DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the claims filed on 02/15/2024.
Application No: 18/443,261
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U. S. C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEDIN et al. (US 20220248286 A1) in view of CIOCHINA et al. (US 20130137404 A1).
Regarding claim 1, SEDIN teaches an apparatus for communication with a non-terrestrial network , NTN ([0007], e.g. FIG. 1 is a flow diagram illustrating a contention-free random access procedure. At step 0, a base station, such as a gNB, transmits at random access preamble assignment to a wireless device, such as a UE (i.e. an apparatus). At step 1, the wireless device transmits the random access preamble to the base station. At step 2, the base station sends a random access response to the wireless device. [0022] in general, particular embodiments minimize and distribute signaling for handovers in satellite networks by configuring the UE when to perform handover to a neighboring cell based on the timing advance to the neighboring cell and/or by spreading out the random access occasions for doing handover in time and in frequency),
the apparatus comprises at least one memory storing the program code, when executed by at least one processor ([0112], e.g. in FIG. 6, UE 200 includes processing circuitry 201 that is operatively coupled to input/output interface 205, radio frequency (RF) interface 209, network connection interface 211, memory 215 including random access memory (RAM) 217, read-only memory (ROM) 219, and storage medium 221 or the like,) configures the apparatus to:
receive, from the network, a handover configuration regarding a handover to be performed by the apparatus from a source cell to a target cell of the network ([0023], e.g. According to some embodiments, a method performed by a wireless device for handover in a NTN from a source cell to a target cell comprises , receiving a conditional handover configuration for one or more potential target cells. The conditional handover configuration comprises a condition for handover comprising a timing advance threshold value. The method further comprises comparing a timing advance between the wireless device and a cell with the timing advance threshold value and based on the comparison, performing handover to the target cell. [0055] Some embodiments include timing advance based handover (i.e. a type of handover). In particular embodiments, a UE is configured with a conditional handover to one cell or a set of cells where the condition that needs to be fulfilled before starting the handover procedure to the target cell is that the timing advance of the target cell is smaller than or equal to a certain value);
determine, based on the handover type, a threshold for a timing advance parameter [0125], Fig. 4, e.g. The method begins at step 712, where the wireless device (e.g., wireless device 110) receives a conditional handover configuration for one or more potential target cells. The conditional handover configuration includes a condition for handover comprising a timing advance threshold value. [0126] The conditional handover command instructs wireless device 110 to perform a handover at some time in the future when a particular condition is fulfilled. In particular embodiments, the particular condition comprises a timing advance threshold value. [0130-0131] For example, with respect to FIG. 4, as satellite A moves closer to wireless device UE2, the timing advance between UE2 and satellite A decreases (i.e. type of a handover based on distance). UE2 may compare an estimated timing advance between UE2 and satellite A with the threshold timing advance value to determine whether the conditional handover condition is met. For example, UE2 may determine whether the estimated timing advance between UE2 and satellite A is less than or equal to the threshold timing advance value (i.e. threshold value is based on the type (distance) of the handover; hence determine, based on the handover type (distance), a threshold for a timing advance parameter));
determine, based on the threshold and a value of the timing advance parameter, whether to perform a RACH-less handover towards the target cell ([0132], e.g. In some embodiments, the handover to the target cell is completed without a random access procedure (i.e. perform a RACH-less handover towards the target cell). For example, the handover to the target cell may be completed without the random access procedure when the target cell has a timing advance equal to the timing advance threshold value. The handover to the target cell may be completed without the random access procedure when the wireless device meets a timing advance estimation accuracy for accessing the target cell).
SEDIN teaches a method performed by a wireless device for handover in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) from a source cell to a target cell comprises receiving a conditional handover configuration for one or more potential target cells. However SEDIN differs from the claimed invention in not specifically and clearly describing wherein
receive, from the network, assistance information for the apparatus to connect to said target cell; determine, based on the assistance information, a type of the handover or receiving, from the network, an indication of a type of the handover.
