DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 01/16/2026 are entered for prosecution. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. The amendments change the scopes of the previously presented claims. New grounds of rejections are applied to the amended claims and the current Office Action is made FINAL as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection in the claims previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims 15-20 have overcome each and every rejection based on 35 USC § 112 to the claims previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action.
Examiner notes that the applicant did not amend claim 13. Therefore, the rejection based on 35 USC § 112 to claim 13 in the previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action is sustained.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 in a reply filed 01/16/2026 (hereinafter, Remarks) regarding newly added limitations have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the references being used in the current rejection.
The applicant contends that none of the references teaches the combination of “(Remarks Page 7) activating a selected second protocol stack associated with the target cell upon deactivating the first protocol stack associated with the source cell”.
However, the examiner disagrees. DA SILVA discloses:
performing a layer-2 triggered mobility (LTM) handover procedure to the target cell ([0223] the UE receiving a lower layer signaling like a MACE CE and, upon reception, performing inter-cell mobility… That also comprises the UE switching from a current configuration to a new configuration, according to the new target) by activating the target cell upon deactivating the source cell ([0170] In the mobility case, only one SpCell may be activate at the UE 120. Hence, upon mobility the UE 120 changes what is the activate configuration, depending which SpCell is considered as activated; [0220] to enable mobility using more signaling efficient and fast lower layer signaling i.e. UE deactivates a TCI state associated to one cell (e.g., source cell) and activates a TCI state associated to another cell (e.g., target cell); [0219] for multi-TRP transmissions where the UE may be connected simultaneously to multiple cells... instead of changing from one cell to another the UE would add and/or remove, activate and/or deactivate, a cell using lower layer signaling, i.e. signaling in a protocol layer below RRC like PDCP, RLC, MAC or physical layer (PHY) signaling; [0223] the UE receiving a lower layer signaling... upon reception, performing inter-cell mobility… That also comprises the UE switching from a current configuration to a new configuration, according to the new target).
DA SILVA does not explicitly disclose a selected second protocol stack is associated with target cell and the first protocol stack is associated with the source cell.
However, KIM discloses a selected second protocol stack is associated with target cell (Fig. 23B; target cell; [0414] the base station may provide the configuration for the multiple active protocol stacks via an RRC reconfiguration message) and a first protocol stack is associated with the source cell (Fig. 23B; source cell; [0322] The dual protocol stacks in FIG. 23B may comprise ... two RLC layers, two MAC layers and two physical layers; [0382] The UE may initiate a RRC procedure to establish an RRC connection (e.g., a random access procedure) with a cell 1 using a first and a cell 2 using the second protocol stack).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the LTM handover procedure of DA SILVA to include the selected second protocol stack is associated with target cell and the first protocol stack is associated with the source cell as taught by KIM. This allows UE to support multiple protocol stacks which enables the UE to switch cells more efficiently and deactivate the old source base station (DA SILVA – [0220] All solutions have in common the fact that they comprise the UE receiving a set of configurations from the network, e.g. PDCCH and PDSCH configurations and associated TCI states, to enable mobility using more signaling efficient and fast lower layer signaling i.e. UE deactivates a TCI state associated to one cell and activates a TCI state associated to another cell), thus reducing power consumption (KIM – [0352] The UE may deactivate on protocol stacks and keep another protocol stack when a procedure using the another protocol stack is successfully completed. This may reduce signals and power consumption of the UE by minimizing a time to maintain the multiple protocol stacks).
Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Regarding independent claim 15, the applicant submits the same arguments as presented in claim 1. Thus, examiner applies the same reasoning as presented in claim 1. Similarly, examiner applies the same reasoning for dependent claims 2-14 and 16-20.
Claim Interpretation
4. Regarding claims 1-20:
The broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of “layer-2 triggered mobility (LTM)” recited in independent claims 1 and 15 includes any mobility features where the lower layers, such as the MAC layer (layer 2), manages the switching beams or cells based on L1 measurements and reports. The specification states that “[0023] For L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility with beam management, also known as the layer-2 triggered mobility (LTM)”. Therefore, a UE receiving a lower layer signaling such as a MAC CE and, upon reception, performing inter-cell mobility/handover (DA SILVA [0144] a mobility mechanism (inter-cell mobility) relying on lower layer signaling, i.e. in a protocol layer below RRC (also referred to as a protocol layer equal to or below MAC CE), like using a MAC CE where the UE may change cells, e.g. move from one beam from one cell to another beam from another cell, by an indication not involving RRC signaling or any other higher layer protocols i.e. above the MAC protocol in the stack, for example, via MAC CEs) is considered a layer-2 triggered mobility.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites “the source timer is configured for each cell”. It is unclear whether “each cell” of claim 13 is referring to “multiple candidate cells” in claim 1, “the source cell and the target cell” in claim 1, or alternatively, “each cell” can be interpreted as “a cell”. For the purpose of examination, “each cell” in claim 13 is interpreted as “a cell”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1, 2, 4-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DA SILVA et al. (US 20230007499 A1, hereinafter DA SILVA) in view of Kim et al (US 20220264680 A1, hereinafter KIM).
Regarding claim 1, DA SILVA discloses:
A method for a user equipment (UE) (Abstract - A method performed by a User Equipment), comprising:
receiving, by the UE, a pre-configuration for multiple candidate cells in a wireless network (Abstract - The UE receives from a network node, a higher layer configuration comprising a set of SpCell configurations, to be configured in the UE; [0164]“a set of SpCell(s)” which means that the set comprises a set of candidate cells; Fig. 15 - 1501), wherein the UE is connected with a first distributed unit (DU) of a source cell ([0210] While the UE 120 is in connected state, the network node 110 (source cell) transmits a lower layer signaling (lower layer signaling is handled by a DU) to the UE 120; [0212] In some embodiments, a source network node (e.g. a DU, baseband unit, etc.) transmits the lower layer signaling to activate an SpCell from the configured set of SpCells and at least one TCI state associated to one of its configured SpCell candidates) through a first protocol stack (Fig. 5 shows the lower layer signaling is in a protocol stack which is handled by the DU; [0144] a mobility mechanism (inter-cell mobility) relying on lower layer signaling, i.e. in a protocol layer below RRC (also referred to as a protocol layer equal to or below MAC CE), like using a MAC CE where the UE may change cells… by an indication not involving RRC signaling or any other higher layer protocols i.e. above the MAC protocol in the stack, for example, via MAC CEs);
performing inter-cell mobility upon receiving a cell switch command to a target cell ([0212] a source network node (e.g. a DU, baseband unit, etc.) transmits the lower layer signaling to activate (request/command) an SpCell (target cell) from the configured set of SpCells and at least one TCI state associated to one of its configured SpCell candidates; ([0223] the UE receiving a lower layer signaling like a MACE CE (MAC CE contains a cell switch command) and, upon reception, performing inter-cell mobility i.e. a procedure similar to a reconfiguration with sync, handover or PSCell change); and
configuring at least one second configuration based on the pre-configuration, wherein a radio link control (RLC) entity corresponding to the second configuration is configured for one corresponding candidate cell ([0164] the UE 120 receives e.g. from the network node 110, a higher layer configuration with a set of one or multiple SpCell configurations. [0165] The set of SpCell configurations comprises UE-specific configurations i.e. configurations that are considered active, or “current”, for the set of SpCell(s) and remain active as long as the UE 120 moves between cells in the configured set of SpCell(s); [0175] These different solutions for the signaling reflect different alternatives to consider what may be common configurations for the set of SpCell(s), e.g. bearer configurations, all configurations above the MAC layer (RLC layer is above the MAC layer – see Fig. 5), like PDPC configurations, etc. These may be set specific or UE-specific, as called above. And, consequently, which configurations are to be considered UE-specific so that when the UE 120 moves across the set of SpCell(s) it remains using the same configuration for these UE-specific parameters);
performing a layer-2 triggered mobility (LTM) handover procedure to the target cell ([0223] the UE receiving a lower layer signaling like a MACE CE and, upon reception, performing inter-cell mobility… That also comprises the UE switching from a current configuration to a new configuration, according to the new target) by activating the target cell upon deactivating the source cell ([0170] In the mobility case, only one SpCell may be activate at the UE 120. Hence, upon mobility the UE 120 changes what is the activate configuration, depending which SpCell is considered as activated; [0220] to enable mobility using more signaling efficient and fast lower layer signaling i.e. UE deactivates a TCI state associated to one cell (e.g., source cell) and activates a TCI state associated to another cell (e.g., target cell); [0219] for multi-TRP transmissions where the UE may be connected simultaneously to multiple cells... instead of changing from one cell to another the UE would add and/or remove, activate and/or deactivate, a cell using lower layer signaling, i.e. signaling in a protocol layer below RRC like PDCP, RLC, MAC or physical layer (PHY) signaling; [0223] the UE receiving a lower layer signaling... upon reception, performing inter-cell mobility… That also comprises the UE switching from a current configuration to a new configuration, according to the new target).
