3DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 13 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunz et al (US# 2013/0062931) in view of Kuhlman (US# 2014/0167493).
Kunz et al disclose a brake system including; a reservoir 12; a master cylinder 10 operable during a normal non-failure braking mode by actuation of an electromechanical booster 16 of the master cylinder to generate brake actuating pressure at first 66a and second 66b MC outputs for hydraulically actuating the first and second pairs of wheel brakes, respectively; a secondary power transmission unit configured for selectively providing pressurized hydraulic fluid at first and second PTU outputs 38/48 or 98/116 for actuating the first and second pairs of wheel brakes 18a/18b/28a/28b in at least one of a normal non-failure braking mode [0067] and a backup braking mode, the secondary power transmission unit including an electric PTU motor 104 configured to selectively pressurize the hydraulic fluid by transmitting rotary motion to at least two piston pumps 22 and/or 90a/90b [0052], each pump piston providing pressurized hydraulic fluid to a corresponding one of the first and second PTU outputs 38/48 or 98/116, each of the first and second PTU outputs providing fluid to a corresponding one of the first 18a/28a and second 18b/28b pairs of wheel brakes; at least two brake pressure sensors 44/54, each brake pressure sensor located directly adjacent a corresponding wheel brake 18a/18b for sensing hydraulic pressure at the corresponding wheel brake and responsively producing a brake pressure signal, and an electronic control unit (evaluation device/control device [0037][0067]) for controlling at least one of the secondary power transmission unit and the master cylinder 10 responsive to brake pressure signals; and wherein the secondary power transmission unit is directly fluidly connected to the reservoir 12. Note line 30. Kunz et al disclose a master cylinder including an electromechanical brake booster 16 [0036], but lack the explicit disclosure of an electric motor driving the master cylinder and the master cylinder being a dual-chamber master cylinder. Kuhlman discloses a similar brake system and further teach master cylinder 28 and electromechanical booster B arrangement including a dual-chamber master cylinder 28 and an electric motor MB. Figure 4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the booster and master cylinder structure taught by Kuhlman for the booster and cylinder of Kunz as an obvious means of implementing the device which yields the predictable results of controllable boosted brake forces for two brake circuits.
Regarding claim 2, an iso/dump control valve arrangement 80a/88a/56a/56b/80b/88b is associated with each wheel brake of the plurality of wheel brakes, each iso/dump control valve arrangement being controlled by the electronic control unit.
Regarding claim 3, each iso/dump control valve arrangement is in fluid communication with both a selected one of the first 66a and second 66b MC outputs and a selected one of the first 38/48 or 98 and second 116 PTU outputs for selectively receiving pressurized hydraulic fluid therefrom.
Regarding claim 4, each brake pressure sensor 42/52 is interposed hydraulically between an iso/dump control valve arrangement 56a/56b and a corresponding wheel brake 18a/18b.
Regarding claim 6, the secondary power transmission unit includes a plurality of pump pistons associated with each of the first and second PTU outputs. [0052]
Regarding claim 13, a deceleration signal transmitter [0037] is configured to provide a braking signal, a wired or wireless manner (the signal is necessarily one of wired and wireless), corresponding to a desired braking action by an operator of the vehicle, wherein the electronic control unit controls at least one of the secondary power transmission unit and the motor-driven master cylinder responsive to the braking signal. [0067]
Regarding claim 21, each pump piston 22 of the secondary power transmission unit is directly fluidly connected to the reservoir 12.
Regarding claim 22, as modified, each chamber of the dual-chamber master cylinder provides pressurized hydraulic fluid to a corresponding one of the first and second MC outputs.
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11, 13 and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al (US# 2024/0174207) in view of Kim (US# 2023/0146790) and Watanabe (US# 2025/0178576).
