DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) rejected have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by YAMAZAKI et al. 20210210635 (hereinafter YAMAZAKI).
Regarding claim 1, figs. 2B and 6 of YAMAZAKI discloses a thin-film transistor comprising:
an active layer 230 on a substrate 311 and comprising a channel region (portion under 260), a source region (portion under 242A) connected to a side of the channel region, and a drain region (portion under 242b) connected to a different side of the channel region;
a gate insulating layer 250 on the channel region of the active layer; and
a gate electrode 260 on an upper surface of the gate insulating layer,
wherein
a slope of each side surface of the gate electrode with respect to a boundary surface (as labeled by examiner above) between the gate insulating layer and the gate electrode is an obtuse angle (as labeled by examiner above), and
a slope of each side surface of the gate insulating layer with respect to the boundary surface between the gate insulating layer and the gate electrode is an obtuse angle (as labeled by examiner above).
Regarding claim 2, fig. 2B of YAMAZAKI discloses wherein the active layer and the gate electrode are covered with an interlayer insulating layer 280 arranged substantially flat on the substrate, and the gate electrode comprises: an electrode main layer 260b; and an electrode barrier layer 260a between the electrode main layer and the gate insulating layer and between side surfaces of the electrode main layer and the interlayer insulating layer.
Regarding claim 4, par [0107] of YAMAZAKI discloses wherein the active layer comprises an oxide semiconductor material comprising one or more metal materials selected from indium (In), gallium (Ga), zinc (Zn), tin (Sn), aluminum (AI) and molybdenum (Mo), and each of the source region and the drain region in the active layer is a conductor.
Regarding claim 6, fig. 6 of YAMAZAKI discloses further comprising a light blocking layer 205 on a first buffer layer 214 covering the substrate and overlapping at least the channel region of the active layer, wherein the active layer is on a second buffer layer 222 covering the light blocking layer.
Regarding claim 9, par [0124] of YAMAZAKI discloses wherein the light blocking layer comprises a single layer or a multilayer comprising at least one metal material selected from aluminum and copper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun 20150129854 in view of YAMAZAKI.
Regarding claim 10, fig. 2 of Byun discloses a transistor array substrate comprising:
a substrate comprising a display area comprising subpixels; and
a circuit layer on the substrate and comprising pixel drivers respectively corresponding to the subpixels,
wherein each of the pixel drivers comprises at least one thin-film transistor, and wherein at least one thin-film transistor of the circuit layer comprises:
an active layer on the substrate and comprising a channel region, a source region connected to a side of the channel region, and a drain region connected to a different side of the channel region;
a gate insulating layer on the channel region of the active layer; and
a gate electrode on an upper surface of the gate insulating layer.
Byun does not disclose of wherein a slope of each side surface of the gate electrode with respect to a boundary surface between the gate insulating layer and the gate electrode is an obtuse angle, and a slope of each side surface of the gate insulating layer with respect to the boundary surface between the gate insulating layer and the gate electrode is an obtuse angle.
However, fig. 2B of YAMAZAKI discloses a thin-film transistor comprising:
an active layer 230 on a substrate and comprising a channel region (portion under 260), a source region (portion under 242A) connected to a side of the channel region, and a drain region (portion under 242b) connected to a different side of the channel region;
a gate insulating layer 250 on the channel region of the active layer; and
a gate electrode 260 on an upper surface of the gate insulating layer,
wherein
a slope of each side surface of the gate electrode with respect to a boundary surface (as labeled by examiner above) between the gate insulating layer and the gate electrode is an obtuse angle (as labeled by examiner above), and
a slope of each side surface of the gate insulating layer with respect to the boundary surface between the gate insulating layer and the gate electrode is an obtuse angle (as labeled by examiner above).
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form a transistor array substrate of Byun wherein the transistor of Byun is substituted with that of YAMAZAKI in order to form a long channel to reduce short channel effect.
The resulting structure would have been one wherein a slope of each side surface of the gate electrode with respect to a boundary surface between the gate insulating layer and the gate electrode is an obtuse angle, and a slope of each side surface of the gate insulating layer with respect to the boundary surface between the gate insulating layer and the gate electrode is an obtuse angle.
