DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Upon consideration, the previous rejection of record was withdrawn in light of new amendments. However new rejection is applied to the amended claims. All changes made in the rejection are necessitated by the amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 215578941 U hereinafter Tang in view of CN205542990U hereinafter Jiang.
Regarding Claim 1, Tang teaches a battery module [10] (see figure 2) comprising: a plurality of battery cells [12], wherein each battery cell is provided with a pressure relief valve [13] and the pressure relief valve is configured to be actuated and release internal pressure in the battery cell; and a fire-fighting tube (protective tube) [200] that is configured to accommodate a fire-fighting filler, wherein the fire-fighting tube [200] is disposed on a side of the plurality of battery cells that is provided with the pressure relief valve, and wherein the fire-fighting tube is provided with a discharge (drainage) opening [110] that is configured to discharge the fire-fighting filler toward the pressure relief valve when the pressure relief valve is actuated (see annotated figure 2 below, paragraphs 31-44).
Tang further teaches that the fire-fighting tube is provided with a discharge (drainage) opening [110] that is spaced out from the pressure relief valve (i.e., disposed in a staggered manner with the pressure relief mechanism) (paragraph 37). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a discharge (drainage) opening disposed in a staggered manner with the pressure relief mechanism before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Tang discloses that such configuration can form sufficient pressure relief space in the battery module (paragraph 37).
Jian teaches that the exhaust pipe (fire-fighting tube) [4 and 5] can be staggered away from the gas vent [21] of the battery cell such that they are not in direct contact (see annotated figure below).
Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._,_, 82 USPQ2cl 1385, 1395 - 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form such integrated structure for the exhaust system before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Jiang discloses that such configuration can improve efficiency and stability of the assembled structure.
Regarding Claims 2-7 and 16-17, Tang teaches that the fire-fighting tube (protective tube) [200] can be formed with a plurality of pipes (i.e., first pipe, second pipe, and third pipe connected with openings as claimed) (paragraph 21). Additionally, The Supreme Court decided that a claim can be proved obvious merely by showing that the combination of known elements was obvious to try. In this regard, the Supreme Court explained that " [w]hen there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill in the art has a good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp." An obviousness determination is not the result of a rigid formula disassociated from the consideration of the facts of the case. Indeed, the common sense of those skilled in the art demonstrates why some combinations would have been obvious where others would not. Therefore, choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation for success, is likely to be obvious to a person if ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._,_, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 -97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143 , E.).
In addition, the exhaust pipe (fire-fighting tube) [4 and 5] can be staggered away from the gas vent [21] of the battery cell such that they are not in direct contact (see MPEP § 2143, D described above).
Regarding Claims 8-9, Tang teaches that the fire-fighting tube is provided with a discharge (drainage) opening [110] that breaks open and release the fire-fighting filler (i.e., sealing member configured to be damaged when the pressure relief mechanism is actuated) (paragraph 35). Tang teaches a sealing member that breaks from high-pressure gas (i.e., made from a thermosensitive material).
Regarding Claim 10, Tang teaches that the battery cell further comprises a side wall, wherein an outer surface of the side wall is provided with a groove, and the pressure relief valve [13] is disposed in the groove (see figure 2, paragraphs 32-34).
Regarding Claims 11-13, Tang teaches that the fire-fighting tube [200] can be in contact or spaced apart from the surface of the battery cell provided with the pressure relief valve (paragraphs 36-37, see figure 4).
Regarding Claim 14, Tang teaches a flexible fire-fighting tube [200] (paragraph 43).
Regarding Claim 15, Tang teaches that the battery module is configured to provide electrical energy for an electric apparatus (paragraphs 1-3).
Claim(s) 1 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 215537954 U hereinafter Zhang in view of CN205542990U hereinafter Jiang..
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang teaches a battery module comprising: a plurality of battery cells [21], wherein each battery cell is provided with a explosion-proof valve [213] and the explosion-proof valve is configured to be actuated and release internal pressure in the battery cell; and a fire extinguishing tube [11] that is configured to accommodate a fire extinguishing agent, wherein fire extinguishing tube is disposed on a side of the plurality of battery cells that is provided with the explosion-proof valve, and wherein the fire extinguishing tube is provided with an interface (discharge opening) [13] that is configured to discharge the fire extinguishing agent toward the explosion-proof valve when the explosion-proof valve is actuated (see annotated figure 2 below, paragraphs 31-47).
Zhang further teaches that the fire extinguishing tube [11] is provided with an interface (discharge opening) [13] that is spaced out from the explosion-proof valve (i.e., disposed in a staggered manner with the pressure relief mechanism) (paragraph 34, 48). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a discharge opening disposed in a staggered manner with the pressure relief mechanism before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Zhang discloses that such configuration can effectively release pressure from the battery cells (paragraphs 9-10).
Jian teaches that the exhaust pipe (fire-fighting tube) [4 and 5] can be staggered away from the gas vent [21] of the battery cell such that they are not in direct contact (see annotated figure below).
Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._,_, 82 USPQ2cl 1385, 1395 - 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form such integrated structure for the exhaust system before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Jiang discloses that such configuration can improve efficiency and stability of the assembled structure.
Regarding Claim 15, Zhang teaches that the battery module is configured to provide electrical energy for an electric apparatus (paragraph 2).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752