DETAILED ACTION
Examiner acknowledges receipt of Applicant’s amendment filed 7/7/2026.
In the amendment, Applicant amended claims 1, 10, and 16.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-12, 14-19, 21, 23, and 24 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Examiner has fully considered Applicant's arguments, see pages 10-18, filed 7/7/2026, with respect to the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 but they are not persuasive.
On page 10, Applicant summarizes the amended claims and recites the prior art references used to reject the claims in the previous office action. On pages 11-13, Applicant summarizes the independent claims 1, 10, and 16. Next, on pages 13-14, Applicant provides a high-level summary of elements in each of the Wong, Priyanto, and Elshafie references.
Starting on page 15, Applicant argues that Wong does not disclose the amended limitation regarding receiving an indication which controls whether the apparatus should remain in a current power state. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As noted in the rejection below, the EH-UE receives an RRC release message from the network that indicates whether (or not) the UE should remain in the current state. In particular, the RRC release message indicates that the UE should not stay in the current (connected) state, and should change to the idle state. Thus, this message is reasonably interpreted as controlling whether (or not) the UE should remain in the current state. For this reason, Examiner maintains that the combination of Wong, Priyanto, and Elshafie renders the currently amended claims obvious as articulated in detail in the rejection below.
On pages 16-18, Applicant argues that Priyanto and Elshafie do not disclose the amended limitation in the independent claims and also argues that the dependent claims are thus allowable as well. As noted above, Examiner finds that Wong discloses the amended limitation and thus maintains that the combination of Wong, Priyanto, and Elshafie renders the currently amended claims obvious.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, 9, 16-19, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong et al (US 2025/0071682) in view of Priyanto et al (US 2024/0349194) in view of Elshafie et al (US 2025/0063626).
Regarding claim 1: Wong discloses an apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor (see controller 44 in Figure 3, for example); and
at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform (see [0041], for example, which explains that the processor may “carry out instructions, which are stored on a computer readable medium…”)
sending a message to a network indicating either a power state transition or non-transition, wherein the power state transition corresponds to the apparatus transitioning from a first power state to a second power state based on an available energy of the apparatus (disclosed throughout; see the blackout messages in Figure 7-16, for example; see [0072], for example, which discloses that “…when the UE detects that it is about to enter a blackout state, the UE transmits a blackout message to the infrastructure equipment…”; the first state is the state prior to the blackout state (normal RRC idle mode, for example), and the second state is the blackout state; the first and second states can also be reversed as the UE may transmit a “blackout complete” message when leaving the blackout state as indicated in [0080], for example; the transition from the first state to the second state is based on an available energy of the apparatus as indicated throughout; for example, see [0071], for example, which indicates that the UE determines it will enter a blackout state when it determines “that an amount of energy which is available from the energy storage device will be insufficient for operating the transceiver circuitry to receive signals transmitted from an infrastructure equipment of the wireless communications network in an inactive mode”), wherein the power state transition defines a capability of the apparatus (disclosed throughout; as indicated in [0071], for example, the transition to the blackout state (power state transition) defines a capability of the UE; that is, the capability of the UE is that “the user equipment cannot receive signals transmitted from the infrastructure equipment for a blackout period” due to “energy storage” that is “insufficient for operating the transceiver circuitry”; further, different levels or types of blackouts (such as one or more types of “partial blackout”) are applied based on different capabilities of the apparatus (see [0085]-[0086] and Figures 11-12, for example); that is, the state transition to the blackout state or one of the partial blackout states defines the capability of the UE (as either the UE cannot operate the transceiver, or the UE can only receive some signals, but not others)), and wherein a type of service received by the apparatus is restricted to certain services based on the capability of the apparatus (when the capability of the UE is such that “the UE may be able to receive some signals but not others, for example the UE may have sufficient energy to receive SSB (for synchronisation) but may not have sufficient energy to monitor for a paging message…” (see [0085] and Figures 11 and 12), the UE may enter a partial blackout state where the type of service is restricted to SSB, but not paging); and
receiving an information message from the network in accordance with the power state transition (disclosed throughout; see Figure 8, for example, which discloses that the network sends a paging message (see t8 and t9) in accordance with the power state (the paging message is delayed in accordance with the blackout state)), and
receiving, from the network, an indication which controls whether the apparatus should remain in a current power state (disclosed throughout; for example, consider the RRC Release message discussed throughout; this message indicates to the EH-UE to change power states from the connected mode/state to the idle mode/state; for example, see Figure 6 and [0067]-[0068], for example, which indicates that the RRC release message “disconnects the UE and puts it in Idle Mode”; this message is reasonably interpreted as “an indication which controls whether the apparatus should remain in a current power state”; that is, when the RRC release message is received, it controls whether the UE should remain in the active state (indicating that it should not remain in the active state)).
