DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the species in which the sensing fibers provide a configuration in accordance with Figure 1 in the reply filed on September 29, 2026 is acknowledged. Figure 1 shows the sensing fibers to provide a pile patterned topology. Claim 13 requires that the sensing fibers extend in a lateral direction and a longitudinal direction in a woven configuration. As each of Claims 1-12 and 14-19 read upon the elected invention, only Claim 13 is withdrawn from consideration at this time.
Specification
The use of the terms BETA CLOTH, ORTHOFABRIC, KEVLAR, TEFLON, and KAPTON, which are each a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. Each of these terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology defining what the trademark represents; furthermore, the terms should be capitalized wherever they appear or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term. Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “an aerospace-grade fabric substrate” in line 2. Claim 10 recites “an aerospace-grade fabric substrate” in line 2. Claim 16 recites “an aerospace-grade fabric substrate” in line 2. The scope of this limitation is unclear. What materials satisfy the requirements of an aerospace-grade fabric substrate? What materials fall outside the scope of an aerospace-grade fabric substrate? The Specification does not define the term “aerospace-grade,” nor does it provide a standard in which the person having ordinary skill in the art would immediately understand which materials fall within the scope and which materials fall outside the scope. Is there a standard that is agreed upon in the art? Paragraph [0019] lists some trade names that “may” be an aerospace fabric, which include certain para-aramid, meta-aramid, polytetrafluorethylene, and fiberglass materials. However, it is unclear whether these materials are suitable alone, or must be used in combination with one another to be aerospace-grade. Would other materials be suitable? If so, what would be included? What would be excluded? As such, Claims 1, 10, and 16, along with their dependent claims, are indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 10-12, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cherston et al., “Large-area electronic skins in space: vision and preflight characterization for first aerospace piezoelectric e-textile,” Proceedings of APIE, vol. 11379, April 23, 2020 (“Cherston”).
With regard to Claims 1, 2, 10, 11, 16, and 17, Cherston discloses a sensing textile for a space craft comprising an aerospace-grade fabric having a surface, such as beta cloth, provided with one or more piezoelectric fibers to provide sensing capabilities to detect debris or other impactors. See, e.g., Abstract, entire document. Cherston discloses that a portion of the one or more sensing fibers is weft-inserted into the beta cloth substrate, page 5, and is clearly visible above an immediate surface of the substrate because the sensing fiber diameter is greater than the diameter of the fiber making up the beta cloth. Figure 3 (left) and Figure 4 (top right). With regard to Claims 3, 12, and 16, the piezoelectric fibers disclosed in Cherston satisfy the limitations of a sensing fiber and a fiber sensor. With regard to Claims 4 and 5, Cherston illustrates that the sensing fibers are straight and positioned at an angled of 0 degrees compared to the surface of the substrate. Figure 3 (left) and Figure 4 (top right). With regard to Claims 6 and 16, Cherston illustrates that the sensing fibers provide a patterned topology of horizontal and parallel lines. Figure 3 (left). With regard to Claim 10, Cherston shows that the sensing fiber has a length, a width, and a height. Figure 3 (left) and Figure 4 (top right).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cherston in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0081913 to Ebbesen et al. (“Ebbesen”).
With regard to Claims 7, 14, and 18, Cherston does not disclose that the sensing fibers provide a patterned topology of a pile fabric. Ebbesen is also related to electronic fabric that can be used to provide a sensor. See, e.g., Abstract, entire document. Ebbesen discloses that providing sensor fibers in a pile topology can yield a high surface area detector for improved sensitivity. Paragraphs [0076] and [0077]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to provide the sensing fibers disclosed by Cherston with patterned topology to provide a pile fabric in order to improve surface area detection and sensitivity, as shown to be known in the art by Ebbesen.
Claims 8, 9, 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cherston in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0331027 to Kim et al. (“Kim”).
With regard to Claims 8, 9, 15, and 19, Cherston does not disclose providing a gold or aluminum coating to the sensing fiber. Kim is also related to piezoelectric fiber useful in textiles to provide sensing function. See, e.g., Abstract, entire document. Kim teaches that conductivity of the fiber can be improved by providing a gold or aluminum coating. Paragraph [0020]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to provide the sensing fiber disclosed by Cherston with a coating comprising gold or aluminum in order to improve the conductivity of the fiber, as shown to be known in the art by Kim.
Conclusion
JEREMY R. PIERCE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1789
/JEREMY R PIERCE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789