DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the Advisory Action mailed on 9/16/2026, Applicant has filed a Request for Continued Examination (RCE) on 9/29/2026. In this reply, Applicant has requested entry for the amendments that were not entered after Final and the corresponding remarks as indicated on the PTO/SB/30EFS/RCE transmittal form. The amendments now entered with the filing of the RCE add limitations to independent claims 1, 10, and 12 regarding "analyzing an identified portion of the video associated with the monophonic audio track to detect a causal relationship between the audio fingerprint of the sound of interest and a variation in any of the one or more visual features of interest" and a wherein clause of "defining the stereo location includes generating metadata describing the spatial location associated with the sound of interest and associating the generated metadata with the sound of interest.” New claims 21-24 have also been added.
Applicant has further argued that the prior art of record fails to teach the limitations added via amendment (Remarks, Pages 14-15). These arguments have been fully considered, however, are not found to be persuasive for the reasons noted in the below Response to Arguments section.
Regarding the rejections of Claims 1-7 and 10-18 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), Applicant indicates that these claims have been amended to overcome the indefiniteness concerns and requests withdrawal of the rejections (Remarks, Page 13).
In response to the correction of the antecedent basis issues related to "the channel" in the determining metadata step, the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn in part. In the case of the informing step/function of Claims 1 and 12, "the audio" has been changed to "the audio that is corresponding to a sound of interest" and this amended limitation still lacks antecedent basis. Claim 10 did not include any amendments to this limitation and still recites “the audio”. Thus, this part of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection has been maintained.
Response to Arguments
With respect to independent Claims 1, 10, and 12, Applicant argues that Apsingekar, et al. (U.S. PG Publication: 2024/0056761) only teaches the use of object position or a motion trajectory of an object in a video to render or distribute audio among channels and not an audio fingerprint and analysis of the video based on the sound of interest and the determined audio fingerprint to determine if the sound of interest is linked to any of one or more visual features of interest. Applicant also alleges that these teachings fail to teach the two-part metadata operation of (i) generating metadata describing the spatial location associated with the sound of interest and (ii) associating that metadata with the sound of interest because Apsingekar's matching of object classes and audio distribution of object position/trajectory does not involve metadata generation and association (Remarks, Pages 14-15).
In response to Applicant’s argument regarding the lack of an “audio fingerprint,” see at least paragraph 0060 discussing separation of audio into streams from different sources where each stream has corresponding "audio features" that are used to classify the audio objects as sources based upon such features (e.g., as a person, animal, vehicle, etc.). Thus, audio stream portions having audio features that are used to characterize an audio source for classification effectively constitute an audio fingerprint even though Apsingekar may not use the identical terminology utilized by Applicant.
In regards to the alleged lack of video analysis in regards to the audio feature fingerprint as partially incorporated from claim 7, Applicant is directed towards Paragraphs 0062-0064 of Apsingekar where each image frame of a video clip is analyzed to detect objects and then determines whether there is match between an audio source object identified based upon an audio fingerprint and a detected video object (in particular see Paragraphs 0063-0064- "If the sound matching and rendering function 312 determines that there is a match between the object classification for a particular object and the object classification for a particular audio source, the particular object may be identified as being the source of the audio stream from that particular audio source. In other words, the sound matching and rendering function 312 can determine that the particular object is likely making the sounds included in the audio stream from that particular audio source".). Accordingly, Apsingekar uses audio features/fingerprints that characterize particular audio sources to classify those objects in an audio stream, detects visual objects in images in a video stream, and then determines matches between the video object classification and the audio object classification based upon the audio features. In this manner, Apsingekar discloses an audio fingerprint and analysis of the video based on the sound of interest and the determined audio fingerprint to determine if the sound of interest is linked to any of one or more visual features of interest that Applicant claims is missing from the prior art. Accordingly, these arguments have been fully considered, but are not found to be persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that Apsingekar fails to teach generating metadata describing the spatial position of the sound of interest and associating the metadata with the sound of interest, it is first noted that the specification only describes the use of "metadata" at three places in the specification- twice in Paragraph 0076 and once in paragraph 0078. The specification only notes that the metadata is generated "describing the spatial location associated with the sound of interest" (Paragraph 0076). The specification does not provide a clear and unmistakable definition for "metadata”, thus in accordance with the flowchart provided in MPEP 2111(V), the ordinary and customary meaning of the term controls claim term interpretation under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), which is data describing other data.