Wong does not explicitly disclose the limitations of receiving at least one threshold setting from the network, wherein the power state transition is based on the at least one threshold setting. However, Priyanto discloses a similar system including an energy harvesting UE that enters a “gap period” with “no communication” (see Figure 6, for example). This “gap period” (for performing an energy harvesting or charging operation) is similar to the blackout period of Wong. Further, Priyanto discloses in at least [0102] that the threshold used for determining when energy harvesting (and thus the “gap period” (blackout state)) occurs may be transmitted in configuration information from the network/gNB to the UE (“the gNB provides configuration information to support the UE's EH gap operation. This can be broadcasted to the UE, for example, to support energy harvesting. This may include, for example, the stored energy level threshold at which energy harvesting occurs.”). The rationale for doing so would have been to increase the network flexibility by enabling the network to provide control or input into how low the UE’s available storage falls before triggering energy harvesting/charging.
Wong, modified, does not explicitly disclose the limitations of receiving, from a network, an on-demand power state request for a power state of the apparatus or the limitation that the sending of a message to the network indicating either a power state transition or non-transition is performed in response to the on-demand power state request. However, Elshafie discloses a similar system for notifying a network of the energy level of a power source (such as a battery) in the UE. Further, Elshafie introduces a method for utilizing such communication regarding the energy level of a power source during a DRX cycle. For example, see [0165] and Figure 7 of Elshafie, which indicates that the network transmits a request (such as a WUI (wake-up indication) that includes an indication both that the network “has pending data” and a “request for feedback” including “an energy level of a power source associated with the UE 115-h”. In response to the WUI, the UE may transmit a WUN (wake-up notification) that may indicate “an energy state associated with the UE 115-h” (see [0167], for example). Further, Elshafie discloses in [0168] that the UE may “indicate a time interval for energy harvesting to be performed by the UE 115-h” to allow the network that the UE “will go offline and occupy a sleep state for X cycles”. This state is very similar to the blackout state of Wong. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wong, modified, to implement a similar blackout state within a DRX cycle such that the UE sends the power state transition/non-transition in response to a request from the network such as a WUI. The rationale for doing so would have been to “prevent wasting network resources as well as the loss of data transmissions” as suggested by Elshafie, while also providing the benefits of DRX including fast response by the UE while still conserving power.
Regarding claim 16: Wong discloses a method, comprising:
sending, by a user equipment, a message to a network indicating either a power state transition or non-transition, wherein the power state transition corresponds to the user equipment transitioning from a first power state to a second power state based on an available energy of the user equipment (disclosed throughout; see the blackout messages in Figure 7-16, for example; see [0072], for example, which discloses that “…when the UE detects that it is about to enter a blackout state, the UE transmits a blackout message to the infrastructure equipment…”; the first state is the state prior to the blackout state (normal RRC idle mode, for example), and the second state is the blackout state; the first and second states can also be reversed as the UE may transmit a “blackout complete” message when leaving the blackout state as indicated in [0080], for example; the transition from the first state to the second state is based on an available energy of the apparatus as indicated throughout; for example, see [0071], for example, which indicates that the UE determines it will enter a blackout state when it determines “that an amount of energy which is available from the energy storage device will be insufficient for operating the transceiver circuitry to receive signals transmitted from an infrastructure equipment of the wireless communications network in an inactive mode”), wherein the power state transition defines a capability of the user equipment (disclosed throughout; as indicated in [0071], for example, the transition to the blackout state (power state transition) defines a capability of the UE; that is, the capability of the UE is that “the user equipment cannot receive signals transmitted from the infrastructure equipment for a blackout period” due to “energy storage” that is “insufficient for operating the transceiver circuitry”; further, different levels or types of blackouts (such as one or more types of “partial blackout”) are applied based on different capabilities of the apparatus; that is, the state transition to the blackout state or one of the partial blackout states defines the capability of the UE (as either the UE cannot operate the transceiver, or the UE can only receive some signals, but not others)), and wherein a type of service received by the apparatus is restricted to certain services based on the capability of the apparatus (when the capability of the UE is such that “the UE may be able to receive some signals but not others, for example the UE may have sufficient energy to receive SSB (for synchronisation) but may not have sufficient energy to monitor for a paging message…” (see [0085] and Figures 11 and 12), the UE may enter a partial blackout state where the type of service is restricted to SSB, but not paging); and
receiving, by the user equipment, an information message from the network in accordance with the power state transition (disclosed throughout; see Figure 8, for example, which discloses that the network sends a paging message (see t8 and t9) in accordance with the power state (the paging message is delayed in accordance with the blackout state)), and
receiving, from the network, an indication which controls whether the apparatus should remain in a current power state (disclosed throughout; for example, consider the RRC Release message discussed throughout; this message indicates to the EH-UE to change power states from the connected mode/state to the idle mode/state; for example, see Figure 6 and [0067]-[0068], for example, which indicates that the RRC release message “disconnects the UE and puts it in Idle Mode”; this message is reasonably interpreted as “an indication which controls whether the apparatus should remain in a current power state”; that is, when the RRC release message is received, it controls whether the UE should remain in the active state (indicating that it should not remain in the active state)).
