DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. In the event that the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao US2023/0067321 in view of Chen et al. US2023/0152049.
Per claim 1 Gao teaches a water-cooling and heat-dissipation system (see fig.1), comprising: a heat exchange device (2 and/or 513) for cooling a coolant ([0029]); an electronic device (4) for warming up the coolant ([0029]); a plurality of connectors disposed between the heat exchange device and the electronic device (see fig.1), so that the coolant is allowed to flow between the heat exchange device and the electronic device through the plurality of connectors (see fig.1); and a plurality of leak-liquid guiding structures (9a,b,c, see fig.1; [0033]), wherein each of the plurality of leak-liquid guiding structures is disposed below a corresponding one of the plurality of connectors (see fig.1), and each of the plurality of leak-liquid guiding structures comprises an inclined surface (see fig.1-2), wherein the inclined surface is introduced from a lateral wall of the heat exchange device or a lateral wall of the electronic device (see fig.1-2), and extended below a corresponding one of connection ports of the plurality of (see fig.1-2), wherein when the coolant is leaked from one of the connection ports of the plurality of connectors ([0017]), a leakage liquid is formed and flows along a corresponding one of the inclined surfaces to the lateral wall of the heat exchange device or the lateral wall of the electronic device ([0017], [0033]).
Gao does not explicitly teach a male-and-female connector
Chen et al. however discloses a male-and-female connector (see fig.2)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a male-and-female connector as taught by Chen et al. in the water-cooling and heat dissipation system of Gao, because it enables efficient, reliable and secure coupling between the connectors.
Per claim 2 Gao in view of Chen et al. teaches the water-cooling and heat-dissipation system according to claim 1, wherein when the coolant flows to the electronic device through the plurality of male-and-female connectors, the coolant is heated up by the electronic device ([0029]), wherein when the coolant flows to the heat exchange device through the plurality of male-and-female connectors, the coolant is cooled by the heat exchange device ([0029]).
Per claim 3 Gao in view of Chen et al. teaches the water-cooling and heat-dissipation system according to claim 1, wherein after the leakage liquid flows along the corresponding one of the inclined surfaces to the lateral wall of the heat exchange device (see fig.1-2 & 6-7) or the lateral wall of the electronic device (see fig.1-2 & 6-7), the leakage liquid is collected in a water-collection device, or/and flows through a leak-liquid detection device for detecting (see fig.1; [0037]).
Per claim 4 Gao in view of Chen et al. teaches a leak-liquid guiding structure (9a,b,c; [0033], see fig.1-2 & 6-7), configured to guide a leakage liquid leaked from a connection port (7 or 8; [0029]), wherein the connection port is formed by a connector component ([0029], see fig.1-2), the connector component is derived laterally from an installation surface (16, see fig.1-2, “front and side surfaces of 16”), and the leak-liquid guiding structure comprises: an inclined surface connected to the installation surface (see fig.1-2 & 6-7), wherein the inclined surface is spatially corresponding to the connection port (see fig.1-2), located below the connection port, and configured to guide the leakage liquid overflowing from the connection port toward the installation surface or away from the installation surface by gravity (see fig.1-2; [0029], [0033]).
Per claim 5 Gao in view of Chen et al. teaches the leak-liquid guiding structure according to claim 4, wherein the connector component is connected between a heat exchange device (2 and/or 513) and an electronic device (4; [0029], [0033]), and comprises a plurality of male-and-female connectors (see fig.1-2), and the installation surface (16) is on a lateral wall of the heat exchange device or a lateral wall of the electronic device (see fig.1-2), wherein the plurality of male-and-female connectors are arranged from top to bottom along the installation surface (see fig.1-2), the leak-liquid guiding structure (9a,b,c, see fig.1; [0033]) comprises a plurality of inclined surfaces (see fig.1-2), and each of the plurality of inclined surfaces is correspondingly disposed below each of the plurality of male-and-female connectors (see fig.1-2), wherein the plurality of inclined surfaces are disposed on a connection plate (30, see fig.1-2), and connected to the installation surface through the connection plate (see fig.1-2).
Per claim 6 Gao in view of Chen et al. teaches the leak-liquid guiding structure according to claim 5, wherein the connection plate is fixed to the installation surface through a fastening element ([0052]) or a snap-in element.
Per claim 7 Gao in view of Chen et al. teaches the leak-liquid guiding structure according to claim 4, wherein an end of the inclined surface away from the installation surface is higher than an end of the inclined surface adjacent to the installation surface (see fig.1-2).
Per claim 8 Gao in view of Chen et al. teaches the leak-liquid guiding structure according to claim 4, wherein the inclined surface comprises a central section (31, see fig.2) and two lateral sections (24 & 25, see fig.2), the central section is spatially corresponding to a lower edge of the connector component and laterally connected between the two lateral sections, and the central section is lower than the two lateral sections (see fig.2).
Per claim 9 Gao in view of Chen et al. teaches the leak-liquid guiding structure according to claim 4, further comprising a liquid collection opening (28, see fig.2), wherein the liquid collection opening is disposed adjacent to the installation surface, and located below a joining position of the connector component and the installation surface (see fig.1-2), wherein the leakage liquid overflowing from the connection port is guided to the liquid collection opening through the inclined surface by gravity, and flows through the liquid collection opening (see fig.1-2; [0033] & [0036]).
Per claim 10 Gao in view of Chen et al. teaches the leak-liquid guiding structure according to claim 9, further comprising a leak-liquid detection device ([0037]) disposed between the inclined surface and the installation surface (see fig.1 & 6, “10 is shown to be between a tip of the inclined surface of 9a-c and the installation surface 16”) and crossing below the liquid collection opening for detecting the leakage liquid when the leakage liquid flows through the liquid collection opening (see fig.1).