However, in the analogous field of endeavor, CIOCHINA teaches wherein
receive, from the network, assistance information for the apparatus to connect to said target cell ([page 17, 0132], Figure 6, e.g. A UE having its position through a global navigation satellite system may not be able of computing itself its own timing advance, due to limitations in its computing capability, or due to lack of knowledge on the network topology, and still needs assistance information from the network in order to correctly know the timing advance value in the target cell. In this case, the method given by the invention still applies, with a supplementary step where the UE reports its location information to the network (e.g. to the source base station before and/or during handover, to the target base station during and/or after handover). In this case, the network receives from the UE the location information and matches it to a timing advance value, without needing to perform all the computations as here-above. Thus, determination of the timing advance by a network entity is simplified (i.e. receive from the network assistance information (i.e. TA) for the apparatus to connect (i.e. via handover) to said target cell));
determine, based on the assistance information, a type of the handover or receiving, from the network, an indication of a type of the handover ([page 5, 0036], e.g. The generic value may also be a function or an index of a function of variation. Data related to a value of a reference signal receive power, RSRP . Therefore, the user equipment may determine the timing advance value to be used in the second cell based on a signaled RSRP threshold (e.g. an RSRP threshold in a conditional handover procedure) and a correspondence between this value and the timing advance value in the target cell. [page 17, 0137 -0139] The configuration of UE2 may comprise setting the handover mode which will be implemented during UE2 is connected to the satellite network or until the current configuration is changed by the network. For example, the mode may be a standard mode (StaM), implementing handovers as described in the NR standard. The mode may be a simple mode (SimM), implementing handovers as described in the NR standard only when the value to be used as timing advance in the second cell is different from the value used as timing advance in the first cell, … At step S12 the user equipment UE2 receives a data related to timing advance of the user equipment in the second cell (i.e. determining type of handovers based on a timing advance threshold or signal received power (RSRP))).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the method of CIOCHINA within the method of SEDIN. The motivation to combine references is that the combined system provides satellite communication and different type of handovers. Further, the invention enables to reduce the computing and signaling during the handover which for example in the context of most wireless standard (for example, LTE, Advanced LTE or New Radio) may enable to remove one message during the handover procedure (for example the RACH preamble or the second message (Msg2) sent by the second base station during the RACH procedure, and/or in some cases skip the RACH procedure altogether). Removing those messages enables to reduce the handover latency. In addition, removing those messages (or at least applying a timing advance offset while sending those messages) also enables to release important amount of radio resources (See CIOCHINA [page 7, 0043]).
Regarding claim 2, SEDIN in view of CIOCHINA teaches all the limitations of claim 1. SEDIN further teaches wherein said value of the timing advance parameter is one of a current value or average value of the timing advance parameter ([0057] e.g. Because the timing advance of each UE in the cell to the target cell(s) is almost unique (if the UEs are uniformly distributed and the TA can be estimated accurately and continuously (i.e. current value)), this ensures that the handover to target cell(s) will start at different times as the cell moves. An example is illustrated in FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 3, SEDIN in view of CIOCHINA teaches all the limitations of claim 1. SEDIN further teaches wherein the timing advance parameter is a timing advance component received from the network ([0126], e.g. For example, wireless device 110 may receive a conditional handover command from network node 160. The conditional handover command instructs wireless device 110 to perform a handover at some time in the future when a particular condition is fulfilled. In particular embodiments, the particular condition comprises a timing advance threshold value. [0127] In the example above the timing advance threshold value is included in the conditional handover command. In some embodiments, the wireless device may receive the timing advance threshold value through any suitable signaling).
Regarding claim 4, SEDIN in view of CIOCHINA teaches all the limitations of claim 1. SEDIN further teaches wherein said determining whether to perform a RACH-less handover towards the target cell comprises comparing the value of the timing advance parameter with the threshold ([0027], e.g. In particular embodiments, the handover to the target cell is completed without a random access procedure. The handover to the target cell may be completed without the random access procedure when the target cell has a timing advance equal to the timing advance threshold value. The handover to the target cell may be completed without the random access procedure when the wireless device meets a timing advance estimation accuracy for accessing the target cell (i.e. a RACH-less handover)).
Regarding claim 5, SEDIN in view of CIOCHINA teaches all the limitations of claim 4. SEDIN further teaches wherein in case it is determined, based on said comparing, that the value of the timing advance parameter satisfies the threshold, the apparatus is configured to one or more of the following:
- set the new value of the timing advance parameter to zero;
- keep the current value of the timing advance parameter for the new value of the timing advance parameter;
- determine a new value for the timing advance parameter; and/or
- perform a RACH-less handover towards the target cell based on a new value of the timing advance parameter ([0134], e.g. he conditional handover configuration may further comprise a duration threshold. Performing the handover to the target cell is further dependent on determining that the timing advance (i.e. new value) between the wireless device and the target cell is less than or equal to the timing advance threshold value for at least the duration threshold (e.g., the wireless device must satisfy the handover condition for a minimum amount of time before performing the handover, i.e. determine a new value for the timing advance parameter)).
