DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Isaka et al. (US 2022/0181729; relying on foreign priority date of August 26, 2019).
Example 6 in Table 3 of Isaka et al. discloses a copolymer of tetrafluoroethylene and perfluoro(propylene vinyl ether), PPVE, wherein the copolymer has a PPVE content of 3.0 wt %, a melt flow rate (372 ºC, 5 kg) of 29 g/10 min, and less than 6 functional groups per 106 carbon atoms. The Table 3 is annotated “number of functional groups (number/C108), but this is a typographical error. The experimental section at paragraph [0147] describes determination of functional groups per 106 carbon atoms via FT-IR analysis. The copolymer is used to make an injection molded gasket.
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Isaka et al. (US 2023/0235159; relying on foreign priority date of September 30, 2020).
Example 1 in Table 3 of Isaka et al. discloses a copolymer of tetrafluoroethylene and perfluoro(propylene vinyl ether), PPVE, wherein the copolymer has a PPVE content of 3.4 wt %, a melt flow rate (372 ºC, 5 kg) of 32 g/10 min, and less than 6 functional groups per 106 carbon atoms. The copolymer is used to make a coated electric wire as well as an injection molded article.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, and 4 of copending Application No. 18/192,053. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Copending claims are drawn to substantially the same copolymer comprising tetrafluoroethylene unit and a perfluoro(propylene vinyl ether) unit and having a content of perfluoro(propylene vinyl ether) unit of 2.8 to 3.5 % by mass, a melt flow rate of 31 to 38 g/10 min, and a total number of functional groups of 50 or less per 106 main-chain carbon atoms. Ranges of comonomer content, melt flow rate and number of functional groups overlap substantially that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious that the copolymer of instant clams is an obvious embodiment of the copolymer recited in copending claims and vice versa.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3 and 5 are directed to an invention not patentably distinct from claims 1, 2, and 4 of commonly assigned Application No. 18/192,053 for the same reasons set forth in preceding paragraph 5.
The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office may not institute a derivation proceeding in the absence of a timely filed petition. The USPTO normally will not institute a derivation proceeding between applications or a patent and an application having common ownership (see 37 CFR 42.411). Commonly assigned Application No. 18/192,053, discussed above, may form the basis for a rejection of the noted claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 if the commonly assigned case qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and the patentably indistinct inventions were not commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention.
In order for the examiner to resolve this issue the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(i) to the effect that the subject matter and the claimed invention, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, were owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person. Alternatively, the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(c) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(ii) to the effect that the subject matter was developed and the claimed invention was made by or on behalf of one or more parties to a joint research agreement that was in effect on or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and the claimed invention was made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of the joint research agreement; the application must also be amended to disclose the names of the parties to the joint research agreement.
A showing that the inventions were commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention will preclude a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 based upon the commonly assigned case. Alternatively, applicant may take action to amend or cancel claims such that the applications, or the patent and the application, no longer contain claims directed to patentably indistinct inventions.
Claims 1 and 5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of copending Application No. 17/679,831. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Copending claims are drawn to substantially the same gasket containing a copolymer comprising tetrafluoroethylene unit and a perfluoro(propylene vinyl ether) unit and having a content of perfluoro(propylene vinyl ether) unit of 2.0 to 6.0 % by mass, a melt flow rate of 0.5 to 55 g/10 min, and a total number of functional groups of 50 or less per 106 main-chain carbon atoms. Ranges of comonomer content, melt flow rate and number of functional groups overlap substantially that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious that the copolymer and gasket of instant clams is an obvious embodiment of the copolymer recited in copending claims and vice versa.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 5 are directed to an invention not patentably distinct from claims 1 and 2 of commonly assigned Application No. 17/679,831 for the same reasons set forth in preceding paragraph 7.
The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office may not institute a derivation proceeding in the absence of a timely filed petition. The USPTO normally will not institute a derivation proceeding between applications or a patent and an application having common ownership (see 37 CFR 42.411). Commonly assigned Application No. 17/679,831, discussed above, may form the basis for a rejection of the noted claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 if the commonly assigned case qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and the patentably indistinct inventions were not commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention.