Yang et al disclose a brake system including; a reservoir 5; a master cylinder 2 operable during a normal non-failure braking mode by actuation of an electromechanical booster 201 of the master cylinder to generate brake actuating pressure at first 2i and second 2j MC outputs for hydraulically actuating the first 3c/3d and second 3a/3b pairs of wheel brakes, respectively; a secondary power transmission unit 203/204 configured for selectively providing pressurized hydraulic fluid at first and second PTU outputs 8G/8F for actuating the first and second pairs of wheel brakes 3 in at least one of a normal non-failure braking mode and a backup braking mode [0391][0447], the secondary power transmission unit including an electric PTU motor [0015] configured to selectively pressurize the hydraulic fluid by transmitting rotary motion to at least two pumps 203/204, each pump providing pressurized hydraulic fluid to a corresponding one of the first and second PTU outputs 8G or 8F, each of the first and second PTU outputs providing fluid to a corresponding one of the first 3c/3d and second 3a/3b pairs of wheel brakes; and an electronic control unit 91/92 for controlling at least one of the secondary power transmission unit and the master cylinder 10 responsive to brake pressure signals, and wherein the secondary power transmission unit is directly fluidly connected to the reservoir 5. Note lines 5m/5k in the embodiment of figure 24. Yang et al lack the specific disclosure of pumps 203/204 being piston pumps. Kim discloses a similar brake system and further teaches piston pumps where multiple pistons improve pressure increasing performance and NVH performance [0076]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use piston pumps having multiple pistons, such as taught by Kim, for the pumps 203/204 of Yang et al as an obvious means of providing pressure with increased performance and reduced noise. Yang et al further lack the disclosure of at least two brake pressure sensors, each brake pressure sensor located directly adjacent a corresponding wheel brake for sensing hydraulic pressure at the corresponding wheel brake and responsively producing a brake pressure signal. Watanabe disclose a similar brake system and further teach at least two brake pressure sensors PW, each brake pressure sensor located directly adjacent a corresponding wheel brake CW for sensing hydraulic pressure at the corresponding wheel brake and responsively producing a brake pressure signal. [0047][0056]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide pressure sensors adjacent wheel brakes in the system of Yang et al, as taught by Watanabe, to provide actual values of brake pressure at the wheel brakes, thereby ensuring accurate brake force control.
Regarding claim 2, an iso/dump control valve arrangement31-34 and 41-44 is associated with each wheel brake of the plurality of wheel brakes, each iso/dump control valve arrangement being controlled by the electronic control unit 91/92.
Regarding claim 3, each iso/dump control valve arrangement is in fluid communication with both a selected one of the first 2i and second 2j MC outputs and a selected one of the first 8G and second 8F PTU outputs for selectively receiving pressurized hydraulic fluid therefrom.
Regarding claim 4, Watanabe teaches each brake pressure sensor PWf/PWR is interposed hydraulically between an iso/dump control valve VI/VO arrangement and a corresponding wheel brake CW.
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches a plurality of pump pistons associated with each of the first and second PTU outputs.
Regarding claim 7, a first traction control iso valve 22 hydraulically interposed between the motor-driven master cylinder 2 and the first pair of wheel brakes via the first MC outlet 2i; and a second traction control iso valve 23 hydraulically interposed between the motor-driven master cylinder and the second pair of wheel brakes via the second MC outlet 2j.
Regarding claim 8, an iso/dump control valve 31-34/41-44 arrangement is associated with each wheel brake of the first and second pairs of wheel brakes, wherein the first traction control iso valve 22 is hydraulically interposed between the motor-driven master cylinder 2 and the iso/dump control valve arrangements 33-34/43-44 of the first pair of wheel brakes 3c/3d, and wherein the second traction control iso valve 23 is hydraulically interposed between the motor-driven master cylinder and the iso/dump control valve arrangements 31-32/41-42 of the second pair of wheel brakes 3a/3b.
Regarding claim 9, Watanabe teaches each brake pressure sensor PWf/PWR is interposed hydraulically between an iso/dump control valve VI/VO arrangement and a corresponding wheel brake CW.
Regarding claim 10, the electronic control unit is a first electronic control unit 92 controlling the motor-driven master cylinder 2 and the brake system includes a second electronic control unit 91 controlling the secondary power transmission unit 203/204, wherein both the first and second electronic control units control the respective motor-driven master cylinder and secondary power transmission unit responsive to at least one brake pressure signal.
Regarding claim 11, an iso/dump control valve arrangement 31-34/41-44 associated with each wheel brake of the first and second pairs of wheel brakes, wherein the first electronic control unit 92 controls each of the iso/dump control valve arrangements. Figure 24, [0208].