DA SILVA does not explicitly disclose configuring a cell switch (CS) bearer, wherein the CS bearer is associated to the source cell and the target cell; wherein the second configuration includes a second protocol stack, wherein each of the RLC entity of each corresponding second protocol stack is configured; and a selected second protocol stack is associated with target cell and the first protocol stack is associated with the source cell.
However, KIM discloses configuring a cell switch (CS) bearer ([0321] PDCP entity; [0082] PDCPs 214 and 224 may perform mapping/de-mapping between a split radio bearer and RLC channels in a dual connectivity scenario), wherein the CS bearer is associated with a source cell and a target cell (Fig. 23B; [0321] A UE may support dual active protocol stacks. A base station may send a handover command message for a reduction in user data interruption (RUDI). Based on the handover command message for the RUDI, the UE may perform a handover procedure to a target base station and maintain connection with both a source base station and a target base station. The UE may have common PDCP entity associated with two RLC, MAC and PHY protocol stacks;);
wherein a second configuration includes a second protocol stack (Fig. 23; [0414] the base station may provide the configuration for the multiple active protocol stacks via an RRC reconfiguration message… the UE may activate multiple active protocol stacks for the handover procedure), wherein each of the RLC entity of each corresponding second protocol stack (Fig. 23B – Target cell RLC entity) is configured (Fig. 23B; Fig. 30; [0382] The UE may initiate the procedure with a cell 1 on a first active protocol stack... based on the activation condition being met, the UE may the multiple active protocol stacks. Based on activating the multiple active protocol stacks, the UE may activate a second protocol stack. The UE may initiate the RRC procedure to establish an RRC connection (e.g., a random access procedure) with a cell 2 using the second protocol stack; [0385] based on receiving a reporting that the random access procedure does not successfully complete, the UE may determine to find another cell to initiate a random access procedure. Based on The UE may configure a signaling radio bearer (e.g., SRB0) or a logical channel of the signaling radio bearer (e.g., CCCH) for the first random access procedure on the first cell. Based on the receiving the response of the second random access preamble, the UE may stop the first random access procedure and deactivate a first protocol stack. Based on the receiving the response of the second random access preamble, the UE may change the signaling radio bearer (e.g., SRB0) or the logical channel of the signaling radio bearer (e.g., CCCH) from the first cell to the second cell); and
a selected second protocol stack is associated with target cell (Fig. 23B; target cell) and a first protocol stack is associated with the source cell (Fig. 23B; source cell; [0322] The dual protocol stacks in FIG. 23B may comprise ... two RLC layers, two MAC layers and two physical layers; [0382] The UE may initiate a RRC procedure to establish an RRC connection (e.g., a random access procedure) with a cell 1 using a first and a cell 2 using the second protocol stack).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the cell switch command, the second configuration, and the LTM handover procedure of DA SILVA to include the CS bearer, wherein the second configuration includes the second protocol stack, and the selected second protocol stack is associated with target cell and the first protocol stack is associated with the source cell as taught by KIM. This allows UE to support multiple protocol stacks which enables the UE to switch cells more efficiently and deactivate the old source base station (DA SILVA – [0220] All solutions have in common the fact that they comprise the UE receiving a set of configurations from the network, e.g. PDCCH and PDSCH configurations and associated TCI states, to enable mobility using more signaling efficient and fast lower layer signaling i.e. UE deactivates a TCI state associated to one cell and activates a TCI state associated to another cell), thus reducing power consumption (KIM – [0352] The UE may deactivate on protocol stacks and keep another protocol stack when a procedure using the another protocol stack is successfully completed. This may reduce signals and power consumption of the UE by minimizing a time to maintain the multiple protocol stacks).
Regarding claim 2, DA SILVA in view of KIM, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1.
DA SILVA further discloses:
wherein the target cell is served by the first DU ([0224] One relevant scenario where L1-based mobility may be applied is when multiple cells are deployed and defined in the same DU in the network side… even if the network would transmit an RRCReconfiguration message to indicate to the UE a handover, reconfiguration with sync, most of the UE-specific configurations of a source PCell and a target PCell could possibly remain the same after a handover reconfiguration with sync, including the TCI states configurations and other beam management related configurations).
Regarding claim 4, DA SILVA in view of KIM, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1.
DA SILVA further discloses:
wherein a second MAC entity is a MAC entity of a master cell group (MCG) MAC entity associated to a group of corresponding candidate cells ([0190] FIG. 16 illustrates one example of a Master Cell Group (MCG) configuration as described above for this last case where an SpCell and additional SpCell(s) are defined. The TCI state configurations may be included in the PCell-A (part of the SpCellConfig) and refer to additional SpCell(s); (it is implied that a MAC entity exists because there is a MAC entity for every cell groups (MCG, SCG, etc))).
DA SILVA does not explicitly disclose wherein the selected second protocol stack is the MAC entity associated to a group of RLC entities.