Wong does not explicitly disclose the limitations of receiving at least one threshold setting from the network, wherein the power state transition is based on the at least one threshold setting. However, Priyanto discloses a similar system including an energy harvesting UE that enters a “gap period” with “no communication” (see Figure 6, for example). This “gap period” (for performing an energy harvesting or charging operation) is similar to the blackout period of Wong. Further, Priyanto discloses in at least [0102] that the threshold used for determining when energy harvesting (and thus the “gap period” (blackout state)) occurs may be transmitted in configuration information from the network/gNB to the UE (“the gNB provides configuration information to support the UE's EH gap operation. This can be broadcasted to the UE, for example, to support energy harvesting. This may include, for example, the stored energy level threshold at which energy harvesting occurs.”). The rationale for doing so would have been to increase the network flexibility by enabling the network to provide control or input into how low the UE’s available storage falls before triggering energy harvesting/charging.
Wong, modified, does not explicitly disclose the limitations of receiving, from a network, an on-demand power state request for a power state of the apparatus or the limitation that the sending of a message to the network indicating either a power state transition or non-transition is performed in response to the on-demand power state request. However, Elshafie discloses a similar system for notifying a network of the energy level of a power source (such as a battery) in the UE. Further, Elshafie introduces a method for utilizing such communication regarding the energy level of a power source during a DRX cycle. For example, see [0165] and Figure 7 of Elshafie, which indicates that the network transmits a request (such as a WUI (wake-up indication) that includes an indication both that the network “has pending data” and a “request for feedback” including “an energy level of a power source associated with the UE 115-h”. In response to the WUI, the UE may transmit a WUN (wake-up notification) that may indicate “an energy state associated with the UE 115-h” (see [0167], for example). Further, Elshafie discloses in [0168] that the UE may “indicate a time interval for energy harvesting to be performed by the UE 115-h” to allow the network that the UE “will go offline and occupy a sleep state for X cycles”. This state is very similar to the blackout state of Wong. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wong, modified, to implement a similar blackout state within a DRX cycle such that the UE sends the power state transition/non-transition in response to a request from the network such as a WUI. The rationale for doing so would have been to “prevent wasting network resources as well as the loss of data transmissions” as suggested by Elshafie, while also providing the benefits of DRX including fast response by the UE while still conserving power.
Regarding claims 2 and 17: Wong discloses the limitations that the information message comprises paging, data transmission, or small data transmission (disclosed throughout; as indicated above, the message transmitted at time t8 is a paging message).
Regarding claims 3 and 18: Wong discloses the limitation of determining whether to transition the apparatus from the first power state to the second power state based on the available energy (disclosed throughout; see [0071], for example, which indicates that the UE determines it will enter a blackout state when it determines “that an amount of energy which is available from the energy storage device will be insufficient for operating the transceiver circuitry to receive signals transmitted from an infrastructure equipment of the wireless communications network in an inactive mode”).
Regarding claims 4 and 19: Wong discloses the limitation that the available energy comprises energy harvested during a predetermined period or stored energy (disclosed throughout; see [0059] and [0063], for example, which discloses that the devices (such as the UE) store harvested energy; thus, the available energy is both energy harvested during a previous predetermined blackout period for harvesting and is also stored energy).
