DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment filed June 30, 2026 has been fully considered and entered.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fini et al. (US 2023/0251440 A1).
Regarding claims 1-7; Optical receiver circuitry (Polarization Diverse Receiver with Delays, see title; receiver 300; see Figure 3) comprising:
a polarization diversifier (300) configured to:
receive an input optical signal (154; see Figure 3 and paragraph 71);
output a first component (optical signal 159 at first optical output 156C) of the input optical signal (154) into a first end (157B) of a looped optical path (157; optical data bus 157 is implemented as an optical waveguide and has a continuous loop-like structure; see paragraph 71; see Figure 3); and
output a second component (optical signal 158 at second optical output 157A) of the input optical signal (154) into a second end (157A) of the looped optical path (157);
a first add-drop ring resonator filter (ring resonator 301-1; see Figure 3 and paragraph 72) disposed in the optical path (157);
a first photodetector circuit (305-1);
a first waveguide (303A-1 / 303B-1) configured to transmit the first component (159 /309-1) from the first add-drop ring resonator filter (301-1) to the first photodetector circuit (305-1), the first waveguide (303A-1 / 303B-1) having a first length (short section; see paragraph 74); and
a second waveguide (303A-1 / 303 C-1) configured to transmit the second component (158 / 307-1) from the first add-drop ring resonator filter (301-1) to the first photodetector circuit (305-1), the second waveguide (303A-1 / 303C-1) having a second length (long section; see paragraph 74) that is greater than the first length;
wherein the first component (159) and the second component (158) propagate in opposite directions along the looped optical path (157; arrows 158 and 159 represent optical signals propagating in opposite directions within looped optical path 157; see paragraphs 70 and 71; see Figure 3);
wherein the second length (long section; see paragraph 74) is greater than the first length (short section; see paragraph 74) to compensate for the second component (158) reaching the first add-drop ring resonator filter (301-1; see Figure 3) before the first component (159) reaches the first add-drop ring resonator filter (301-1; see paragraphs 47 and 70; prescribed optical signal time delays magnitudes provide for effective timing differential compensation for different polarization components (TE and TM); optical signals timing delays are configured to ensure that the corresponding portions of the two split optical input signals, which are traveling in opposite directions, arrive at a given photodetector at substantially the same time);
wherein the first component includes a quasi-transverse-electric mode (TE; see paragraph 51) and the second component includes a quasi-transverse-magnetic mode (TM; see paragraph 51);
wherein the polarization diversifier (300) includes at least one of a polarization splitter and rotator (PSR 156; see paragraph 70) or a polarization splitting grating coupler (see paragraphs 44 and 51);
further comprising a waveguide delay line (Delay 315) in the optical path (157);
further comprising:
a second add-drop ring resonator filter (301-2) disposed in the optical path (157);
a second photodetector circuit (305-2);
a third waveguide (303A-2 / 303 B-2) configured to transmit the first component (159 / 309-2) from the second add-drop ring resonator filter (301-2) to the second photodetector circuit (305-2); and
a fourth waveguide (303A-2 / 303 C-2) configured to transmit the second component (158) from the second add-drop ring resonator filter (301-2) to the second photodetector circuit (305-2);
wherein the third waveguide (303A-2 / 303 B-2) has a third length that is equal to the first length (303A-1 / 303 B-1);
wherein the fourth waveguide (303A-2 / 303 C-2) has a length that is greater than the first length (303A-1 / 303 B-1) and less than the second length (303A-1 / 303 C-1).