Regarding claim 6, SEDIN in view of CIOCHINA teaches all the limitations of claim 4. CIOCHINA further teaches wherein in case it is determined, based on said comparing, that the value of the timing advance parameter does not satisfy the threshold, the apparatus is configured to one or more of:
- perform a modification regarding the handover to be performed;
- performing a RACH-based handover towards the target cell;
- select another target cell;
- refrain from performing the handover; and/or
- indicate, to the source cell, that a RACH-less handover is not possible ([page 15, 0115], e.g. The value for which the time stamp indicates that the moment of determination of this value is older than a time threshold cannot be used to determine the value to be used as timing advance of the user equipment (UE2) in C3 (i.e. handover cannot be performed based on old threshold value). That is, only sufficiently recent values are used for the estimation (i.e. - refrain from performing the handover if he value is not current)).
The motivation to combine reference of CIOCHINA within the method of SEDIN before the effective filing date of the invention is that the new method provides performing a handover procedure. Such handover may be performed without transmitting through the second cell (target cell) data relating to a value to be used as a timing advance of the user equipment in the second cell. The uplink transmission performed may be performed as part of the handover procedure. However, the uplink transmission performed may also be performed out of the frame of the handover procedure, for example after or before a handover procedure (See CIOCHINA [page 7, 0045]).
Regarding claim 7, SEDIN in view of CIOCHINA teaches all the limitations of claim 1. SEDIN further teaches wherein the type of the handover to be performed is selected from one or more of the following:
- intra-satellite handover with the same feeder link;
- intra-satellite handover with different feeder links;
- inter-satellite handover with different feeder links; and/or
- inter-satellite handover with the same feeder link ([0014], Fig. 3, e.g. In the bent pipe transponder architecture, the base station is located on earth behind the gateway, and the satellite operates as a repeater forwarding the feeder link signal to the service link, and vice versa. [0017] FIG. 3 is a block diagram illustrating an example satellite network architecture with bent pipe transponders. In the illustrated example, a LEO satellite network includes two satellites (Satellite A and Satellite B) where each satellite provides coverage in two cells (Spotbeam A1 and A2 for Satellite A, and Spotbeam B1 and B2 for Satellite A. [0063] In particular embodiments, a UE in a satellite network indicates its acceptable service interrupt time upon initiating a connection. The network uses the information to distribute handovers in time e.g. when the handover is performed from a first low earth orbit (LEO) satellite to a second LEO satellite. Handover here also refers to the case of earth fixed beams when UEs remain in a specific cell, but the connection is switched from a first satellite to a second satellite (I.e. intra-satellite handover with the same feeder link)).
Regarding claim 8, SEDIN in view of CIOCHINA teaches all the limitations of claim 1. CIOCHINA further teaches wherein said determining of a type of the handover is based the apparatus is configured to on one or more of:
- determine whether ephemeris information regarding the source cell is sufficiently similar to respective ephemeris information regarding the target cell; and/or
- determine whether common delay information regarding the source cell is sufficiently similar to respective common delay information regarding the target cell ([page 1, 0123], e.g. mapping between functions of evolution of timing advance values of the user equipment in the first cell and functions of evolution of timing advance values of the user equipment in the second cell; the ephemeris of the satellite constellation; information on the beams footprint of the satellite network (for example, a map of the beams footprint of the satellite network) (i.e. determine timing advance value or ephemeris information regarding the source cell is sufficiently similar to respective ephemeris information regarding the target cell)).
The motivation to combine reference of CIOCHINA within the method of SEDIN before the effective filing date of the invention is that the new method provides performing a handover procedure. Such handover may be performed without transmitting through the second cell (target cell) data relating to a value to be used as a timing advance of the user equipment in the second cell. The uplink transmission performed may be performed as part of the handover procedure. However, the uplink transmission performed may also be performed out of the frame of the handover procedure, for example after or before a handover procedure (See CIOCHINA [page 7, 0045]).
Regarding claim 9, SEDIN in view of CIOCHINA teaches all the limitations of claim 1. SEDIN further teaches wherein the threshold has a different value for at least some HO types, wherein one or more of the different threshold values being one or more of
- at least in part predefined;
- defined in relation to a cyclic prefix;
- individually configured by the network ([0125], e.g. The method begins at step 712, where the wireless device (e.g., wireless device 110) receives a conditional handover configuration for one or more potential target cells. The conditional handover configuration includes a condition for handover comprising a timing advance threshold value (i.e. performing handover based on a pre-defined threshold value included in the configuration message)).