Regarding claim 13, a deceleration signal transmitter [0177] is configured to provide a braking signal, a wired or wireless manner (the signal is necessarily one of wired and wireless), corresponding to a desired braking action by an operator of the vehicle, wherein the electronic control unit controls at least one of the secondary power transmission unit and the motor-driven master cylinder responsive to the braking signal.
Regarding claim 21, each pump piston 203/204 of the secondary power transmission unit is directly fluidly connected to the reservoir 5. Figure 24.
Regarding claim 22, each chamber of the dual-chamber master cylinder provides pressurized hydraulic fluid to a corresponding one of the first 2i and second 2j MC outputs.
Regarding claim 23, the master cylinder 2 is free of a mechanical connection to the brake pedal 7.
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11 and 13-17, 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peichl et al (US# 2019/0241167) in view of Kim (US# 2023/0146790) and Burkhard (US# 2017/0320477).
Peichl et al disclose a brake system including; a reservoir 4; a motor-driven master cylinder 5 operable during a normal non-failure braking mode by actuation of an electric motor 24 of the master cylinder to generate brake actuating pressure at first (path with valve 26a) and second (path with 26b) MC outputs for hydraulically actuating the first and second pairs of wheel brakes, respectively; a secondary power transmission unit 80 configured for selectively providing pressurized hydraulic fluid at first and second PTU outputs for actuating the first and second pairs of wheel brakes 8-11 in at least one of a normal non-failure braking mode [0093] and a backup braking mode, the secondary power transmission unit 80 including an electric PTU motor 92 configured to selectively pressurize the hydraulic fluid by transmitting rotary motion to at least two pumps 96/98, each pump providing pressurized hydraulic fluid to a corresponding one of the first 102 and second 108 PTU outputs, each of the first and second PTU outputs providing fluid to a corresponding one of the first and second pairs of wheel brakes (figure 3); at least two brake pressure sensors 160/162, each brake pressure sensor located directly adjacent a corresponding wheel brake 8/10 for sensing hydraulic pressure at the corresponding wheel brake and responsively producing a brake pressure signal; and an electronic control unit 12 and/or 182 for controlling at least one of the secondary power transmission unit 80 and the master cylinder 5 responsive to at least one of the brake pressure signals 19/20/194/160/164; and wherein the secondary power transmission unit 80 is directly fluidly connected to the reservoir 4. Note line 192 connects the reservoir 4 directly to the unit 80. Peichl et al lack the specific disclosure of the pumps 96/98 being piston pumps. Kim discloses a similar brake system and further teaches piston pumps where multiple pistons improve pressure increasing performance and NVH performance [0076]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use piston pumps having multiple pistons, such as taught by Kim, for the pumps 96/98 of Peichl et al as an obvious means of providing pressure with increased performance and reduced noise. Peichl et al further lack the motor-driven master cylinder 5 being a dual-chamber master cylinder. Burkhard discloses a similar brake system and further teaches that a single chamber pressure supply device 5 such as that of Peichl et al can also be implemented as a dual-circuit electrohydraulic actuator with two pressure chambers, wherein one of the brake circuit supply lines 13a, 13b is associated with each of the pressure chambers or each of the pressure chambers is connected to one of the brake circuit supply lines 13a, 13b. [0044]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a dual-circuit electrohydraulic actuator with two pressure chambers wherein one of the brake circuit supply lines 13a, 13b is associated with each of the pressure chambers, as taught by Burkhard, for the pressure supply of Peichl et al as an obvious alternative with allows further separation of the circuits, providing a greater degree of safety to the system.
Regarding claim 2, an iso/dump control valve arrangement 6/7 is associated with each wheel brake of the plurality of wheel brakes, each iso/dump control valve arrangement being controlled by the electronic control unit 12.
Regarding claim 3, each iso/dump control valve arrangement is in fluid communication with both a selected one of the first and second MC outputs and a selected one of the first and second PTU outputs for selectively receiving pressurized hydraulic fluid therefrom. Note the modes of figures 2 and 3.
Regarding claim 4, each brake pressure sensor 160/162 is interposed hydraulically between an iso/dump control valve arrangement and a corresponding wheel brake. Note while sensors 160/162 are on a line segment which connects to the flow path between the valve arrangement 6/7 and the brake, Applicant’s figures appear to show the same arrangement.