Regarding claims 8 and 23: Wong, modified, discloses the limitations of parent claims 1 and 16 as indicated above. Wong does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claims 8 and 23 of receiving an on-demand power state transition message from the network, wherein the power state transition is based on the on-demand power state transition message. However, Priyanto discloses a similar system including an energy harvesting UE that enters a “gap period” with “no communication” (see Figure 6, for example). This “gap period” (for performing an energy harvesting or charging operation) is similar to the blackout period of Wong. Further, Priyanto discloses in [0081] that the “charging operation (during the EH gap) may be initiated by the UE itself or by the network (e.g. by an instruction to the UE issued by the gNB)”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wong such that the blackout period for charging is initiated using a message (an on-demand power state transition message) from the network (such as the message from the gNB in Priyanto). The rationale for doing so would have been to increase the network flexibility by enabling the network to provide control or input into the timing of the charging (for situations where the network has advance knowledge of upcoming communications that will require the UEs to be more fully charged).
Regarding claims 9 and 24: Wong discloses the limitation that the first power state and the second power state each comprises a different one of a power inactive state, a low power active state, and a full power active state (disclosed throughout; for example, consider [0088], which discloses that the first power state may be an active mode/state (either low power active state or full power active state) and the second power state may be the idle mode/state (for energy harvesting and thus the blackout state)).
Claims 10, 11, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong et al (US 2025/0071682) in view of Elshafie et al (US 2025/0063626).
Regarding claim 10: Wong discloses an apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor (see controller 34 of Figure 3; see also [0245]-[0246], which indicates that the other network elements also comprise at least a processor and memory); and
at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform (see [0041], for example, which explains that the processor may “carry out instructions, which are stored on a computer readable medium…”; see also [0245]-[0246], which indicates that the other network elements also comprise at least a processor and memory)
receiving a message indicating a power state transition of a user equipment (disclosed throughout; see the blackout messages in Figure 7-16, for example; see [0072], for example, which discloses that “…when the UE detects that it is about to enter a blackout state, the UE transmits a blackout message to the infrastructure equipment…”; the first state is the state prior to the blackout state (normal RRC idle mode, for example), and the second state is the blackout state; the first and second states can also be reversed as the UE may transmit a “blackout complete” message when leaving the blackout state as indicated in [0080], for example), wherein the power state transition defines a capability of the user equipment (disclosed throughout; as indicated in [0071], for example, the transition to the blackout state (power state transition) defines a capability of the UE; that is, the capability of the UE is that “the user equipment cannot receive signals transmitted from the infrastructure equipment for a blackout period” due to “energy storage” that is “insufficient for operating the transceiver circuitry”; further, different levels or types of blackouts (such as one or more types of “partial blackout”) are applied based on different capabilities of the apparatus (see [0085]-[0086] and Figures 11-12, for example); that is, the state transition to the blackout state or one of the partial blackout states defines the capability of the UE (as either the UE cannot operate the transceiver, or the UE can only receive some signals, but not others));
adjusting scheduling of the user equipment in accordance with the power state transition by (disclosed throughout; as one example, see [0078], for example, which indicates that “at t2 the UE informs the network that it will go into blackout at TStart after time t2 for a duration of TBlackout, i.e. the blackout period is between time t5 to t7. The network receives a message for the UE at time t6 and since it is aware that the UE is still in the blackout state, it delays the paging until time t8”; the delay of the paging message is adjusting the scheduling), by restricting a type of service received by the user equipment to certain services based on the capability of the user equipment (when the capability of the UE is such that “the UE may be able to receive some signals but not others, for example the UE may have sufficient energy to receive SSB (for synchronisation) but may not have sufficient energy to monitor for a paging message…” (see [0085] and Figures 11 and 12), the UE may enter a partial blackout state where the type of service is restricted to SSB, but not paging); and
sending an information message to the user equipment in accordance with the adjusted scheduling (disclosed throughout; see Figure 8, for example, which discloses that the network sends a paging message (see t8 and t9) in accordance with the power state (the paging message is delayed in accordance with the blackout state)), wherein a type of the information message is restricted based on the capability of the user equipment (disclosed throughout; see [0078], for example, which indicates that a type of information message (such as a paging type message) is restricted based on the capability of the UE (the paging type of message is not transmitted during the blackout period based on the UE’s capability being such that is cannot operate the transceiver circuitry)), and
sending, to the user equipment, an indication which controls whether the user equipment should remain in a current power state (disclosed throughout; for example, consider the RRC Release message discussed throughout; this message indicates to the EH-UE to change power states from the connected mode/state to the idle mode/state; for example, see Figure 6 and [0067]-[0068], for example, which indicates that the RRC release message “disconnects the UE and puts it in Idle Mode”; this message is reasonably interpreted as “an indication which controls whether the apparatus should remain in a current power state”; that is, when the RRC release message is received, it controls whether the UE should remain in the active state (indicating that it should not remain in the active state)).
