DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-17, in the reply filed on 28 July 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 18-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 28 July 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Choung (US 2022/0077257).
Regarding independent claim 1, Choung teaches a display panel comprising a base layer (Fig. 1A, Element 102; ¶ [0027]); a pixel defining film (Fig. 1A, Element 126; ¶ [0028]) disposed on the base layer and comprising an inorganic material (¶ [0028]); a bank layer (Fig. 1A, Element 110A; ¶ [0030]) which is disposed on the pixel defining film and in which a plurality of pixel openings is defined; a plurality of light-emitting elements disposed in each of the plurality of pixel openings and comprising an anode (Fig. 1A, Element 104; ¶ [0027]); a light-emitting pattern (Fig. 1A, Element 112; ¶ [0029]); and a cathode (Fig. 1A, Element 114; ¶ [0032]) which contacts the bank layer; a dummy pattern (Fig. 1A; Elements 112 or 114 shown disposed on upper portion 110B of bank layer 110) disposed on the bank layer; an inorganic encapsulation pattern (Fig. 1A, Element 116; ¶ [0034]) disposed on the cathode and comprising a portion disposed on the dummy pattern; an organic pattern (Fig. 1A, Element 118; ¶ [0036]) disposed on the inorganic encapsulation pattern; and an inorganic film (Fig. 1A, Element 110B; ¶ [0040]) disposed on the organic pattern, wherein a portion of the inorganic film is disposed between the dummy pattern and the bank layer.
Regarding claim 2, Choung teaches the plurality of pixel openings comprising a first pixel opening (Fig. 1A, Element 108a; ¶ [0029]) and a second pixel opening (Fig. 1A, Element 108b; ¶ [0029]) spaced apart from each other; and a light-emitting element of the plurality of light-emitting elements comprising a first light-emitting element disposed in the first pixel opening and comprising a first anode, a first light-emitting pattern, and a first cathode; and a second light-emitting element disposed in the second pixel opening and comprising a second anode, a second light-emitting pattern, and a second cathode (Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 3, Choung teaches the dummy pattern comprising a first dummy pattern disposed adjacent to the first pixel opening; and a second dummy pattern disposed adjacent to the second pixel opening, wherein the first dummy pattern is separated from the first light-emitting pattern and the first cathode; and the second dummy pattern is separated from the second light-emitting pattern and the second cathode (Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 4, Choung teaches an additional inorganic pattern (110B) disposed between the second dummy pattern and the bank layer (Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 5, Choung teaches the inorganic encapsulation pattern comprises a first inorganic encapsulation pattern disposed on the first light-emitting element and a second inorganic encapsulation pattern disposed on the second light-emitting element and spaced apart from the first inorganic encapsulation pattern; and the organic pattern comprises a first organic pattern (118) disposed on the first inorganic encapsulation pattern and a second organic pattern (121) disposed on the second inorganic encapsulation pattern and spaced apart from the first organic pattern.
Regarding claim 6, Choung teaches the inorganic film comprising a first inorganic portion disposed on the first organic pattern; and a second inorganic portion disposed on the second organic pattern, wherein the first inorganic portion and the second inorganic portion have different thicknesses from each other (Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 7, Choung teaches the inorganic film comprising a first inorganic portion disposed on the first organic pattern; and a second inorganic portion disposed on the second organic pattern, wherein the first inorganic portion and the second inorganic portion extend onto the bank layer so as to be connected to each other.
Regarding claim 8, Choung teaches the organic pattern covering an entirety of the inorganic encapsulation pattern in a plan view (Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 9, Choung teaches the inorganic film comprising a spacer portion (110B) disposed between the dummy pattern and the bank layer; and a layer portion having a shape separated from the spacer portion and covering upper portions of the organic pattern and the bank layer (Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 10, Choung teaches a capping pattern (Fig. 1A, Element 121; ¶ [0035]) disposed on the cathode of the plurality of light-emitting elements.
Regarding claim 11, Choung teaches the dummy pattern comprising a first layer dummy pattern (112) comprising a same material as a material of the light-emitting pattern; a second layer dummy pattern (114) comprising a same material as a material of the cathode; and a third layer dummy pattern (121) comprising a same material as a material of the capping pattern.
Regarding claim 12, Choung teaches the dummy pattern comprises a second layer dummy pattern (114) comprising a same material as a material of the cathode and a third layer dummy pattern (121) comprising a same material as a material of the capping pattern; and a predetermined separation portion (112) defined between the second layer dummy pattern and the bank layer.
Regarding claim 13, Choung teaches the inorganic encapsulation pattern disposed directly on the cathode and the dummy pattern; the organic pattern disposed directly on the inorganic encapsulation pattern; and the inorganic film is disposed directly on the organic pattern (Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 14, Choung teaches an encapsulation organic film (Fig. 1A, Element 121; ¶ [0035]) which is disposed on the inorganic film and provides a flat upper surface; and an upper encapsulation inorganic film (Fig. 1A, Element 123; ¶ [0035]) disposed on the encapsulation organic film.
Regarding claim 15, Choung teaches the inorganic film comprising a first inorganic film (116) disposed directly on the organic pattern (118); and a second inorganic film (123) disposed on the first inorganic film.
Regarding claim 16, Choung teaches the bank layer comprising a first conductive layer (110A) disposed on the pixel defining film and a second conductive layer (110B) disposed on the first conductive layer and having an undercut shape (109) protruding from one side of the first conductive layer; and the dummy pattern is disposed on the second conductive layer (Fig. 1A).
Regarding independent claim 17, Choung teaches a display panel comprising a base layer (Fig. 1A, Element 102; ¶ [0027]); a pixel defining film (Fig. 1A, Element 126; ¶ [0028]) disposed on the base layer and comprising an inorganic material (¶ [0028]); a bank layer (Fig. 1A, Element 110A; ¶ [0030]) disposed on the pixel defining film and having a plurality of pixel openings defined therein; a plurality of light-emitting elements disposed in each of the plurality of pixel openings and comprising an anode (Fig. 1A, Element 104; ¶ [0027]); a light-emitting pattern (Fig. 1A, Element 112; ¶ [0029]); and a cathode (Fig. 1A, Element 114; ¶ [0032]) which contacts the bank layer; a dummy pattern (Fig. 1A; Elements 112 or 114 shown disposed on upper portion 110B of bank layer 110) disposed on the bank layer; an inorganic encapsulation pattern (Fig. 1A, Element 116; ¶ [0034]) disposed on the cathode and comprising a portion disposed on the dummy pattern; an organic pattern (Fig. 1A, Element 118; ¶ [0036]) disposed on the inorganic encapsulation pattern; an inorganic film (Fig. 1A, Element 110B; ¶ [0040]) disposed on the organic pattern and the bank layer; an encapsulation organic film (Fig. 1A, Element 121; ¶ [0035]) which is disposed on the inorganic film and provides a flat upper surface; and an upper encapsulation inorganic film (Fig. 1A, Element 123; ¶ [0035]) disposed on the encapsulation organic film.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chen (US 2023/0263012) teaches descending etching resistance in advanced substrate patterning. Shin (US 2022/0392977) teaches a display device with anti-contact layer disposed on anode. Tsai (US 2019/0058020) teaches a transparent display device with wall structure having undercut sidewall.
Contact Information
/Kevin Quarterman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875 29 September 2026