Attorney Docket Number: P202300459US01
Filling Date: 08/11/2023
Inventor: Cohoes et al
Examiner: Bilkis Jahan
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al (US 2022/0384620 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses a semiconductor device fabrication method (Para. 32), comprising: building first 20N (Para. 42) and second 20P (Para. 42) nanosheet devices (Para. 15); locating a dielectric bar 214 (Para. 19) between the first 20N and second 20P nanosheet devices; forming, in the first nanosheet device 20N, a first work function metal (WFM) 230 (Para. 32); and forming, in the second nanosheet device 20P, a second WFM 234 (Para. 38) that extends across the dielectric bar 214 and the first WFM 230.
Regarding claim 2, Huang discloses the semiconductor device fabrication method according to claim 1, wherein: one of the first and second nanosheet devices comprises an n-doped field effect transistor (NFET) device 20N (Para. 42), and the other of the first and second nanosheet devices comprises a p-doped field effect transistor (PFET) device 20P (Para. 42).
Regarding claim 8, Huang discloses a semiconductor device (Fig. 32), comprising: a first nanosheet device 20N comprising a first work function metal (WFM) 230; a second nanosheet device 20P; and a dielectric bar 214 located between the first 20N and second 20P nanosheet devices, the second nanosheet device 20P comprising a second WFM 234 that extends across the dielectric bar 214 and the first WFM 230.
Regarding claim 9, Huang discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 8, wherein: one of the first 20N and second nanosheet devices comprises an n-doped field effect transistor (NFET) device (Para. 42), and the other of the first and second nanosheet devices comprises a p-doped field effect transistor (PFET) device 20P (Para. 42).
Regarding claim 10, Huang discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 8, further comprising a conformal dielectric liner 212 (Para. 43) defining an interior space in which the dielectric bar 214 is disposed.
Regarding claim 11, Huang discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 10, wherein the dielectric bar 214 comprises a second dielectric material different from the conformal dielectric liner (Fig. 27, Para. 19).
Regarding claim 16, Huang discloses a semiconductor device (Fig. 32), comprising: a p-doped field effect transistor (PFET) device 20P comprising a first work function metal (WFM) 234; an n-doped field effect transistor (NFET) device 20N; and a dielectric bar 214 located between the PFET 20P and NFET 20N devices, the NFET device 20N comprising a second WFM 230 that extends across the dielectric bar 214 and the first WFM 234.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 12-15, 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
BILKIS . JAHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2817
/BILKIS JAHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817