DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 7 and 12 recite “MC outlet” whereas the rest of the claims recite “MC output”. Appropriate correction is required. It appears that “output” is the term used in the specification and the recitations of “outlet” of claims 7 and 12 should be changed to “output” for consistency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11, and 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peichl et al (US# 2019/0241167) in view of Kim (US# 2023/0146790).
Peichl et al disclose a brake system including; a reservoir 4; a motor-driven master cylinder 5 operable during a normal non-failure braking mode by actuation of an electric motor 24 of the master cylinder to generate brake actuating pressure at first (path with valve 26a) and second (path with 26b) MC outputs for hydraulically actuating the first and second pairs of wheel brakes, respectively; a secondary power transmission unit 80 configured for selectively providing pressurized hydraulic fluid at first and second PTU outputs for actuating the first and second pairs of wheel brakes 8-11 in at least one of a normal non-failure braking mode [0093] and a backup braking mode, the secondary power transmission unit 80 including an electric PTU motor 92 configured to selectively pressurize the hydraulic fluid by transmitting rotary motion to at least two pumps 96/98, each pump providing pressurized hydraulic fluid to a corresponding one of the first 102 and second 108 PTU outputs, each of the first and second PTU outputs providing fluid to a corresponding one of the first and second pairs of wheel brakes (figure 3); at least two brake pressure sensors 160/162, each brake pressure sensor located directly adjacent a corresponding wheel brake 8/10 for sensing hydraulic pressure at the corresponding wheel brake and responsively producing a brake pressure signal; and an electronic control unit 12 and/or 182 for controlling at least one of the secondary power transmission unit 80 and the master cylinder 5 responsive to at least one of the brake pressure signals 19/20/194/160/164; and wherein the secondary power transmission unit 80 is directly fluidly connected to the reservoir 4. Note line 192 connects the reservoir 4 directly to the unit 80. Peichl et al lack the specific disclosure of the pumps 96/98 being piston pumps. Kim discloses a similar brake system and further teaches piston pumps where multiple pistons improve pressure increasing performance and NVH performance [0076]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use piston pumps having multiple pistons, such as taught by Kim, for the pumps 96/98 of Peichl et al as an obvious means of providing pressure with increased performance and reduced noise.
Regarding claim 2, an iso/dump control valve arrangement 6/7 is associated with each wheel brake of the plurality of wheel brakes, each iso/dump control valve arrangement being controlled by the electronic control unit 12.
Regarding claim 3, each iso/dump control valve arrangement is in fluid communication with both a selected one of the first and second MC outputs and a selected one of the first and second PTU outputs for selectively receiving pressurized hydraulic fluid therefrom. Note the modes of figures 2 and 3.
Regarding claim 4, each brake pressure sensor 160/162 is interposed hydraulically between an iso/dump control valve arrangement and a corresponding wheel brake. Note while sensors 160/162 are on a line segment which connects to the flow path between the valve arrangement 6/7 and the brake, Applicant’s figures appear to show the same arrangement.
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches a plurality of pump pistons associated with each of the first and second PTU outputs.
Regarding claim 7, a first traction control iso valve 26a hydraulically interposed between the motor-driven master cylinder 5 and the first pair of wheel brakes via the first MC outlet; and a second traction control iso valve 26b hydraulically interposed between the motor-driven master cylinder and the second pair of wheel brakes via the second MC outlet.
Regarding claim 8, an iso/dump control valve 6/7 arrangement is associated with each wheel brake of the first and second pairs of wheel brakes, wherein the first traction control iso valve 26a is hydraulically interposed between the motor-driven master cylinder 5 and the iso/dump control valve arrangements 6/7 of the first pair of wheel brakes 8-9, and wherein the second traction control iso valve 26b is hydraulically interposed between the motor-driven master cylinder and the iso/dump control valve arrangements 6/7 of the second pair of wheel brakes 10-11.
Regarding claim 9, each brake pressure sensor 160/162 is interposed hydraulically between an iso/dump control valve arrangement 6/7 and a corresponding wheel brake 8-11.
Regarding claim 10, the electronic control unit is a first electronic control unit 12 controlling the motor-driven master cylinder and the brake system includes a second electronic control unit 182 80controlling the secondary power transmission unit 80, wherein both the first and second electronic control units control the respective motor-driven master cylinder and secondary power transmission unit responsive to at least one brake pressure signal 19/20/194/160/162.