Regarding claim 11, fig. 2B of Byun discloses wherein the circuit layer further comprises an interlayer insulating layer 280 covering the active layer and the gate electrode and arranged substantially flat on the substrate, and the gate electrode comprises: an electrode main layer 260b; and an electrode barrier layer 260a between the electrode main layer and the gate insulating layer and between a side surface of the electrode main layer and a side surface of the interlayer insulating layer.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMAZAKI in view of Yu et al. 20100052066.
Regarding claim 3, par [0160] of YAMAZAKI discloses wherein the electrode main layer 260b comprises a single layer or a multilayer comprising titanium (Ti).
Byun does not disclose that electrode barrier layer comprises a metal oxide material comprising one or more metal materials selected from indium (In), gallium (Ga), zinc (Zn), tin (Sn), aluminum (Al) and molybdenum (Mo).
However, claims 1 and 4 of Yu discloses electrode barrier layer comprises a metal oxide material comprising one or more metal materials selected from the electrode barrier layer comprises a metal oxide material comprising one or more metal materials selected from indium (In), zinc (Zn), and tin (Sn).
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form a transistor of YAMAZAKI electrode barrier layer comprises a metal oxide material comprising one or more metal materials selected from the electrode barrier layer comprises a metal oxide material comprising one or more metal materials selected from indium (In), zinc (Zn), and tin (Sn) such as taught by Yu in order to have provide desired work function values and thermal stability.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun and YAMAZAKI in view of Yu et al. 20100052066.
Regarding claim 3, par [0160] of YAMAZAKI discloses wherein the electrode main layer 260b comprises a single layer or a multilayer comprising titanium (Ti).
Byun and YAMAZAKI do not disclose that electrode barrier layer comprises a metal oxide material comprising one or more metal materials selected from indium (In), gallium (Ga), zinc (Zn), tin (Sn), aluminum (Al) and molybdenum (Mo).
However, claims 1 and 4 of Yu discloses electrode barrier layer comprises a metal oxide material comprising one or more metal materials selected from the electrode barrier layer comprises a metal oxide material comprising one or more metal materials selected from indium (In), zinc (Zn), and tin (Sn).
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form a transistor of Byun and YAMAZAKI electrode barrier layer comprises a metal oxide material comprising one or more metal materials selected from the electrode barrier layer comprises a metal oxide material comprising one or more metal materials selected from indium (In), zinc (Zn), and tin (Sn) such as taught by Yu in order to have provide desired work function values and thermal stability.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun and YAMAZAKI in view of OH et al. 20230232691.
Regarding claim 14, Byun does not disclose further comprising a light blocking layer on a first buffer layer covering the substrate and overlapping at least the channel region of the active layer, wherein the active layer is on a second buffer layer covering the light blocking layer.
However, fig. 6 of OH discloses a substrate 110, further comprising a light blocking layer BML on a first buffer layer 120 covering the substrate 110 and overlapping at least the channel region of the active layer ACT, wherein the active layer is on a second buffer layer 130 covering the light blocking layer.
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form an array substrate of Byun and YAMAZAKI wherein one thin-film transistor of the circuit layer further comprising a light blocking layer on a first buffer layer covering the substrate and overlapping at least the channel region of the active layer, wherein the active layer is on a second buffer layer covering the light blocking layer such as taught by OH in order to protect transistor for the elements of the environment.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun and YAMAZAKI and OH in view of Kim et al. 20230064938 (Kim).
Regarding claim 17, fig. 2 of Byun discloses further comprising a light emitting element layer on the circuit layer and comprising light emitting elements electrically connected to the pixel drivers, wherein one of the pixel drivers is configured to transmit a driving current to one of the light emitting elements and comprises:
a first thin-film transistor connected in series to the light emitting element between a first power line and a second power line configured to transmit first power and second power for driving the light emitting elements (this is necessary the caes).
Byun does not disclose of a second thin-film transistor electrically connected between a data line configured to transmit a data signal and a gate electrode of the first thin-film transistor and configured to be turned on based on a scan signal of a scan gate line; and
a pixel capacitor electrically connected to a first node between the gate electrode of the first thin-film transistor and the second thin-film transistor and a second node between the first thin-film transistor and the light emitting element, wherein a first electrode of the first thin-film transistor is electrically connected to the first power line, and a second electrode of the first thin-film transistor is electrically connected to an anode of the light emitting element.