Regarding claim 10, SEDIN in view of CIOCHINA teaches all the limitations of claim 1. CIOCHINA further teaches wherein the apparatus is further configured to:
- receive, from the network, an indicator indicating whether a part of the timing advance parameter associated with a network-related offset is to be kept or changed ([page 4, 0023], e.g. By a value used (or to be used) as a timing advance of the user equipment in a specific cell it is understood that the user equipment applies a time offset based on this value to compensate the time required for the signal to propagate, that is to travel, from the user equipment to the base station. The base station corresponding to this specific cell may also use the value to determine scheduled resources to the user equipment. Therefore, the base station and the user equipment may use the value (i.e. a network-related offset is to be kept and used to compensate the time required for the signal to propagate).
The motivation to combine reference of CIOCHINA within the method of SEDIN before the effective filing date of the invention is that the new method provides performing a handover procedure. Such handover may be performed without transmitting through the second cell (target cell) data relating to a value to be used as a timing advance of the user equipment in the second cell. The uplink transmission performed may be performed as part of the handover procedure. However, the uplink transmission performed may also be performed out of the frame of the handover procedure, for example after or before a handover procedure (See CIOCHINA [page 7, 0045]).
Regarding claim 11, SEDIN in view of CIOCHINA teaches all the limitations of claim 1. CIOCHINA further teaches wherein the assistance information:
- originates from the target cell;
- originates from the source cell;
- is or comprises satellite assistance information; and/or
- is or comprises common delay information ([page 17, 0132], e.g. UE having its position through a global navigation satellite system may not be able of computing itself its own timing advance, due to limitations in its computing capability, or due to lack of knowledge on the network topology, and still needs assistance information from the network in order to correctly know the timing advance value in the target cell (i.e. comprises satellite assistance information)).
The motivation to combine reference of CIOCHINA within the method of SEDIN before the effective filing date of the invention is that the new method provides performing a handover procedure. Such handover may be performed without transmitting through the second cell (target cell) data relating to a value to be used as a timing advance of the user equipment in the second cell. The uplink transmission performed may be performed as part of the handover procedure. However, the uplink transmission performed may also be performed out of the frame of the handover procedure, for example after or before a handover procedure (See CIOCHINA [page 7, 0045]).
Regarding claim 14, SEDIN teaches a method for communication with a non-terrestrial network, NTN, performed by at least one apparatus ([0007], e.g. FIG. 1 is a flow diagram illustrating a contention-free random access procedure. At step 0, a base station, such as a gNB, transmits at random access preamble assignment to a wireless device, such as a UE (i.e. an apparatus). At step 1 (i.e. a method step), the wireless device transmits the random access preamble to the base station. At step 2, the base station sends a random access response to the wireless device. [0022] in general, particular embodiments minimize and distribute signaling for handovers in satellite networks by configuring the UE when to perform handover to a neighboring cell based on the timing advance to the neighboring cell and/or by spreading out the random access occasions for doing handover in time and in frequency), the method comprising:
- receiving, from the network, a handover configuration regarding a handover to be performed by the apparatus from a source cell to a target cell of the network ([0023], e.g. According to some embodiments, a method performed by a wireless device for handover in a NTN from a source cell to a target cell comprises , receiving a conditional handover configuration for one or more potential target cells. The conditional handover configuration comprises a condition for handover comprising a timing advance threshold value. The method further comprises comparing a timing advance between the wireless device and a cell with the timing advance threshold value and based on the comparison, performing handover to the target cell. [0055] Some embodiments include timing advance based handover (i.e. a type of handover). In particular embodiments, a UE is configured with a conditional handover to one cell or a set of cells where the condition that needs to be fulfilled before starting the handover procedure to the target cell is that the timing advance of the target cell is smaller than or equal to a certain value);
- determining, based on the handover type, a threshold for a timing advance parameter [0125], Fig. 4, e.g. The method begins at step 712, where the wireless device (e.g., wireless device 110) receives a conditional handover configuration for one or more potential target cells. The conditional handover configuration includes a condition for handover comprising a timing advance threshold value. [0126] The conditional handover command instructs wireless device 110 to perform a handover at some time in the future when a particular condition is fulfilled. In particular embodiments, the particular condition comprises a timing advance threshold value. [0130-0131] For example, with respect to FIG. 4, as satellite A moves closer to wireless device UE2, the timing advance between UE2 and satellite A decreases (i.e. type of a handover based on distance). UE2 may compare an estimated timing advance between UE2 and satellite A with the threshold timing advance value to determine whether the conditional handover condition is met. For example, UE2 may determine whether the estimated timing advance between UE2 and satellite A is less than or equal to the threshold timing advance value (i.e. threshold value is based on the type (distance) of the handover; hence determine, based on the handover type (distance), a threshold for a timing advance parameter));
- determining, based on the threshold and a value of the timing advance parameter, whether to perform a RACH-less handover towards the target cell ([0132], e.g. In some embodiments, the handover to the target cell is completed without a random access procedure (i.e. perform a RACH-less handover towards the target cell). For example, the handover to the target cell may be completed without the random access procedure when the target cell has a timing advance equal to the timing advance threshold value. The handover to the target cell may be completed without the random access procedure when the wireless device meets a timing advance estimation accuracy for accessing the target cell).