However, KIM discloses wherein the selected second protocol stack (Fig. 23B; target cell; Fig.39B;) is a MAC entity (Fig.39B – MAC; [0459] A UE-MAC layer may have one MAC entity of the first protocol stack and the second protocol stack as shown in FIG. 39) is associated to a group of RLC entities ([0458] FIG. 39 is an example illustration of implementation option IV of multiple active protocol stacks in UE to reduce latency and increase success probability... The common layers may comprise... and a MAC layer. The separate layers may comprise an RLC layer and a physical layer. A UE may configure a first protocol stack and a second protocol stack based on the common layers and the separate layers... For example, the UE-RRC layer may set an allowed cell 1 of the CCCH to the first cell and configure the allowed cell 1 to the RLC layer (entity) and/or the MAC layer (entity) of the CCCH. The UE-RRC layer may set... configure the allowed cell 2 to the RLC layer (entity) and/or the MAC layer (entity) of the CCCH2... For example, based on the allowed cell 2, the UE-MAC layer may generate MAC PDU of the allowed cell 2 and submit the MAC PDU to the physical layer (entity) of the first protocol stack (the first cell)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the second MAC entity of DA SILVA and KIM to include the selected second protocol stack is the MAC entity associated to the group of RLC entities as taught by KIM in order to support multiple protocol stacks which enables the UE to switch cells more efficiently and deactivate the old source base station (DA SILVA – [0220] All solutions have in common the fact that they comprise the UE receiving a set of configurations from the network, e.g. PDCCH and PDSCH configurations and associated TCI states, to enable mobility using more signaling efficient and fast lower layer signaling i.e. UE deactivates a TCI state associated to one cell and activates a TCI state associated to another cell), thus reducing power consumption (KIM – [0352] The UE may deactivate on protocol stacks and keep another protocol stack when a procedure using the another protocol stack is successfully completed. This may reduce signals and power consumption of the UE by minimizing a time to maintain the multiple protocol stacks).
Regarding claim 5, DA SILVA in view of KIM, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1.
DA SILVA further discloses:
performing the LTM handover procedure associated to the target cell upon receiving the cell switch command ([0223] the UE receiving a lower layer signaling like a MACE CE and, upon reception, performing inter-cell mobility i.e. a procedure similar to a reconfiguration with sync, handover or PSCell change. That also comprises the UE switching from a current configuration to a new configuration, according to the new target),and
wherein the activating and deactivating includes activating or deactivating at least one protocol layers or entities including PHY, MAC, RLC, and Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) ([0220] to enable mobility using more signaling efficient and fast lower layer signaling i.e. UE deactivates a TCI state associated to one cell (e.g., source cell) and activates a TCI state associated to another cell (e.g., target cell); [0219] for multi-TRP transmissions where the UE may be connected simultaneously to multiple cells... instead of changing from one cell to another the UE would add and/or remove, activate and/or deactivate, a cell using lower layer signaling, i.e. signaling in a protocol layer below RRC like PDCP, RLC, MAC or physical layer (PHY) signaling; [0223] the UE receiving a lower layer signaling... upon reception, performing inter-cell mobility… That also comprises the UE switching from a current configuration to a new configuration, according to the new target).
DA SILVA does not explicitly disclose wherein the LTM procedure establishes an RLC entity associated to the target cell for the selected second protocol stack, and the activating is associated to the selected second protocol stack and deactivating is associated to the first protocol stack.
However, KIM discloses a handover procedure establishes an RLC entity associated to the target cell (Fig. 23; [0321] A UE may support dual active protocol stacks. A base station may send a handover command message for a reduction in user data interruption (RUDI). Based on the handover command message for the RUDI, the UE may perform a handover procedure to a target base station and maintain connection with both a source base station and a target base station. The UE may have common PDCP entity associated with two RLC, MAC and PHY protocol stacks) for the selected second protocol stack (Fig. 23; [0414] the base station may provide the configuration for the multiple active protocol stacks via an RRC reconfiguration message… the UE may activate (establish) multiple active protocol stacks for the handover procedure)), and
the activating is associated to the selected second protocol stack and deactivating is associated to a first protocol stack (0384] Based on the activating the multiple active protocol stacks, the UE may activate a second protocol stack. The UE may initiate a second random access procedure on a cell 2 using the second protocol stack. The UE may send a second random access preamble to the cell 2 for the second random access procedure. The UE may receive one of responses of the first random access preamble or the second random access preamble... Based on receiving the response of the second random access preamble, the UE may deactivate the first protocol stack).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the LTM handover procedure and the activating and deactivating of DA SILVA to include the handover procedure and the activating is associated to the selected second protocol stack and the deactivating is associated to the first protocol stack as taught by KIM in order to support multiple protocol stacks which enables the UE to switch cells more efficiently and deactivate the old source base station (DA SILVA – [0220] All solutions have in common the fact that they comprise the UE receiving a set of configurations from the network, e.g. PDCCH and PDSCH configurations and associated TCI states, to enable mobility using more signaling efficient and fast lower layer signaling i.e. UE deactivates a TCI state associated to one cell and activates a TCI state associated to another cell), thus reducing power consumption (KIM – [0352] The UE may deactivate on protocol stacks and keep another protocol stack when a procedure using the another protocol stack is successfully completed. This may reduce signals and power consumption of the UE by minimizing a time to maintain the multiple protocol stacks).
Regarding claim 6, DA SILVA in view of KIM, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 5.
DA SILVA further discloses:
performing the LTM handover procedure associated to the target cell upon receiving the cell switch command ([0223] the UE receiving a lower layer signaling like a MACE CE and, upon reception, performing inter-cell mobility i.e. a procedure similar to a reconfiguration with sync, handover or PSCell change. That also comprises the UE switching from a current configuration to a new configuration, according to the new target).
DA SILVA does not explicitly disclose wherein the LTM procedure establishes a second MAC entity of the selected second protocol stack for the target cell.
However, KIM discloses a handover procedure establishes a MAC entity of the selected second protocol stack for the target cell (Fig. 23; [0321] A UE may support dual active protocol stacks. A base station may send a handover command message for a reduction in user data interruption (RUDI). Based on the handover command message for the RUDI, the UE may perform a handover procedure to a target base station and maintain connection with both a source base station and a target base station. The UE may have common PDCP entity associated with two RLC, MAC and PHY protocol stacks; Fig. 23; [0414] the base station may provide the configuration for the multiple active protocol stacks via an RRC reconfiguration message… the UE may activate (establish) multiple active protocol stacks for the handover procedure)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the LTM handover procedure of DA SILVA to include the handover procedure establishing the MAC entity of the selected second protocol stack for the target cell as taught by KIM in order to support multiple protocol stacks which enables the UE to switch cells more efficiently and deactivate the old source base station (DA SILVA – [0220] All solutions have in common the fact that they comprise the UE receiving a set of configurations from the network, e.g. PDCCH and PDSCH configurations and associated TCI states, to enable mobility using more signaling efficient and fast lower layer signaling i.e. UE deactivates a TCI state associated to one cell and activates a TCI state associated to another cell), thus reducing power consumption (KIM – [0352] The UE may deactivate on protocol stacks and keep another protocol stack when a procedure using the another protocol stack is successfully completed. This may reduce signals and power consumption of the UE by minimizing a time to maintain the multiple protocol stacks).
Regarding claim 7, DA SILVA in view of KIM, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1.