Turning then to Aspingekar, the applied prior art describes deriving "information" (i.e., data) about audio associated with video objects that are used to determine "how to modify...the substantially mono audio content in different audio samples" (Paragraph 0053). In the same paragraph, Aspingekar discusses a moving object metadata to render audio content "so that sounds are played from different speakers to make it audibly appear as if the object is moving within a 3D space around a listener." Aspingekar also offers another example where trajectory information/metadata is used to pan audio of a vehicle (i.e., the object of interest) in accordance with "the vehicle's motion" (see Paragraph 0066). From this disclosure and examples, Apsingekar teaches movement/trajectory that is both generated to affect stereophonic sound rendering of its associated object of interest (e.g., a vehicle detected in a video image sequence). Accordingly, these arguments directed towards the independent claims have also been fully considered, but are not found to be persuasive.
The prior art rejections of the remaining independent and dependent claims have been traversed for reasons similar to the independent claims (Remarks, Page 17). In regards to such arguments, see the response directed towards the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 10-18, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For "the audio that is corresponding to a sound of interest” in the “informing” step/function step of independent Claims 1 and 12 and “the audio” of the corresponding program instruction in Claim 10, it is unclear what prior limitation is being referenced because this respective limitation lacks antecedent basis or has multiple instances of preceding audio in the case of claim 10. For claim interpretation, "the audio that is corresponding to a sound of interest " and “the audio” will be interpreted as --audio corresponding to the sound of interest--.
Claim 24 recites that "responsive to detecting a causal relationship between the audio fingerprint of the sound of interest and a variation in a first visual feature of interest, identifies" prior to the claim abruptly ending. It is unclear what is identified and responsive to the detection of the causal relationship and the claim appears to be incomplete. For claim interpretation in the interest of compact prosecution "identifies" will be interpreted as being followed by "that the sound of interest is linked to the first visual feature of interest" similar to claims 7 and 18 because these claims represent alternative embodiments of claim 24 dependent upon the other independent claims.
The dependent claims fail to resolve and inherit the indefinite issues of the independent claims, and thus, have also been rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) by virtue of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10-18, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Apsingekar, et al. (U.S. PG Publication: 2024/0056761 A1).
With respect to Claim 1, Apsingekar discloses:
A computer implemented method for generating stereophonic audio for a video having a monophonic audio track (see title of the invention regarding 3D sound rendering based upon mono audio input), the method comprising:
processing an input audio stream and an accompanying video using a feature recognition algorithm to identify a visual feature of interest (video clip 206a is fed into an object detection, tracking, and classification analyzer 302 that uses video feature frames to classify regions of interest, Paragraphs 0052-0053, 0057, 0063, 0072, and 0075; Fig.3; See also various regions of interest detected in a video frame enclosed by bounding boxes, Fig. 4; the video accompanies audio that is also processed, Paragraphs 0056-0058);
for each identified visual feature of interest, determining a spatial location of the visual feature of interest in the video ("identify the position of each detected object" and "may also identify the position of each object within at least some image frames of the video clip(s), Paragraph 0057; see also Paragraphs 0072 and 0079- "position or trajectory of the object 402");
identifying, in a monophonic audio track of the video, a sound of interest (a "corresponding" mono audio clip 206b is fed into a sound source classification and separation analyzer 306 where "the sound source classification and separation function 306 may operate to identify audio data within the audio clip(s) 206b that appears to come from each of one or more unique audio sources" and "can operate to classify that audio source into one of the same object classes used to classify the detected objects, such as when the sound source classification and separation function 306 attempts to classify each audio source as a person, animal, vehicle, aircraft, or other type of object," Paragraphs 0059-0060);
automatically dividing the input audio stream into a plurality of stereophonic channels allowing the generation of stereo sound from a mono input including a streaming video content (see Fig. 3 showing a mono audio stream being input into a sound source separation component (306) for separation into the multiple stereo channels (310) based upon video stream content; see also Paragraphs 0053, 0059-0062, and 0065 describing such processing where the "audio channel can represent a separate stream of audio data to be provided to and played by a separate speaker" based upon processing the associated video stream; where input audio may taking the form of streaming audio, Paragraph 0005 explicitly noting "separating audio streams within the audio content based on the video content," "streaming content" in Paragraph 0069, and "audio streams" in Fig. 8, Element 808; Paragraph 0050- audio-video input 202 includes video content and substantially mono audio content”; computer-based/automatic processing described in Paragraphs 0088 and 0090);
determining an audio fingerprint for the sound of interest (sound source classification and separation function 306 here can generate various outputs 310, such as separate audio streams extracted from the audio clip(s) 206b and the object class associated with each audio stream, Paragraphs 0061 and 0076, wherein the extracted individual sounds belonging to specific objects in a video frame correspond to an audio fingerprint of that object- e.g., person, vehicle, animal, etc.);
