DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received 2/15/2024 for application number 18/443,070.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 12-16, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bao et al., Using Distillation to Improve Network Performance after Pruning and Quantization (see NPL [U] in Notice of References Cited).
In reference to claim 1, Bao discloses a processor (4.1 Experimental environment, page 5) comprising: one or more circuits to cause precision of one or more layers of one or more first versions of a neural network (pruned student model is first version, and precision is changed by quantizing weights, 3. Methodology and figs. 1-3, pages 4-5) to be modified based, at least in part, on a change in accuracy of one or more corresponding layers of one or more second versions of the neural network caused by deactivation of one or more weights of the one or more corresponding layers (quantization is based on distillation loss between teacher model, which is the second version of the NN that is dense, and the current student model, which has been pruned, i.e. weights deactivated, 3. Methodology and figs. 1-3, pages 4-5; also see Polino et al. Model Compression via Distillation and Quantization, NPL [V] at pages 3-6, which is cited in Bao as the quantization method and gives additional detail on how quantization is performed).
In reference to claim 2, Bao discloses the processor of claim 1, wherein the one or more circuits are to quantify the change in accuracy of the one or more corresponding layers of the one or more second versions of the neural network based, at least in part, on one or more comparisons of activations of one or more sparse versions and one or more dense versions of the neural network (cross-entropy soft target of distillation loss is based on comparison of activations of teacher and student models, 3. Methodology, page 5).
In reference to claim 3, Bao discloses the processor of claim 1, wherein the one or more circuits are to generate one or more other weights to be applied to one or more loss values based, at least in part, on the change in accuracy of the one or more corresponding layers of the one or more second versions of the neural network (quantization is based on distillation loss between teacher model, 3. Methodology, page 5).
In reference to claim 5, Bao discloses the processor of claim 1, wherein the one or more circuits are to cause the precision of the one or more layers of the one or more first versions of a neural network to be modified using a scale factor based, at least in part, on one or more of hard label predictions, soft logits, or feature maps, of the one or more first and second versions of the neural network (quantization scaling function based on hard and soft distillation losses between teacher and student network, 3. Methodology page 5).
In reference to claim 6, Bao discloses the processor of claim 1, wherein the one or more circuits are to cause the precision of the one or more layers of the one or more first versions of the neural network to be modified based, at least in part, on a comparison of an accuracy metric of the one or more first versions of the neural network and an accuracy metric of the one or more second versions of the neural network (quantization based on distillation losses, which is an accuracy metric, between teacher and student network, 3. Methodology page 5).
In reference to claim 7, Bao discloses the processor of claim 1, wherein the one or more circuits are to cause the precision of the one or more layers of the one or more first versions of a neural network to be modified using one or more of hard label distillation losses, soft logit distillation losses, or feature-based distillation losses based, at least in part, on the one or more first versions of the neural network and the one or more second versions of a neural network (quantization scaling function based on hard and soft distillation losses between teacher and student network, 3. Methodology, page 5).
In reference to claim 8, this claim is directed to a system associated with the apparatus claimed in claim 1 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale.
In reference to claim 12, Bao discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors are to cause the precision of the one or more layers of the one or more first versions of a neural network to be modified using a scale factor based, at least in part, on an overall calibration loss of one or more sparse floating-point versions and the one or more first versions of the neural network (quantizing scaling based on loss between dense teacher and pruned, but not yet quantized student models, 3. Methodology, page 5).
In reference to claim 13, Bao discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors are to cause the precision of the one or more layers of the one or more first versions of the neural network to be modified based, at least in part, on an overall pruning loss of one or more dense versions and the one or more second versions of the neural network (quantization scaling function based on losses from pruning, 3. Methodology page 5).
In reference to claim 14, Bao discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the one or more processors are to quantify the change in accuracy of the one or more corresponding layers of the one or more second versions of the neural network based, at least in part, on one or more comparisons of activations of one or more dense full-precision versions and one or more sparse full-precision versions of the neural network (pruned and quantized network can be used for inference, 4. Experiments and Results, pages 5-6).
In reference to claim 15, this claim is directed to a method associated with the apparatus claimed in claim 1 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale.
In reference to claim 16, Bao discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the one or more processors are to quantify the change in accuracy of the one or more corresponding layers of the one or more second versions of the neural network based, at least in part, on one or more comparisons of activations of one or more dense full-precision versions and one or more sparse full-precision versions of the neural network (loss based on comparison of activations of dense teacher and pruned, but not yet quantized student models, 3. Methodology, page 5).
In reference to claim 19, Bao discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the one or more processors are to cause the precision of the one or more layers of the one or more first versions of a neural network to be modified based, at least in part, on one or more knowledge distillation neural network modification techniques (quantization based on knowledge distillation techniques, 3. Methodology, pages 4-5).
In reference to claim 20, Bao discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the one or more processors are to cause the precision of the one or more layers of the one or more first versions of the neural network to be modified based, at least in part, on an overall pruning loss of one or more dense floating-point versions of the neural network and the one or more second versions of the neural network that are one or more sparse full-precision versions of the neural network (quantization scaling function based on losses from pruning, 3. Methodology page 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 9-11, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao et al., Using Distillation to Improve Network Performance after Pruning and Quantization (see NPL [U] in Notice of References Cited) as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above, and in further view of Lin et al., Knowledge Distillation via the Target-aware Transformer (see NPL [W] in Notice of References Cited).