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches a plurality of pump pistons associated with each of the first and second PTU outputs.
Regarding claim 7, a first traction control iso valve 26a hydraulically interposed between the motor-driven master cylinder 5 and the first pair of wheel brakes via the first MC outlet; and a second traction control iso valve 26b hydraulically interposed between the motor-driven master cylinder and the second pair of wheel brakes via the second MC outlet.
Regarding claim 8, an iso/dump control valve 6/7 arrangement is associated with each wheel brake of the first and second pairs of wheel brakes, wherein the first traction control iso valve 26a is hydraulically interposed between the motor-driven master cylinder 5 and the iso/dump control valve arrangements 6/7 of the first pair of wheel brakes 8-9, and wherein the second traction control iso valve 26b is hydraulically interposed between the motor-driven master cylinder and the iso/dump control valve arrangements 6/7 of the second pair of wheel brakes 10-11.
Regarding claim 9, each brake pressure sensor 160/162 is interposed hydraulically between an iso/dump control valve arrangement 6/7 and a corresponding wheel brake 8-11.
Regarding claim 10, the electronic control unit is a first electronic control unit 12 controlling the motor-driven master cylinder and the brake system includes a second electronic control unit 182 80controlling the secondary power transmission unit 80, wherein both the first and second electronic control units control the respective motor-driven master cylinder and secondary power transmission unit responsive to at least one brake pressure signal 19/20/194/160/162.
Regarding claim 11, an iso/dump control valve arrangement 6/7 associated with each wheel brake of the first and second pairs of wheel brakes, wherein the first electronic control unit controls each of the iso/dump control valve arrangements 12.
Regarding claim 13, a deceleration signal transmitter 25 configured to provide a braking signal, a wired or wireless manner (the signal is necessarily one of wired and wireless), corresponding to a desired braking action by an operator of the vehicle, wherein the electronic control unit 12 and/or 182 controls at least one of the secondary power transmission unit and the motor-driven master cylinder responsive to the braking signal. [0082][0096][0096]
Regarding claim 14, each of the first and second MC outputs is in fluid communication with a pump input of at least one pump piston for selectively supplying pressurized hydraulic fluid thereto, the secondary power transmission unit selectively boosting pressure of the pressurized hydraulic fluid to supply boosted-pressure hydraulic fluid to at least one of the first and second PTU outputs in at least one of a normal non-failure braking mode and a backup braking mode [0096].
Regarding claim 15, the reservoir 4 and motor-driven master cylinder 5 are co-located in a first housing 21 and the secondary power transmission unit 80 is located in a second housing, spaced apart from the first housing. [0034][0065] Figure 1.
Regarding claim 16, including an iso/dump control valve arrangement 142/176/152/186 associated with each wheel brake of the plurality of wheel brakes, each iso/dump control valve arrangement being controlled by the electronic control unit 182; and wherein the reservoir 4 and motor-driven master cylinder 4 are co-located in a first housing 21 and the secondary power transmission unit 80 and iso/dump control valve arrangements 220/176/240/186 are located in a second housing, spaced apart from the first housing. [0034][0065] Figure 1.
Regarding claim 17, each brake pressure sensor 160/162 is interposed hydraulically between an iso/dump control valve arrangement 220/176/240/186 and a corresponding wheel brake.
Regarding claim 22, as modified, each chamber of the dual-chamber master cylinder provides pressurized hydraulic fluid to a corresponding one of the first and second MC outputs.
Regarding claim 23, the master cylinder 5 is free of a mechanical connection to a brake pedal.
Claims 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al (US# 2024/0174207) in view of Kim (US# 2023/0146790) and Watanabe (US# 2025/0178576), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Peichl et al (US# 2019/0241167).
Regarding claim 15, Yang et al further disclose the motor-driven master cylinder 2 located in a first module and the secondary power transmission unit 203/204 located in a second module. Yang et al further teach a reservoir 5b in the second module (figure 4), however this is a different embodiment of Yang et al which does not have the secondary power transmission unit 203/204. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the reservoir 5b of figure 4 of Yang et al in the embodiment of figure 24 of Yang et al to increase redundancy and reduce interfaces between the modules, thereby increasing reliability [0249]. Yang et al further lack the first module having a first housing and the second module having a second housing, spaced apart from the first housing. Peichl et al disclose a similar brake system and further teach a first module 300 in a first housing 21 and a second module 70 in a second housing 80 space from the first (figure 1, [0065]). It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modules of Yang et al as separate housings, as taught by Peichl et al to provide protection to the components and allow flexibility in the installation of the brake system.