Regarding claim 11, an iso/dump control valve arrangement 6/7 associated with each wheel brake of the first and second pairs of wheel brakes, wherein the first electronic control unit controls each of the iso/dump control valve arrangements 12.
Regarding claim 13, a deceleration signal transmitter 25 configured to provide a braking signal, a wired or wireless manner (the signal is necessarily one of wired and wireless), corresponding to a desired braking action by an operator of the vehicle, wherein the electronic control unit 12 and/or 182 controls at least one of the secondary power transmission unit and the motor-driven master cylinder responsive to the braking signal. [0082][0096][0096]
Regarding claim 14, each of the first and second MC outputs is in fluid communication with a pump input of at least one pump piston for selectively supplying pressurized hydraulic fluid thereto, the secondary power transmission unit selectively boosting pressure of the pressurized hydraulic fluid to supply boosted-pressure hydraulic fluid to at least one of the first and second PTU outputs in at least one of a normal non-failure braking mode and a backup braking mode [0096].
Regarding claim 15, the reservoir 4 and motor-driven master cylinder 5 are co-located in a first housing 21 and the secondary power transmission unit 80 is located in a second housing, spaced apart from the first housing. [0034][0065] Figure 1.
Regarding claim 16, including an iso/dump control valve arrangement 142/176/152/186 associated with each wheel brake of the plurality of wheel brakes, each iso/dump control valve arrangement being controlled by the electronic control unit 182; and wherein the reservoir 4 and motor-driven master cylinder 4 are co-located in a first housing 21 and the secondary power transmission unit 80 and iso/dump control valve arrangements 220/176/240/186 are located in a second housing, spaced apart from the first housing. [0034][0065] Figure 1.
Regarding claim 17, each brake pressure sensor 160/162 is interposed hydraulically between an iso/dump control valve arrangement 220/176/240/186 and a corresponding wheel brake.
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-17 and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Courth et al (US# 2025/0042381) in view of Burkhard (US# 2017/0320477) and Watanabe (US# 2025/0178576).
Courth et al disclose a brake system including; a reservoir 4; a motor-driven master cylinder 5 operable during a normal non-failure braking mode by actuation of an electric motor 35 of the master cylinder to generate brake actuating pressure; a secondary power transmission unit 2 configured for selectively providing pressurized hydraulic fluid at first and second PTU outputs (232, figures 6-7 )for actuating the first and second pairs of wheel brakes 8a-8d in at least one of a normal non-failure braking mode [0116] and a backup braking mode, the secondary power transmission unit 2 including an electric PTU motor M configured to selectively pressurize the hydraulic fluid by transmitting rotary motion to at least two pumps [0050][0086], each pump providing pressurized hydraulic fluid to a corresponding one of the first and second PTU outputs 232, each of the first and second PTU outputs providing fluid to a corresponding one of the first 8a/8b and second 8c/8d pairs of wheel brakes (figure 6); and an electronic control unit 101 and/or 102 for controlling at least one of the secondary power transmission unit 2 and the master cylinder 5 responsive to brake pressure signals; and wherein the secondary power transmission unit 2 is directly fluidly connected to the reservoir 4. Note suction port 221 of each pump is connected directly to the reservoir 4. The illustrated check valves between the pump symbol and the pump ports 221 and 232 are taken to be part of the pumps. Courth et al lack first and second MC outputs for hydraulically actuating the first and second pairs of wheel brakes, instead showing a single output 521 and/or 60. Burkhard discloses a similar brake system and further teaches that a single chamber pressure supply device 5 such as that of Courth et al can also be implemented as a dual-circuit electrohydraulic actuator with two pressure chambers, wherein one of the brake circuit supply lines 13a, 13b is associated with each of the pressure chambers or each of the pressure chambers is connected to one of the brake circuit supply lines 13a, 13b. [0044]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a dual-circuit electrohydraulic actuator with two pressure chambers wherein one of the brake circuit supply lines 13a, 13b is associated with each of the pressure chambers, as taught by Burkhard, for the pressure supply of Courth et al as an obvious alternative with allows further separation of the circuits, providing a greater degree of safety to the system. Courth et al further lack the disclosure of at least two brake pressure sensors, each brake pressure sensor located directly adjacent a corresponding wheel brake for sensing hydraulic pressure at the corresponding wheel brake and responsively producing a brake pressure signal. Watanabe disclose a similar brake system and further teach at least two brake pressure sensors PW, each brake pressure sensor located directly adjacent a corresponding wheel brake CW for sensing hydraulic pressure at the corresponding wheel brake and responsively producing a brake pressure signal. [0047][0056]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide pressure sensors adjacent wheel brakes in the system of Courth et al, as taught by Watanabe, to provide actual values of brake pressure at the wheel brakes, thereby ensuring accurate brake force control.