In reference to claim 4, Bao does not explicitly teach the processor of claim 1, wherein the one or more circuits are to quantify the change in accuracy of the one or more corresponding layers based, at least in part, on feature calibration loss values of the one or more corresponding layers.
Lin teaches the processor of claim 1, wherein the one or more circuits are to quantify the change in accuracy of the one or more corresponding layers based, at least in part, on feature calibration loss values of the one or more corresponding layers (during knowledge distillation, the overall distillation loss is based on a feature map loss between teacher and student networks, 3. Method, pages 10917-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, having the teachings of Bao and Lin before the earliest effective filing date, to modify the losses of Bao to include the feature calibration loss of Lin.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the losses of Bao to include the feature calibration loss of Lin because it helps boost the performance of vision models after knowledge distillation (Lin, page 10915).
In reference to claim 9, Bao teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors are to quantify the change in accuracy of the one or more corresponding layers of the one or more second versions of the neural network based, at least in part, … [the] one or more sparse versions and one or more dense versions of the neural network (quantization based on distillation losses between teacher and student network, 3. Methodology page 5).
However, Bao does not explicitly teach one or more comparisons of activated features.
Lin teaches one or more comparisons of activated features (during knowledge distillation, the overall distillation loss is based on a feature map loss between teacher and student networks, 3. Method, pages 10917-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, having the teachings of Bao and Lin before the earliest effective filing date, to modify the losses of Bao to include the feature calibration loss of Lin.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the losses of Bao to include the feature calibration loss of Lin because it helps boost the performance of vision models after knowledge distillation (Lin, page 10915).
In reference to claim 10, Bao teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors are to generate one or more other weights to be applied to one or more loss values based, at least in part, … the one or more corresponding layers of the one or more first versions and the one or more second versions of the neural network (quantization based on distillation losses between teacher and student network, 3. Methodology page 5).
However, Bao does not explicitly teach feature distillation loss values.
Lin teaches feature distillation loss values (during knowledge distillation, the overall distillation loss is based on a feature map loss between teacher and student networks, 3. Method, pages 10917-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, having the teachings of Bao and Lin before the earliest effective filing date, to modify the losses of Bao to include the feature calibration loss of Lin.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the losses of Bao to include the feature calibration loss of Lin because it helps boost the performance of vision models after knowledge distillation (Lin, page 10915).
In reference to claim 11, Bao teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors are to cause the precision of the one or more layers of the one or more first versions of a neural network to be modified based, at least in part, on a comparison of … corresponding layers of one or more sparse floating-point versions and the one or more first versions of the neural network (quantization based on distillation losses between teacher and student network, 3. Methodology page 5).
However, Bao does not explicitly teach feature calibration loss values.
Lin teaches feature calibration loss values (during knowledge distillation, the overall distillation loss is based on a feature map loss between teacher and student networks, 3. Method, pages 10917-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, having the teachings of Bao and Lin before the earliest effective filing date, to modify the losses of Bao to include the feature calibration loss of Lin.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the losses of Bao to include the feature calibration loss of Lin because it helps boost the performance of vision models after knowledge distillation (Lin, page 10915).
In reference to claim 17, Bao teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the one or more processors are to modify one or more other weights applied to [losses] based, at least in part, on an overall calibration loss of the one or more first versions and the one or more second versions of the neural network (quantization based on distillation losses between teacher and student network, 3. Methodology page 5).
However, Bao does not explicitly teach one or more feature calibration loss values.
Lin teaches one or more feature calibration loss values (during knowledge distillation, the overall distillation loss is based on a feature map loss between teacher and student networks, 3. Method, pages 10917-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, having the teachings of Bao and Lin before the earliest effective filing date, to modify the losses of Bao to include the feature calibration loss of Lin.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the losses of Bao to include the feature calibration loss of Lin because it helps boost the performance of vision models after knowledge distillation (Lin, page 10915).
In reference to claim 18, Bao teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the one or more processors are to cause the precision of the one or more layers of the one or more first versions of a neural network to be modified based, at least in part, on a comparison of … corresponding layers of one or more sparse floating-point versions and the one or more first versions of the neural network that are one or more sparse quantized versions of the neural network (quantization based on distillation losses between teacher and student network, 3. Methodology page 5; it would be obvious that the teacher network could be the sparse model and the student the quantized model).
However, Bao does not explicitly teach feature calibration loss values.
Lin teaches feature distillation loss values (during knowledge distillation, the overall distillation loss is based on a feature map loss between teacher and student networks, 3. Method, pages 10917-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, having the teachings of Bao and Lin before the earliest effective filing date, to modify the losses of Bao to include the feature calibration loss of Lin.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the losses of Bao to include the feature calibration loss of Lin because it helps boost the performance of vision models after knowledge distillation (Lin, page 10915).
Conclusion
/ANDREW T CHIUSANO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2144