DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 5/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-7, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ji et al. (CN 207800663 U, see Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 1, Ji et al. discloses in Figs 1-8, an end cover assembly (Fig 1) applied to a battery cell (Fig 2) and comprising: an end cover (ref 12) provided with an electrode lead-out hole (ref 13) and including a first mating portion (bottom portion of ref 12, Fig 1) provided at a side (Fig 1), facing inside of the battery cell (Fig 2), of the end cover (ref 12); an electrode terminal (ref 19) disposed at the end cover (ref 12, Fig 2) and covering (Figs 1, 2) the electrode lead-out hole (ref 13); and a connecting member (refs 15+16) configured to electrically connect the electrode terminal (ref 19) and an electrode assembly (at ref 26, Fig 2) of the battery cell (Fig 2), the connecting member (refs 15+16) including a second mating portion (area where ref 16 goes through ref 13, Figs 1-2) configured to be mated with (ref 16 in hole ref 13, connects to ref 12 underside) the first mating portion (bottom of ref 12, Fig 1) to provide deformation resistance (Figs 1, 2, 7) of the connecting member (refs 15+16) along a radial direction (Figs 1, 2) of the electrode lead-out hole (ref 13).
Regarding claim 5, Ji et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the first mating portion is one of a plurality of first mating portions (multiple holes 13 depicted, each having a mating portion, Fig 1) of the end cover (ref 12), and the plurality of first mating portions are evenly distributed along a circumferential direction (Fig 1, spacing of refs 13 and associated structure) of the electrode lead-out hole (ref 13); and the second mating portion is one of a plurality of mating portions (multiple connection points of ref 16 in each of the holes 13, Fig 1) of the connecting member (refs 15+16), and the plurality of second mating portions are disposed corresponding to (two of each depicted in Fig 2) the plurality of first mating portions (multiple holes 13 depicted, each having a mating portion, Fig 1).
Regarding claim 6, Ji et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the first mating portion includes a connecting convex portion (top of structure around refs 13, on ref 12, Fig 1), and a projection of the connecting convex portion along an axial direction (top of structure around refs 13, on ref 12, Fig 1) of the electrode lead-out hole (ref 13) at least partially overlaps (Figs 1, 2) the electrode terminal (ref 19).
Regarding claim 7, Ji et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses an insulating member (ref 17) disposed between the end cover (erf 12) and the connecting member, the insulating member (ref 17) including an insulating portion having an accommodation cavity (“cavities”, Fig 1 below), and the accommodation cavity (“cavities”, Fig 1 below) being configured to accommodate at least one of the first mating portion or the second mating portion (ref 16 passes through ref 17, including at least second mating portion, Figs 1, 2), to isolate the end cover (ref 12) from the connecting member (refs 15+16).
Regarding claim 14, Ji et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the connecting member further includes at least two reinforcing blocks (each parts of ref 15, “skeleton”, Fig 2), and the reinforcing blocks and the second mating portion are disposed alternately along a circumferential direction (as depicted in Figs 1-2) of the electrode lead-out hole (ref 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji et al. (CN 207800663 U, see Machine Translation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Conrad (US 2010/0236913).
Regarding claim 2, Ji et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose the first mating portion and the second mating portion are mated in a plug-in manner along an axial direction of the electrode lead-out hole.
Conrad discloses in Figs 1-8, a battery (ref 1) including a cap (ref 10) and a battery body (ref 100). Connection terminals (refs 41, 42) are plugged in and snap fit to terminal structures (depicted in Fig 3) on an underside of the cap (ref 10). This configuration enhances the internal battery connections as well as enhances structural integrity of the overall battery structure ([0007]-[0016]).
Conrad and Ji et al. are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the plugged / snap-fit connection disclosed by Conrad into the first and second mating structures of Ji et al. to enhance the internal battery connections as well as enhance overall structural integrity of the battery structure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 and 8- are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Instant dependent claims 3 and 8 each disclose structure of the end cover assembly including intricate structure of the first and second mating portions having the structure as set forth in claim 3 and spatially related to the connecting hole and terminal as set forth in the claim, as well as third and fourth mating portions as structurally set forth in the claim and as spatially related to each other and the remaining structure of the end cover assembly that is not disclosed or rendered obvious by the above applied prior art references of record. As such, these features have been determined to be allowable over the above-cited prior art references of record. Further, claims 4 and 9-13 are objected to since they depend from claims 3 and 8, respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Yeh et al. (US 2012/0052351) discloses in Figs 1-5, a battery (Abstract) including a cap assembly having a reinforcing block (ref 308) to enhance strength of the structure ([0025], [0045]).
/KENNETH J DOUYETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725