Regarding claim 16, Yang et al further disclose an iso/dump control valve arrangement 31-34/41-44 associated with each wheel brake of the plurality of wheel brakes, each iso/dump control valve arrangement being controlled by the electronic control unit 92; the motor-driven master cylinder 2 located in a first module and the secondary power transmission unit 203/204 and iso/dump control valve arrangements 31-34/41-44 are located in a second module. Yang et al further teach a reservoir 5b in the second module (figure 4), however this is a different embodiment of Yang et al which does not have the secondary power transmission unit 203/204. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the reservoir 5b of figure 4 of Yang et al in the embodiment of figure 24 of Yang et al to increase redundancy and reduce interfaces between the modules, thereby increasing reliability [0249]. Yang et al further lack the first module having a first housing and the second module having a second housing, spaced apart from the first housing. Peichl et al disclose a similar brake system and further teach a first module 300 in a first housing 21 and a second module 70 in a second housing 80 space from the first (figure 1, [0065]). It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modules of Yang et al as separate housings, as taught by Peichl et al to provide protection to the components and allow flexibility in the installation of the brake system.
Regarding claim 17, Watanabe teaches each brake pressure sensor PWf/PWR is interposed hydraulically between an iso/dump control valve VI/VO arrangement and a corresponding wheel brake CW.
Regarding claim 18, Yang et al further disclose the reservoir 5 and the secondary power transmission unit 203/204 located in a first module 1 and the motor-driven master cylinder 2 located in a second module 2. Yang et al lack the first module having a first housing and the second module having a second housing, spaced apart from the first housing. Peichl et al disclose a similar brake system and further teach a first module 300 in a first housing 21 and a second module 70 in a second housing 80 space from the first (figure 1, [0065]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modules of Yang et al as separate housings, as taught by Peichl et al to provide protection to the components and allow flexibility in the installation of the brake system.
Regarding claim 19, Yang et al further disclose an iso/dump control valve arrangement 31-34/41/44 associated with each wheel brake of the plurality of wheel brakes, each iso/dump control valve arrangement being controlled by the electronic control unit 92; the reservoir 5 and secondary power transmission unit 203/204 located in a first module and the motor-driven master cylinder 2 being located in a second module. Yang et al lack the first module having a first housing and the second module having a second housing, spaced apart from the first housing. Peichl et al disclose a similar brake system and further teach a first module 300 in a first housing 21 and a second module 70 in a second housing 80 space from the first (figure 1, [0065]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modules of Yang et al as separate housings, as taught by Peichl et al to provide protection to the components and allow flexibility in the installation of the brake system.
Regarding claim 20, Watanabe teaches each brake pressure sensor PWf/PWR is interposed hydraulically between an iso/dump control valve VI/VO arrangement and a corresponding wheel brake CW.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peichl et al (US# 2019/0241167), Kim (US# 2023/0146790) and Burkhard (US# 2017/0320477), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Kim et al (US# 2022/0227340).
Regarding claim 12, Peichl et al further disclose a first traction control iso valve 26a hydraulically interposed between the motor-driven master cylinder 5 and the first pair of wheel brakes via the first MC outlet; and a second traction control iso valve 26b hydraulically interposed between the motor-driven master cylinder 5 and the second pair of wheel brakes via the second MC outlet. Peichl et al lack the disclosure of the second electronic control unit 182 controlling the first and second traction control iso valves. Kim et al ‘340 discloses a similar brake system and further teach first 100 and second 200 control units, each of which can control various valves including a traction control iso valve 1121a. Figures 2-3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide both controllers of Peichl et al with the ability to control the iso valves 26a/26b, as taught by Kim et al ‘340, to increase the redundancy of the system, thereby improving the fault resistance of the system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with regards to Courth are persuasive and the rejection has been withdrawn. Please note the new grounds of rejection set forth above.
Conclusion
/BRADLEY T KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
BTK