirmations and the automated reward assignment from an administrative wallet to a user wallet under a reward configuration and the secure off-chain exchange flows of Harrison because doing so reduces fraud, ensures delivery, and provide wallet level allocation with verification.
Regarding Claims 4 and 13. The combination of Swamidurai and Harrison further discloses:
The access computing device of claim 1, wherein the predetermined criterion is a predetermined period of time passing, the sender of the reward token transaction is an administrative account, and the receiver of the reward tokens is a designated token distributor.
Swamidurai - A system, method, and computer readable medium (collectively, the “system”) is disclosed for reward point transfers using blockchain. The system may receive, by a first transfer blockchain node in a blockchain network, an encrypted rewards transfer message and a rewards transfer message hash. The encrypted rewards transfer message may comprise a points transfer amount and a user rewards account partner identifier. The rewards transfer message hash may be based on the rewards transfer message. The encrypted rewards transfer message may be encrypted using a rewards partner public key and a transaction network private key. The system may write the rewards transfer message hash and the encrypted rewards transfer message to a transfer blockchain. The system may propagate the rewards transfer message hash and the encrypted rewards transfer message to the blockchain network (¶ 0003).
Regarding Claims 5 and 14. The combination of Swamidurai and Harrison further discloses:
The access computing device of claim 4, wherein the reward token transaction is a first reward token transaction, and the at least one processor is further configured to: receive a second reward token transaction, the second reward token transaction including transaction data comprising at least a wallet address of a sender, a wallet address of a receiver, and an amount of reward tokens, wherein the sender of the second reward token transaction is the designated token distributor; broadcast an update to the plurality of node computing devices of the blockchain network, the update including the second reward token transaction; validate the second reward token transaction; and in response to validation of the second reward token transaction, generate and store a new block the blockchain network with the second reward token transaction.
Swamidurai - a second transfer blockchain node in the blockchain network may retrieve the rewards transfer message hash and the encrypted rewards transfer message from the transfer blockchain. The second transfer blockchain node may be associated with a rewards partner system, and wherein the rewards partner system retrieves the rewards transfer message hash and the encrypted rewards transfer message from the second transfer blockchain node. The rewards partner system may decrypt the encrypted rewards transfer message using a rewards partner private key and a transaction network public key, generates a second rewards transfer message hash based on the decrypted rewards transfer message, and determines whether the second rewards transfer message hash matches the first rewards transfer message hash. The rewards partner system may generate a rewards transfer response message comprising the user rewards account partner identifier and a transfer status, generates a rewards transfer response message hash based on the rewards transfer response message, and encrypts the rewards transfer response message using the rewards partner private key and the transaction network public key. The second transfer blockchain node may receive the encrypted rewards transfer response message and the rewards transfer response message hash from the rewards partner system, write the encrypted rewards transfer response message and the rewards transfer response message hash to the transfer blockchain, and propagate the encrypted rewards transfer response message and the rewards transfer response message hash to the blockchain network (¶ 0004).
Regarding Claims 6 and 15. The combination of Swamidurai and Harrison further discloses:
The access computing device of claim 5, wherein the receiver of the second reward token transaction is an employee or client of a company, wherein the reward tokens are associated with the company.
Swamidurai - The access levels may, for example, be configured to permit only certain individuals, levels of employees, companies, or other entities to access data sets, or to permit access to specific data sets based on the transaction, merchant, issuer, user or the like. Furthermore, the security information may restrict/permit only certain actions such as accessing, modifying, and/or deleting data sets (¶ 0094).
Regarding Claims 7 and 16. The combination of Swamidurai and Harrison further discloses:
The access computing device of claim 6, wherein the access computing device is communicatively coupled to a database and the at least one processor is further configured to receive an alias of the wallet address of the receiver and perform a lookup of the wallet address of the receiver in the database using the alias of the wallet address of the receiver.
Swamidurai - The system may write the rewards transfer message hash and the encrypted rewards transfer message to a transfer blockchain. The system may propagate the rewards transfer message hash and the encrypted rewards transfer message to the blockchain network ( 0003). Each computing device maintains a copy and/or partial copy of the distributed ledger and communicates with one or more other computing devices in the network to validate and write data to the distributed ledger. The blockchain may comprise a ledger of interconnected blocks ... Each block may link to the previous block and may include a timestamp. Blocks may be linked because each block may include the hash of the prior block in the blockchain (¶ 0019). a new data entry may become available within about 13-20 seconds as of the writing (¶ 0020) and Fig. 5.
Regarding Claims 8 and 17. The combination of Swamidurai and Harrison further discloses:
The access computing device of claim 1, further comprising causing transaction data associated with the reward token transaction to be displayed on a graphical user interface of the access computing device or a user device communicatively coupled to the access computing device.
Swamidurai - The system may write the rewards transfer message hash and the encrypted rewards transfer message to a transfer blockchain. The system may propagate the rewards transfer message hash and the encrypted rewards transfer message to the blockchain network ( 0003). Each computing device maintains a copy and/or partial copy of the distributed ledger and communicates with one or more other computing devices in the network to validate and write data to the distributed ledger. The blockchain may comprise a ledger of interconnected blocks ... Each block may link to the previous block and may include a timestamp. Blocks may be linked because each block may include the hash of the prior block in the blockchain (¶ 0019). a new data entry may become available within about 13-20 seconds as of the writing (¶ 0020) and Fig. 5.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled of the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the reward transfers on a blockchain via nodes and explicitly broadcasting of funding transaction to the blockchain of Swamidurai with the on-chain wallet-to-wallet reward disbursement and block confirmations and the automated reward assignment from an administrative wallet to a user wallet under a reward configuration and the secure off-chain exchange flows of Harrison because doing so reduces fraud, ensures delivery, and provide wallet level allocation with verification.