DA SILVA further discloses:
The LTM handover procedure [0223] the UE receiving a lower layer signaling like a MACE CE and, upon reception, performing inter-cell mobility i.e. a procedure similar to a reconfiguration with sync, handover or PSCell change. That also comprises the UE switching from a current configuration to a new configuration, according to the new target; The new configuration may contain some UE-specific configuration that is the same as the current configuration according to source i.e. that part of the configuration remains unchanged when the UE performs L1-based mobility) activates the second configuration associated to the target cell upon success of the LTM handover procedure ([0394] When UE receives the MAC CE for switching SpCell (i.e. activate an SpCell that is deactivated) the UE transmits an “acknowledgement indication”; [0398] Embodiments of the method comprises the transmission of that “acknowledgement indication”, e.g. a MAC in the uplink with the UE's configuration, using the UE-specific configurations and cell-specific configurations associated to the new SpCell that the UE is accessing i.e. the SpCell indicated in the downlink MAC CE received from the source SpCell) and keeps a current configuration to be associated to the source cell ([0265] UE may perform mobility via MAC CEs without the need of a re-configuration, i.e., via activation/deactivation of SpCell(s). In that example, if the UE receives a MAC CE activating one of the deactivated SpCells (target cell) the UE considers the cell being activated the new SpCell and applies the SpCell specific parameters (second configuration) (e.g. in this example these are the SpCellConfig in the list associated to the SpCell being activated). UE keeps the current configuration (contains source cell configuration) for the common parameters for the whole set, e.g. in this example above, the commonSpCellConfigSetConfig; [0258] according to the method the additional SpCell(s) have a common configuration, like ServingCellConfigCommon, and also the SpCell configuration, i.e. where the UE enters Connected. The reasoning is that when the UE performs L1-based mobility the UE may leave that cell and possibly come back. And, if it comes back it needs to have in its configuration the common configuration. That may be done by defining a UE variable where the UE stores the common configuration of the SpCell that has been initially configured, (signalling optimization since there is no need to signal that as UE has obtained via broadcasting, or by defining that explicitly in the signalling).
DA SILVA does not explicitly disclose wherein the second configuration includes a selected second protocol stack and the current configuration includes a first protocol stack.
However, KIM discloses wherein the second configuration includes a selected second protocol stack and the current configuration includes a first protocol stack (Fig. 23; [0321] A UE may support dual active protocol stacks. A base station may send a handover command message for a reduction in user data interruption (RUDI). Based on the handover command message for the RUDI, the UE may perform a handover procedure to a target base station and maintain connection with both a source base station and a target base station. The UE may have common PDCP entity associated with two RLC, MAC and PHY protocol stacks; [0414] the base station may provide the configuration for the multiple active protocol stacks via an RRC reconfiguration message… the UE may activate multiple active protocol stacks for the handover procedure).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the second configuration and the first configuration of DA SILVA to include t wherein the second configuration includes the second protocol stack and the current configuration includes the first protocol stack as taught by KIM in order to support multiple protocol stacks which enables the UE to switch cells more efficiently and deactivate the old source base station (DA SILVA – [0220] All solutions have in common the fact that they comprise the UE receiving a set of configurations from the network, e.g. PDCCH and PDSCH configurations and associated TCI states, to enable mobility using more signaling efficient and fast lower layer signaling i.e. UE deactivates a TCI state associated to one cell and activates a TCI state associated to another cell), thus reducing power consumption (KIM – [0352] The UE may deactivate on protocol stacks and keep another protocol stack when a procedure using the another protocol stack is successfully completed. This may reduce signals and power consumption of the UE by minimizing a time to maintain the multiple protocol stacks).
Regarding claim 8, DA SILVA in view of KIM, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 7.
DA SILVA does not explicitly disclose wherein the LTM handover procedure resets a first MAC entity of the first protocol stack.
However, KIM discloses wherein a handover procedure resets a first MAC entity of the first protocol stack (Fig. 23; [0321] During the handover execution period, the UE will continue to receive downlink data from both the source base station and the target base station until a source base station connection is released (contains first MAC entity of the first protocol stack); [0341] The wireless device, for example, may release the signal/channel based on a MAC reset. The wireless device may release the signal/channel (e.g., SPS PDSCH) based on receiving a downlink signal (e.g., PDCCH, DCI, MAC-CE, RRC message) indicating a release of the signal/channel; (first MAC entity of the first protocol stack is reset when the source base station connection is released); [0352] The UE may deactivate on protocol stacks and keep another protocol stack when a procedure using the another protocol stack is successfully completed. This may reduce signals and power consumption of the UE by minimizing a time to maintain the multiple protocol stacks).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the LTM handover of DA SILVA to include the handover procedure as taught by KIM in order to release the source cell which would help reduce power consumption (KIM - [0352] The UE may deactivate on protocol stacks and keep another protocol stack when a procedure using the another protocol stack is successfully completed. This may reduce signals and power consumption of the UE by minimizing a time to maintain the multiple protocol stacks).
Regarding claim 9, DA SILVA in view of KIM, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 8.
DA SILVA further discloses:
wherein the LTM procedure obtains a time alignment timer associated to source cell ([0277] Then, upon reception of a MAC CE (switching from source cell to target cell) indicating the activation of a configured SpCell that is not the current SpCell, e.g. with an spCellIndex=X in the MAC CE, the UE may perform a reconfiguration with sync …That may comprise a random access procedure that enables the UE to obtain a time alignment with the new target SpCell, possibly obtain a new C-RNTI, and possibly perform contention-based random access (so that each target does not have to allocate dedicated resources for UEs that are not connected to it, or are do not have that cell as activated). That in turn enables more flexible deployments where the set of SpCell(s) configured to a UE are not necessarily synchronized in the downlink/uplink and/or time aligned).
DA SILVA does not explicitly disclose keeping the alignment timer running.
However, KIM discloses a time alignment timer running ([0341] In an example, the wireless device may release the signal/channel. The wireless device, for example, may release the signal/channel based on an expiry of a time alignment timer. The wireless device, for example, may release the signal/channel based on a MAC reset. The wireless device may release the signal/channel (e.g., SPS PDSCH) based on receiving a downlink signal (e.g., PDCCH, DCI, MAC-CE, RRC message) indicating a release of the signal/channel).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the time alignment timer of DA SILVA to keep the time alignment timer running as taught by KIM in order to support multiple protocol stacks (KIM - Fig. 23; [0321] During the handover execution period, the UE will continue to receive downlink data from both the source base station and the target base station until a source base station connection is released) and release one of the protocol stacks when the time alignment timer expires to reduce power consumption (KIM -[0352] The UE may deactivate on protocol stacks and keep another protocol stack when a procedure using the another protocol stack is successfully completed. This may reduce signals and power consumption of the UE by minimizing a time to maintain the multiple protocol stacks).
Regarding claim 10, DA SILVA in view of KIM, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1.
DA SILVA does not explicitly disclose wherein the LTM handover procedure releases the first protocol stack of the source cell upon detecting one or more predefined releasing conditions.
However, KIM discloses wherein a handover procedure releases a first protocol stack of a source cell (Fig. 23; Fig. 34; [0321] The UE may have common PDCP entity associated with two RLC, MAC and PHY protocol stacks. During the handover execution period, the UE will continue to receive downlink data from both the source base station and the target base station until a source base station connection is released) upon detecting one or more predefined releasing conditions ([0413] the base station may send an RRC release message comprising the configuration for the multiple active protocol stacks. Based on receiving the RRC release message, the UE may enter into RRC idle or RRC inactive state (UE performs MAC entity resets when transitioning to RRC_inactive); [0352] The UE may deactivate on protocol stacks and keep another protocol stack when a procedure using the another protocol stack is successfully completed. This may reduce signals and power consumption of the UE by minimizing a time to maintain the multiple protocol stacks).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the LTM handover procedure of DA SILVA to include the handover procedure as taught by KIM in order to release the protocol stack of the source cell to reduce power consumption of the UE (KIM – [0352] The UE may deactivate on protocol stacks and keep another protocol stack when a procedure using the another protocol stack is successfully completed. This may reduce signals and power consumption of the UE by minimizing a time to maintain the multiple protocol stacks).
Regarding claim 11, DA SILVA in view of KIM, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 10.
