DETAILED ACTION
This Office action responds to papers submitted on 16 February 2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term "substantially" in claim 7 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "substantially" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Publication No. US 2019/0148198 A1 to Hsieh et al. in view of US Patent Publication No. US 2016/0257001 to Pan.
The published reference of prior art to Hsieh et al. (herein after “Hsieh”) teaches of automated material handling systems that have been widely used in semiconductor fabrication facilities to automatically handle and transport groups or lots of wafers between various processing machines or tools used in chip manufacturing. In doing so, the published prior art teaches and/or fairly suggests the limitations of the instant invention as follows.
Regarding independent claim 1 a conveying unit, comprising:
a housing - (taught by Hsieh in Fig. 1 as units 106 A and B);
a collision prevention mechanism disposed on a sidewall of the housing - (the use of a housing is taught by Hsieh, but the reference of prior art falls short on teaching of a collision prevention mechanism; therefore, the prior art of Pan is relied upon to teach the collision prevention mechanism disposed on a sidewall as explained in paragraph [0021] wherein “at least one tray 41 is mounted on the frame 10 through the shock reduction mechanism 50 including at least one supporting plate 51 and shock absorbers 52” in relation to Figs. 1 and 4);
a gripping member configured to hold a carrier for carrying a semiconductor
structure - (taught by Hsieh in paragraph [0027] as “a mobile robotic arm 108A, 108B may be any automated guided vehicle (AGV) configured with the ability to manipulate and/or handle individual wafers and/or wafer carriers. For example, the mobile robotic aim may include a robotic arm with a gripper or other manner of manipulating or handing a wafer and/or wafer carrier from one platform to another”);
a sensor disposed on the gripping member and configured to measure and collect data associated with vibration of the gripping member - (the presence of a sensor that is able to detect vibrations is taught by Hsieh in paragraphs [0021]-[0022]); and
an unit controller disposed on the gripping member and configured to analyze the data from the sensor and control a movement of the conveying unit - (the use of controller to analyze data from the sensor and control movement of the unit is taught in paragraph [0041] of Hsieh as “the processor 304 may be configured to control various physical apparatuses to facilitate communication and control among the wafer handling nodes.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the above mentioned automatic guided wafer carrier of Hsieh with that of Pan so as to include a collision prevention means to enable the automatic guided wafer carriers to avoid accident or damage or collision to the wafer that it would be carrying or transporting.
As with claim 2, the conveying unit of Claim 1, wherein the gripping member is moveable into and out of the housing is claimed. Hsieh addresses the feature in paragraph [0027] as “a mobile robotic arm 108A, 108B may be any automated guided vehicle (AGV) configured with the ability to manipulate and/or handle individual wafers and/or wafer carriers. For example, the mobile robotic aim may include a robotic arm with a gripper or other manner of manipulating or handing a wafer and/or wafer carrier from one platform to another.”
With claim 3 the conveying unit of Claim 1, wherein the sensor is a vibration meter is stated. Hsieh teaches the use of a vibration sensor in paragraph [0021] .
In claim 4 the conveying unit of Claim 1, wherein the sensor and the unit controller are disposed inside the housing is claimed. The placement of the sensor and the controller inside the housing is taught by Hsieh in paragraphs [0040]-[0041] where the modules include a processor to actively facilitate communication and control among each of the wafer handling nodes.
With regard to claim 5, where the conveying unit of Claim 1 includes, wherein the housing is movably mountable on an overhead rail configured to convey the conveying unit along the overhead rail. Hsieh addresses this aspect in paragraph [0004] where it is taught that “a semiconductor FAB may include numerous types of automated and manual vehicles for moving and transporting wafer carriers throughout the FAB during the manufacturing process. These may include for example manually moved carts, rail guided vehicles (RGVs), overhead shuttles (OHSs), and overhead hoist transports (OHTs). In an AMHS, an OHT system automatically moves OHT vehicles that carry and transport wafer carriers, such as SMIF pods or FOUPs holding multiple wafers, from a processing or metrology tool (e.g., process tool) or a stocker to the load port of another tool or other apparatus in the FAB.”
With regard to claim 6, the conveying unit of Claim 1, wherein the collision prevention mechanism includes a shock absorber. Hsieh is silent on the collision prevention aspect of the instant claims. However, in paragraph [0021] Pan explains the use of a shock absorber as “the at least one tray 41 is mounted on the frame 10 through the shock reduction mechanism 50 including at least one supporting plate 51 and shock absorbers 52.” Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the above mentioned invention of Hsieh and the automated wafer handling system with the wafer box conveyor of Pan to have included the collision prevention aspect so as to avoid collision and possible damage to the wafers itself.
