DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/18/2024 was filed before the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/31/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of independent claim(s) under 35 USC 103, to the combination of Oshima and Callery, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the combination of Oshima, Vaughan, and Callery, wherein Vaughan has been added to cure the previous deficiency.
Response to Amendment
The objection to claim 4 has been removed in view of the applicant's amendment.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 4 is grammatically objected for the phrase, "gradient setting for the first live object and shading setting for the first live object", which should have a comma between "first live object", and "and shading setting". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejection Notes
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-8, and 10-23, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oshima et al. (US 20170163880 A1, published: 6/8/2017), in view of Vaughan et al. (US 20120284774 A1, published: 11/8/2012), and in further view of Callery et a. (US 20110302494 A1, published: 12/8/2011).
Claim 2. (Currently Amended): Oshima teaches a computer system configured to communicate with a display generation component, comprising: one or more processors (processor 41 [Oshima, 0071]); and memory (memory 62 [Oshima, 0080]) storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for:
displaying, via the display generation component, a first live object, wherein the first live object includes a first set of one or more characteristics, wherein the first live object corresponds to a live video source (a display unit that displays the one or plurality of live view images acquired by the live view image acquisition unit [Oshima, 0016]. The touch panel 120 displays live view images, character information, or the like under the control of the main controller 101 [Oshima, 0087]);
while displaying the first live object, detecting an input corresponding to the first editing control; in response to detecting the input corresponding to the first editing control, editing a first characteristic of the first set of one or more characteristics of the firs live object (in the moving image editing device, it is preferable that the moving image editing unit performs the moving image editing for automatically creating the one moving image whenever a moving image is to be reproduced, and causes the moving image obtained through the moving image editing to be displayed on the display unit [Oshima, 0019]);
subsequent to editing the first characteristic of the first set of the one or more characteristics of the first live object, detecting a request to insert the first live object with the edited characteristic (a moving image editing unit that performs moving image editing for automatically creating, after the moving image capturing in the plurality of cameras is terminated, one moving image based on a plurality of moving images respectively captured by the plurality of cameras and the operation history information recorded in the operation history recording unit [Oshima, 0016]).
Oshima does not teach while in an editing mode of a presentation program; displaying, via the display generation component, an editing interface and a first object; while displaying the editing interface and the first object, detecting an input corresponding to the first editing control.
However, Vaughan teaches while in an editing mode of a presentation program (the presentation application may provide multiple modes of operation, such as an edit mode, used to create and/or edit slides, and a presentation mode, used to display slides in a format suitable for audience viewing [Vaughan, 0056]); displaying, via the display generation component, an editing interface and a first object (a toolbar 256 for creating and editing various aspects of a slide of a presentation. By using these panes, a user may select a slide of a presentation, view the slide, add and/or edit the contents of the slide, and animate or add effects related to the contents of the slide [Vaughan, 0057]); while displaying the editing interface and the first object, detecting an input corresponding to the first editing control (a toolbar 256 for creating and editing various aspects of a slide of a presentation. By using these panes, a user may select a slide of a presentation, view the slide, add and/or edit the contents of the slide, and animate or add effects related to the contents of the slide [Vaughan, 0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the live video editing invention of Oshima, to include the editing mode for making edits feature of Vaughan.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to invoke a particular mode that allows for editing. Such would designate only said mode to make edits. This will ensure that edits are made only when the user has intended to do so.
The combination of Oshima and Vaughan, does not teach and wherein the editing interface includes a plurality of editing controls including a first editing control to edit a first characteristic of the first set of the one or more characteristics of the first live object; detecting a request to insert the first live object with the edited characteristic onto a slide of a presentation; and in response to receiving the request to insert the first live object onto the slide of the presentation, displaying, via the display generation component, the slide of the presentation that includes the inserted first live object with the edited characteristic.