analyzing the video based on the sound of interest and the determined audio fingerprint to identify if the sound of interest is linked to any of one or more visual features of interest (the results of the video and mono audio clip classification algorithms are fed into a sound matching and rendering analyzer 312 where the "sound matching and rendering function 312 may further receive a separate audio stream for each potential audio source, an object classification for each potential audio source, and an indication whether each potential audio source is an on-screen or off-screen source," Paragraph 0062, and where "sound matching and rendering function 312 can also determine whether the object classification of each detected object matches the object classification of any of the audio sources associated with the separated audio streams. For example, the sound matching and rendering function 312 may determine if there is an object classified as a person and a separated audio stream associated with an audio source classified as a person, and the sound matching and rendering function 312 may determine if there is an object classified as a vehicle and a separated audio stream associated with an audio source classified as a vehicle," Paragraph 0063; see also Paragraphs 0065 and 0092);
analyzing an identified portion of the video associated with the monophonic audio track to detect a causal relationship between the audio fingerprint of the sound of interest and a variation in any of the one or more visual features of interest (trajectory/movement tracking of visual objects over a portion of image frames in a sequence related to sound objects such as a vehicle or screen presence (i.e., different movements/trajectories of a visual object map to/cause different audio fingerprints with respect to varying phase and amplitude), Paragraphs 0053 and 0065-0066);
identifying a portion of the video associated with the monophonic audio track comprising the sound of interest and processing the monophonic audio track with a voice recognition algorithm to detect one or more spoken words of interest (the “associated” mono audio clip 206b corresponding to a video clip is fed into the sound source classification and separation module 306 as depicted in Fig. 3 where a machine learning model/algorithm is used to classify audio associated with "one person speaking," Paragraphs 0030, 0052, and 0076; note that the detection of active speaking that would convey a language comprising words would constitute a detection of “one or more spoken words of interest” as claimed);
responsive to identifying the sound of interest is linked to a visual feature of interest, associating the sound of interest with the determined spatial location of the visual feature of interest (once a match/link between sound object and video object is identified, the spatial location of the visual object in the video is associated with the sound object for stereo rendering, see Paragraph 0065- "For each object identified as being a sounding object, the sound matching and rendering function 312 can use the position and/or trajectory of that object to distribute the audio stream associated with that object among multiple audio channels;" see also Paragraphs 0066, 0079, and 0092);
defining a stereo location of the sound of interest within stereoscopic audio for the video based on an associated spatial location in the video (one a match/link between sound object and video object is identified, the spatial location of the visual object in the video is associated with the sound object for stereo rendering, see Paragraph 0065- "For each object identified as being a sounding object, the sound matching and rendering function 312 can use the position and/or trajectory of that object to distribute the audio stream associated with that object among multiple audio channels;" see also Paragraphs 0066, 0079, and 0092; Fig. 8, Element 812 wherein it is noted that the particular audio channel associated with the sound of interest/sound object corresponds to the claimed “stereo location”);
determining a metadata associated with the defined stereo location and use the metadata to inform at least one associated channel (deriving "information" (i.e., data) about audio associated with video objects that are used to determine "how to modify...the substantially mono audio content in different audio samples" (Paragraph 0053) wherein Aspingekar discusses a moving object metadata to render audio content "so that sounds are played from different speakers to make it audibly appear as if the object is moving within a 3D space around a listener." Aspingekar also offers another example where trajectory information/metadata is used to pan audio of a vehicle in accordance with "the vehicle's motion" (see Paragraph 0066) wherein defining the stereo location includes generating metadata describing the spatial location associated with the sound of interest and associating the generated metadata with the sound of interest (metadata/information about the spatial location (e.g., movement/screen location in association with a particular object such as a vehicle or explosion) is associated with the object to affect sound rendering of that object, Paragraphs 0053 and 0065-0066);
panning the sound of interest within the stereoscopic audio for the video based on the defined stereo location of the sound of interest based on the metadata that was informed to the at least one associated channel (panning as a result of a visual objection location/trajectory information/metadata gleaned from a video- see examples of a mono audio of an explosion panned to a left speaker in Paragraph 0053 or a vehicle sound that starts in the left speaker and moves to a right speaker as the vehicle moves in the video, Paragraph 0066); and
informing any channel associated with an appropriate channel amongst the plurality of the stereophonic channels to which the audio that is corresponding to a sound of interest should be panned (Paragraph 0065- "sound matching and rendering function 312 can use the position and/or trajectory of that object to distribute the audio stream associated with that object among multiple audio channels. Each audio channel can represent a separate stream of audio data to be provided to and played by a separate speaker." See also Paragraphs 0063 and 0066 describing the use of object "trajectory" or "motion" in a video to inform a specific/appropriate audio channel to play an associated audio stream (e.g., a car sound in a left speaker then to a right speaker responsive to movement/trajectory of that car)).