As per claim 7 the conveying unit of Claim 1, wherein the vibration measured by the sensor is substantially the same as the vibration experienced by the carrier is cited. The detection of vibration as measured by the sensor is explained in paragraph [0022] of Hsieh as “a vibrational sensor detects vibrations above the vibrational threshold, the associated wafer store(s), mobile robotic arm(s), and/or autonomous cart(s) may perform remediation by pausing operations (e.g., stopping operations at the associated wafer store(s), mobile robotic arm(s), and/or autonomous cart(s)). These associated wafer store(s), mobile robotic arm(s), and/or autonomous cart(s) may be the wafer store(s), mobile robotic arm(s), and/or autonomous cart(s) that are physically connected with the vibrational sensor that detects vibrations above the vibrational threshold.”
With claim 8 the conveying unit of Claim 1, wherein the unit controller is wirelessly communicable with the sensor is claimed. The reference of prior art to Hsieh teaches this limitation in paragraph [0030] where “the autonomous cart 110 and the mobile robotic arms 108A, 108B may be configured to wirelessly communicate wafer data between the autonomous cart 110 and mobile robotic arms 108A, 108B to coordinate transportation of wafers between wafer handling areas” is explained.
In claim 9, the conveying unit of Claim 1, further comprising: a bar is attached to the gripping member and is extendable to bring the gripping member out of the housing and retractable to bring the gripping member back to the housing is cited. Pan teaches this aspect of the instant invention in paragraph [0020] where the inclusion of rails for vertical movement of the wafer modules is described. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the above mentioned invention of Hsieh with the rails for vertical movement of the wafer modules as taught by Pan so as to allow easier and more efficient movement of the wafer modules or carriers.
Regarding independent claims 10 and 18, a conveying unit configured to movably mount on a rail or displace along a rail, respectively, comprising:
a housing - (taught by Hsieh in Fig. 1 as units 106 A and B) ;
a gripping member configured to hold a carrier for carrying a plurality of
semiconductor structures - (taught by Hsieh in paragraph [0027] as “a mobile robotic arm 108A, 108B may be any automated guided vehicle (AGV) configured with the ability to manipulate and/or handle individual wafers and/or wafer carriers. For example, the mobile robotic aim may include a robotic arm with a gripper or other manner of manipulating or handing a wafer and/or wafer carrier from one platform to another”) ;
a bar attached to the gripping member and disposed in the housing -
(although Hsieh teaches of a wafer handling system that is able to move wafers around as per paragraph [0027] , the prior art does not specifically teach of a bar as claimed; however, Pan teaches this aspect of the instant invention in paragraph [0020] where the inclusion of rails for vertical movement of the wafer modules is described. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the above mentioned of Hsieh with the bar or rail capacity as taught by Pan so as to enable vertical movement as explained by Pan.);
a sensor disposed on the gripping member and configured to measure and
collect data associated with vibration of the gripping member - (the presence of a sensor that is able to detect vibrations is taught by Hsieh in paragraphs [0021]-[0022]); and
an unit controller disposed on the gripping member and configured to analyze
the data from the sensor and control a movement of the conveying unit - (the use of controller to analyze data from the sensor and control movement of the unit is taught in paragraph [0041] of Hsieh as “the processor 304 may be configured to control various physical apparatuses to facilitate communication and control among the wafer handling nodes),
wherein the bar is extendable to bring the carrier out of the housing and retractable to bring the carrier back to the housing - (although Hsieh teaches of a wafer handling system that is able to move wafers around as per paragraph [0027] , the prior art does not specifically teach of a bar as claimed; however, Pan teaches this aspect of the instant invention in paragraph [0020] where the inclusion of rails for vertical movement of the wafer modules is described. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the above mentioned of Hsieh with the bar or rail capacity as taught by Pan so as to enable vertical movement as explained by Pan.).
As per claim 11 the conveying unit of Claim 10, further comprising: a collision prevention mechanism disposed on the housing. In paragraph [0021] Pan explains the use of a shock absorber as “the at least one tray 41 is mounted on the frame 10 through the shock reduction mechanism 50 including at least one supporting plate 51 and shock absorbers 52” as stated above with regard to claim 6.
With claim 19 the conveying unit of Claim 18, further comprising: a vibration measurement obtained by the sensor upon the displacement of the conveying unit along the rail at the speed. Hsieh teaches this aspect with the displacement of the conveying unit in paragraph [0022] where the “autonomous cart(s) that are physically connected with the vibrational sensor that detects vibrations above the vibrational threshold” is stated. The threshold is equated to a measurement that signals displacement.
Claim 20 states the conveying unit of Claim 19, the vibration measurement includes magnitudes and frequencies of a vibration of the gripping member. Vibration measurements including magnitudes and frequencies is well-known to skilled artisans as these are characteristic measurements as frequency measures repetition and magnitude measures severity or displacement. Moreover, Hsieh uses a vibration sensor to measure displacement.
