DETAILED ACTION
The RCE filed January 27, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-10 are pending. Claims 1 and 6 are independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (US 2022/0392513).
Regarding independent claim 1, Choi et al. disclose a memory device (see e.g., FIG. 2), comprising:
a memory array (130);
an input/output (IO) circuitry (230), configured to access the memory array; and
a control circuit (200, 300, 110-120), configured to generate at least a global IO signal to the IO circuitry, to control operations of the IO circuitry;
wherein the IO circuitry is supplied by a first supply voltage (VDDL), the control circuit is supplied by at least a second supply voltage (VDDH) different from the first supply voltage;
wherein the IO circuitry comprises a sense amplifier (237) supplied by the first supply voltage (VDDL) and an output driver (238) wherein the sense amplifier is configured to read data from the memory array, and the output driver is configured to generate output data according to the data read by the sense amplifier.
Regarding dependent claims 2-5 and 10, see Choi et al. e.g., FIG. 2 and accompanying disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 10 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell et al. (US 7,355,905) in view of e.g., Choi (US 2015/0063007).
Regarding independent claim 1, Campbell et al. teach a memory device, comprising:
a memory array (FIG. 2: 24);
an input/output (IO) circuitry (DIN/DOUT, along with FIG. 3: 38), configured to access the memory array; and
a control circuit (28), configured to generate at least a global IO signal to the IO circuitry, to control operations of the IO circuitry;
wherein the IO circuitry is supplied by a first supply voltage (see FIG. 3: 38, VL), the control circuit is supplied by at least a second supply voltage (FIG. 2: 28, VM, col. 3, lines 53-55: … the control signal generator 28 are supplied by both the VM … supply voltages) different from the first supply voltage;
wherein the IO circuitry comprises a sense amplifier (FIG. 3: 38) supplied by the first supply voltage (VL) and an output driver (DOUT0, col. 7, lines 45-46: … the bit lines and amplifies the differential to produce the output bit Dout0) wherein the sense amplifier is configured to read data from the memory array, and the output driver is configured to generate output data according to the data read by the sense amplifier.
Campbell’s DOUT0 does not explicitly disclose an output driver as claimed.
However, “a data out (DOUT), such as that of Campbell, includes an output driver that drives the data read by the sense amplifier” is a well-known technology for a type of memory for its purpose.
For support, of the above asserted facts, see for example, Choi (US 2015/0063007), FIG. 2, INV in DOUT path.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teaching of Choi to the teaching of Campbell et al. such that a memory, as taught by Campbell et al., utilizes an output driver, as taught by Choi, for the purpose of driving signals to reliably transfer data from memory to external components, further these conventional technology are well established in the art of the memory devices.
Regarding claim 2, Campbell et al. and Choi, as combined, teach the limitations of claim 1.
Campbell et al. further teach the IO circuitry comprises a pre-charger, a write driver, and/or an input latch, and the global IO signal is an output clock signal generated by the control circuit (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Campbell et al. and Choi, as combined, teach the limitations of claim 1.
Campbell et al. further teach a voltage level of the second supply voltage is higher than a voltage level of the first supply voltage (FIGS. 2-3).
Regarding claim 4, Campbell et al. and Choi, as combined, teach the limitations of claim 3.
Campbell et al. further teach a level shift circuit, configured to receive the first supply voltage to generate the second supply voltage (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Campbell et al. and Choi, as combined, teach the limitations of claim 3.
Campbell et al. further teach the control circuit is supplied by both the first supply voltage and the second supply voltage (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Campbell et al. and Choi, as combined, teach the limitations of claim 3.
Campbell et al. further teach the memory device is a dual-rail static random access memory (SRAM) circuitry (FIGS. 2-3).
Claims 6-7 and 9 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain et al. (US 2019/0147942) in view of Chevallier (US 2018/0226972).
Regarding independent claim 6, Jain et al. teach a memory device (see e.g., FIGS. 3-4), comprising:
a memory array (100);
an input/output (IO) circuitry (180, 20, 186 and 188), configured to access the memory array; and
a control circuit (figure 3 except for a memory array and I/O), configured to generate at least a global IO signal to the IO circuitry, to control operations of the IO circuitry;
wherein the IO circuitry is supplied by a first supply voltage (VDD domain), the control circuit is supplied by at least a second supply voltage (VDDM domain) different from the first supply voltage;
wherein a voltage level of the second supply voltage (VDDM domain) is higher than a voltage level of the first supply voltage (VDD domain)(see e.g., para. 0015: … VDD … higher voltage level VDDM …), and the control circuit is supplied by both the first supply voltage and the second supply voltage (see FIG. 4).
Jain et al. are silent with respect to wherein the control circuit comprises a pre-driver and a post-driver, the pre-driver is supplied by the second supply voltage, and the post-driver is supplied by the first supply voltage.
Chevallier teaches the deficiencies in e.g., FIG. 9 and accompanying disclosure, e.g., para. 0042, i.e., the control circuit such as decoder comprises pre-driver (922) and post-driver (924), power domain 922 supplied by a high voltage supply, and power domain 924 supplied by low voltage supply.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teaching of Chevallier to the teaching of Jain et al. such that a memory, as taught by Jain et al., utilizes a dual-power driver, as taught by Chevallier, for the purpose of reducing overall leakage current (see Chevallier, paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 7, Jain et al. and Chevallier, as combined, teach the limitations of claim 6.
Jain et al. further teach the pre-driver (FIG. 4: 234) receives a clock signal (122) to generate a processed signal, and the post-driver receives the processed signal to generate an output clock signal serving as the global IO signal to the IO circuitry (see FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Jain et al. and Chevallier, as combined, teach the limitations of claim 6.
Jain et al. further teach each of the pre-driver and the post-driver comprises an inverter (FIG. 4).
Claim 8 is rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain et al. (US 2019/0147942) in view of Chevallier (US 2018/0226972), and further in view of e.g., M Siddiqui et al. (US 12,243,585).
Regarding claim 8, Jain et al. and Chevallier, as combined, teach the limitations of claim 6.
Jain et al. do not explicitly disclose a signal generator supplied by the first supply voltage, configured to generate a first clock signal; a level shift circuit, configured to receive the first clock signal to generate the clock signal, wherein a voltage level of the clock signal is higher than a voltage level of the first clock signal.
However, claimed generating higher voltage level of clock signal by level shifter circuitry is a well-known technology for a type of memory control circuitry for its purpose.
For support, of the above asserted facts, see for example, M Siddiqui et al., FIG. 2: 212 and accompanying disclosure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teaching of M Siddiqui et al. to the teaching of Jain et al. and Chevallier, as combined, such that a memory, as taught by Jain et al. and Chevallier, utilizes dual-rail clock signals, as taught by M Siddiqui et al., for the purpose of utilizing multi power memory system, thereby enhancing memory operations, and further these conventional technology are well established in the art of the memory devices.
Conclusion
/SUNG IL CHO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825