DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “may cause” in claim 10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “may cause” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Anything not controlled by the driver “may cause” uneasiness and result in the unexpected.
The term “excessive” in claim 10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “excessive” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The system is trying to avoid a collision and if the lateral movement is needed to do so that wouldn’t be excessive would it?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Abe (U.S. Pat. No. 12,344,282).
Regarding claim 1, Abe discloses a vehicle control apparatus, comprising:
an external environment sensor (31) configured to detect an external environment situation including a location of an object in a surrounding area of a vehicle (1); and
an electronic control unit (50) including a processor and a memory coupled to the processor (col. 6, lines 30-44), wherein the electronic control unit:
recognizes the external environment situation of the vehicle based on a signal from the external environment sensor (s31);
performs steering assistance to start steering by controlling a turning mechanism of the vehicle based on the external environment situation (col. 14, lines 20-33 discloses identifying the lane and col. 17, line 50-67 discloses that navigating the lane through control of steering velocity is part of the steering assist);
calculates a target steering angular velocity (s39) of steering assistance of the vehicle based on the external environment situation recognized;
performs the steering assistance at the target steering angular velocity until a duration of a period (s43), during which the target steering angular velocity exceeds a predetermined steering angular velocity, exceeds a predetermined duration (col. 16, lines 5-32 discloses how the control is used and then the durations of the controls are analyzed);
limits the steering assistance by decreasing the target steering angular velocity to a limited steering angular velocity when the duration of the period exceeds the predetermined duration (the system limits the target velocity to what is needed to avoid contact but S83 chooses between two different controls); and
limits the steering assistance so that a change amount of a steering angle of the vehicle from a start of the steering assistance is equal to or smaller than a predetermined value (col. 16, lines 43-47).
Note: this “predetermined value” is not given any limitations. In this rejection the target values are construed as the predetermined values and so always limiting the system to the chosen target values.
Regarding claim 2 which depends from claim 1, Abe discloses wherein the predetermined value is set so that the duration does not to exceed the predetermined duration (col. 16, lines 50-56 allows for any set driving duration).
Regarding claim 3 which depends from claim 1, Abe discloses wherein the electronic control unit limits the steering assistance so that the change amount from the start of the steering assistance until a predetermined period has elapsed is equal to or smaller than the predetermined value (the point of a steering angle velocity is the rate at which the steering angle is changing so this system is limiting the change amount to the calculated target amount, i.e. velocity).
Regarding claim 4 which depends from claim 2, Abe discloses wherein the predetermined value is set to a smaller value as a traveling speed of the vehicle increases.
Regarding claim 5 which depends from claim 1, Abe discloses wherein the limited steering angular velocity is zero (col. 25, lines 14-16).
Regarding claim 6 which depends from claim 1, Abe discloses wherein the external environment sensor includes at least one of a camera (31 is a camera), a millimeter wave radar (camera option addressed), and a LiDAR (camera option addressed), wherein the electronic control unit recognizes the external environment situation in the surrounding area with an advancing direction of the vehicle as a center based on the signal from the external environment sensor (the cameras are looking forward).
Regarding claim 7 which depends from claim 1, Abe discloses wherein the electronic control unit: recognizes a traveling lane in which the vehicle travels; and performs the steering assistance so that the vehicle travels in the traveling lane based on the external environment situation when it is determined that the vehicle has departed from the traveling lane or is departing from the traveling lane based on a recognition result (col. 14, lines 20-33 discloses identifying the lane and col. 17, line 50-67 discloses that navigating the lane is part of the steering assist).
Regarding claim 9 which depends from claim 1, Abe discloses wherein the electronic control unit: determines whether the change amount is equal to or smaller than the predetermined value; limits a target steering angle of the steering assistance to a value obtained by adding a predetermined steering angle to or subtracting the predetermined steering angle from a steering angle of the vehicle at the start of the steering assistance, when it is determined that the change amount exceeds the predetermined value; and calculates the target steering angular velocity based on the target steering angle (the target steering angular velocity is always the predetermined value and so does not ever get a value that is above the predetermined value).
Regarding claim 10 which depends from claim 1, Abe discloses wherein the predetermined steering angular velocity is a steering angular velocity that may cause a driver of the vehicle to feel uneasy or may result in an unexpected situation (any additional control by the computer “may cause” unease result in something different than expected), wherein the predetermined duration is a duration that can generate an excessive lateral movement amount, which may cause the driver to feel uneasy or may result in an unexpected situation (where the lateral movement provides buffer space between the vehicle and object that is additional safety margin but can be considered “excessive”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe (U.S. Pat. No. 12,344,282) as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and in view of Park (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0120142).
Regarding claim 8 which depends from claim 7, Abe discloses wherein in the steering assistance, a steering torque equivalent (substitute limitation) to be applied to the turning mechanism is calculated based on the target steering angular velocity, and the steering torque calculated is applied to the turning mechanism (col. 18, lines 7-15 discloses the system controlling the steering actuators to produce the desired result which would require a force equivalent calculation in order to control the actuator correctly).
Abe does not disclose calculating a steering torque.
Park, which deals in vehicle steering, teaches calculating a steering torque (¶12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Abe with the calculation of Park because Abe already has measured the steering angular velocity and so can use it to calculate needed torque.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/18/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on page 6 that the Abe reference does not use the steering angular velocity for a predetermined amount of time but instead immediately begins to gradually reduce that velocity. However long the target velocity is used is construed as satisfying this predetermined amount of time before the gradual reduction takes place. The system identifies obstacles and steers around those obstacles using sufficient steering velocity.
Conclusion
GONZALO LAGUARDA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3747 email: gonzalo.laguarda@uspto.gov
/GONZALO LAGUARDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747