DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The response filed 07/02/2026 is accepted, in which, Applicant elects Invention I, directed to claims 1-7 without traverse.
Claims 8-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/02/2026.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Drawings
Figure 8 is objected to for minor informalities.
Figure 8 labels second conductive layer 170 over third conductive layer 172. 172 is shown on top of 170 in all other figures. To further prosecution, Examiner will assume the correct arrangement is 172 on top of 170. Proper correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected for indefiniteness.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites, "the pads." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this element. To further prosecution, Examiner will assume the claim should read, "each of the plurality of pads." Proper correction is required.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites, "the substrate." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this element. To further prosecution, Examiner will assume the claim should read, "a substrate." Proper correction is required.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites, "the same layer." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this element. To further prosecution, Examiner will assume the claim should read, "a same layer." Proper correction is required.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites, "the pixel electrode." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this element. To further prosecution, Examiner will assume the claim should read, "a pixel electrode of the plurality of pixel electrodes." Proper correction is required.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites, "the display area includes … a side surface of the third conductive layer," except that the third conductive layer is claimed to be part of each of the pads, which are claimed to be in the pad area outside the display area. It is unclear how the third conductive layer could have a smooth side surface in the display area if the third conductive layer is disposed in the pad area. Therefore, the claim is indefinite. To further prosecution, Examiner will assume the clause, "a side surface of the third conductive layer has a smooth surface" should be included in limitations under "each of the pads includes" rather than after "the display area includes." Proper correction is required.
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites, "a side surface of the third conductive layer." The antecedent basis for this element is improper since this element was already claimed in claim 1. To further prosecution, Examiner will assume the claim should read, "the side surface of the third conductive layer." Proper correction is required.
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites, "the upper and side surfaces of the third conductive layer." There is insufficient antecedent basis for "the upper surface" of the third conductive layer. To further prosecution, Examiner will assume the claim should read, "an upper and the side surface[[s]] of the third conductive layer." Proper correction is required.
Regarding claim 5, the claim recites, "an uppermost surface of the at least one insulating layer." The antecedent basis for this element is improper since this element was already claimed in claim 3. To further prosecution, Examiner will assume the claim should read, "the uppermost surface of the at least one insulating layer." Proper correction is required.
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites, "the same layer." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this element. To further prosecution, Examiner will assume the claim should read, "a same layer." Proper correction is required.
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites, "the pad." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this element. To further prosecution, Examiner will assume the claim should read, "the plurality of pads." Proper correction is required.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites, "the upper surface of the third insulating layer." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this element. To further prosecution, Examiner will assume the claim should read, "an upper surface of the third insulating layer." Proper correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by An (US 20210328107 A1).
Regarding claim 1, An teaches a display device (Fig 1; display device, [0002]), comprising:
a display area (DA) including a plurality of pixels (Px: pixels, not shown; pixels formed in DA, [0082]); and
a pad area (30, Fig 1) outside (shown outside) the display area (DA) and including a plurality of pads (PAD), wherein:
each of the pads (PAD) includes
a first conductive layer (170a, Fig 8) on (shown on) the substrate (100),
a second conductive layer (530c) on (shown on) the first conductive layer (170a),
a third conductive layer (530b) on (shown on) the second conductive layer (530c) and covering (shown covering) a side surface (530c1: left sidewall of 530c) of the second conductive layer (530c), and
a fourth conductive layer (530a) on (shown on) the third conductive layer (530b);
the display area (DA) includes
a plurality of pixel electrodes (191, Fig 3),
a fifth conductive layer (175) at the same layer (160) as the third conductive layer (530b) on (shown on) the substrate (100), and
a first insulating layer (180) between (shown between) the fifth conductive layer (175) and the pixel electrode (191);
no insulating layer at the same layer (160) as the first insulating layer (180) exists between (shown with no insulation between) the third conductive layer (530b) and the fourth conductive layer (530a) of the pad (PAD); and
a side surface (530b1: left sidewall of 530b) of the third conductive layer (530b) has a smooth surface (shown with smooth surface).
Regarding claim 2, An teaches the device of claim 1 and goes on to teach further comprising:
at least one insulating layer (180, Fig 19) between (shown between) the first conductive layer (170a) and the second conductive layer (530c), wherein
the at least one insulating layer (180) includes a first opening (180A: opening to right of 180) over (shown over) the first conductive layer (170a), and
the second conductive layer (530c) is electrically connected (shown electrically connected) to the first conductive layer (170a) through the first opening (180A).
Regarding claim 3, An teaches the device of claim 2 and goes on to teach wherein:
a side surface (530b1, Fig 19) of the third conductive layer (530b) contacts (shown in contact) an uppermost surface (180T: topmost surface of 180) of the at least one insulating layer (180).
Regarding claim 4, An teaches the device of claim 3 and goes on to teach wherein:
an encapsulation layer (400, Fig 3) is on (shown on) the pixel electrode (191), and
further comprising a second insulating layer (505) on (shown on) the encapsulation layer (400),
the encapsulation layer (400) includes at least one inorganic film (410; inorganic, [0110]) and at least one organic film (420; organic, [0110]), and
the second insulating layer (505) includes a portion (505P: pad area portion of 505) in contact (shown in contact, Fig 9) with the upper (530b2: top surface of 530b) and side surfaces (530b1) of the third conductive layer (530b) in the pad area (30).
Regarding claim 5, An teaches the device of claim 4 and goes on to teach wherein:
the second insulating layer (505, Fig 9) further includes a portion (505C: central portion of 505 in direct contact with 180) between (shown between) two adjacent pads (PAD; shown as pad 1: 531/171 and pad 2: 530/170) and contacting (shown contacting) an uppermost surface (180T) of the at least one insulating layer (180).
Regarding claim 6, An teaches the device of claim 5 and goes on to teach wherein:
the display area (DA, Fig 1) further includes a plurality of sensing electrodes (520/540, Fig 2) on (shown on, Fig 3) the pixel electrode (191); and
the fourth conductive layer (530a) of the pad (PAD) is on (shown on) the same layer (160) as the sensing electrode (520/540) and includes the same material (Ti; [0135], [0115]).
Regarding claim 7, An teaches the device of claim 6 and goes on to teach further comprising:
a third insulating layer (220, Fig 19) between (between; after 505 is applied to the device of Fig 19, 220 would be between 505 on the right and 530a on the left) the second insulating layer (505) and the fourth conductive layer (530a), wherein
the fourth conductive layer (530a) is in contact (shown in contact) with the upper surface (220T: top of 220) of the third insulating layer (220), and
the second insulating layer (505) and the third insulating layer (220) include a second opening (OP2: opening in pad area of 505 where 220 is not located; 505 may be removed in the pad area, [0154]) on the pad (PAD).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Byun (US 20230115802 A1) - Pads of multiple layers
Choi (US 20220416006 A1) - Pads with improved reliability
/JEREMY DANIEL WATTS/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897