DA SILVA does not explicitly disclose wherein the releasing condition is receiving an RRC message from the wireless network.
However, KIM discloses a releasing condition is receiving an RRC message from the wireless network ([0413] the base station may send an RRC release message comprising the configuration for the multiple active protocol stacks. Based on receiving the RRC release message, the UE may enter into RRC idle or RRC inactive state).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the releasing condition of DA SILVA and KIM to include receiving the releasing condition as the RRC message as taught by KIM in order to release the protocol stack of the source cell to reduce power consumption of the UE (KIM – [0352] The UE may deactivate on protocol stacks and keep another protocol stack when a procedure using the another protocol stack is successfully completed. This may reduce signals and power consumption of the UE by minimizing a time to maintain the multiple protocol stacks).
Regarding claim 12, DA SILVA in view of KIM, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 10.
DA SILVA does not explicitly disclose wherein the releasing condition is an expiration of a source timer.
However, KIM discloses a releasing condition is an expiration of a source timer (Fig. 42; [0477] Based on receiving the reconfiguration sync, the UE may start the reconfiguration timer and perform the reconfiguration with sync (e.g., handover). Based on expiry of the reconfiguration timer, the UE determine the reconfiguration sync failure; [0487] Based on the detecting of the failure, the UE may release a connection with the source base station and continue the random access procedure to the target base station).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the releasing condition of DA SILVA and KIM to include the releasing condition is an expiration of a source timer as taught by KIM in order to release the protocol stack of the source cell to reduce power consumption of the UE (KIM – [0352] The UE may deactivate on protocol stacks and keep another protocol stack when a procedure using the another protocol stack is successfully completed. This may reduce signals and power consumption of the UE by minimizing a time to maintain the multiple protocol stacks).
Regarding claim 13, DA SILVA in view of KIM, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 12.
DA SILVA does not explicitly disclose wherein the source timer is configured for each cell and controlled by an associated MAC entity.
However, KIM discloses a source timer is configured for each cell (Fig. 41; Fig. 42; [0477] a base station (source cell) may send a reconfiguration with sync in an RRC message to a UE in RRC connected state. The reconfiguration with sync may comprise a reconfiguration timer (e.g., T304) (source timer that supervises UE’s attempt(s) to access the target cell before declaring a mobility failure). Based on receiving the reconfiguration sync, the UE may start the reconfiguration timer and perform the reconfiguration with sync (e.g., handover). Based on expiry of the reconfiguration timer, the UE determine the reconfiguration sync failure… The UE may determine the mobility failure from NR based on at least one of conditions being met: [0478] if the UE does not succeed in establishing the connection to the target radio access technology; [0482] Example B illustrates a case that a random access procedure to a target base station fails. Based on receiving the handover command for RUDI, the UE perform a random access procedure to a target base station and maintain a connection with a source base station) and controlled by an associated MAC entity ([0356] In existing technologies, multiple random access procedures ongoing may be allowed at any point in time in a MAC entity when the UE is in an RRC connected state. A base station may configure multiple RACH configuration for the multiple random access procedures to the UE…The multiple RACH configuration may comprise separated configuration for each random access procedure via each cell. Based on the separated configuration, the UE may perform multiple random access procedure to the multiple cells… The UE may configure the RACH configuration, broadcasted by the system information, to an MAC entity. When the UE configures another RACH configuration, broadcasted by system information of another cell, the UE may release the existing RACH configuration and configure the another RACH configuration to the MAC entity).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the source timer of DA SILVA and KIM to include the source timer configuration for each cell and controlled by an associated MAC entity as taught by KIM in order to minimize service interruption (KIM - [0476] the UE which performs handover procedure based on receiving the handover command message may detect a failure of a primary cell of serving/old base station. Based on the detecting, the UE may perform an RRC reestablishment procedure based on a first protocol stack while performing a handover procedure based on a second protocol stack. This may reduce probability/time of an RRC connection being absent. This may support service continuity of the UE by avoiding interruption due to absence of the RRC connection).
Regarding claim 15, DA SILVA discloses:
A user equipment (UE) (Abstract - A method performed by a User Equipment), comprising:
a transceiver ([0400] The UE 120 may comprise… The input and output interface may comprise a wireless receiver (not shown) and a wireless transmitter (not shown)) that transmits and receives radio frequency (RF) signal in a wireless network ([0002] In a typical wireless communication network, wireless devices, also known as wireless communication devices, mobile stations, stations (STA) and/or User Equipment (UE), communicate via a Local Area Network such as a Wi-Fi network or a Radio Access Network (RAN) to one or more core networks (CN)… The radio network node communicates over an air interface operating on radio frequencies with the wireless device within range of the radio network node);
a memory ([0403] The UE 120 may further comprise respective a memory comprising one or more memory units. The memory comprises instructions executable by the processor in the UE 120); and
a processor coupled to the memory, the processor configured ([0403]; [0405] a computer program comprises instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor of the UE 120 to perform the actions above) to receive ([0401] The UE 120 may comprise a receiving unit, an identifying unit, and a performing unit to perform the method actions as described herein) a pre- configuration for multiple candidate cells in a wireless network (Abstract - The UE receives from a network node, a higher layer configuration comprising a set of SpCell configurations, to be configured in the UE; [0164]“a set of SpCell(s)” which means that the set comprises a set of candidate cells; Fig. 15 - 1501), wherein the UE is connected with a first distributed unit (DU) of a source cell ([0210] While the UE 120 is in connected state, the network node 110 (source cell) transmits a lower layer signaling (lower layer signaling is handled by a DU) to the UE 120; [0212] In some embodiments, a source network node (e.g. a DU, baseband unit, etc.) transmits the lower layer signaling to activate an SpCell from the configured set of SpCells and at least one TCI state associated to one of its configured SpCell candidates;) through a first protocol stack (Fig. 5 shows the lower layer signaling is in a protocol stack which is handled by the DU; [0144] a mobility mechanism (inter-cell mobility) relying on lower layer signaling, i.e. in a protocol layer below RRC (also referred to as a protocol layer equal to or below MAC CE), like using a MAC CE where the UE may change cells… by an indication not involving RRC signaling or any other higher layer protocols i.e. above the MAC protocol in the stack, for example, via MAC CEs);
performing inter-cell mobility upon receiving a cell switch command to a target cell ([0212] a source network node (e.g. a DU, baseband unit, etc.) transmits the lower layer signaling to activate (request/command) an SpCell (target cell) from the configured set of SpCells and at least one TCI state associated to one of its configured SpCell candidates; ([0223] the UE receiving a lower layer signaling like a MACE CE (MAC CE contains a cell switch command) and, upon reception, performing inter-cell mobility i.e. a procedure similar to a reconfiguration with sync, handover or PSCell change); and
configures at least one second configuration based on the pre-configuration, wherein a radio link control (RLC) entity corresponding to the second configuration is configured for one corresponding candidate cell ([0164] the UE 120 receives e.g. from the network node 110, a higher layer configuration with a set of one or multiple SpCell configurations. [0165] The set of SpCell configurations comprises UE-specific configurations i.e. configurations that are considered active, or “current”, for the set of SpCell(s) and remain active as long as the UE 120 moves between cells in the configured set of SpCell(s); [0175] These different solutions for the signaling reflect different alternatives to consider what may be common configurations for the set of SpCell(s), e.g. bearer configurations, all configurations above the MAC layer (RLC layer is above the MAC layer – see Fig. 5), like PDPC configurations, etc. These may be set specific or UE-specific, as called above. And, consequently, which configurations are to be considered UE-specific so that when the UE 120 moves across the set of SpCell(s) it remains using the same configuration for these UE-specific parameters);
performs a layer-2 triggered mobility (LTM) handover procedure to the target cell ([0223] the UE receiving a lower layer signaling like a MACE CE and, upon reception, performing inter-cell mobility… That also comprises the UE switching from a current configuration to a new configuration, according to the new target) by activating the target cell upon deactivating the source cell ([0170] In the mobility case, only one SpCell may be activate at the UE 120. Hence, upon mobility the UE 120 changes what is the activate configuration, depending which SpCell is considered as activated; [0220] to enable mobility using more signaling efficient and fast lower layer signaling i.e. UE deactivates a TCI state associated to one cell (e.g., source cell) and activates a TCI state associated to another cell (e.g., target cell); [0219] for multi-TRP transmissions where the UE may be connected simultaneously to multiple cells... instead of changing from one cell to another the UE would add and/or remove, activate and/or deactivate, a cell using lower layer signaling, i.e. signaling in a protocol layer below RRC like PDCP, RLC, MAC or physical layer (PHY) signaling; [0223] the UE receiving a lower layer signaling... upon reception, performing inter-cell mobility… That also comprises the UE switching from a current configuration to a new configuration, according to the new target).