With respect to Claim 2, Apsingekar further discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the visual feature of interest comprises a representation of at least part of a living body, and wherein the feature recognition algorithm comprises a body part detection algorithm configured to identify a presence of one or more parts of the living body within the video (“detection, classification, and tracking function 302 may operate to identify various objects contained within the video clips) 206a and classify each object as a person," Paragraph 0057; video analysis models algorithms discussed in Paragraph 0075; and see Fig. 4, Elements 402 and 404 depicting body parts included in a detected bounding box and note also in Fig. 4 that the body part analysis of an object can identify the parts as corresponding to an animal such as a dog or horse).
With respect to Claim 3, Apsingekar further discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the spatial location of the visual feature of interest describes a lateral position of the visual feature in a lateral axis of a field of view of the video, and wherein determining the spatial location of the visual feature of interest in the video comprises: analyzing the video to determine a position of the visual feature of interest in the field of view of the video ("identify the position of each detected object" and "may also identify the position of each object within at least some image frames of the video clip(s), Paragraph 0057; see also Paragraphs 0072 and 0079- "position or trajectory of the object 402"); and based on the determined position of the visual feature of interest, categorizing the position of the visual feature of interest into one of a set of lateral position categories, wherein the set of lateral position categories comprises a left category; a center category; and a right category (the sound rendering based upon visual object locations includes lateral positions such as left. See the example in Paragraph 0053- "One example of this was noted above, where an explosion occurs on the left side of a scene. The object detection and sound rendering operation 208 can operate to detect the explosion, determine amplitudes and phases of the substantially mono audio content as reproduced in different audio channels, and generate multi-channel audio in which the substantially mono audio content is modified to play the explosion sound only on left speakers of a speaker setup." See also the left-to-right location of a vehicle example in Paragraph 0066).
With respect to Claim 4, Apsingekar further discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the spatial location of the visual feature of interest further describes a distance of the visual feature of interest from a viewpoint of the video, and wherein determining the spatial location of the visual feature of interest in the video comprises: analyzing the video to determine said distance of the visual feature of interest from the viewpoint of the video; and based on the determined distance of the visual feature of interest, categorizing the distance of the visual feature of interest into one of a set of distance categories, wherein the set of distance categories comprises a near category; a middle category; and a far category (See Paragraph 0066 that includes near/towards categories and far/away categories to classify a video object of interest from the viewpoint of the video by the viewer- “Similar types of effects may be created for objects moving in other directions, such as… in a direction perpendicular to the plane of a viewing screen (like when vehicles or other objects appear to move towards or away from a viewer”; see also prior citations regarding the use of sound object position to affect sound object rendering- “identify the position of each detected object" and "may also identify the position of each object within at least some image frames of the video clip(s), Paragraph 0057; see also Paragraphs 0072 and 0079).
With respect to Claim 5, Apsingekar further discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein identifying the sound of interest in the monophonic audio track of the video comprises: identifying the detected one or more spoken words of interest as the sound of interest (the mono audio clip 206b is fed into the sound source classification and separation module 306 as depicted in Fig. 3 where a machine learning model/algorithm is used to classify audio associated with "one person speaking," Paragraph 0076; note that the detection of active speaking that would convey a language comprising words would constitute a detection of “one or more spoken words of interest” as claimed).
