DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 15 recite the limitation “the target cell” in lines 3 and 7, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in these claims. Claims 2-14 depend on claim 1, and therefore also lack antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-6 and 10-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0176710 (hereinafter Jang).
Regarding claim 1, Jang discloses a method (disclosed is a method, according to [0432], Fig. 5G) comprising:
receiving, by a user device from a network node, a random access response (RAR) window information for a RAR window for the target cell, the RAR window information including at least one of: an indication for the user device to resume data communication with a source cell after a RAR is received by the user device from the target cell within the RAR window, or an indication for the user device to perform the data communication with the source cell between at least two common search space (CSS) occasions within the RAR window (a UE receives, from a serving eNB [“network node”], a handover command message, said handover command message comprising information for facilitating random access with a target eNB, including a random access resource (which corresponds to a RAR window, according to [0420]) along with inactive state information, including a resume ID that is used by the UE to communicate with the serving cell by way of the target cell after said UE receives a RAR from the target cell [“an indication for the user device to resume data communication with a source cell after a RAR is received by the user device from the target cell within the RAR window”], according to [0434]-[0440], [0442], Fig. 5G [steps 5g-20, 5g-50, 5g-55, 5g-60, 5g-65, 5g-70]);
pausing, by the user device, the data communication with the source cell (the UE transitions to the inactive state by suspending SRB1, SRB2, and DRBs with the serving cell, according to [0442], Fig. 5G [step 5g-40]); and
performing, by the user device, the data communication with the source cell based on the RAR window information (the UE transmits handover evaluation information [“data communication”] to the serving eNB based on the received handover command message, according to [0441], Fig. 5G [step 5g-30]).
Claim 15 recites the apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to (disclosed is a terminal that comprises a storage unit that stores programs and a controller [“processor”] that executes those programs, according to [0130], [0135]-[0136], Fig. 1G [elements 1g-30 and 1g-40]) perform the method recited in claim 1, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, Jang discloses a method (disclosed is a method, according to [0432], Fig. 5G) comprising:
receiving, by a source network node associated with a source cell for a user device, a random access response (RAR) window information for a RAR window for a target cell associated with a target network node (a serving eNB that is associated with a source cell obtains RAR window information for a target cell that is associated with a target eNB, according to [0434]-[0440], [0442]), the RAR window information including at least one of:
an indication for the source network node to resume data communication with the user device after a RAR is received by the user device from the target cell within the RAR window, or an indication for the source network node to perform the data communication with the user device between at least two common search space (CSS) occasions within the RAR window (the random access resource information is sent in a handover command message that comprises inactive state information, including a resume ID that is used by the UE to communicate with the serving cell by way of the target cell after said UE receives a RAR from the target cell [“an indication for the source network node to resume data communication with the user device after a RAR is received by the user device from the target cell within the RAR window”], according to [0434]-[0440], [0442], Fig. 5G [steps 5g-20, 5g-50, 5g-55, 5g-60, 5g-65, 5g-70]);
forwarding, by the source network node to the user device, the RAR window information (the random access resource information is sent from the serving eNB to the UE in a handover command message, according to [0434]-[0440], Fig. 5g [step 5g-20]);
pausing, by the source network node, the data communication with the source cell (the source eNB transmits an inactive state transition command to the UE that causes said UE to enter the inactive state and by suspending SRB1, SRB2, and DRBs with the serving cell, according to [0442], Fig. 5G [steps 5g-35 and 5g-40]); and
performing, by the source network node, the data communication with the user device based on the RAR window information (the serving eNB receives handover evaluation information [“data communication”] from the UE based on the received handover command message, according to [0441], Fig. 5G [step 5g-30]).
Claim 22 recites the apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to (disclosed is a terminal that comprises a storage unit that stores programs and a controller [“processor”] that executes those programs, according to [0348], [0352]-[0353], Fig. 4I [elements 4i-40 and 4i-50]) perform the method recited in claim 16, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 16.
Regarding claim 2, since the claim upon which this claim depends recites options for a step written in the alterative and the option to which this claim is directed is not the one for which prior art is cited, no art need be cited in the rejection of this claim.
Regarding claim 3, Jang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the RAR window information further comprises a RAR window length of the RAR window for the target cell (the RAR window lasts a preset number of subframes after the transmission of a preamble, according to [0442]).