Regarding Claims 9 and 18. The combination of Swamidurai and Harrison further discloses:
The access computing device of claim 8, further comprising causing transaction data associated with all reward token transactions associated with a digital wallet to be displayed on a graphical user interface of the access computing device or the user device.
Swamidurai - The system may write the rewards transfer message hash and the encrypted rewards transfer message to a transfer blockchain. The system may propagate the rewards transfer message hash and the encrypted rewards transfer message to the blockchain network ( 0003). Each computing device maintains a copy and/or partial copy of the distributed ledger and communicates with one or more other computing devices in the network to validate and write data to the distributed ledger. The blockchain may comprise a ledger of interconnected blocks ... Each block may link to the previous block and may include a timestamp. Blocks may be linked because each block may include the hash of the prior block in the blockchain (¶ 0019). a new data entry may become available within about 13-20 seconds as of the writing (¶ 0020) and Fig. 5.
Regarding Claims 19 and 20. The combination of Swamidurai and Harrison further discloses:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 19, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the access computing device to: receiving a second reward token transaction,
Swamidurai - The systems...may use a distributed ledger maintained by a plurality of computing devices (e.g., nodes)…Each computing device maintains a copy…The distributed ledger may use features…including…cryptographically chained blocks of data. Each block may link to the previous block and may include a timestamp. Blocks may be linked because each block may include the hash of the prior block in the blockchain. Access to data stored on the blockchain (¶ 0019).
broadcasting an update to the plurality of node computing devices of the blockchain network, the update including the second reward token transaction;
Swamidurai - The system may also increase the reliability of data transfers in a network environment having reliable and unreliable peers, as each node broadcasts messages to all connected peers, and, as each block comprises a link to a previous block, a node may quickly detect a missing block and propagate a request for the missing block to the other nodes in the blockchain network (¶ 0021). retrieve and update data in rewards database 115, in response to changes in user reward points (e.g., reward points earned, reward points spent, redeemed, or transferred, etc.) (¶ 0028).
validating the second reward token transaction; and
Swamidurai - validate, and/or keep track of rewards transfer messages and/or rewards transfer response messages to ensure that reward points are being transferred accurately and timely. Data transfers (e.g., rewards transfer messages and/or rewards transfer response messages) performed through the system may propagate to the connected peers within the blockchain network within a duration that may be determined by the block creation time of the specific blockchain technology implemented (¶ 0020).
in response to validation of the second reward token transaction, generating and storing a new block the blockchain network with the second reward token transaction.
Swamidurai - The system may write the rewards transfer message hash and the encrypted rewards transfer message to a transfer blockchain. The system may propagate the rewards transfer message hash and the encrypted rewards transfer message to the blockchain network ( 0003). Each computing device maintains a copy and/or partial copy of the distributed ledger and communicates with one or more other computing devices in the network to validate and write data to the distributed ledger. The blockchain may comprise a ledger of interconnected blocks ... Each block may link to the previous block and may include a timestamp. Blocks may be linked because each block may include the hash of the prior block in the blockchain (¶ 0019). a new data entry may become available within about 13-20 seconds as of the writing (¶ 0020) and Fig. 5.
Swamidurai does not teach, however Harrison discloses the following:
an amount of reward tokens, wherein the sender of the second reward token transaction is a designated token distributor;
Harrison - assets are issued periodically (e.g., every 12, 24, or 48 hours). The assets could also be issued to each cardholder after the cardholder has reached a redemption threshold (e.g., following the conclusion of a cycle, after determining the value of the reward exceeds a predetermined threshold, etc.) (¶ 0041). calculating and distributing rewards only once per cycle (¶ 0056).
the second reward token transaction including transaction data comprising at least a wallet address of a sender, a wallet address of a receiver, and
Harrison - specifies the address of the digital wallet belonging to the platform, the address of the digital wallet belonging to the cardholder (e.g., as recorded in a cardholder profile created during registration for the specialized payment card), and the amount of Bitcoin to be transferred. (¶ 0104).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled of the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the reward transfers on a blockchain via nodes and explicitly broadcasting of funding transaction to the blockchain of Swamidurai with the on-chain wallet-to-wallet reward disbursement and block confirmations and the automated reward assignment from an administrative wallet to a user wallet under a reward configuration and the secure off-chain exchange flows of Harrison because doing so reduces fraud, ensures delivery, and provide wallet level allocation with verification.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Hurry et al. (US20200151682A1) - Techniques are disclosed which include receiving, by a central entity computer, a request for digital currency. The request includes a serial number and a denomination of a physical currency. The central entity computer generates the digital currency for the denomination and linked to the serial number. The generating includes recording the digital currency on a blockchain. The central entity computer transmits a notification of the generation of the digital currency. The central entity computer causes removal of the physical currency from circulation in a fiat currency system.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.C.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3698
/PATRICK MCATEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3698