However, Callery teaches and wherein the editing interface includes a plurality of editing controls including a first editing control to edit a first characteristic of the first set of the one or more characteristics of the first live object (a composition/editing screen area 14, and a plurality of user selectable controls or buttons labeled Tags 16, Relation Types 18, Property Types 20, Groups 22 and Shapes 24 [Callery, 0036, FIG. 1]); detecting a request to insert the first live object with the edited characteristic onto a slide of a presentation (an editor that allows text to be inserted and formatted, and a slide-show system to display the contents [Callery, 0004]); and in response to receiving the request to insert the first live object onto the slide of the presentation, displaying, via the display generation component, the slide of the presentation that includes the inserted first live object with the edited characteristic (the information can be displayed through "slides" (also known as "sheets" or "foils") on a display screen [Callery, 0003]. A presentation program usually combines three major functions: an editor that allows text to be inserted and formatted, a module for inserting and manipulating graphical images, and a slide-show system to display the contents [Callery, 0004]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the live video editing invention of the combination of Oshima and Vaughan, to include the slide presentation feature of Callery.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to edit digital slides, and insert live video information. Such is useful for displaying live information in the context of a slide show.
Claims 10 and 11, having similar elements to claim 1, are likewise rejected.
Claim 3: The combination of Oshima, Vaughan, and Callery, teaches the computer system of claim 2, the one or more programs further including instructions for: while displaying the slide of the presentation that includes a second live object, wherein the second live object includes a second set of one or more characteristics and wherein the second live object corresponds to the live video source, detecting a second request to edit a first characteristic of the second set of the one or more characteristics of the second live object; and subsequent to detecting the second request to edit the first characteristic of the second set of the one or more characteristics of the second live object, editing the first characteristic of the second live object (B) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way; (E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success [MPEP 2143]; Examiner's Note: This is just an extension of the first claim (2) that re-runs the program to look for a second live object etc. Computer implicitly can run their programs over and over, such as to add a second set of variables etc.).
Claims 12 and 18, having similar elements to claim 3, are likewise rejected.
Claim 4. (Currently Amended): The combination of Oshima, Vaughan, and Callery, teaches the computer system of claim 2. Oshima further teaches wherein the first set of one or more characteristics of the first live object includes at least one of a location of the first live object on the slide of the presentation, animation of the first live object, magnification level of the first live object, filter applied to the first live object, dimensions of the first live object, color setting for the first live object, border setting for the first live object, gradient setting for the first live objectU, and shading setting for the first live object (color filter [Oshima, 0071]; a zoom magnification [Oshima, 0155]).
Claims 13 and 19, having similar elements to claim 4, are likewise rejected.
Claim 5: The combination of Oshima, Vaughan, and Callery, teaches the computer system of claim 2, first live object, live video. Vaughan further teaches wherein editing the first characteristic of the object results in displaying a portion of a field of view of the video source, wherein the portion of the field of view of the video source that is displayed is less than a full field of view of the video source (FIG. 9 depicts a screen of a web browser displaying a presentation slide in a window [Vaughan, 0019]).
Claims 14 and 20, having similar elements to claim 5, are likewise rejected.
Claim 6: The combination of Oshima, Vaughan, and Callery, teaches the computer system of claim 5. Oshima further teaches wherein the displayed portion of the field of view of the live video source was selected by a user (it is possible for a user to visually recognize videos of the plural camera devices, and to select a desired video from the videos on the monitor [Oshima, 0011]).
Claims 15 and 21, having similar elements to claim 6, are likewise rejected.
Claim 7: The combination of Oshima, Vaughan, and Callery, teaches the computer system of claim 3, second live object, live video. Vaughan further teaches wherein editing the first characteristic of the object results in displaying a portion of a field of view of the video source, wherein the portion of the field of view of the video source that is displayed is less than a full field of view of the live video source (FIG. 9 depicts a screen of a web browser displaying a presentation slide in a window [Vaughan, 0019]).
Claims 16 and 22, having similar elements to claim 7, are likewise rejected.
Claim 8: The combination of Oshima, Vaughan, and Callery, teaches the computer system of claim 7. Oshima further teaches wherein the displayed portion of the field of view of the live video source was selected by a user (it is possible for a user to visually recognize videos of the plural camera devices, and to select a desired video from the videos on the monitor [Oshima, 0011]).
Claims 17 and 23, having similar elements to claim 8, are likewise rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Seth A Silverman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172