DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (apparatus), drawn to claims 1-9 and 19-20, in the reply filed on 02/06/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention (method), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/06/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Inazawa et al (US 5,772,833).
Regarding claim 1:
Inazawa teaches a substrate treating apparatus (plasma etching apparatus) [fig 1 & col 4, lines 49-51] comprising: a process chamber (vacuum container, 2) configured to perform plasma treatment in a treatment space (3) [fig 1 & col 4, lines 49-56]; a substrate support (first electrode, 13) in a lower portion of the process chamber (2) and configured to support a substrate (semiconductor wafer, 1) [fig 1 & col 5-6, lines 63-10]; a showerhead (top wall of 2) in an upper portion of the process chamber (2) and configured to supply (via a plurality of supplying holes 11) a process gas (process gas) for the plasma treatment toward the substrate (1) [fig 1 & col 5, lines 12-20]; and a baffle (ring member, 17) surrounding the substrate support (13), wherein the substrate support (13) functions as a first electrode (first electrode) for generating plasma (plasma is produced), the showerhead (top wall of 2) and the baffle (17) function as a second electrode (anode electrode) for generating the plasma, the baffle (17) has a variable height (moved vertically by means of the lifting mechanism 101), and an area of the second electrode (an area of the anode electrode) in contact with the treatment space varies as a height of the baffle varies (changed by vertically moving the lifting mechanism 101) [fig 1 & col 6, lines 33-54].
Regarding claims 2-3:
Inazawa teaches radio-frequency (RF) power (via 20) is applied to the substrate support (13) [fig 1 & col 6, lines 11-32]; and wherein a frequency of the RF power is selected in a range of about 1 Mhz to about 60 Mhz (having a radio of 1MHz to 100 MHz) [fig 1 & col 6, lines 11-32].
Although taught by the cited prior art, the claim limitations “radio-frequency (RF) power (via 20) is applied to the substrate support” and “wherein a frequency of the RF power is selected in a range of about 1 Mhz to about 60 Mhz” are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Regarding claim 4:
Inazawa teaches a raising/lowering device (lifting mechanism, 101) configured to vertically raise and lower the baffle (17) [fig 1 & col 6, lines 33-54].
Regarding claims 5 and 20:
The claim limitations “wherein a maximum height of the baffle is equal to a height of the substrate supported by the substrate support” does not impart any additional structure. Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969). Furthermore, inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). The apparatus is capable of meeting the limitations of the claim because one may process a substrate of any height desired.
Regarding claim 6:
Inazawa teaches the showerhead (top wall of 2) and the baffle (17) comprise a ground electrode (anode electrode) [fig 1 & col 6, lines 33-54].
Regarding claims 7-8:
Inazawa teaches a liner (cylindrical member, 4) on side walls of the process chamber (2), wherein the liner (4) functions as the second electrode (anode electrode) [fig 1 & col 6, lines 33-54]; and wherein the liner (4) comprises a ground electrode (anode electrode) [fig 1 & col 6, lines 33-54].
Regarding claim 9:
The claim limitations “wherein the plasma treatment comprises plasma etching, plasma-enhanced chemical vapor deposition, or a combination thereof” are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Regarding claim 19:
Inazawa teaches a substrate treating apparatus (plasma etching apparatus) [fig 1 & col 4, lines 49-51] comprising: a process chamber (vacuum container, 2) configured to perform plasma treatment in a treatment space (3) [fig 1 & col 4, lines 49-56]; a substrate support (first electrode, 13) in a lower portion of the process chamber (2) and configured to support a substrate (semiconductor wafer, 1) [fig 1 & col 5-6, lines 63-10]; a showerhead (top wall of 2) in an upper portion of the process chamber (2) and configured to supply (via a plurality of supplying holes 11) a process gas (process gas) for the plasma treatment toward the substrate (1) [fig 1 & col 5, lines 12-20]; a liner (cylindrical member, 4) on side walls of the process chamber (2) and configured to protect side walls of the process chamber (2) [fig 1 & col 6, lines 33-54]; and a baffle (ring member, 17) surrounding the substrate support (13), wherein the substrate support (13) functions as a first electrode (first electrode), to which radio-frequency (RF) power having a frequency of 13.56 Mhz (13.56 MHz) is applied, to generate plasma (plasma is produced) [fig 1 & col 6, lines 11-54 and col 8, lines 1-6], the showerhead (top wall of 2), the baffle (17), and the liner (4) function as a second electrode (anode electrode), which includes a ground electrode (see fig 1), to generate the plasma, the baffle (17) has a variable height (moved vertically by means of the lifting mechanism 101), an area of the second electrode (an area of the anode electrode) in contact with the treatment space varies as a height of the baffle varies (changed by vertically moving the lifting mechanism 101) [fig 1 & col 6, lines 33-54].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Honda et al (JP 2011228694), Yen et al (US 6,527,911), Oyabu (US 6,673,196), Higashiura et al (US 2004/0255863), and Hayashi et al (US 2005/0000442) teach a substrate treating apparatus [fig 1, 5, 1, 1, and 1, respectively].
/Benjamin Kendall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896