DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed 22 June 2026. By this amendment, claims 1 and 10-12 are amended; claim 2 is cancelled. Claims 1 and 3-29 are currently pending; claims 20-29 stand withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 22 June 2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amended title is acceptable; the objection to the title is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 and 11-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-7, and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0263069 A1 to Jo (hereinafter “Jo”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Jo (Fig. 4) discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
first and second conductive layers 402/410 (¶ 0068; Fig. 4) spaced apart from each other; and
a memory cell interposed between the first and second conductive layers, wherein the memory cell includes:
a first selector layer 404 (¶ 0068) configured to be turned on at or above a first threshold voltage Vth1 (Fig. 5; ¶¶ 0072-73) and to be turned off below the threshold voltage (Fig. 5);
a second selector layer 408 (¶ 0068) spaced apart from the first selector layer (Fig. 4), the second selector layer configured to be turned on at or above a second threshold voltage Vth1 (Fig. 5, ¶¶ 0072-73) and to be turned off below the second threshold voltage (Fig. 5); and
an insulating layer 406 (¶ 0068) interposed between the first selector layer and the second selector layer (Fig. 4), the insulating layer configured to provide insulation except when a soft breakdown occurs at or above a breakdown voltage (¶ 0070).
Regarding claim 4, Jo (Fig. 4) discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the insulating layer 406 has a range of several to several tens of nm (¶ 0065 – thickness of selector layer can be 0.5 nm to about 50 nm).
Regarding claim 5, Jo (Fig. 4) discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the first selector layer 404 has a range of 90% to 110% of a thickness of the second selector layer 408 (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Jo (Fig. 4) discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the first selector layer 404 includes a first insulating material layer and a first dopant doped in the first insulating material layer to create a shallow trap providing a passage for a conductive carrier to move (¶ 0071 – ion conductor layer comprising, e.g., AgSiO2, CuAl2Ox), and the second selector layer 408 includes a second insulating material layer and a second dopant doped in the second insulating material layer to create a shallow trap providing a passage for a conductive carrier to move (¶ 0071 – ion conductor layer comprising, e.g., AgSiO2, CuAl2Ox).
Regarding claim 7, Jo (Fig. 4) discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 6, wherein the first insulating material layer, the second insulating material layer, and the insulating layer 406 include a same insulating material (¶ 0071; Fig. 4 - SiO2).
Regarding claim 12, Jo discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1. The limitations “wherein a first threshold voltage is a sum of the first sub-threshold voltage, the second sub-threshold voltage, and the breakdown voltage, wherein a conductive path is formed in each of the first selector layer, the insulating layer, and the second selector layer during a write operation, wherein a write voltage applied during the write operation has a magnitude greater than the first threshold voltage” are considered functional language that does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. Jo discloses the structure as recited in the claim as currently drafted, thus the structure of Song is presumed capable of the functionally defined limitations of the claimed device. MPEP 2114 (I).
Regarding claim 13, Jo discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 12. The limitations “wherein a second threshold voltage is a sum of the first sub-threshold voltage and the second sub-threshold voltage, wherein, during an erase operation, a conductive path is formed in each of the first selector layer and the second selector layer, and a conductive path previously formed in the insulating layer disappears, wherein an erase voltage applied during the erase operation has a magnitude greater than the second threshold voltage and less than the first threshold voltage” are considered functional language that does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. Jo discloses the structure as recited in the claim as currently drafted, thus the structure of Jo is presumed capable of the functionally defined limitations of the claimed device. MPEP 2114 (I).
Regarding claim 14, Jo discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 13. The limitations “wherein a polarity of the write voltage is the same as a polarity of the erase voltage” are considered functional language that does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. Jo discloses the structure as recited in the claim as currently drafted, thus the structure of Jo is presumed capable of the functionally defined limitations of the claimed device. MPEP 2114 (I).
Regarding claim 15, Jo discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 13. The limitations “wherein a read voltage applied during a read operation for reading a resistance state of the memory cell has a magnitude greater than the second threshold voltage and less than the erase voltage“ are considered functional language that does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. Jo discloses the structure as recited in the claim as currently drafted, thus the structure of Jo is presumed capable of the functionally defined limitations of the claimed device. MPEP 2114 (I).
Regarding claim 16, Jo discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 15. The limitations “wherein a polarity of the read voltage is the same as a polarity of the write voltage and a polarity of the erase voltage” are considered functional language that does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. Jo discloses the structure as recited in the claim as currently drafted, thus the structure of Jo is presumed capable of the functionally defined limitations of the claimed device. MPEP 2114 (I).
Regarding claim 17, Jo discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 13. The limitations “wherein the conductive path of the insulating layer disappears by Joule's heat generated according to the erase voltage” are considered functional language that does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. Jo discloses the structure as recited in the claim as currently drafted, thus the structure of Jo is presumed capable of the functionally defined limitations of the claimed device. MPEP 2114 (I).
Regarding claim 18, Jo discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 13. The limitations “wherein at least part of the conductive path of the insulating layer disappears” are considered functional language that does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. Jo discloses the structure as recited in the claim as currently drafted, thus the structure of Jo is presumed capable of the functionally defined limitations of the claimed device. MPEP 2114 (I).
Regarding claim 19, Jo discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 13, the limitations “wherein the conductive path of the insulating layer remains even after power is removed, until the erase voltage is applied” are considered functional language that does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. Jo discloses the structure as recited in the claim as currently drafted, thus the structure of Jo is presumed capable of the functionally defined limitations of the claimed device. MPEP 2114 (I).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo.
Regarding claim 3, Jo (Fig. 4) discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1, however fails to expressly disclose: wherein a thickness of the insulating layer is smaller than a thickness of the first selector layer and a thickness of the second selector layer. Jo does disclose selection of selector layer thickness to achieve a target electrical response (¶ 0078), thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thickness of the insulating layer to be smaller for the purpose of achieving a desired target electrical response (¶¶ 0065, 78).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CANDICE Y. CHAN
Examiner
Art Unit 2813
4 September 2026
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813