DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on (2/16/24) is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Flipkowski (US PG PUB NO 2019/0351740).
[CLAIM 1] Regarding claim 1, Flipkowski discloses a cooling system comprising: a first and a second electrical component (Flipkowski, FIG 5, components such as 508 and 516); a first coolant pump (One of pump 536 and 572) fluidly coupled to the first electrical component (Flipkowski, FIG 5 illustrates all of the cooling and powertrain components) and configured to supply a first portion of coolant to the first electrical component (Flipkowski, FIG 5); a second coolant pump (One of the pumps 536 and 572) fluidly coupled to an inlet of the first coolant pump (Flipkowski, FIG 5 illustrates a circulating closed loop which coolant moves within the two coolant pumps) and the second electrical component (Flipkowski, FIG 5, components such as 508 and 516) the second coolant pump being configured to supply the first portion of the coolant to the first coolant pump and a second portion of the coolant to the second electrical component (Flipkowski, FIG 5 illustrates a circulating closed loop which coolant moves within the two pumps); and a radiator (532) fluidly coupled downstream of the first electrical component and the second electrical component and configured to remove thermal energy from the coolant (Flipkowski is a closed loop cooling system which reduces temperature to each designated vehicle component via coolant pumps and uses the radiator (532) for heat transfer).
[CLAIM 2] Regarding claim 2, Flipkowski discloses the cooling system of Claim 1, wherein the radiator (532) is fluidly coupled to an inlet of the second coolant pump (Flipkowski is a closed loop cooling system which circulates the coolant as designed to and from each of the pumps 536 and 572).
[CLAIM 3] Regarding claim 3, Flipkowski discloses the cooling system of Claim 1, further comprising: a cooling demand sensor configured to measure a cooling demand of the first electrical component (Flipkowski, paragraph [0003] discloses a large numbers of sensors for temperature control related to the cooling system); and a controller configured to vary a speed of the first coolant pump based on the cooling demand of the first electrical component (Flipkowski, paragraph [0021] discloses controllers which are operable to modulate pump speeds).
[CLAIM 4] Regarding claim 4, Flipkowski discloses the cooling system of Claim 3, wherein the controller is configured to vary a speed of the second coolant pump based on the cooling demand of the first electrical component (Flipkowski, paragraph [0021] discloses controllers which are operable to modulate pump speeds).
[CLAIM 5] Regarding claim 5, Flipkowski discloses the cooling system of Claim 3, wherein the cooling demand sensor is a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of the first electrical component (Flipkowski, paragraph [0003] discloses a large numbers of sensors for temperature control related to the cooling system and can be employed to provide temperature data within the system).
[CLAIM 6] Regarding claim 6, Flipkowski discloses the cooling system of Claim 3, wherein the controller is configured to increase the speed of the first coolant pump in response to an increase in the cooling demand of the first electrical component (Flipkowski, paragraph [0021] discloses controllers which are operable to modulate pump speeds based on demand).
[CLAIM 7] Regarding claim 7, Flipkowski discloses the cooling system of Claim 6, wherein the controller is configured to increase the speed of the first coolant pump and the speed of the second coolant pump in response to the increase in the cooling demand of the first electrical component (Flipkowski, paragraph [0021] discloses controllers which are operable to modulate pump speeds and based on demand).
[CLAIM 8] Regarding claim 8, Flipkowski discloses the cooling system of Claim 1, further comprising: a cooling demand sensor configured to measure a cooling demand of the first electrical component (Flipkowski, paragraph [0003] discloses a large numbers of sensors for temperature control related to the cooling system and can be employed to provide temperature data within the system); and a controller configured to vary a speed of the second coolant pump based on the cooling demand of the first electrical component (Flipkowski, paragraph [0021] discloses controllers which are operable to modulate pump speed).
[CLAIM 9] Regarding claim 9, Flipkowski discloses the cooling system of Claim 1, further comprising: a cooling demand sensor configured to measure a cooling demand of the second electrical component (Flipkowski, paragraph [0003] discloses a large numbers of sensors for temperature control related to the cooling system and can be employed to provide temperature data within the system); and a controller () configured to vary a speed of the second coolant pump based on the cooling demand of the first electrical component (Flipkowski, paragraph [0021] discloses controllers which are operable to modulate pump speeds).
[CLAIM 10] Regarding claim 10, Flipkowski discloses the cooling system of Claim 9, wherein the controller (Flipkowski, paragraph [0021] discloses controllers) configured to increase the speed of the second coolant pump in response to an increase in the cooling demand of the second electrical component (Flipkowski is operable to modulate pump speeds).
[CLAIM 11] Regarding claim 11, Flipkowski discloses the cooling system of Claim 10, wherein the controller (Flipkowski, paragraph [0021] discloses controllers) is configured to increase the speed of the second coolant pump and decrease the speed of the first coolant pump in response to the increase in the cooling demand of the second electrical component (Flipkowski, paragraph [0021] discloses controllers which are operable to modulate a first and a second pump speed).
[CLAIM 12] Regarding claim 12, Flipkowski discloses the cooling system of Claim 11, wherein the cooling demand sensor is a second cooling demand sensor (Flipkowski, paragraph [0003] discloses a large numbers of sensors for temperature control related to the cooling system and can be employed to provide temperature data within the system), further comprising a first cooling demand sensor configured to measure a cooling demand of the first electrical component (Flipkowski, paragraph [0003] discloses a large numbers of sensors for temperature control related to the cooling system and can be employed to provide temperature data within the system and moderate component temps), wherein the controller is configured to increase the speed of the first coolant pump and the speed of the second coolant pump in response to an increase in both the cooling demand of the first and the second electrical component (Flipkowski, paragraph [0021] discloses controllers which are operable to modulate a first and second pump speed).