Regarding claims 10-14 and 16; Fini et al. discloses a wavelength division multiplexing (WDM) receiver (see Figure 3) comprising:
a polarization diversifier (300) configured to:
receive an input optical signal (154);
output a first component (159) of the input optical signal (154) into a first end (157-B) of a looped optical path (157); and
output a second component (158) of the input optical signal (154) into a second end (157-A) of the looped optical path (154);
a first channel (λ1, 311-1) extending out from the looped optical path (157), the first channel comprising:
a first waveguide (303A-1 / 303 B-1) configured to transmit the first component (159) through the first channel (λ1, 311-1) to a first photodetector circuit (305-1); and
a second waveguide (303A-1 / 303C-1) configured to transmit the second component (158) through the first channel (λ1, 311-1) to the first photodetector circuit (305-1), the second waveguide including a waveguide delay line (the longer section 303C-1 forms a delay line); and
a second channel (λ2, 311-2) extending out from the looped optical path (157), the second channel (λ2, 311-2) comprising:
a third waveguide (303A-2 / 303B-2) configured to transmit the first component (159) through the second channel (λ2, 311-2) to a second photodetector circuit (305-2); and
a fourth waveguide (303A-2 / 303C-2) configured to transmit the second component (158) through the second channel (λ2, 311-2) to the second photodetector circuit (305-2);
wherein the first component (159) and the second component (158) propagate in opposite directions along the looped optical path (157; arrows 158 and 159 represent optical signals propagating in opposite directions within looped optical path 157; see paragraphs 70 and 71; see Figure 3); and
wherein the waveguide delay line (longer section 303C-1) is configured to compensate for the second component (158) reaching the first channel (311-1) before the first component (159) reaches the first channel (311-1; see paragraphs 47 and 70; prescribed optical signal time delays magnitudes provide for effective timing differential compensation for different polarization components (TE and TM); optical signals timing delays are configured to ensure that the corresponding portions of the two split optical input signals, which are traveling in opposite directions, arrive at a given photodetector at substantially the same time);
further comprising an add-drop ring resonator filter (301-1) of the first channel (λ1, 311-1), the first waveguide and the second waveguide coupled to the add-drop ring resonator filter (see Figure 3);
wherein the first component includes a quasi-transverse-electric mode (TE) and the second component includes a quasi-transverse-magnetic mode (TM; see paragraph 51);
wherein the polarization diversifier (300) includes at least one of a polarization splitter and rotator (PSR 156; see paragraph 70) or a polarization splitting grating coupler (see paragraphs 44 and 51);
further comprising an additional waveguide delay line (Delay 315) included in the looped optical path (157);
further comprising an additional a waveguide delay line (303 C-2; the longer section of waveguide forms a delay line) included in the fourth waveguide.
Regarding claims 17-20; Fini A method (see Figure 3) comprising:
receiving an input optical signal (154);
splitting the input optical signal (154) into a first component (159) and a second component (158);
guiding the first component (159) into a first end (157B) of an optical path (157);
guiding the second component (158) into a second end (157A) of the optical path (157);
transmitting the first component (159) through an add-drop ring resonator filter (301-1) disposed in the optical path (157) and into a first waveguide (303A-1 / 303B-1) having a first length;
transmitting the second component (158) through the add-drop ring resonator filter (301-1) and into a second waveguide (303A-1 / 303C-1) having a second length that is greater than the first length (see Figure 3);
transmitting the first component (159) through the first waveguide to a photodetector circuit (305-1); and
transmitting the second component (158) through the second waveguide to the photodetector circuit (305-1);
wherein the first component (159) and the second component (158) propagate in opposite directions along the looped optical path (157; arrows 158 and 159 represent optical signals propagating in opposite directions within looped optical path 157; see paragraphs 70 and 71; see Figure 3);
wherein the second length (long section; see paragraph 74) is greater than the first length (short section; see paragraph 74) to compensate for the second component (158) reaching the first add-drop ring resonator filter (301-1; see Figure 3) before the first component (159) reaches the first add-drop ring resonator filter (158; see paragraphs 47 and 70; prescribed optical signal time delays magnitudes provide for effective timing differential compensation for different polarization components (TE and TM); optical signals timing delays are configured to ensure that the corresponding portions of the two split optical input signals, which are traveling in opposite directions, arrive at a given photodetector at substantially the same time);
wherein the first component includes a quasi-transverse-electric mode and the second component includes a quasi-transverse-magnetic mode (TE and TM; see paragraph 51);
wherein the input optical signal (154) is split into the first component (159) and the second component (158) using a polarization diversifier (300);
further comprising delaying (at delay 315) transmission of the second component through the optical path (157).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fini et al. (US 2023/0251440 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 9; Fini et al. discloses a waveguide delay line (315) in the optical path, but fails to specifically disclose that the third waveguide has a third length that is equal to the second length, however before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to reverse the orientation of the waveguides to provide the third waveguide having a third length that is equal to the second length for the purpose of orienting the waveguide in a desired manner, since this would not appear to produce any novel or unexpected results and is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 15; before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide an additional a waveguide delay line included in the third waveguide for the purpose of providing a desired optical output with optimal delays.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 19, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that claim 1 has been amended to recite a specific reason why the second length is greater than the first length, in particular, the second length is greater because the second component reaches the first add-drop ring resonator filter before the first component reaches the same add-drop ring resonator.
The examiner notes that Fini discloses that the second length (long section; see paragraph 74) is greater than the first length (short section; see paragraph 74) to compensate for the second component (158) reaching the first add-drop ring resonator filter (301-1; see Figure 3) before the first component (159) reaches the first add-drop ring resonator filter (301-1; see paragraphs 47 and 70; prescribed optical signal time delays magnitudes provide for effective timing differential compensation for different polarization components (TE and TM); optical signals timing delays are configured to ensure that the corresponding portions of the two split optical input signals, which are traveling in opposite directions, arrive at a given photodetector at substantially the same time).
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner further notes that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Paragraphs 47 and 70 of Fini disclose the claimed timing relationship.
Conclusion
/MICHELLE R CONNELLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874