With respect to Claim 6, Apsingekar further discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the audio fingerprint for the sound of interest describes a variation in an audio parameter value of the sound of interest, and wherein the audio parameter value comprises at least one of a frequency, an amplitude, a wave form or a duration (classification of the mono audio clip 206b "may include determining an amplitude and a phase of the audio stream associated with that audio source," Paragraph 0032; amplitude is also discussed as volume in Paragraph 0066; See also Paragraphs 0053 and 0065; tracking of variation in the parameter is detailed as the object moves in a video sequences (Paragraph 0065)- “the amplitudes and/or phases depend on the position and/or trajectory of the sounding object”).
With respect to Claim 7, Apsingekar further discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein analyzing the video based on the sound of interest and the determined audio fingerprint comprises:
responsive to detecting a causal relationship between the audio fingerprint of the sound of interest and a variation in a first visual feature of interest, identifying that the sound of interest is linked to the first visual feature of interest (matching of audio fingerprint (e.g., sound stream of the object, amplitude, phase, location, etc.) to the corresponding visual object, Paragraphs 0053, 0063, and 0065-0066; see also paragraph 0092 where the audio fingerprint is “based on at least one of the position or the motion trajectory of that object”).
Claim 10 contains subject matter similar to Claim 1, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale. Furthermore, Apsingekar teaches method implementation as computer program instructions stored on one or more computer readable storage media (Paragraph 0010).
Claim 11 contains subject matter similar to claim 2, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 12 contains subject matter similar to Claim 1, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale. Furthermore, Apsingekar teaches method implementation as a system comprising one or more processors and a memory comprising program code (Paragraph 0036).
Claims 13-18 contain subject matter respectively similar to claims 2-7, and thus, are rejected under the same rationale.
With respect to Claim 21, Apsingekar further discloses:
The computer program product of claim 10, wherein the spatial location of the visual feature of interest further describes a distance of the visual feature of interest from a viewpoint of the video (See Paragraph 0066 that includes near/towards categories and far/away categories to classify a video object of interest from the viewpoint of the video by the viewer- “Similar types of effects may be created for objects moving in other directions, such as… in a direction perpendicular to the plane of a viewing screen (like when vehicles or other objects appear to move towards or away from a viewer”; see also prior citations regarding the use of sound object position to affect sound object rendering- “identify the position of each detected object" and "may also identify the position of each object within at least some image frames of the video clip(s), Paragraph 0057; see also Paragraphs 0072 and 0079).
With respect to Claim 22, Apsingekar further discloses:
The computer program product of claim 10, wherein identifying the sound of interest in the monophonic audio track of the video comprises: program instructions to identify the detected one or more spoken words of interest as the sound of interest (the mono audio clip 206b is fed into the sound source classification and separation module 306 as depicted in Fig. 3 where a machine learning model/algorithm is used to classify audio associated with "one person speaking," Paragraph 0076; note that the detection of active speaking that would convey a language comprising words would constitute a detection of “one or more spoken words of interest” as claimed).
With respect to Claim 23, Apsingekar further discloses:
The computer program product of claim 10, wherein the audio fingerprint for the sound of interest describes a variation in an audio parameter value of the sound of interest, and wherein the audio parameter value comprises at least one of a frequency, an amplitude, a wave form or a duration (classification of the mono audio clip 206b "may include determining an amplitude and a phase of the audio stream associated with that audio source," Paragraph 0032; amplitude is also discussed as volume in Paragraph 0066; See also Paragraphs 0053 and 0065; tracking of variation in the parameter is detailed as the object moves in a video sequences (Paragraph 0065)- “the amplitudes and/or phases depend on the position and/or trajectory of the sounding object”).
With respect to Claim 24, Apsingekar further discloses:
The computer program product of claim 10, wherein analyzing the video based on the sound of interest, responsive to detecting a causal relationship between the audio fingerprint of the sound of interest and a variation in a first visual feature of interest, identifies that the sound of interest is linked to the first visual feature of interest (see the claim interpretation provided in the preceding 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 24 and further note: matching of audio fingerprint (e.g., sound stream of the object, amplitude, phase, location, etc.) to the corresponding visual object, Paragraphs 0053, 0063, and 0065-0066; see also paragraph 0092 where the audio fingerprint is “based on at least one of the position or the motion trajectory of that object”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Valerio Parise, et al. (U.S. PG Publication: 2021/0211819 A1)- teaches an audio-video correspondence between a set of pixels of a video frame and audio content (Abstract).
JAMES S. WOZNIAK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2655
/JAMES S WOZNIAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2655