DA SILVA does not explicitly disclose configures a cell switch (CS) bearer, wherein the CS bearer is associated to the source cell and the target cell; wherein the second configuration includes a second protocol stack, wherein each of the RLC entity of each corresponding second protocol stack is configured; and a selected second protocol stack is associated with target cell and the first protocol stack is associated with the source cell.
However, KIM discloses configures a cell switch (CS) bearer ([0321] PDCP entity; [0082] PDCPs 214 and 224 may perform mapping/de-mapping between a split radio bearer and RLC channels in a dual connectivity scenario), wherein the CS bearer is associated with a source cell and a target cell(Fig. 23B; [0321] A UE may support dual active protocol stacks. A base station may send a handover command message for a reduction in user data interruption (RUDI). Based on the handover command message for the RUDI, the UE may perform a handover procedure to a target base station and maintain connection with both a source base station and a target base station. The UE may have common PDCP entity associated with two RLC, MAC and PHY protocol stacks;);
wherein a second configuration includes a second protocol stack (Fig. 23; [0414] the base station may provide the configuration for the multiple active protocol stacks via an RRC reconfiguration message… the UE may activate multiple active protocol stacks for the handover procedure), wherein each of the RLC entity of each corresponding second protocol stack (Fig. 23B – Target cell RLC entity) is configured (Fig. 23B; Fig. 30; [0382] The UE may initiate the procedure with a cell 1 on a first active protocol stack... based on the activation condition being met, the UE may the multiple active protocol stacks. Based on activating the multiple active protocol stacks, the UE may activate a second protocol stack. The UE may initiate the RRC procedure to establish an RRC connection (e.g., a random access procedure) with a cell 2 using the second protocol stack; [0385] based on receiving a reporting that the random access procedure does not successfully complete, the UE may determine to find another cell to initiate a random access procedure. Based on The UE may configure a signaling radio bearer (e.g., SRB0) or a logical channel of the signaling radio bearer (e.g., CCCH) for the first random access procedure on the first cell. Based on the receiving the response of the second random access preamble, the UE may stop the first random access procedure and deactivate a first protocol stack. Based on the receiving the response of the second random access preamble, the UE may change the signaling radio bearer (e.g., SRB0) or the logical channel of the signaling radio bearer (e.g., CCCH) from the first cell to the second cell); and
a selected second protocol stack is associated with target cell (Fig. 23B; target cell) and a first protocol stack is associated with the source cell (Fig. 23B; source cell; [0322] The dual protocol stacks in FIG. 23B may comprise ... two RLC layers, two MAC layers and two physical layers; [0382] The UE may initiate a RRC procedure to establish an RRC connection (e.g., a random access procedure) with a cell 1 using a first and a cell 2 using the second protocol stack).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the cell switch command, the second configuration, and the LTM handover procedure of DA SILVA to include the CS bearer, wherein the second configuration includes the second protocol stack, and the selected second protocol stack is associated with target cell and the first protocol stack is associated with the source cell as taught by KIM. This allows UE to support multiple protocol stacks which enables the UE to switch cells more efficiently and deactivate the old source base station (DA SILVA – [0220] All solutions have in common the fact that they comprise the UE receiving a set of configurations from the network, e.g. PDCCH and PDSCH configurations and associated TCI states, to enable mobility using more signaling efficient and fast lower layer signaling i.e. UE deactivates a TCI state associated to one cell and activates a TCI state associated to another cell), thus reducing power consumption (KIM – [0352] The UE may deactivate on protocol stacks and keep another protocol stack when a procedure using the another protocol stack is successfully completed. This may reduce signals and power consumption of the UE by minimizing a time to maintain the multiple protocol stacks).
Regarding claim 16, DA SILVA in view of KIM, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 15.
DA SILVA further discloses:
wherein the target cell is served by the first DU ([0224] One relevant scenario where L1-based mobility may be applied is when multiple cells are deployed and defined in the same DU in the network side… even if the network would transmit an RRCReconfiguration message to indicate to the UE a handover, reconfiguration with sync, most of the UE-specific configurations of a source PCell and a target PCell could possibly remain the same after a handover reconfiguration with sync, including the TCI states configurations and other beam management related configurations) or
is served by a second DU with a same central unit (CU) as the first DU .
Regarding claim 17, DA SILVA in view of KIM, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 15.
DA SILVA further discloses:
wherein a second MAC entity is a MAC entity of a master cell group (MCG) MAC entity associated to a group of corresponding candidate cells ([0190] FIG. 16 illustrates one example of a Master Cell Group (MCG) configuration as described above for this last case where an SpCell and additional SpCell(s) are defined. The TCI state configurations may be included in the PCell-A (part of the SpCellConfig) and refer to additional SpCell(s); (it is implied that a MAC entity exists because there is a MAC entity for every cell groups (MCG, SCG, etc))).
DA SILVA does not explicitly disclose wherein the selected second protocol stack is the MAC entity associated to a group of RLC entities.
However, KIM discloses wherein the selected second protocol stack (Fig. 23B; target cell; Fig.39B;) is a MAC entity (Fig.39B – MAC; [0459] A UE-MAC layer may have one MAC entity of the first protocol stack and the second protocol stack as shown in FIG. 39) is associated to a group of RLC entities ([0458] FIG. 39 is an example illustration of implementation option IV of multiple active protocol stacks in UE to reduce latency and increase success probability... The common layers may comprise... and a MAC layer. The separate layers may comprise an RLC layer and a physical layer. A UE may configure a first protocol stack and a second protocol stack based on the common layers and the separate layers... For example, the UE-RRC layer may set an allowed cell 1 of the CCCH to the first cell and configure the allowed cell 1 to the RLC layer (entity) and/or the MAC layer (entity) of the CCCH. The UE-RRC layer may set... configure the allowed cell 2 to the RLC layer (entity) and/or the MAC layer (entity) of the CCCH2... For example, based on the allowed cell 2, the UE-MAC layer may generate MAC PDU of the allowed cell 2 and submit the MAC PDU to the physical layer (entity) of the first protocol stack (the first cell)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the second MAC entity of DA SILVA and KIM to include the selected second protocol stack is the MAC entity associated to the group of RLC entities as taught by KIM in order to support multiple protocol stacks which enables the UE to switch cells more efficiently and deactivate the old source base station (DA SILVA – [0220] All solutions have in common the fact that they comprise the UE receiving a set of configurations from the network, e.g. PDCCH and PDSCH configurations and associated TCI states, to enable mobility using more signaling efficient and fast lower layer signaling i.e. UE deactivates a TCI state associated to one cell and activates a TCI state associated to another cell), thus reducing power consumption (KIM – [0352] The UE may deactivate on protocol stacks and keep another protocol stack when a procedure using the another protocol stack is successfully completed. This may reduce signals and power consumption of the UE by minimizing a time to maintain the multiple protocol stacks).