SEDIN teaches a method performed by a wireless device for handover in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) from a source cell to a target cell comprises receiving a conditional handover configuration for one or more potential target cells. However SEDIN differs from the claimed invention in not specifically and clearly describing wherein
- receiving, from the network, assistance information for the apparatus to connect to said target cell;
- determining, based on the assistance information, a type of the handover or receiving, from the network, an indication of a type of the handover.
However, in the analogous field of endeavor, CIOCHINA teaches wherein
- receiving, from the network, assistance information for the apparatus to connect to said target cell ([page 17, 0132], Figure 6, e.g. A UE having its position through a global navigation satellite system may not be able of computing itself its own timing advance, due to limitations in its computing capability, or due to lack of knowledge on the network topology, and still needs assistance information from the network in order to correctly know the timing advance value in the target cell. In this case, the method given by the invention still applies, with a supplementary step where the UE reports its location information to the network (e.g. to the source base station before and/or during handover, to the target base station during and/or after handover). In this case, the network receives from the UE the location information and matches it to a timing advance value, without needing to perform all the computations as here-above. Thus, determination of the timing advance by a network entity is simplified (i.e. receive from the network assistance information (i.e. TA) for the apparatus to connect (i.e. via handover) to said target cell));
- determining, based on the assistance information, a type of the handover or receiving, from the network, an indication of a type of the handover ([page 5, 0036], e.g. The generic value may also be a function or an index of a function of variation. Data related to a value of a reference signal receive power, RSRP . Therefore, the user equipment may determine the timing advance value to be used in the second cell based on a signaled RSRP threshold (e.g. an RSRP threshold in a conditional handover procedure) and a correspondence between this value and the timing advance value in the target cell. [page 17, 0137 -0139] The configuration of UE2 may comprise setting the handover mode which will be implemented during UE2 is connected to the satellite network or until the current configuration is changed by the network. For example, the mode may be a standard mode (StaM), implementing handovers as described in the NR standard. The mode may be a simple mode (SimM), implementing handovers as described in the NR standard only when the value to be used as timing advance in the second cell is different from the value used as timing advance in the first cell, … At step S12 the user equipment UE2 receives a data related to timing advance of the user equipment in the second cell (i.e. determining type of handovers based on a timing advance threshold or signal received power (RSRP))).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the method of CIOCHINA within the method of SEDIN. The motivation to combine references is that the combined system provides satellite communication and different type of handovers. Further, the invention enables to reduce the computing and signaling during the handover which for example in the context of most wireless standard (for example, LTE, Advanced LTE or New Radio) may enable to remove one message during the handover procedure (for example the RACH preamble or the second message (Msg2) sent by the second base station during the RACH procedure, and/or in some cases skip the RACH procedure altogether). Removing those messages enables to reduce the handover latency. In addition, removing those messages (or at least applying a timing advance offset while sending those messages) also enables to release important amount of radio resources (See CIOCHINA [page 7, 0043]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a)(1) The claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by SEDIN et al. (US 20220248286 A1).
