DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 7 and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pino (US 2021/0270009).
As concerns claim 1, Pino shows a system (Fig. 1, 4 & 5) for vacuum excavation of local transmission (abstract), comprising: an end effector (2) coupled (via vacuum hose attachment 6) to a vacuum hose (50); the end effector comprising: a manifold (20) coupled to one or more valves (24); one or more pipes (Fig. 27: tubular member between valve 24 & nozzle 22) coupled to the one or more valves (Fig. 1 & 27); and an excavator head (4) including a nozzle array (plurality of nozzles 22) coupled to the one or more pipes (Fig. 1 & 27), wherein the nozzle array includes one or more nozzles (22), each coupled to a pipe of the one or more pipes (Fig. 1 & 27).
As concerns claim 6, Pino shows wherein the one or more valves are provided in a form of a pilot solenoid valve (paragraph 0063).
As concerns claim 7, Pino shows wherein the one or more valves are provided in a form of an air logic control valve (paragraph 0063).
As concerns claim 9, Pino shows wherein the one or more valves are configured such that only one nozzle of the one or more nozzles exhausts air at one time (paragraph 0049 & 0063).
As concerns claim 10, Pino shows wherein the one or more valves are configured such that only two nozzles of the one or more nozzles exhausts air at one time (paragraph 0049 & 0063).
As concerns claim 11, Pino shows wherein the two nozzles are positioned opposite from each other on the nozzle array (paragraph 0049 & 0063).
As concerns claim 12, Pino shows a method (Fig.1, 4 & 5) for vacuum excavation of local transmission (abstract), comprising: providing one or more nozzles (22) in a form of a nozzle array (plurality of nozzles 22); providing one or more valves (24), wherein each of the one or more nozzles is coupled to a respective valve of the one or more valves (Fig. 1 & 27); actuating the one or more valves such that air is exhausted from the one or more nozzles (paragraph 0049 & 0063), wherein the air agitates material to be excavated (Fig. 4 & 5; paragraph 0047 & 0050); and providing suction (via source of vacuum 52) through a vacuum hose (50) to vacuum the agitated material (Fig. 4 & 5; paragraph 0046, 0047 & 0057).
As concerns claim 13, Pino shows wherein a single valve of the one or more valves is actuated at a time (paragraph 0049 & 0063).
As concerns claim 14, Pino shows wherein two valves of the one or more valves is actuated at a time (paragraph 0049 & 0063).
As concerns claim 15, Pino shows providing a delay between actuating a first set of the one or more valves and actuating a second set of the one or more valves (paragraph 0049 & 0063).
As concerns claim 16, Pino shows providing a delay between actuating a first valve of the one or more valves and actuating a second valve of the one or more valves (paragraph 0049 & 0063).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pino as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hursen (US 7,631,444).
As concerns claim 8, Pino discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the one or more nozzles are each configured to exhaust air at a supersonic speed. Hursen teaches wherein one or more nozzles (1) are each configured to exhaust air at a supersonic speed (claim 1). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Pino, as taught by Hursen, to form the one or more nozzles such that air is exhausted at a supersonic speed for the expected benefit of effectively agitating material to be excavated by the vacuum device. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that forming the one or more nozzles such that air is exhausted at a supersonic speed would have provided predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since the expected result of this configuration improves versatility/adaptability/efficiency of the system design.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-20 are allowed over the prior art of record.
Claims 2-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not appear to anticipate and/or render obvious a system for vacuum excavation of local transmission, comprising: an end effector coupled to a vacuum hose, the end effector comprising: an inlet coupled to a top plate of a manifold; one or more valves coupled to a bottom plate of the manifold; one or more pipes each coupled to a valve of the one or more valves; and an excavator head including a nozzle array, wherein the nozzle array includes one or more nozzles, each coupled to a pipe of the one or more pipes.
Pino shows a system (Fig. 1, 4 & 5) for vacuum excavation of local transmission (abstract), comprising: an end effector (2) coupled (via vacuum hose attachment 6) to a vacuum hose (50); the end effector comprising: an inlet (26) coupled to a manifold (20); one or more valves (24) coupled to the manifold (20); one or more pipes (Fig. 27: tubular member between valve 24 & nozzle 22) each coupled to a valve (24) of the one or more valves (Fig. 1 & 27); and an excavator head (4) including a nozzle array (plurality of nozzles 22), wherein the nozzle array includes one or more nozzles (22), each coupled to a pipe (Fig. 27: tubular member between valve 24 & nozzle 22) of the one or more pipes (Fig. 1 & 27). Furthermore, Pino discloses that the manifold (20) comprises a hollow chamber and is configured to contain compressed air (paragraph 0049), and the manifold (20) can be formed from any suitable material and be formed from a steel tube bent into a circular shape (paragraph 0051). However, Pino does not teach or suggest wherein the manifold comprises a top plate and a bottom plate, wherein the inlet is coupled to the top plate and the one or more valves is coupled to the bottom plate.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that Pino does not disclose one or more pipes coupled to the one or more valves, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Pino shows, in Fig. 27, a tubular member connected to a valve (24), a tubular member connected between the valve (24) and a vibrating device (150), the vibrating device (150) connected to a swivel base (23), and the swivel base (23) connected to a nozzle (22). Furthermore, Pino discloses, in paragraph 0049, that the valve (24) can be used to regulate the amount of compressed air from the manifold (20) to the nozzle (22). Additionally, a definition of pipe is a long tube or hollow body for conducting a liquid, gas, or finely divided solid [www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/pipe]. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized and interpreted the tubular member between the valve (24) and the nozzle (22) as a pipe coupled to the valve and the nozzle since the tubular member allows compressed air regulated by the valve to flow from the manifold to the nozzle. Therefore, Pino meets the claim language.
In response to applicant’s argument that Pino does not disclose actuating the one or more valves such that air is exhausted from the one or more nozzles, wherein the air agitates material to be excavated, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Pino discloses, in paragraph 0047, that the dirt (62) surrounding the buried utility (64) is often hard to remove, since it can comprise clay, rocks, gravel, organic matter, or other materials, and can be compacted, and the present invention solves this problem by using a spray device configured for spraying compressed air (21), into the dirt to loosen the dirt so that the dirt can be more easily vacuumed into the vacuum nozzle (2), and, in paragraph 0049, that the valve (24) can be used to regulate the amount of compressed air from the manifold (20) to the nozzle (22). Pino further discloses, in paragraph 0050, that the compressed air nozzle (22) can be stationary during use or can have a swivel base (23) to allow the compressed air nozzle to rotate during use so that the flow of compressed air (21) from the compressed air nozzle is moved around in the access hole (60) to break up the dirt (62) surrounding the buried utility (64), and, in paragraph 0063, that if desired the manually operated valves described and shown herein can be replaced with automatic or electronically controlled valves connected to a control system, wherein the flow and pressure of the air (21) can be precisely controlled to avoid damaging the buried utility. Therefore, Pino meets the claim language.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW R BUCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672