Regarding claim 18, DA SILVA in view of KIM, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 15.
DA SILVA further discloses:
performing the LTM handover procedure associated to the target cell upon receiving the cell switch command ([0223] the UE receiving a lower layer signaling like a MACE CE and, upon reception, performing inter-cell mobility i.e. a procedure similar to a reconfiguration with sync, handover or PSCell change. That also comprises the UE switching from a current configuration to a new configuration, according to the new target), and
wherein the activating and deactivating includes activating or deactivating at least one protocol layers or entities including PHY, MAC, RLC, and Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) ([0220] to enable mobility using more signaling efficient and fast lower layer signaling i.e. UE deactivates a TCI state associated to one cell (e.g., source cell) and activates a TCI state associated to another cell (e.g., target cell); [0219] for multi-TRP transmissions where the UE may be connected simultaneously to multiple cells... instead of changing from one cell to another the UE would add and/or remove, activate and/or deactivate, a cell using lower layer signaling, i.e. signaling in a protocol layer below RRC like PDCP, RLC, MAC or physical layer (PHY) signaling; [0223] the UE receiving a lower layer signaling... upon reception, performing inter-cell mobility… That also comprises the UE switching from a current configuration to a new configuration, according to the new target).
DA SILVA does not explicitly disclose wherein the LTM procedure establishes an RLC entity associated to the target cell for the selected second protocol stack, and the activating is associated to the selected second protocol stack and deactivating is associated to the first protocol stack.
However, KIM discloses a handover procedure establishes an RLC entity associated to the target cell (Fig. 23; [0321] A UE may support dual active protocol stacks. A base station may send a handover command message for a reduction in user data interruption (RUDI). Based on the handover command message for the RUDI, the UE may perform a handover procedure to a target base station and maintain connection with both a source base station and a target base station. The UE may have common PDCP entity associated with two RLC, MAC and PHY protocol stacks) for the selected second protocol stack (Fig. 23; [0414] the base station may provide the configuration for the multiple active protocol stacks via an RRC reconfiguration message… the UE may activate (establish) multiple active protocol stacks for the handover procedure)), and
the activating is associated to the selected second protocol stack and deactivating is associated to the first protocol stack (0384] Based on the activating the multiple active protocol stacks, the UE may activate a second protocol stack. The UE may initiate a second random access procedure on a cell 2 using the second protocol stack. The UE may send a second random access preamble to the cell 2 for the second random access procedure. The UE may receive one of responses of the first random access preamble or the second random access preamble... Based on receiving the response of the second random access preamble, the UE may deactivate the first protocol stack).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the LTM handover procedure and the activating and deactivating of DA SILVA to include the handover procedure and the activating is associated to the selected second protocol stack and the deactivating is associated to the first protocol stack as taught by KIM in order to support multiple protocol stacks which enables the UE to switch cells more efficiently and deactivate the old source base station (DA SILVA – [0220] All solutions have in common the fact that they comprise the UE receiving a set of configurations from the network, e.g. PDCCH and PDSCH configurations and associated TCI states, to enable mobility using more signaling efficient and fast lower layer signaling i.e. UE deactivates a TCI state associated to one cell and activates a TCI state associated to another cell), thus reducing power consumption (KIM – [0352] The UE may deactivate on protocol stacks and keep another protocol stack when a procedure using the another protocol stack is successfully completed. This may reduce signals and power consumption of the UE by minimizing a time to maintain the multiple protocol stacks).
Regarding claim 19, DA SILVA in view of KIM, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 15.
DA SILVA further discloses:
wherein the LTM handover procedure ([0223] the UE receiving a lower layer signaling like a MACE CE and, upon reception, performing inter-cell mobility i.e. a procedure similar to a reconfiguration with sync, handover or PSCell change. That also comprises the UE switching from a current configuration to a new configuration, according to the new target; The new configuration may contain some UE-specific configuration that is the same as the current configuration according to source i.e. that part of the configuration remains unchanged when the UE performs L1-based mobility) activates the second configuration associated to the target cell upon success of the LTM handover procedure ([0394] When UE receives the MAC CE for switching SpCell (i.e. activate an SpCell that is deactivated) the UE transmits an “acknowledgement indication”; [0398] Embodiments of the method comprises the transmission of that “acknowledgement indication”, e.g. a MAC in the uplink with the UE's configuration, using the UE-specific configurations and cell-specific configurations associated to the new SpCell that the UE is accessing i.e. the SpCell indicated in the downlink MAC CE received from the source SpCell) and keeps a current configuration to be associated to the source cell ([0265] UE may perform mobility via MAC CEs without the need of a re-configuration, i.e., via activation/deactivation of SpCell(s). In that example, if the UE receives a MAC CE activating one of the deactivated SpCells (target cell) the UE considers the cell being activated the new SpCell and applies the SpCell specific parameters (second configuration) (e.g. in this example these are the SpCellConfig in the list associated to the SpCell being activated). UE keeps the current configuration (contains source cell configuration) for the common parameters for the whole set, e.g. in this example above, the commonSpCellConfigSetConfig; [0258] according to the method the additional SpCell(s) have a common configuration, like ServingCellConfigCommon, and also the SpCell configuration, i.e. where the UE enters Connected. The reasoning is that when the UE performs L1-based mobility the UE may leave that cell and possibly come back. And, if it comes back it needs to have in its configuration the common configuration. That may be done by defining a UE variable where the UE stores the common configuration of the SpCell that has been initially configured, (signalling optimization since there is no need to signal that as UE has obtained via broadcasting, or by defining that explicitly in the signalling).
DA SILVA does not explicitly disclose wherein the second configuration includes a selected second protocol stack and the current configuration includes a first protocol stack.
However, KIM discloses wherein the second configuration includes a selected second protocol stack and the current configuration includes a first protocol stack (Fig. 23; [0321] A UE may support dual active protocol stacks. A base station may send a handover command message for a reduction in user data interruption (RUDI). Based on the handover command message for the RUDI, the UE may perform a handover procedure to a target base station and maintain connection with both a source base station and a target base station. The UE may have common PDCP entity associated with two RLC, MAC and PHY protocol stacks; [0414] the base station may provide the configuration for the multiple active protocol stacks via an RRC reconfiguration message… the UE may activate multiple active protocol stacks for the handover procedure).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the second configuration and the first configuration of DA SILVA to include wherein the second configuration includes the second protocol stack and the current configuration includes the first protocol stack as taught by KIM in order to support multiple protocol stacks which enables the UE to switch cells more efficiently and deactivate the old source base station (DA SILVA – [0220] All solutions have in common the fact that they comprise the UE receiving a set of configurations from the network, e.g. PDCCH and PDSCH configurations and associated TCI states, to enable mobility using more signaling efficient and fast lower layer signaling i.e. UE deactivates a TCI state associated to one cell and activates a TCI state associated to another cell), thus reducing power consumption (KIM – [0352] The UE may deactivate on protocol stacks and keep another protocol stack when a procedure using the another protocol stack is successfully completed. This may reduce signals and power consumption of the UE by minimizing a time to maintain the multiple protocol stacks).
