DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weh et al (US# 2025/0145136) in view of Kim (US# 2023/0146790).
Weh et al disclose a brake system including; a reservoir 23; a motor-driven master cylinder 25 operable during a normal non-failure braking mode by actuation of an electric motor 6 of the master cylinder to generate brake actuating pressure at first and second MC outputs (note fluid connections at the bottom of 25) for hydraulically actuating the first and second pairs of wheel brakes 2, respectively, the master cylinder being free of a mechanical connection to a brake pedal [0009]; a secondary power transmission unit 26 configured for selectively providing pressurized hydraulic fluid at first and second PTU outputs for actuating the first (left pair of brakes 2) and second (right pair of brakes 2) pairs of wheel brakes in at least one of a normal non-failure braking mode and a backup braking mode [0022], the secondary power transmission unit including an electric PTU motor 19 configured to selectively pressurizing the hydraulic fluid by transmitting rotary motion to at least two pump 18, each pump providing pressurized hydraulic fluid to a corresponding one of the first and second PTU outputs, each of the first and second PTU outputs providing fluid to a corresponding one of the first and second pairs of wheel brakes; and an electronic control unit 28 for controlling at least one of the power transmission unit 26 and the master cylinder 25 [0025]; wherein the secondary power transmission unit 26 is indirectly fluidly connected to the reservoir 23 to selectively draw hydraulic fluid therefrom, the secondary power transmission unit selectively pulling hydraulic fluid from the reservoir through the motor- driven master cylinder (via suction valves 22). Weh et al disclose all the limitations of the instant claim with exception to the secondary power transmission unit including piston(s) associated with each of the first and second PTU outputs. Weh et al disclose a pump 18 for each output, but do not specifically disclose pistons. Kim discloses a similar brake system and further teaches piston 123/125 per circuit (figure 7, [0075][0076]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use pistons for each output in Weh et al, as taught by Kim, as an obvious means of implementing the pumps which improves the pressure increasing performance and NVH performance of the brake [0076].
Regarding claim 2, an iso/dump control valve 15/16 arrangement associated with each wheel brake of the plurality of wheel brakes, each iso/dump control valve arrangement being controlled by the electronic control unit 28.
Regarding claim 3, each iso/dump control valve arrangement 15/16 is in fluid communication with both a selected one of the first and second MC outputs and a selected one of the first and second PTU outputs for selectively receiving pressurized hydraulic fluid therefrom.
Regarding claim 4, the motor-driven master cylinder 25 is a dual-chamber 12 master cylinder.
Regarding claim 5, as modified, the secondary power transmission unit includes a plurality of pump pistons associated with each of the first and second PTU outputs.
Regarding claim 6, a first traction control iso valve 17 is hydraulically interposed between the motor-driven master cylinder 25 and the first pair of wheel brakes via the first MC outlet; and a second traction control iso valve 17 hydraulically interposed between the motor-driven master cylinder 25 and the second pair of wheel brakes via the second MC outlet.
Regarding claim 7, an iso/dump control valve arrangement 15/16 associated with each wheel brake of the first and second pairs of wheel brakes, wherein the first traction control iso valve 17 is hydraulically interposed between the motor-driven master cylinder 25 and the iso/dump control valve arrangements 15/16 of the first pair of wheel brakes, and wherein the second traction control iso valve 17 is hydraulically interposed between the motor-driven master cylinder 25 and the iso/dump control valve arrangements 15/16 of the second pair of wheel brakes.
Regarding claim 8, wherein the electronic control unit is a first electronic control unit 28 controlling the motor-driven master cylinder 25 and the brake system includes a second electronic control unit 28 controlling the secondary power transmission unit 26 [0025].
Regarding claim 9, Weh et al disclose all the limitations of the instant claim with exception to the first electronic control unit 28 controlling each of the iso/dump control valve arrangements. Kim et al disclose a similar brake system and further teach iso/dump control valve arrangements 141-144/151-155 controlled by both a first and second controller so that control may be maintained if the first controller malfunctions [0009][0046][0054][0061]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to control the iso/dump control valve arrangements 15/16 of Weh et al with both controllers, such as taught by Kim et al, to ensure anti-skid brake function remains in the case of a failure of the ESC controller.
Regarding claim 10, a first traction control iso valve 17 is hydraulically interposed between the motor-driven master cylinder 25 and the first pair of wheel brakes via the first MC outlet; and a second traction control iso valve 17 hydraulically interposed between the motor-driven master cylinder 25 and the second pair of wheel brakes via the second MC outlet; wherein the second electronic control unit 28 controls the first and second traction control iso valves [0025].
Regarding claim 11, a deceleration signal transmitter 31 configured to provide a braking signal, in a wired or wireless manner (the signal is necessarily one of wired and wireless), corresponding to a desired braking action by an operator of the vehicle, wherein the electronic control unit 28 controls at least one of the secondary power transmission unit and the motor-driven master cylinder 25 responsive to the braking signal. [0029]
Regarding claim 12, as modified, each of the first and second MC outputs is in fluid communication with a pump input of at least one pump piston 18 for selectively supplying pressurized hydraulic fluid thereto, the secondary power transmission unit 26 selectively boosting pressure of the pressurized hydraulic fluid to supply boosted-pressure hydraulic fluid to at least one of the first and second PTU outputs in at least one of a normal non-failure braking mode and a backup braking mode [0022].
Regarding claim 15, the motor-driven master cylinder 25 includes at least one return spring 29 biasing open a replenishment fluid path between the secondary power transmission unit 26 and the reservoir 23 responsive to de-energization of the motor-driven master cylinder. [0026]
Regarding claim 16, a pressure sensor P/U sensing a pressure of the pressurized hydraulic fluid at at least one of the first and second MC outputs, the pressure sensor providing a pressure signal to the electronic control unit 28 responsive to the sensed pressure.
Regarding claim 17, the secondary power transmission unit 26 is operative to provide pressurized hydraulic fluid to at least one of the first and second pairs of wheel brakes in a slip control condition of a normal non-failure braking mode. [0019]-[0022]
Regarding claim 18, the master cylinder pulls 25 hydraulic fluid directly from the reservoir 23 and the secondary powder transmission unit 26 only pulls hydraulic fluid indirectly from the reservoir 23 through at least one of the motor- driven master cylinder 26 and a check valve interposed hydraulically between the secondary power transmission unit and the reservoir.
Regarding claim 19, the secondary power transmission unit 26 only pulls hydraulic fluid from the reservoir 23 through the motor-driven master cylinder 25.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weh et al (US# 2025/0145136) and Kim (US# 2023/0146790), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Besier et al (US# 2017/0129469).
Regarding claim 13, Weh et al and Kim disclose all the limitations of the instant claim with exception to at least one check valve is interposed hydraulically between the secondary power transmission unit and the reservoir, wherein the secondary power transmission unit selectively pulls hydraulic fluid from the reservoir through the at least one check valve to supplement pressurized hydraulic fluid from the motor-driven master cylinder. Besier et al disclose a similar system and further teach at least one check valve 6 interposed hydraulically between a secondary power transmission unit 4 and a reservoir 140, wherein the secondary power transmission unit selectively pulls hydraulic fluid from the reservoir 140 through the at least one check valve 6 to supplement pressurized hydraulic fluid from a inlet pressure port 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a line and check valve interposed between the reservoir and secondary power transmission unit of modified Weh et al, as taught by Besier et al, to provide fluid to the pumps of the secondary power transmission unit with low resistance, thereby improving performance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY T KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
BTK