DETAILED ACTION
Applicants' arguments, filed June 23, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not deemed to be fully persuasive. The following rejections and/or objections constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
The duty of disclosures related to various co-pending Applications is noted but Terminal Disclaimers over each of these issued U.S. patents have already been filed and approved in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 – New Matter
Claims 1, 4 – 7 and 12 – 16 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This new matter rejection is MAINTAINED for the reasons of record set forth in the Office Action mailed March 26, 2026 and those set forth herein.
Applicants have amended claim 1 in an attempt to remove the new matter and argue that claim 1 has been amended to clarify the structure of the prodrug can be present in pharmaceutically acceptable salts but not that the prodrug is encapsulated with a pharmaceutically acceptable salt.
These arguments are unpersuasive. Claim 1 now clearly sets off “pharmaceutically acceptable salt” as a separate step with nothing in the logic or grammar of the claim linking it to the specific compound present in the nanocarrier composition that is administered in step (i) of claim 1. Therefore the interpretation set forth in the arguments does not align with the claim as currently presented. The presence of any pharmaceutically acceptable salt not in combination with the specific compound of step (i) is not disclosed in the disclosure as originally filed and there is no disclosure of a method step (ii) of “a pharmaceutically acceptable salt”. Therefore claim 1 as currently presented still contains new matter. The dependent claims fall therewith.
If Applicant is in disagreement with the Examiner regarding support for the amended claim, Applicant is respectfully requested to point to page and line number wherein support may be found for the instant invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 – Indefiniteness
Claims 1, 4 – 7 and 12 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As presently amended, claim 1 requires a method of treating with two steps: step (i) of administering to a subject diagnosed with cancer in need of treatment a nanocarrier composition as recited in claim 1 and step (ii), “a pharmaceutically acceptable salt”. A step in a method claim requires a verb. There is an active step of administering in step (i). There is no action in “a pharmaceutically acceptable salt” of step (ii). A pharmaceutically acceptable salt is a thing but what action is taking using or with the pharmaceutically acceptable salt is not set forth in the claim and therefore the metes and bounds of the claims cannot be determined as some action is required but no action at all is set forth in required step (ii).
The dependent claims fall therewith.
Please clarify.
For the purposes of applying art below, claim 1 is being interpreted as requiring the presence of a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of anything in the formulation that is administered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4 – 7 and 12 – 16 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klinman et al. (WO 2014/201245; cited on May, 2, 2024 IDS) in view of Mehnert et al. (Adv Drug Del Rev, 2012). This rejection is MAINTAINED for the reasons of record set forth in the Office Action mailed March 26, 2026 and those set forth herein.
As discussed on p 9 of the March 26, 2026 Office Action, Klinman et al. discloses pharmaceutically acceptable salts of the imidazoquinoline compounds (p 30, ln 3 – 17), and the compound of instant claim 1 is amongst the imidazoquinoline compounds disclosed by this reference. Therefore compositions comprising “a pharmaceutically acceptable salt” are disclosed and it would have been obvious to administer the composition to a subject diagnosed with cancer such a salt as required by the instant claims.
Applicants traverse this rejection on the grounds that Klinman is outside the scope of the instant claims as this reference does not teach various limitations of the claims as conceded by the Examiner including administration to a human of the liposomal formulation and the size and zeta potential of the nanoparticles. The Examiner attempts to correct this fatal error using Mehnert which has no reference to a specific size or formulation or even requiring a specific prodrug. The Examiner is interpreting the claims contrary to patent law as all claim limitations must be considered and Applicant is pointing out that the references do not teach all of the limitations found in the claims and the rejection is not proper. The Examiner is not viewing the claim as a whole.
These arguments are unpersuasive. The significance of Klinman falling outside the scope of the claims is not understood as the rejection is not made over Klinman alone and any obviousness rejection takes into account the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art and the explicit, implicit and inherent teachings of all the applied prior art documents. So even if Klinman et al. alone does not explicitly disclose all of the claim limitations, the rejection is not made based on the explicit teachings of Klinman et al. alone. Klinman et al. and Mehnert et al. are both analogous art to the claimed rejection as being at least in the same field of endeavor and therefore are proper for use in an obviousness rejection. All of the claim limitations have been considered and addressed in the rejection of record as set forth in greater detail in the Office Action mailed March 26, 2026.
