DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election of Invention I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 11/24/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
3. Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/24/2025.
Drawings
4. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a controller operatively connected to a switch, the controller configured to operate the switch to provide an alternating current to the ultrasonic transducer.; a controller configured to alter the alternating current to adjust a size of droplets in the generated mist.; and a controller configured to: alter one of a frequency and an amplitude of the alternating current to adjust the size of droplets in the generated mist must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
5. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show a controller operatively connected to a switch, the controller being configured to operate the switch to provide an alternating current to the ultrasonic transducer.; a controller configured to: alter the alternating current to adjust a size of droplets in the generated mist; and a controller configured to: alter one of a frequency and an amplitude of the alternating current to adjust the size of droplets in the generated mist as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, examiner is unsure as to how a controller that is connected to a switch provides alternating current to the ultrasonic transducer. A controller controls the device or devices that would provide alternating current to other devices. There are no devices claimed to provide alternating current and there are no devices in which the alternating current would be provided to.
Regarding claim 9, the examiner is unsure as to how a controller alter the alternating current to adjust a size of droplets in the generated mist when there are not devices or elements claimed to perform or implement these features.
Regarding claim 10, the examiner is unsure as to how a controller alters one of a frequency and an amplitude of the alternating current to adjust the size of droplets in the generated mist when there are not devices or elements claimed to perform or implement these features.
8. Claim 1 recites the limitation "the generated mist" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
11. Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (9403383).
Liu et al. disclose the following claimed limitations:
* Re clm 1, an inkjet printer/100/ (Abst., col 4, lines 23-35, figs 1-2);
* at least one printhead/printhead modules 150A-150D/ (col 4, lines 23-35, figs 1-2);
* a media transport for moving a media sheet through a print zone opposite the at least one printhead/4a-4e/ in a process direction (col 4, lines 30-35, 55-67, figs 1-2);
* a primer applicator having/primer pre-coater 130 or inkjet printheads/ (col 5, lines 1-3, 25-30, fig 1A):
* a nebulizer/implemented with inkjet printheads that sprays primer on the media/ configured to generate a mist/spray/ from a primer/printhead sprays primer/ (col 5, lines 1-34, figs 1-2);
* a pressure source/auxiliary dryer 154, fan 170/ configured to direct the generated mist/fluids/ toward media on the media transport before the media passes the at least one printhead (col 5, line 61-col 6, line 24, figs 1-2).
* Re clm 2, the primer applicator/inkjet printheads/ (col 5, lines 1-3, 25-30, fig 1A):
* a housing/printhead casing or outer perimeter of printhead/ in which the nebulizer/printhead that sprays/ is positioned; and an opening in the housing/printhead has an opening for the nozzles to eject liquid/ to which the pressure source/auxiliary fan/ directs the generated mist/the auxiliary fan is placed closer to printhead module/ (col 6, lines 13-24, figs 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (9403383) in view of Wang et al. (2024/0295524).
Liu et al. do not disclose the following claimed limitations:
* Re clm 3, wherein the nebulizer is a transducer immersed in a metal salt solution.
Wang et al. disclose the following claimed limitations: (2024/0295524)
* Re clm 3, wherein the nebulizer is a transducer/electrode/ immersed in a metal salt solution (para 0023).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize wherein the nebulizer is a transducer immersed in a metal salt solution, taught by Wang et al. into Lin et al. for the purpose of providing improved consistency of measurements.
14. Claim(s) 4 & 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (9403383) as modified by Wang et al. (2024/02495524) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Horiguchi (US 2024/0239101).
Liu et al. as modified by Wang et al. disclose the following claimed limitations:
* Re clm 5, wherein the pressure source is a fan/ auxiliary dryer 154, fan 170/ (col 5, line 61-col 6, line 24, figs 1-2, disclosed by Lin et al.).
Lin et al. as modified by Wang et al. do not disclose the following:
* Re clm 4, wherein the transducer is an ultrasonic transducer.
Horiguchi discloses the following:
* Re clm 4, wherein the transducer is an ultrasonic transducer/122/ (para 0041, fig 2);
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize wherein the transducer is an ultrasonic transducer, taught by Horiguchi into Lin et al. as modified by Wang et al. for the purpose of - preventing dirtying of a printhead caused by ink rebounding off a printing surface.
15. Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (9403383) as modified by Wang et al. (2124/02495524) and Horiguchi (US 2024/0239101) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hawkins et al. (6554389)
Lin et al. as modified by Wang et al. and Horiguchi do not disclose the following
* Re clm 6, wherein the pressure source is compressed air
Hawkins et al. disclose the following:
* Re clm 6, wherein the pressure source is compressed air (col 6, lines 54-67).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize wherein the pressure source is compressed air, taught by Hawkins et al. into Lin et al. as modified by Wang et al. and Horiguchi for the purpose of providing air to guide the droplets trajectory.
16. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (9403383) as modified by Wang et al. (2124/02495524) and Horiguchi (US 2024/0239101) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shima (2023/0391078).
Lin et al. as modified by Wang et al. and Horiguchi do not disclose the following:
* Re clm 7, wherein the opening in the housing is a slit.
Shima discloses the following:
* Re clm 7, wherein the opening in the housing/22/ is a slit/27/ (para 0035, figs 2-3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize wherein the opening in the housing is a slit, taught by Shima into Lin et al. as modified by Wang et al. and Horiguchi for the purpose of providing an outlet in the internal space of the housing.
17. Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (9403383) as modified by Wang et al. (2124/02495524) and Horiguchi (US 2024/0239101 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Saiki et al. (2015/0261152).
Lin et al. as modified by Wang et al. and Horiguchi do not disclose the following:
* Re clm 8, a controller operatively connected to a switch, the controller being configured to operate the switch to provide an alternating current to the ultrasonic transducer.
Saiki et al. disclose the following:
* Re clm 8, a controller/control device 100/ operatively connected to a switch/302/, the controller being configured to operate the switch to provide an alternating current/power supply 301/ to the ultrasonic transducer/80, 90/ (para 0069-0070, fig 7).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize a controller operatively connected to a switch, the controller being configured to operate the switch to provide an alternating current to the ultrasonic transducer, taught by Saiki et al. into Lin et al. as modified by Wang et al. and Horiguchi for the purpose converting power supplied to a device.
Conclusion
/KRISTAL FEGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853