Regarding claim 2, an iso/dump control valve arrangement 6/7 is associated with each wheel brake of the plurality of wheel brakes, each iso/dump control valve arrangement being controlled by the electronic control unit 201.
Regarding claim 3, as modified, each iso/dump control valve arrangement is in fluid communication with both a selected one of the first and second MC outputs and a selected one of the first and second PTU outputs for selectively receiving pressurized hydraulic fluid therefrom.
Regarding claim 4, Watanabe teaches each brake pressure sensor PWf/PWR is interposed hydraulically between an iso/dump control valve VI/VO arrangement and a corresponding wheel brake CW.
Regarding claim 5, Burkhard teaches the motor-driven master cylinder 5 is a dual-chamber master cylinder. [0044]
Regarding claim 7, in modifying the supply 5 of Courth et al to have two chambers and two outputs, one would provide a traction control iso valve 26 for each output.
Regarding claim 8, an iso/dump control valve 6/7 arrangement is associated with each wheel brake of the first and second pairs of wheel brakes, wherein the first traction control iso valve 26 is hydraulically interposed between the motor-driven master cylinder 5 and the iso/dump control valve arrangements 6/7 of the first pair of wheel brakes 8a-8b, and wherein the second traction control iso valve 26 is hydraulically interposed between the motor-driven master cylinder and the iso/dump control valve arrangements 6/7 of the second pair of wheel brakes 8c-8d.
Regarding claim 9, Watanabe teaches each brake pressure sensor PWf/PWR is interposed hydraulically between an iso/dump control valve VI/VO arrangement and a corresponding wheel brake CW.
Regarding claim 10, the electronic control unit is a first electronic control unit 101 controlling the motor-driven master cylinder and the brake system includes a second electronic control unit 201 controlling the secondary power transmission unit 2, wherein both the first and second electronic control units control the respective motor-driven master cylinder and secondary power transmission unit responsive to at least one brake pressure signal 19/20/194/160/162.
Regarding claim 11, an iso/dump control valve arrangement 6/7 associated with each wheel brake of the first and second pairs of wheel brakes, wherein the first electronic control unit 101 controls each of the iso/dump control valve arrangements.
Regarding claim 12, a first traction control iso valve 26 is hydraulically interposed between the motor-driven master cylinder 5 and the first pair of wheel brakes via the first MC outlet; and a second traction control iso valve 26 hydraulically interposed between the motor-driven master cylinder 5 and the second pair of wheel brakes via the second MC outlet; wherein the second electronic control unit 201 controls the first and second traction control iso valves 26 [0078]. In modifying the supply 5 of Courth et al to have two chambers and two outputs, one would provide a traction control iso valve 26 for each output.
Regarding claim 13, a deceleration signal transmitter [0053][0054] configured to provide a braking signal, a wired or wireless manner (the signal is necessarily one of wired and wireless), corresponding to a desired braking action by an operator of the vehicle, wherein the electronic control unit 101 and/or 201 controls at least one of the secondary power transmission unit and the motor-driven master cylinder responsive to the braking signal. [0053][0054]
Regarding claim 14, each of the first and second MC outputs is in fluid communication with a pump input 221 of at least one pump piston for selectively supplying pressurized hydraulic fluid thereto, the secondary power transmission unit selectively boosting pressure of the pressurized hydraulic fluid to supply boosted-pressure hydraulic fluid to at least one of the first and second PTU outputs in at least one of a normal non-failure braking mode and a backup braking mode [0116].
Regarding claim 15, the reservoir 4 and motor-driven master cylinder 5 are co-located in a first housing HCU1 and the secondary power transmission unit 2 is located in a second housing HCU2 , spaced apart from the first housing. [0071][0080] Figure 6.