Applicants also argue that Klinman does not teach a liposomal formulation or specific Zav size/zeta potential formulations and Mehnert does not disclose any specific liposomes but rather broad factors to use in the evaluation of lipid technologies so the number of predictable solutions is not finite. Each prodrug and liposome specifically reacts to a tumor in a different manner. While an “obvious to try” rationale may support a conclusion of obviousness, a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success is required. The lack of specific teachings in the cited art makes the instant claims nonobvious and not a reasonably predictable outcome.
These arguments are unpersuasive. Only a reasonable expectation of success that a liposomal formulation of the 3M-052 compound, the same compound as in the instant claims, of Klinman et al., taught for use in treating a tumor that can be formulated as a liposome and administered to a subject in need of cancer treatment, is required for a prima facie case of obviousness. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims in light of the specification is any reduction of killing of cancer cells is sufficient to meet the recitation “[a] method of treating a subject diagnosed with cancer”. While Klinman et al. does not specifically use a liposomal formulation of a therapeutic agent such as 3M-052, liposomal formulations are disclosed at p 36, ln 14 (see ¶ 2 on p 9 of the March 26, 2026 Office Action). The claims do not specify any particular lipids that comprise the liposome and only a particular size and zeta potential. Those factors are known results effective variables to those of ordinary skill in the art that one of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize as taught by Mehnert. Applicants have not presented any evidence of record as to the criticality of the claimed parameters. Arguments without factual support are mere allegations and are not found persuasive. If the arguments regarding the differences in the interaction between tumor cells and the prodrug/liposome formulation were found persuasive, it could also lead to a scope of enablement issue with the instant claims given the level of detail specified in the claims and the limited nature of the liposomes prepared in the disclosure as originally filed (examples 6 - 10, beginning at ¶ [0637] of the PGPub of the instant application). But given the teachings of the prior art, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expected that size and seta potential optimized liposomes comprising a prodrug such as that of instant claim 1 could be prepared and administered to a subject diagnosed with cancer.
Applicant also argues that level of skill in the relevant area is high and the present invention is not mere simple substitution of one known element for another but a method of using a specific novel prodrug formulation to teach the cancer with a combination that has not been disclosed in the art. There was no apparent reason to combine the known elements in the fashion claimed by the instant invention. There are no interrelated teachings used as references and as a high level of skill is needed, the background knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art would require a complete understanding of both lipid-based formulation technology and prodrug chemistry to make the claimed invention. None of the references alone or in combination teach the claimed invention as a whole.
These arguments are unpersuasive. A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton (MPEP 2141(II)(C) and their level of skill is high and therefore the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art that is also taken into consideration when making a determination of obviousness is also large. There need not be an explicit teaching, suggestion or motivation in order to do something to render something obvious. Rationale for combining the references and optimization of liposome size and zeta potential has been set forth but Applicants do not present any arguments regarding that rationale set forth by the Examiner. The use of carriers such as liposomes for a prodrug such as the claimed compound are contained in Klinman et al. but no additional specifics regarding liposomal formulations is given. Mehnert et al. provides an overview of solid lipid nanoparticles including production and quality considerations, how to incorporate drug and methods of administration for in vivo usage that one of ordinary skill can use to prepare a liposomal formulation of the drugs disclosed by Klinman et al. including the compound of instant claim 1. Taken together, there is a reasonable expectation of success that one of ordinary skill in the art to prepare a liposomal formulation of the prodrug known for the treatment of cancer with an optimized size and zeta potential and there is no evidence of record as to the criticality of the claimed values for the liposomes administered in the claimed method.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4 – 7 and 12 – 16 were provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 6, 8, 10 – 13, 15, 17 and 18 of copending Application No. 18/445,036 in view of Klinman et al. (WO 2014/201245; cited on May, 2, 2024 IDS), and Mehnert et al. (Adv Drug Del Rev, 2012). This rejection is MAINTAINED for the reasons of record set forth in the Office Action mailed March 26, 2026 and those set forth herein.
Applicants request that this rejection be held in abeyance until the current claims have been allowed, at which time this rejection should be withdrawn.
As the claims are not in condition for allowance, this rejection is maintained for the reasons of record.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 4 – 7 and 12 – 16 were provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 19 of copending Application No. 19/052,641 Klinman et al. (WO 2014/201245; cited on May, 2, 2024 IDS), and Mehnert et al. (Adv Drug Del Rev, 2012). This rejection is MAINTAINED for the reasons of record set forth in the Office Action mailed March 26, 2026 and those set forth herein.
Applicants request that this rejection be held in abeyance until the current claims have been allowed, at which time this rejection should be withdrawn.
As the claims are not in condition for allowance, this rejection is maintained for the reasons of record.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Nissa M Westerberg/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618