Regarding claim 4, Jang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the RAR window information comprises the indication for the user device to resume the data communication with the source cell after the RAR is received by the user device from the target cell within the RAR window (the UE receives, from a serving eNB, a handover command message, said handover command message comprising information for facilitating random access with a target eNB, including a random access resource along with inactive state information, including a resume ID that is used by the UE to communicate with the serving cell by way of the target cell after said UE receives a RAR from the target cell, according to [0434]-[0440], [0442], Fig. 5G [steps 5g-20, 5g-50, 5g-55, 5g-60, 5g-65, and 5g-70]); the method comprising:
receiving, by the user device, the RAR from the target cell (the UE receives a RAR from the target eNB, according to [0442], Fig. 5G [step 5g-55]); and
the performing the data communication comprising resuming, by the user device, the data communication with the source cell after the RAR is received by the user device from the target cell (after receiving the RAR from the target cell, the UE communicates with the serving cell by way of the target cell, according to [0442], Fig. 5G [steps 5g-55, 5g-60, 5g-65, and 5g-70]).
Regarding claim 5, since the claim upon which this claim depends recites options for a step written in the alterative and the option to which this claim is directed is not the one for which prior art is cited, no art need be cited in the rejection of this claim.
Regarding claim 6, Jang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the RAR window information for the RAR window for the target cell is received by the user device via a radio resource control (RRC) message or the timing advance acquisition request (the handover command is sent via an RRC connection reconfiguration message, according to [0434], Fig. 5G [step 5g-20]).
Regarding claim 10, Jang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the user device from the target cell, the RAR (the UE receives a RAR from the target eNB, according to [0442], Fig. 5G [step 5g-55]);
transmitting, by the user device to the source cell, an indication that the RAR has been received by the user device from the target cell (the UE indicates to the serving cell, by way of the target cell, that the RAR has been received from said target cell, according to [0442], Fig. 5G [steps 5g-60, 5g-65, and 5g-70]).
Regarding claim 11, Jang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the RAR window information comprises the indication for the user device to resume the data communication with the source cell after the RAR is received by the user device from the target cell within the RAR window (the UE receives, from a serving eNB, a handover command message, said handover command message comprising information for facilitating random access with a target eNB, including a random access resource along with inactive state information, including a resume ID that is used by the UE to communicate with the serving cell by way of the target cell after said UE receives a RAR from the target cell, according to [0434]-[0440], [0442], Fig. 5G [steps 5g-20, 5g-50, 5g-55, 5g-60, 5g-65, and 5g-70]);
the method comprising:
receiving, by the user device, the RAR from the target cell (the UE receives a RAR from the target eNB, according to [0442], Fig. 5G [step 5g-55]);
transmitting, by the user device to the source cell, an indication that the RAR has been received by the user device from the target cell (the UE indicates to the serving cell, by way of the target cell, that the RAR has been received from said target cell, according to [0442], Fig. 5G [steps 5g-60, 5g-65, and 5g-70]); and
the performing the data communication comprising resuming, by the user device, the data communication with the source cell after the RAR has been received by the user device and based on the user device transmitting the indication to the source cell indicating that the RAR has been received by the user device (after receiving the RAR from the target cell, the UE communicates with the serving cell by way of the target cell, according to [0442], Fig. 5G [steps 5g-55, 5g-60, 5g-65, and 5g-70]).
Regarding claim 12, Jang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the RAR window information comprises at least one of the following: a RAR window length; an indication of common search space (CSS) occasions within the RAR window, wherein the RAR may be received by the user device during a CSS occasion; an indication for the user device to resume data communication with the source cell within the RAR window after the RAR is received by the user device from the target cell; an indication of at least one user device-specific common search space (CSS) occasion, of a plurality of CSS occasions within the RAR window, where the RAR will may be transmitted to the user device from the target cell; and/or an intermittent communication indication that instructs the user device to perform data communication with the source cell in one or more gaps between the CSS occasions within the RAR window (the RAR window lasts a preset number of subframes after the transmission of a preamble [“a RAR window length”], according to [0442]).
Regarding claim 13, Jang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the network node comprises a source network node (the UE receives the handover command message from the serving eNB, according to [0434], Fig. 5G [step 5g-20]), wherein:
the source cell is associated with or provided by the source network node (“source cell” and “serving eNB” are used interchangeably, according to [0434], Fig. 5 [element 5g-02]); and
the target cell is different from the source cell, and the target cell is associated with or provided by the source network node (carrier aggregation, wherein a plurality of cells associated with a single base station, may be used, according to [0105], [0115]).
Regarding claim 14, Jang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the network node comprises a source network node (the UE receives the handover command message from the serving eNB, according to [0434], Fig. 5G [step 5g-20]), wherein:
the source cell is associated with or provided by the source network node (“source cell” and “serving eNB” are used interchangeably, according to [0434], Fig. 5 [element 5g-02]); and
the target cell is different from the source cell, and the target cell is associated with or provided by a target network node that is different from the source network node (different cells may be associated with different respective base stations, according to [0105], [0115]).