Regarding claim 20, DA SILVA in view of KIM, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 15.
DA SILVA further discloses:
wherein the LTM procedure obtains a time alignment timer associated to source cell ([0277] Then, upon reception of a MAC CE (switching from source cell to target cell) indicating the activation of a configured SpCell that is not the current SpCell, e.g. with an spCellIndex=X in the MAC CE, the UE may perform a reconfiguration with sync …That may comprise a random access procedure that enables the UE to obtain a time alignment with the new target SpCell, possibly obtain a new C-RNTI, and possibly perform contention-based random access (so that each target does not have to allocate dedicated resources for UEs that are not connected to it, or are do not have that cell as activated). That in turn enables more flexible deployments where the set of SpCell(s) configured to a UE are not necessarily synchronized in the downlink/uplink and/or time aligned).
DA SILVA does not explicitly disclose keeping the alignment timer running and the LTM handover procedure resets a first MAC entity of the first protocol stack and keeps a time alignment timer associated with source cell running.
However, KIM discloses a time alignment timer running ([0341] In an example, the wireless device may release the signal/channel. The wireless device, for example, may release the signal/channel based on an expiry of a time alignment timer. The wireless device, for example, may release the signal/channel based on a MAC reset. The wireless device may release the signal/channel (e.g., SPS PDSCH) based on receiving a downlink signal (e.g., PDCCH, DCI, MAC-CE, RRC message) indicating a release of the signal/channel) and
a handover procedure resets a first MAC entity of the first protocol stack (Fig. 23; [0321] During the handover execution period, the UE will continue to receive downlink data from both the source base station and the target base station until a source base station connection is released (contains first MAC entity of the first protocol stack); [0341] The wireless device, for example, may release the signal/channel based on a MAC reset. The wireless device may release the signal/channel (e.g., SPS PDSCH) based on receiving a downlink signal (e.g., PDCCH, DCI, MAC-CE, RRC message) indicating a release of the signal/channel; (first MAC entity of the first protocol stack is reset when the source base station connection is released); [0352] The UE may deactivate on protocol stacks and keep another protocol stack when a procedure using the another protocol stack is successfully completed. This may reduce signals and power consumption of the UE by minimizing a time to maintain the multiple protocol stacks).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the time alignment timer and the LTM procedure of DA SILVA to keep the time alignment timer running and include the handover procedure as taught by KIM in order to release one of the protocol stacks when the time alignment timer expires to reduce power consumption and to reset/release the source cell which would help reduce user data interruption and power consumption (KIM - [0352] The UE may deactivate on protocol stacks and keep another protocol stack when a procedure using the another protocol stack is successfully completed. This may reduce signals and power consumption of the UE by minimizing a time to maintain the multiple protocol stacks).
7. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DA SILVA in view of Kim and ALI et al. (US 20250142432 A1, ALI).
Regarding claim 3, DA SILVA in view of KIM, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1.DA SILVA further discloses:
wherein the first DU is served by a central unit (CU) (Fig. 5; [0038] a Distributed Unit (DU) configuration (i.e. decided by the baseband unit) in a Central Unit (CU)-DU split architecture, and conveyed to the UE via for example an RRCResume (i.e. during transition from Inactive to Connected) or RRCReconfiguration (e.g. during handovers, intra-cell reconfigurations or transitions from Idle to Connected)).
DA SILVA and KIM do not explicitly disclose the target cell is served by a second DU with the same central unit (CU).
However, ALI discloses a target cell is served by a second DU with a same CU as a first DU (Fig. 3; Fig. 7; [0100] a signaling diagram of L1/L2 inter-cell mobility from a serving cell in a first distributed unit DU1 to a target cell in a second distributed unit DU2 (i.e., inter-DU intra-CU scenario) will be described).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the target cell and the CU of DA SILVA and KIM to include the target cell is served by the second DU with the same CU as taught by ALI in order to provide flexibility and efficiency for configured L1/L2 inter-cell mobility using the disaggregated gNB architecture and reduce delays (DA SILVA – [0156] RRC Reconfigurations for handovers will take longer to get to the UE as that may also require some DU/CU signaling e.g. to modify the DU context. Hence, using MAC CE for inter-cell mobility also has the potential to reduce the delays in inter-cell mobility due to the potential to avoid CU/DU signaling that exists today; ALI - [0099] In contrast to Layer 3 (L3) mobility procedures where a handover between two cells is decided by RRC layer, L1/L2 inter-cell mobility is performed by the MAC layer terminated in a network node (e.g., a base station gNB, or a distributed unit DU of a base station in a disaggregated architecture)).
8. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DA SILVA in view of KIM and CHANG et al. (US 20230362774 A1, CHANG).
Regarding claim 14, DA SILVA in view of KIM, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 12.
DA SILVA does not disclose wherein the source timer is started when the UE switches to the target cell and is stopped when the UE switches back to the source cell.
However, KIM discloses wherein the source timer is started when the UE switches to the target cell (Fig. 41; Fig. 42; [0477] a base station (source cell) may send a reconfiguration with sync in an RRC message to a UE in RRC connected state. The reconfiguration with sync may comprise a reconfiguration timer (e.g., T304) (source timer that supervises UE’s attempt to access the target cell before declaring a mobility failure). Based on receiving the reconfiguration sync, the UE may start the reconfiguration timer and perform the reconfiguration with sync (e.g., handover). Based on expiry of the reconfiguration timer, the UE determine the reconfiguration sync failure.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the source timer of DA SILVA and KIM to be started as taught by KIM in order to determine expiry of the timer based on which UE determines the reconfiguration sync failure (KIM - [0477]).
DA SILVA and KIM do not explicitly disclose wherein the source timer is stopped when the UE switches back to the source cell.
However, CHANG discloses a source timer is stopped when the UE switches back to a source cell ([0038] In the case of the DAPS handover, after receiving a handover command, the UE establishes a MAC entity for the target base station; [0039] When the DAPS handover fails, that is, when a timer T304 used to monitor the handover procedure expires, if no radio link failure is detected at the source base station, the UE falls back to the connection to the source base station, and reports the DAPS handover failure via the source base station, instead of triggering an RRC connection re-establishment procedure).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the source timer of DA SILVA and KIM to include the source timer is stopped when the UE switches back to the source cell as taught by CHANG in order to minimize service interruption (CHANG – [0039] if no radio link failure is detected at the source base station, the UE falls back to the connection to the source base station, and reports the DAPS handover failure via the source base station, instead of triggering an RRC connection re-establishment procedure; [0037] the UE can maintain connection and data transmission to the target base station and the source base station at the same time, thereby avoiding a delay caused by service interruption due to disconnection to the source base station before accessing the target base station. The DAPS handover refers to a handover procedure in which UE, after receiving an RRC message for handover, still maintains a connection to a source base station until the source base station is released after a random access procedure for a target base station is successfully performed).
Conclusion
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THERESA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418