Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kani (US 20230055647).
Regarding claim 21, Kani discloses a component carrier having a stack (the structure may be folding into a stack) comprising at least one electrically insulating layer structure and/or at least one electrically conductive layer structure, the stack comprising:
a central rigid portion (system-on-packer SiP, 125);
a first flexible portion (the flexible circuit 140), extending from a first side of the central rigid portion; and
a second flexible portion (the module routing substrate 220), extending from a second side of the central rigid portion;
wherein the first flexible portion extends from a first vertical level (the level of 140 extending from 125) from the central rigid portion that is different from a second vertical level (the level 220 extending from 125) from which the second flexible portion extends from the central rigid portion;
wherein a first opening and/or a second opening comprises a metal residue at the bottom part (when the structure is folded together into a stack, there are opening on the stack with the metal parts such as the terminal of components such as components 215 and 225).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 – 14, 17 – 20 are allowed.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 1, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that the first flexible portion and/or the second flexible portion comprises at least one flexible layer structure, and wherein the flexible layer structure comprises a flexible solder resist layer structure. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 19, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 19, a combination of limitations that the first flexible portion and/or the second flexible portion comprises at least one flexible layer structure, and wherein the flexible layer structure comprises a flexible solder resist layer structure. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Conclusion
/BINH B TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848