Regarding claim 17, Jang discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the RAR window information comprises the indication for the user device to resume data communication with the source cell after the RAR is received by the user device from the target cell within the RAR window (the UE receives, from a serving eNB, a handover command message, said handover command message comprising information for facilitating random access with a target eNB, including a random access resource along with inactive state information, including a resume ID that is used by the UE to communicate with the serving cell by way of the target cell after said UE receives a RAR from the target cell, according to [0434]-[0440], [0442], Fig. 5G [steps 5g-20, 5g-50, 5g-55, 5g-60, 5g-65, and 5g-70]);
the method comprising:
receiving, by the source network node, an indication that the RAR has been received by the user device from the target cell (the UE indicates to the serving cell, by way of the target cell, that the RAR has been received from said target cell, according to [0442], Fig. 5G [steps 5g-60, 5g-65, and 5g-70]);
wherein the performing comprises resuming, by the source network node, user device, data communication with the user device based on the source network node receiving the indication that the RAR has been received by the user device from the target cell (after receiving the RAR from the target cell, the UE communicates with the serving cell by way of the target cell, according to [0442], Fig. 5G [steps 5g-55, 5g-60, 5g-65, and 5g-70]).
Regarding claim 18, Jang discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the RAR window information further comprises at least one of: a RAR window length of the RAR window for the target cell; time slots of the at least two CSS occasions, and/or periodicity of the at least two CSS occasions (the RAR window lasts a preset number of subframes after the transmission of a preamble [“a RAR window length of the RAR window for the target cell”], according to [0442]).
Regarding claim 19, since the claim upon which this claim depends recites options for a step written in the alterative and the option to which this claim is directed is not the one for which prior art is cited, no art need be cited in the rejection of this claim.
Regarding claim 20, Jang discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the source network node comprises a distributed unit (DU) (a base station comprises a distributed unit (DU), according to [0298]).
Regarding claim 21, Jang discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the RAR window information comprises at least one of the following: a RAR window length; an indication of common search space (CSS) occasions within the RAR window, wherein the RAR may be received by the user device during the CSS occasions; an indication for the user device to resume data communication with the source cell within the RAR window after the RAR is received by the user device from the target cell; an indication of at least one user device-specific common search space (CSS) occasion, of a plurality of CSS occasions within the RAR window, where the RAR may be transmitted to the user device from the target cell; and/or an intermittent communication indication that instructs the user device to perform data communication with the source cell in one or more gaps between the CSS occasions within the RAR window (the RAR window lasts a preset number of subframes after the transmission of a preamble [“a RAR window length”], according to [0442]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Khoshkholgh Dashtaki et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0334281 (hereinafter Khoshkholgh Dashtaki).
Regarding claim 7, Jang discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Jang does not expressly disclose that the RAR window information comprises information indicating at least one common search space (CSS) occasion within the RAR window where the RAR will be transmitted to the user device from the target cell; the method comprising: receiving, by the user device from the target cell via a CSS occasion of the at least one CSS occasion within the RAR window, the RAR from the target cell.
Khoshkholgh Dashtaki discloses that the RAR window information comprises information indicating at least one common search space (CSS) occasion within the RAR window where the RAR will be transmitted to the user device from the target cell (a specified CSS set is received by a wireless device from a target cell during a RAR window, according to [0407]-[0409]);
the method comprising:
receiving, by the user device from the target cell via a CSS occasion of the at least one CSS occasion within the RAR window, the RAR from the target cell (the wireless device receives the specified CSS set from the target cell during the RAR window, according to [0407]-[0409]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jang with Khoshkholgh Dashtaki such that the RAR window information comprises information indicating at least one common search space (CSS) occasion within the RAR window where the RAR will be transmitted to the user device from the target cell; the method comprising: receiving, by the user device from the target cell via a CSS occasion of the at least one CSS occasion within the RAR window, the RAR from the target cell.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to facilitate contention resolution and avoid collisions (Khoshkholgh Dashtaki: [0164]).
Regarding claim 8, Jang discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Jang does not expressly disclose that the RAR window information comprises information indicating at least one user device-specific common search space (CSS) occasion, of a plurality of CSS occasions, within the RAR window where the RAR may be transmitted to the user device from the target cell.
Khoshkholgh Dashtaki discloses that the RAR window information comprises information indicating at least one user device-specific common search space (CSS) occasion, of a plurality of CSS occasions, within the RAR window where the RAR may be transmitted to the user device from the target cell (a wireless device receives configuration parameters, according to [0398], whereby said configuration parameters specify that said wireless device is to receive a specific CSS set from a target cell during a RAR window, according to [0407]-[0409]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jang with Khoshkholgh Dashtaki such that the RAR window information comprises information indicating at least one user device-specific common search space (CSS) occasion, of a plurality of CSS occasions, within the RAR window where the RAR may be transmitted to the user device from the target cell.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to facilitate contention resolution and avoid collisions (Khoshkholgh Dashtaki: [0164]).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW W GENACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645