Regarding claim 13, SEDIN teaches a network entity for a non-terrestrial network, NTN ([0007], e.g. FIG. 1 is a flow diagram illustrating a contention-free random access procedure. At step 0, a base station, such as a gNB, transmits at random access preamble assignment to a wireless device, such as a UE (i.e. an apparatus). At step 1, the wireless device transmits the random access preamble to the base station. At step 2, the base station sends a random access response to the wireless device. [0022] in general, particular embodiments minimize and distribute signaling for handovers in satellite networks by configuring the UE when to perform handover to a neighboring cell based on the timing advance to the neighboring cell and/or by spreading out the random access occasions for doing handover in time and in frequency),
the network entity comprises at least one memory storing the program code, when executed by at least one processor ([0076], e.g. Processing circuitry 170 may comprise a combination of one or more of a microprocessor, controller, microcontroller, central processing unit, digital signal processor, application-specific integrated circuit, field programmable gate array, or any other suitable computing device, resource, or combination of hardware, software and/or encoded logic operable to provide, either alone or in conjunction with other network node 160 components, such as device readable medium 180 (i.e. memory), network node 160 functionality), configures the apparatus to:
- transmit, to an apparatus, a handover configuration regarding a handover to be performed by the apparatus from a source cell to a target cell of the network ([0023], e.g. According to some embodiments, a method performed by a wireless device for handover in a NTN from a source cell to a target cell comprises , receiving (i.e. transmit from a network entity to an apparatus) a conditional handover configuration for one or more potential target cells. The conditional handover configuration comprises a condition for handover comprising a timing advance threshold value. The method further comprises comparing a timing advance between the wireless device and a cell with the timing advance threshold value and based on the comparison, performing handover to the target cell. [0055] Some embodiments include timing advance based handover (i.e. a type of handover). In particular embodiments, a UE is configured with a conditional handover to one cell or a set of cells where the condition that needs to be fulfilled before starting the handover procedure to the target cell is that the timing advance of the target cell is smaller than or equal to a certain value (i.e. transmit from a network entity to an apparatus, a handover configuration));
- transmit, to the apparatus, threshold information indicating one or more thresholds for a timing advance parameter [0125], Fig. 4, e.g. The method begins at step 712, where the wireless device (e.g., wireless device 110) receives a conditional handover configuration for one or more potential target cells. The conditional handover configuration includes a condition for handover comprising a timing advance threshold value. [0126] The conditional handover command instructs wireless device 110 to perform a handover at some time in the future when a particular condition is fulfilled. In particular embodiments, the particular condition comprises a timing advance threshold value. [0130-0131] For example, with respect to FIG. 4, as satellite A moves closer to wireless device UE2, the timing advance between UE2 and satellite A decreases (i.e. type of a handover based on distance). UE2 may compare an estimated timing advance between UE2 and satellite A with the threshold timing advance value to determine whether the conditional handover condition is met. For example, UE2 may determine whether the estimated timing advance between UE2 and satellite A is less than or equal to the threshold timing advance value (i.e. threshold value is based on the type (distance) of the handover; hence determine, based on the handover type (distance), a threshold for a timing advance parameter));
said one or more thresholds being associated with respective handover types [0130-0131] For example, with respect to FIG. 4, as satellite A moves closer to wireless device UE2, the timing advance between UE2 and satellite A decreases (i.e. type of a handover based on distance). UE2 may compare an estimated timing advance between UE2 and satellite A with the threshold timing advance value to determine whether the conditional handover condition is met. For example, UE2 may determine whether the estimated timing advance between UE2 and satellite A is less than or equal to the threshold timing advance value (i.e. threshold value is based on the type (distance) of the handover; hence thresholds being associated with respective handover types)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable, if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and amending claims to overcome any objection(s) and /or rejection(s) set forth in this Office action.
Prior Art Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent
to applicant’s disclosure.
WANG; Siqi (US-20210377832-A1) – MOBILITY ENHANCEMENT IN A CONNECTED STATE.
Shrestha; Bharat ( US-20230413131-A1) - TECHNIQUES FOR HANDOVER IN NON-TERRESTRIAL NETWORKS.
Yavuz; Emre ( US-20240022972-A1) - HANDOVER COMMAND IN NON-TERRESTRIAL NETWORKS.
TAO MING-HUNG (EP-3799470-A1) - USER EQUIPMENT AND BASE STATION INVOLVED IN A HANDOVER.
RUNE JOHAN (WO-2023152707-A1) - COMBINING TIME-BASED CHO AND RACH-LESS ACCESS WITH RESTRICTED PRECONFIGURED UL GRANTS.
Conclusion
/MAHENDRA R PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645