However, fig. 3 of Kim discloses a circuit layer comprising a light emitting element layer on the circuit layer and the light emitting elements electrically connected to the pixel drivers, wherein one of the pixel drivers is configured to transmit a driving current to one of the light emitting elements and comprises:
a first thin-film transistor connected in series to the light emitting element between a first power line and a second power line configured to transmit first power and second power for driving the light emitting elements; a second thin-film transistor electrically connected between a data line configured to transmit a data signal and a gate electrode of the first thin-film transistor and configured to be turned on based on a scan signal of a scan gate line; and
a pixel capacitor electrically connected to a first node between the gate electrode of the first thin-film transistor and the second thin-film transistor and a second node between the first thin-film transistor and the light emitting element, wherein a first electrode of the first thin-film transistor is electrically connected to the first power line, and a second electrode of the first thin-film transistor is electrically connected to an anode of the light emitting element.
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form a substrate of Byun and YAMAZAKI and OH further comprising a second thin-film transistor electrically connected between a data line configured to transmit a data signal and a gate electrode of the first thin-film transistor and configured to be turned on based on a scan signal of a scan gate line; and a pixel capacitor electrically connected to a first node between the gate electrode of the first thin-film transistor and the second thin-film transistor and a second node between the first thin-film transistor and the light emitting element, wherein a first electrode of the first thin-film transistor is electrically connected to the first power line, and a second electrode of the first thin-film transistor is electrically connected to an anode of the light emitting element such as taught by Kim in order to form a driver circuit.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun and YAMAZAKI and OH and Kim in view of Park et al. 20230200131.
Regarding claim 18, fig. 5 of Kim discloses wherein the circuit layer further comprises: a wiring conductive layer on the interlayer insulating layer; and a via layer arranged substantially flat on the interlayer insulating layer and covering the wiring conductive layer, wherein the wiring conductive layer comprises: the data line (source and drain line); the first power line (necessary the case that power is line is connected); a gate connection electrode 132 electrically connecting a gate electrode of the second thin-film transistor (that in SPA2 of fig. 5) and an anode connection electrode electrically connected to a source region of an active layer of the first thin-film transistor, and wherein the anode 211 is on the via layer and electrically connected to the anode connection electrode (electrode in 120).
Byun and YAMAZAKI and OH and Kim does not disclose of a gate electrode electrically connecting a light blocking layer of the second thin-film transistor; and the anode connection electrode electrically connected to a light blocking layer of the first thin-film transistor.
However, fig. 4 of Park disclose a gate electrode connecting a light blocking layer of the second thin-film transistor; and the anode connection electrode electrically connected to a light blocking layer of the first thin-film transistor.
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to from a transistor a gate electrode connecting a light blocking layer of the second thin-film transistor; and the anode connection electrode electrically connected to a light blocking layer of the first thin-film transistor in order to form a desire circuit.
In addition, it would have been obvious to form a substrate comprising the gate electrode electrically connecting a light blocking layer in order to obtain a same potential.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun and YAMAZAKI and OH and Kim and Park in view of Song et al. 20210376030.
Regarding claim 19, Byun and YAMAZAKI and OH and Kim and Park claim 18, but do not disclose wherein the circuit layer further comprises: a first capacitor electrode on the first buffer layer; a second capacitor electrode on the second buffer layer and overlapping the first capacitor electrode; and a third capacitor electrode on the interlayer insulating layer and overlapping the second capacitor electrode, wherein the pixel capacitor is in an overlap area between each of the first capacitor electrode and the third capacitor electrode, the first capacitor electrode and the second capacitor electrode, and the second capacitor electrode and the third capacitor electrode.
However, Song discloses a pixel capacitor comprises: a first capacitor electrode on the first buffer layer; a second capacitor electrode on the second buffer layer and overlapping the first capacitor electrode; and a third capacitor electrode on the interlayer insulating layer and overlapping the second capacitor electrode, wherein the pixel capacitor is in an overlap area between each of the first capacitor electrode and the third capacitor electrode, the first capacitor electrode and the second capacitor electrode, and the second capacitor electrode and the third capacitor electrode.
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form a substrate further comprising wherein the circuit layer further comprises: a first capacitor electrode on the first buffer layer; a second capacitor electrode on the second buffer layer and overlapping the first capacitor electrode; and a third capacitor electrode on the interlayer insulating layer and overlapping the second capacitor electrode, wherein the pixel capacitor is in an overlap area between each of the first capacitor electrode and the third capacitor electrode, the first capacitor electrode and the second capacitor electrode, and the second capacitor electrode and the third capacitor electrode such as taught by Song in order to form three layer capacitor.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893