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Publication No. US 2019/0148198 A1 to Hsieh et al. in view of US Patent Publication No. US 2016/0257001 to Pan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent Publication No. US 2008/0035449 A1 to Lee.
The limitations of the instant claims as taught by Hsieh and Pan are aforestated.
With claim 12 the conveying unit of Claim 10, further comprising:
• a central controller configured to control movement of the conveying unit - (the use of controller to analyze data from the sensor and control movement of the unit is taught in by Hsieh in paragraph [0041] as “the processor 304 may be configured to control various physical apparatuses to facilitate communication and control among the wafer handling nodes);
• a signal transmit from the unit controller and received by the central controller - (taught by Hsieh in paragraph [0042] where data related to the wafer is stored and used by the processor; however the use of signals transmitted by the unit controllers and received by the central controller is not specifically taught. For this the prior art of Lee is relied upon. In paragraph [0056], Lee teaches “the manufacturing arrangement controllers 20 transmit a process end signal to the process controller 10. The process controller 10 transmits an article transfer signal, which is necessary to transfer processed articles to other manufacturing arrangements 3, to a vehicle controller 40 according to a processing sequence stored in a memory 30”) and
a feedback signal transmit from the central controller and received by the unit
controller - (the prior art of Lee continues to teach of feedback signals from the process controllers to the vehicle controllers and the reverse in paragraph [0075]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the above mentioned automated wafer handling system of Hsieh with the signals transmitted as per Lee so as to improve and allow for a more effective system.
In claim 13, the conveying unit of Claim 12, includes wherein the conveying unit is hung under the central controller. Taught by Lee in Figs. 1 and 2 in view of paragraph [0051].
Regarding claim 14 the conveying unit of Claim 10, is stated as further comprising:
a first speed configured to displace the conveying unit along a first section of the rail at the first speed, wherein the first speed is derived by increasing or decreasing a first predetermined speed based on a plurality of parameters associated with the conveying unit and the first section of the rail - (taught by Lee in paragraphs [0069]-[0070]), and
a first vibration measurement of the conveying unit upon the displacement of the conveying unit along the first section of the rail at the first speed - (taught by Hsieh in paragraph [0021]),
wherein the first vibration measurement is less than or equal to a predetermined vibration threshold - (taught by Hsieh in paragraph [0021]).
As with claim 15 the conveying unit of Claim 14, further comprises:
a second speed configured to displace the conveying unit along a second section of the rail at the second speed, wherein the second speed is derived by increasing or decreasing the second predetermined speed based on the plurality of parameters associated with the conveying unit and the second section of the rail - (taught by Lee in paragraphs [0069]-[0070]) ;
a second vibration measurement of the conveying unit upon the displacement of the conveying unit along the second section of the rail at the second speed - (taught by Hsieh in paragraph [0021]);
wherein the second vibration measurement is less than or equal to a predetermined vibration threshold - (taught by Hsieh in paragraph [0021]).
With claim 16 the conveying unit of Claim 15, wherein a top cross section of the first section and a top cross section of the second section have different shapes is claimed. This limitation is dependent on the use and purpose of an invention. Current references use different configurations for the housing.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Publication No. US 2019/0148198 A1 to Hsieh et al. in view of US Patent Publication No. US 2016/0257001 to Pan, and US Patent Publication No. US 2008/0035449 A1 to Lee as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of US Patent Publication No. US 2014/0112741 A1 to Yoshioka et al.
The limitations of the instant claims as taught by Hsieh, Pan and Lee are aforestated.
Regarding claim 17 the conveying unit of Claim 15, recites wherein when the first vibration measurement is greater than the predetermined vibration threshold, the second speed is less than the first speed, and when the first vibration measurement is less than the predetermined vibration threshold, the second speed is greater than the first speed. In paragraph [0022] Hsieh discusses vibration thresholds; however the measuring of speeds is not taught; however, the prior art of Yoshioka et al. (herein after “Yoshioka”) in paragraphs [0135]-[0138] teaches of distance. This is commensurate to the instant claim since speed and distance are directly proportional, especially when time is held constant. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the above mentioned invention of Hsieh with the distance/speed calculations of Yoshioka so as to enable the wafer carriers to travel at specified speeds.
For the reasons stated above, the limitations of the instant invention are taught and/or fairly suggested by the prior arts of record; thereby, rendering the instant claims unpatentable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent Publication No. US 2011/0160900 A1 Morita
Relates to a substrate processing apparatus including a transfer mechanism having an improved abnormal pause function, a method of displaying an error of the substrate processing apparatus, and a transfer control method.
US Patent Publication No. US 2010/0194014 Huang et al.
Relates to a system and method for carrying semiconductor wafers.
/Sheela Rao/Examiner, Art Unit 2119 March 31, 2026
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119