Per claim 11 Gao in view of Chen et al. teaches the leak-liquid guiding structure according to claim 9, further comprising a water collection device (10) disposed below the inclined surface, spatially corresponding to the liquid collection opening (see fig.1 & 6), and configured to collect the leakage liquid flowing through the liquid collection opening (see fig.1 & 6; [0033], [0037]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao US2023/0067321 in view of Holt et al. US7971910.
Per claim 18 Gao teaches the leak-liquid guiding structure according to claim 13,
Gao does not explicitly teach wherein the connector component comprises two connector components arranged up and down on the installation surface, and the installation base comprises an upper mounting notch and a lower mounting notch connected to the two connector components, respectively.
Holt et al. however discloses wherein a connector component (see fig.1) comprises two connector components (12 & 14) arranged up and down on the installation surface (see fig.1), and the installation base comprises an upper mounting notch and a lower mounting notch connected to the two connector components, respectively (see fig.1-4).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the connector components arranged on a notch as taught by Holt et al. in the leak-liquid guiding structure of Gao, because it ensures proper coupling and securing of the leak-liquid guiding structure to the installation base.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gao US2023/0067321.
Per claim 13 Gao teaches a leak-liquid guiding structure (9a,b,c; [0033], see fig.1-2 & 6-7), configured to guide a leakage liquid leaked from a connection port (7 or 8; [0029]), wherein the connection port is formed by a connector component ([0029], see fig.1-2), the connector component is derived laterally from an installation surface (16, see fig.1-2, “front and side surfaces of 16”), and the leak-liquid guiding structure comprises: an installation base (30) disposed on the installation surface and connected to the connector component (see fig.1-2); and a guiding component (24, 25 & 26, see fig.2) connected to the installation base (see fig.1-2), wherein guiding component comprises an upper liquid collection opening (28, see fig.1-2, “28 on 9a is the upper liquid collection opening”) and an inclined surface (see fig.2), the upper liquid collection opening is disposed between installation base and the guiding component (see fig.2), and located below the connector component (see fig.2), and the inclined surface is spatially corresponding to the connection port (fig.2), located below the connection port, and configured to guide the leakage liquid overflowing from the connection port to flow through the upper liquid collection opening (see fig.2; [0033]), wherein the installation base comprises a lower liquid collection opening (28, see fig.1-2, “28 on 9b is the lower liquid collection opening”) in fluid communication with the upper liquid collection opening (see fig.1-2), and configured to guide the leakage liquid flowing through the upper liquid collection opening to flow through the lower liquid collection opening by gravity (see fig.1-2; [0036], [0048] & [0060]).
Per claim 14 Gao teaches the leak-liquid guiding structure according to claim 13, wherein the installation base (30, see fig.2) further comprises a flow guide channel (24, 25 & 31) in fluid communication between the upper liquid collection opening (28 & 9a) and the lower liquid collection opening (28 & 9b), and configured to guide the leakage liquid flowing through the upper liquid collection opening to flow through the lower liquid collection opening by gravity (see fig.1-2 & 6-7).
Per claim 15 Gao teaches the leak-liquid guiding structure according to claim 13, further comprising a leak-liquid detection device (10) disposed between the inclined surface and the installation surface and crossing below the lower liquid collection opening for detecting the leakage liquid when the leakage liquid flows through the lower liquid collection opening (see fig.1-2 & 6-7).
Per claim 16 Gao teaches the leak-liquid guiding structure according to claim 13, wherein an end of the inclined surface away from the installation surface is higher than an end of the inclined surface adjacent to the installation surface (see fig.1-2).
Per claim 17 Gao teaches the leak-liquid guiding structure according to claim 13, wherein the inclined surface comprises a central section (31, see fig.2) and two lateral sections (24 & 25, see fig.2), the central section is spatially corresponding to a lower edge of the connector component and laterally connected between the two lateral sections, and the central section is lower than the two lateral sections (see fig.2).
Allowable Subject matter
3. Claims 12, 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 12, includes allowable subject matter because of the leak-liquid guiding structure according to claim 9, further comprising: a water collection device located below the inclined surface; and a communication pipe connected between the liquid collection opening and the water collection device, and configured to guide the leakage liquid flowing through the liquid collection opening to the water collection device.
Claim 19, includes allowable subject matter because of the leak-liquid guiding structure according to claim 18, wherein each of the two connector components comprises a fixed connector and a jointing connector connected to each other through mating, so as to clamp a corresponding one of the upper mounting notch or the lower mounting notch and fix the installation base to the installation surface, wherein the upper mounting notch and the lower mounting notch face in opposite directions.
Claim 20, includes allowable subject matter because of the leak-liquid guiding structure according to claim 13, wherein the installation base and the guiding component comprise a first engaging element and a second engaging element, respectively, and the first engaging element and the second engaging element are paired and engaged with each other for fixing the guiding component to the installation base.
Email Communication
4. Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.05.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shao et al. US2021/0385978 discloses a liquid distribution system for an electronic rack, the liquid distribution system comprising: a main liquid supply and return unit; a mounting rail that extends along at least a portion of a height of the electronic rack.
Gao US2023/0061298 discloses a cooling system for an information technology (IT) rack, comprising: a cooling assembly including a cooling chassis having an outlet port that provides a path for a leaked fluid to flow out of an interior of the cooling chassis, and one or more cold plates located at a bottom portion of the cooling chassis.
Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior are included on the Notice of References Cited (PTOL 892) attached herewith. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/MICHAEL A MATEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835