[CLAIM 13] Regarding claim 13, Flipkowski discloses the cooling system of Claim 1, wherein the first electrical component includes at least one of an inverter or an electric motor (Flipkowski, FIG 5, motor/inverters 508 and 516 which are components and can be selectively considered as “first”).
[CLAIM 14] Regarding claim 14, Flipkowski discloses the cooling system of Claim 1, wherein the second electrical component includes at least one of a motor, an inverter (Flipkowski, FIG 5, motor/inverters 508 and 516), or a DC-DC converter.
[CLAIM 15] Regarding claim 15, Flipkowski discloses a cooling system comprising: a first branch including at least one first electrical component (Flipkowski, FIG 5 illustrates all of the components which are cooled/heated via coolant paths which create plural “branches”); a first coolant pump (One of pumps 536 and 572) fluidly coupled to the first branch and configured to supply a first portion of coolant to the first branch (Flipkowski is a closed loop cooling system which reduces temperature to each designated vehicle component via pumps and uses the radiator for heat transfer); a second branch Flipkowski, FIG 5 illustrates all of the components which are cooled/heated via coolant paths which create plural “branches”) including at least one second electrical component (Flipkowski, FIG 5 illustrates all of the components which are cooled); a second coolant pump (One of pumps 536 and 572) positioned upstream of the first coolant pump (Any desired coolant pump position can be employed without limiting the vehicle component cooling) and fluidly coupled to the second branch, the second coolant pump (Either of pumps 536 and 572) being configured to supply the first portion of the coolant to the first coolant pump and a second portion of the coolant to the second branch (Flipkowski is a closed loop cooling system which is operable to provide coolant in any desired area/branch within the vehicle); and a radiator (532) fluidly coupled downstream of the first branch and the second branch and configured to remove thermal energy from the coolant (Flipkowski is a closed loop cooling system which reduces temperature to each designated vehicle component via the pumps and uses the radiator for heat transfer).
CLAIM 16] Regarding claim 16, Flipkowski discloses the cooling system of Claim 15, wherein the first branch includes an inverter/electric motor wherein the inverter is configured to supply electrical energy to the electric motor (Flipkowski, FIG 5, motor/inverters 508 and 516 where the inverter sends battery current to the motors).
[CLAIM 17] Regarding claim 17, Flipkowski discloses the cooling system of Claim 15, wherein the second branch includes an inverter/electric motor (Flipkowski, FIG 5, motor/inverters 508 and 516), wherein the inverter is configured to supply electrical energy to the electric motor (Flipkowski, FIG 5, motor/inverters 508 and 516 where the inverter sends battery current to the motors).
[CLAIM 18] Regarding claim 18, Flipkowski discloses the cooling system of Claim 17, wherein the second branch further includes a DC-DC converter (See google search below, and Flipkowski is exemplary disclosing inverters which be modified/operable as converters if desired for a particular electrical architecture).
[CLAIM 19] Regarding claim 19, Flipkowski discloses a vehicle comprising: a chassis (Flipkowski, FIG 1 illustrates a vehicle including a chassis); a tractive element (Flipkowski, FIG 1, wheels) coupled to the chassis; a first electric motor (Flipkowski, FIG 5, components such as motors 508 and 516) coupled to the chassis (Flipkowski, FIG 5) and configured to drive the tractive element to propel the vehicle (Flipkowski illustrates the motors to propel the vehicle and is exemplary); an implement (Exemplary FIG 1 of Flipkowski illustrates hood, doors and rear bonnet which are conventionally operated with power and a control fob) coupled to the chassis; a second electric motor (Flipkowski, FIG 5, components such as 508 and 516) configured to move the implement relative to the chassis (As stated above, the body features conventionally operate using stored energy which is generated by any of the vehicle motors and fed to vehicle electronics such as 520 in FIG 5 of Flipkowski via battery); and a cooling system including: a first branch (Flipkowski, FIG 5 illustrates the coolant routing) including the first electric motor (Flipkowski, FIG 5, components such as motors 508 and 516); a first coolant pump (One of the pumps 536 and 572) fluidly coupled to the first branch and configured to supply a first portion of coolant to the first branch (Flipkowski, FIG 5); a second branch (Flipkowski, FIG 5 is a closed loop cooling system and each flow path forms an exemplary “branch”) including the second electric motor (Flipkowski, FIG 5, components such as 508 and 516); and a second coolant pump (One of the pumps 536 and 572) positioned upstream of the first coolant pump and fluidly coupled to the second branch (Any desired pump position can be employed without limiting the vehicle component cooling using the same number of pumps), the second coolant pump (One of the pumps 536 and 572) being configured to supply the first portion of the coolant to the first coolant pump (One of the pumps 536 and 572) and a second portion of the coolant to the second branch (Flipkowski, FIG 5 is a closed loop cooling system and each flow path forms an exemplary “branch”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flipkowski (US PG PUB NO 2019/0351740) in view of Smith (US 3,899,091).
[CLAIM 20] Regarding claim 20, Flipkowski discloses the vehicle of Claim 19.
-However, it fails to disclose wherein the vehicle is a refuse vehicle, and wherein the implement includes at least one of a lift assembly, a door, a fork, or a packer.
-Nevertheless, Smith discloses a refuse packer suitable for use with a dual-coolant pump powertrain and Flipkowski being an exemplary vehicle which can be used to haul refuse if desired based on the body configuration).
-Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Flipkowski for an industrial vehicle application as taught by Smith with a reasonable expectation of success in order to upfit plural vehicle applications (e.g. a packer) and increase utility.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be found on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JAMES J TRIGGS/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/MARC Q JIMENEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615