Wong, modified, does not explicitly disclose the limitations of sending, to a user equipment, an on-demand power state request for a power state of the user equipment or the limitation that the receiving of a message to the network indicating either a power state transition or non-transition is performed in response to the on-demand power state request. However, Elshafie discloses a similar system for notifying a network of the energy level of a power source (such as a battery) in the UE. Further, Elshafie introduces a method for utilizing such communication regarding the energy level of a power source during a DRX cycle. For example, see [0165] and Figure 7 of Elshafie, which indicates that the network transmits a request (such as a WUI (wake-up indication) that includes an indication both that the network “has pending data” and a “request for feedback” including “an energy level of a power source associated with the UE 115-h”. In response to the WUI, the UE may transmit a WUN (wake-up notification) that may indicate “an energy state associated with the UE 115-h” (see [0167], for example). Further, Elshafie discloses in [0168] that the UE may “indicate a time interval for energy harvesting to be performed by the UE 115-h” to allow the network that the UE “will go offline and occupy a sleep state for X cycles”. This state is very similar to the blackout state of Wong. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wong, modified, to implement a similar blackout state within a DRX cycle such that the UE sends the power state transition/non-transition in response to a request from the network such as a WUI. The rationale for doing so would have been to “prevent wasting network resources as well as the loss of data transmissions” as suggested by Elshafie, while also providing the benefits of DRX including fast response by the UE while still conserving power.
Regarding claim 11: Wong discloses the limitations of parent claim 10 as indicated above. Wong does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 11 of sending at least one threshold setting to the user equipment, wherein the at least one threshold setting corresponds to the power state transition. However, Priyanto discloses a similar system including an energy harvesting UE that enters a “gap period” with “no communication” (see Figure 6, for example). This “gap period” (for performing an energy harvesting or charging operation) is similar to the blackout period of Wong. Further, Priyanto discloses in at least [0102] that the threshold used for determining when energy harvesting (and thus the “gap period” (blackout state)) occurs may be transmitted in configuration information from the network/gNB to the UE (“the gNB provides configuration information to support the UE's EH gap operation. This can be broadcasted to the UE, for example, to support energy harvesting. This may include, for example, the stored energy level threshold at which energy harvesting occurs.”). The rationale for doing so would have been to increase the network flexibility by enabling the network to provide control or input into how low the UE’s available storage falls before triggering energy harvesting/charging.
Regarding claim 14: Wong, modified, discloses the limitations of parent claim 10 as indicated above. Wong does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 14 of sending an on-demand power state transition message to the user equipment, wherein the message indicating the power state transition is responsive to the on-demand power state transition message. However, Priyanto discloses a similar system including an energy harvesting UE that enters a “gap period” with “no communication” (see Figure 6, for example). This “gap period” (for performing an energy harvesting or charging operation) is similar to the blackout period of Wong. Further, Priyanto discloses in [0081] that the “charging operation (during the EH gap) may be initiated by the UE itself or by the network (e.g. by an instruction to the UE issued by the gNB)”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wong such that the blackout period for charging is initiated using a message (an on-demand power state transition message) from the network (such as the message from the gNB in Priyanto). The rationale for doing so would have been to increase the network flexibility by enabling the network to provide control or input into the timing of the charging (for situations where the network has advance knowledge of upcoming communications that will require the UEs to be more fully charged).
Regarding claim 15: Wong discloses the limitation that the power state transition comprises a transition from a first power state to a second power state (see [0072], for example, which discloses that “…when the UE detects that it is about to enter a blackout state, the UE transmits a blackout message to the infrastructure equipment…”; the first state is the state prior to the blackout state (normal RRC idle mode, for example), and the second state is the blackout state; the first and second states can also be reversed as the network may transmit a “blackout complete” message when leaving the blackout state as indicated in [0080], for example), the first power state and the second power state each comprising a different one of a power inactive state, a low power active state, and a full power active state (disclosed throughout; for example, consider [0088], which discloses that the first power state may be an active mode/state (either low power active state or full power active state) and the second power state may be the idle mode/state (for energy harvesting and thus the blackout state)).