Regarding claim 16, including an iso/dump control valve arrangement 6/7 associated with each wheel brake of the plurality of wheel brakes, each iso/dump control valve arrangement being controlled by the electronic control unit 201; and wherein the reservoir 4 and motor-driven master cylinder 5 are co-located in a first housing HCU1 and the secondary power transmission unit 2 and iso/dump control valve arrangements 6/7 are located in a second housing HCU2, spaced apart from the first housing. [0071][0080] Figure 6.
Regarding claim 17, Watanabe teaches each brake pressure sensor PWf/PWR is interposed hydraulically between an iso/dump control valve VI/VO arrangement and a corresponding wheel brake CW.
Regarding claim 21, each pump piston of the secondary power transmission unit 2 is directly fluidly connected to the reservoir 4.
Regarding claim 22, as modified, each chamber of the dual-chamber master cylinder provides pressurized hydraulic fluid to a corresponding one of the first and second MC outputs.
Regarding claim 23, the master cylinder 5 is free of a mechanical connection to a brake pedal. [0052]
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Courth et al (US# 2025/0042381), and Watanabe (US# 2025/0178576), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Kim (US# 2023/0146790).
Courth et al, as modified above, disclose all the limitations of the instant claim with exception to the secondary power transmission unit including a plurality of pump pistons associated with each of the first and second PTU outputs. Courth et al disclose a dual-piston or multi-piston pump [0050]. Kim discloses a similar brake system and further teaches multiple pistons 123/125 per circuit (figure 7, [0075][0076]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use multiple pistons for each output in Courth et al, as taught by Kim, to improve the pressure increasing performance and NVH performance of the brake [0076].
Claims 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Courth et al (US# 2025/0042381), and Watanabe (US# 2025/0178576), as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, in further view of Besier et al (US# 2017/0282877).
Regarding claim 18, Courth et al further disclose the secondary power transmission unit 2 located in a first housing HCU2 and the motor-driven master cylinder 5 is located in a second housing HCU1 spaced apart from the first housing . Figures 6-7. Courth et al lack the reservoir 4 located on the first housing HCU2. Besier et al disclose a similar brake system and further teach a reservoir 104 located on a first housing HCU2 which also houses a secondary power transmission unit 105. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a reservoir on the first housing HCU2 for the secondary power transmission unit 2 of Courth et al, as taught by Besier et al to provide a greater degree of fluid available and further prevent leaks of one HCU from impacting the other.
Regarding claim 19, Courth et al further disclose an iso/dump control valve arrangement 6/7 associated with each wheel brake of the plurality of wheel brakes, each iso/dump control valve arrangement being controlled by the electronic control unit 201; the secondary power transmission unit 2 located in a first housing HCU2 and the motor-driven master cylinder 5 is located in a second housing HCU1 spaced apart from the first housing . Figures 6-7. Courth et al lack the reservoir 4 located on the first housing HCU2. Besier et al disclose a similar brake system and further teach a reservoir 104 located on a first housing HCU2 which also houses a secondary power transmission unit 105. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a reservoir on the first housing HCU2 for the secondary power transmission unit 2 of Courth et al, as taught by Besier et al to provide a greater degree of fluid available and further prevent leaks of one HCU from impacting the other.
Regarding claim 20, Watanabe teaches each brake pressure sensor PWf/PWR is interposed hydraulically between an iso/dump control valve VI/VO arrangement and a corresponding wheel brake CW.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments have overcome the rejection based on Kikawa et al.
Regarding Peichl et al, Applicant argues that the pressure provision 5 has only one output that is connected to the valves 26a and 26b. This is not persuasive. It is maintained that the path to valve 26a can be considered an “output” as broadly recite, and the path to valve 26b can be considered a separate output as claimed. The output of cylinder 5 of Peichl et al is directly received by both valves 26a and 26b. Dependent claim 5 specifies that the master cylinder is a dual-chamber master cylinder, indicating that the master cylinder of parent claim 1 is broader and can include a single chamber such as that of Peichl et al.
Regarding the secondary power transmission unit of Peichl et al, the first reference to 18 was in err and has been corrected. Unit 80 is relied upon, as was set forth in the remainder of the rejection. Applicant argues that unit 80 has four outputs for four brakes as opposed to the first and second outputs each for a pair of brakes as required by the claims. Note lines 102 and 108 are readable of the PTU outputs of the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY T KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
BTK