DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s communication filed on 16 February 2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-17 are currently presented in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement(s)
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 2/16/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lebendt et al. (Publication No.: US 2020/0131987 A1, herein known as D1).
With respect to claim 1, D1 discloses a method for monitoring an operation of an internal combustion engine, the method comprising the steps of:
detecting, during the operation of the internal combustion engine, an acoustic signal, at least partially, during a closing process of a gas exchange valve of the internal combustion engine;
evaluating, based on the acoustic signal which is detected, at least one functional state of the internal combustion engine (claim 1; [0015]-[0017] for a gas exchange valve in particular to be evaluated by a structure-borne sound sensor); and
selecting the at least one functional state of the internal combustion engine from a group consisting of a state of the gas exchange valve and a state of a structure-borne noise sensor used to detect the acoustic signal (claim 1, [0024]).
With respect to claim 2, D1 further discloses a method wherein the acoustic signal is at least partially detected during a closing process of an inlet valve of the internal combustion engine (valve clearance is measured, which is done in the closing process; [0015]).
With respect to claims 3-5, D1 further discloses a method wherein the acoustic signal is detected in a detection range from 240 degrees KW to 135 degrees KW (claim 3), 225 to 135 (claim 4) or 210 to 150KW (claim 5), before a top dead center of a piston of the internal combustion engine assigned to an ignition timing ([0024] and [0031] see recitations below).
[0024]: “In the spectrogram, therefore, acoustic amplitudes are plotted over a crank angle between 0 and 720° CA and a frequency between 0 and 30 kHz. Alternatively, any other frequency range may be analyzed if this is important for the wear condition of a component. A reference point of the spectrogram, which consists of a crank angle, a frequency and a frequency amplitude, is hereinafter referred to as a “feature”. There is a certain number of features per spectrogram depending on the resolution. According to the invention, an increment of 5° CA is advantageously selected for the resolution of the crank angle so that a corresponding number of features results for a spectrogram.”
[0031]: “The measurement signals are synchronized via the crank angle to the top dead center of the high-pressure phase of the first cylinder within a working cycle of the internal combustion engine”.
With respect to claim 15, D1 appears to further disclose a method wherein the operation of the internal combustion engine with a plurality of combustion chambers is monitored, wherein an acoustic signal is detected separately for each individual one of the plurality of combustion chambers, and wherein the at least one functional state of the internal combustion engine is evaluated with respect to each individual one of the plurality of combustion chambers (D1 describes testing multiple chambers and engine locations in claims 1 and [0024]).
Even if this is not the case, it has been held that a duplication of parts is an obvious variant over the prior art of record. In this case, detecting faults in each chamber of the engine would allow for a more complete understanding of the condition of the engine.
With respect to claims 16 and 17, see the rejection of claim 1 above. The structure required to perform the method is described in D1 and needed for the method rejected above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1.
With respect to claim 7, D1 does not explicitly disclose a method wherein a magnitude variable of the acoustic signal which is detected is formed, from which a magnitude signal is obtained.
However, this appears to be a simple manipulation of a signal which one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would be capable of performing, and D1 discloses manipulating and transforming the signal data before being evaluated by the regression models (claim 1; [0024]).
With respect to claim 9, D1 does not explicitly disclose a method wherein the acoustic signal which is detected is integrated over an integration range within the detection range, from which an integral value is obtained.
However, this appears to be a simple manipulation of a signal which one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would be capable of performing, and D1 discloses manipulating and transforming the signal data before being evaluated by the regression models (claim 1; [0024]).
With respect to claim 11, see the rejection of claims 7 and 9 above.
It should be noted that with these claims, the claims are only directed towards the modification of a signal, which is held to be obvious. Claims 12-14, on the other hand, perform calculations and evaluations with these signals, and therefore considered to be more and are the reasons for the indications of allowable subject matter below (as these manipulations and calculations are not explicitly laid out in D1 and considered to be more than just manipulating the signals).
It should also be noted that Publication No.: DE 10 2005 058 863A1, cited in full below, teaches determining the peak value and integrating the signals for evaluation (“An evaluation of the signal strength of the characteristic signals 101 - 106 can be done, for example, that simply the peak value, that is, the maximum deflection of the characteristic signals 101 - 106 compared with each other. Another way to evaluate the signal strength is to evaluate the energy content of the characteristic signals. Such an evaluation of the energy content can be done, for example, that the characteristic signals 101 - 106 each rectified and then the rectified signal is integrated”). However, as noted above, there is no indication to be using thresholds, time, or other evaluation methods using these modified signals to determine an engine state.
Claim(s) 6, 8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Horlbeck et al. (Publication No.: US 2013/0340512 A1, herein known as D2).
With respect to claim 6, D1 does not explicitly disclose a method wherein the acoustic signal which is detected is filtered by way of a low-pass filter, from which a filtered acoustic signal is obtained (no filtering is described).
D2 teaches receiving an audio signal sample from an engine to determine a misfire condition, and utilizes a low-pass filter to reduce frequency components that do not correspond to the desired measurements, reflections and resonances in the signal path, or other noise ([0076]-[0077]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of D1 by utilizing low-pass filters to filter the signal as taught by D2 in order to reduce noise and other artifacts to improve accuracy of the acoustic detection.
With respect to claim 8, see the rejection of claims 6 and 7 above.
With respect to claim 10, see the rejection of claims 6 and 9 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kluth et al. (Publication No.: DE 10 2005 058 863 A1), cited above
Inquiry
/D.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2852
3/21/2026
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852