Claims 6 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong et al (US 2025/0071682) in view of Priyanto et al (US 2024/0349194) in view of Elshafie et al (US 2025/0063626) in view of Yamamoto et al (US 2015/0004975).
Regarding claims 6 and 21: Wong, modified, discloses the limitations of parent claims 5 and 20 as indicated above. Wong does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claims 6 and 21 of receiving a plurality of offset settings from the network; applying one of the plurality of offset settings to a corresponding threshold of the at least one threshold setting when transitioning from the first power state to the second power state; and applying another of the plurality of offset settings to the corresponding threshold when transitioning from the second power state to the first power state. However, the use of offsets (often called hysteresis values) to adjust thresholds and prevent “ping-ponging” is known in the art. Consider Yamamoto, for example, which discloses adjusting thresholds by a different hysteresis value in each “direction”. Consider Figure 11, for example, which discloses a threshold “Th” that is to be evaluated relative to the reception power (on the y-axis). In the “positive direction”, a first state or action is determined when the value of the reception power is above a threshold. Similarly, in the “negative direction”, a second state or action is determined when the value of the reception power is below a threshold. If a single threshold is used in each direction, a “ping-pong” effect may occur when the reception power repeatedly crosses the threshold. To prevent this, an offset or hysteresis value (HS) is used in each direction. The transition from the first state to the second state (at time T1 in Figure 11) is determined when the reception power exceeds Th+HS. The transition from the second state to the first state (at time T4 in Figure 11) is determined when the reception power drops below Th-HS. As indicated in [0224], for example, the value of the offset/hysteresis HS can be different in each direction (“a hysteresis HS is set in each of positive and negative directions with respect to a threshold Th”). Further, the value of hysteresis is configurable/adjustable as indicated in [0254], for example, which indicates that handover timing can be changed by “adjusting the hysteresis”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wong to include a plurality of offset values (hysteresis) to be applied to the threshold in each direction (from the first power state to the second power state and from the second to the first power state). It would have further been obvious to include these offset/hysteresis values in the configuration message that includes the threshold discussed above in the combination of Wong and Priyanto. The rationale for doing so would have been to prevent ping-ponging into and out of a charging/energy harvesting blackout state.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong et al (US 2025/0071682) in view of Elshafie et al (US 2025/0063626) in view of Yamamoto et al (US 2015/0004975).
Regarding claim 12: Wong, modified, discloses the limitations of parent claim 11 as indicated above. Wong does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 12 of sending a plurality of offset settings to the user equipment, wherein one of the plurality of offset settings is applicable to transitioning from the first power state to the second power state and another of the plurality of offset settings is applicable to transitioning from the second power state to the first power state. However, the use of offsets (often called hysteresis values) to adjust thresholds and prevent “ping-ponging” is known in the art. Consider Yamamoto, for example, which discloses adjusting thresholds by a different hysteresis value in each “direction”. Consider Figure 11, for example, which discloses a threshold “Th” that is to be evaluated relative to the reception power (on the y-axis). In the “positive direction”, a first state or action is determined when the value of the reception power is above a threshold. Similarly, in the “negative direction”, a second state or action is determined when the value of the reception power is below a threshold. If a single threshold is used in each direction, a “ping-pong” effect may occur when the reception power repeatedly crosses the threshold. To prevent this, an offset or hysteresis value (HS) is used in each direction. The transition from the first state to the second state (at time T1 in Figure 11) is determined when the reception power exceeds Th+HS. The transition from the second state to the first state (at time T4 in Figure 11) is determined when the reception power drops below Th-HS. As indicated in [0224], for example, the value of the offset/hysteresis HS can be different in each direction (“a hysteresis HS is set in each of positive and negative directions with respect to a threshold Th”). Further, the value of hysteresis is configurable/adjustable as indicated in [0254], for example, which indicates that handover timing can be changed by “adjusting the hysteresis”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wong to include a plurality of offset values (hysteresis) to be applied to the threshold in each direction (from the first power state to the second power state and from the second to the first power state). It would have further been obvious to include these offset/hysteresis values in the configuration message that includes the threshold discussed above in the combination of Wong and Priyanto. The rationale for doing so would have been to prevent ping-ponging into and out of a charging/energy harvesting blackout state.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Robert C. Scheibel
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/Robert C Scheibel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 August 17, 2026