In order for the examiner to resolve this issue the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(i) to the effect that the subject matter and the claimed invention, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, were owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person. Alternatively, the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(c) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(ii) to the effect that the subject matter was developed and the claimed invention was made by or on behalf of one or more parties to a joint research agreement that was in effect on or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and the claimed invention was made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of the joint research agreement; the application must also be amended to disclose the names of the parties to the joint research agreement.
A showing that the inventions were commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention will preclude a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 based upon the commonly assigned case. Alternatively, applicant may take action to amend or cancel claims such that the applications, or the patent and the application, no longer contain claims directed to patentably indistinct inventions.
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 18/453,810. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Copending claims are drawn to substantially the same injection molded article containing a copolymer comprising tetrafluoroethylene unit and a perfluoro(propylene vinyl ether) unit and having a content of perfluoro(propylene vinyl ether) unit of 3.5 to 4.7 % by mass, a melt flow rate of 22 to 35 g/10 min, and a total number of functional groups of 20 or less per 106 main-chain carbon atoms.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3 are directed to an invention not patentably distinct from claims 1-4 of commonly assigned Application No. 18/453,810 for the same reasons set forth in preceding paragraph 9.
The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office may not institute a derivation proceeding in the absence of a timely filed petition. The USPTO normally will not institute a derivation proceeding between applications or a patent and an application having common ownership (see 37 CFR 42.411). Commonly assigned Application No. 18/453,810, discussed above, may form the basis for a rejection of the noted claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 if the commonly assigned case qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and the patentably indistinct inventions were not commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention.
In order for the examiner to resolve this issue the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(i) to the effect that the subject matter and the claimed invention, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, were owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person. Alternatively, the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(c) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(ii) to the effect that the subject matter was developed and the claimed invention was made by or on behalf of one or more parties to a joint research agreement that was in effect on or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and the claimed invention was made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of the joint research agreement; the application must also be amended to disclose the names of the parties to the joint research agreement.
A showing that the inventions were commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention will preclude a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 based upon the commonly assigned case. Alternatively, applicant may take action to amend or cancel claims such that the applications, or the patent and the application, no longer contain claims directed to patentably indistinct inventions.
Claims 1 and 3-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 18/452,107. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Copending claims are drawn to substantially the same injection molded article containing a copolymer comprising tetrafluoroethylene unit and a perfluoro(propylene vinyl ether) unit and having a content of perfluoro(propylene vinyl ether) unit of 3.5 to 4.2 % by mass, a melt flow rate of 34 to 42 g/10 min, and a total number of functional groups of 50 or less per 106 main-chain carbon atoms.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 3-5 are directed to an invention not patentably distinct from claims 1-4 of commonly assigned Application No. 18/452,107 for the same reasons set forth in preceding paragraph 11.
The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office may not institute a derivation proceeding in the absence of a timely filed petition. The USPTO normally will not institute a derivation proceeding between applications or a patent and an application having common ownership (see 37 CFR 42.411). Commonly assigned Application No. 18/452,107, discussed above, may form the basis for a rejection of the noted claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 if the commonly assigned case qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and the patentably indistinct inventions were not commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention.
In order for the examiner to resolve this issue the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(i) to the effect that the subject matter and the claimed invention, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, were owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person. Alternatively, the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(c) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(ii) to the effect that the subject matter was developed and the claimed invention was made by or on behalf of one or more parties to a joint research agreement that was in effect on or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and the claimed invention was made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of the joint research agreement; the application must also be amended to disclose the names of the parties to the joint research agreement.
A showing that the inventions were commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention will preclude a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 based upon the commonly assigned case. Alternatively, applicant may take action to amend or cancel claims such that the applications, or the patent and the application, no longer contain claims directed to patentably indistinct inventions.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Rip A. Lee whose telephone number is (571)272-1104. The examiner can be reached on Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert Jones, can be reached at (571)270-7733. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300.
/RIP A LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762 March 7, 2026