DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication to Yu 2021/0088723US in view US Patent Application Publication to Peterson 2015/0037044US and further in view US Patent Application Publication to Chang 2021/0096310US.
In terms of claim 1, Yu teaches a package (Figure 11) comprising: a routing structure (Figure 11: 108) comprising a first waveguide (Figure 11: 104; [0017]) and a photonic device (Figure 11: 106b or 100c; [0017]); an electronic die (Figure 11: 122 and [0037]) is bonded to the routing structure (Figure 8: die 122 is bonded to segment 120 which is bonded to 108 which is considered as routing structure), wherein the electronic die (Figure 11: 122) is electrically connected to the photonic device (Figure 11: 122 is connected to 106b or 106c via elements 114); and an optical coupling structure (Figure 11: portion of 126 on right which couples light from 150 to 106a) bonded to the routing structure (Figure 8: 126 is bonded to 120 which is bonded 108) adjacent the electronic die (Figure 11: 126 is adjacent 122).
Yu does not teach wherein the optical coupling structure comprises a first lens in a first side of a substrate.
Peterson does teach wherein the optical coupling structure (Figure 8: 801 and 811) comprises a first lens (either lens 807 or lens 813) in a first side of a substrate (Figure 8: 803). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical coupling structure of 126 from Yu to have the configuration as shown in Figure 8 of Peterson which includes a connector prism / lens and a second lens 803 to focus the light pattern in order to optimize the light coupling onto the photonic die that makes up 803 ([0063]). This modification allows for light to be coupled in an efficient manner which increases the optical transmission of the device.
Yu / Peterson does not teach an encapsulant surround both the electronic die and the optical structures, the encapsulant being a different material from the optical coupling structure.
Chang does an encapsulant (Figure 6b: 120 or 140 or 200a or any of the combination of epoxy resin 120 [0034] / layer 140 is similar to epoxy 120 [0090] / 220 is also made from epoxy [0080]) surround both the electronic die (Figure 6b: ED is surrounded by 120/140/220) and the optical structures (Figure 9: within PD at element 1111; [0075]), the encapsulant being a different material from the optical coupling structures (120 is made using epoxy [0034], 140 is made from epoxy [0090], 220 can be made from epoxy [0080], and coupler 1111 is made from semiconductor materials [0075]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the materials of the encapsulant of which is oriented by surround the electronic die and the optical coupling structures to be made from epoxy in order to easily encapsulant the structures while providing protections to environment exposure ([0080-0090]). The selection of materials being different is functional to the operation of the device wherein semiconductor device such as silicon is well known material for producing low-cost couplers. Epoxy is also well-known materials that is easily molded for over-molding applications due to ability to deform and encapsulate.
As for Claim 2, Yu / Peterson / Chang teaches the device of claim 1, wherein Yu teaches the routing structure (108) further comprises a grating coupler (Figure 11: 106a) optically coupled to the first waveguide (Figure 5: 106a is coupled to 104). As indicated in rejection of claim 1, the lens once modified onto the device of Yu will be at the location of element 126, wherein the location of 126 is shown to be aligned with grating coupler 106a (See Figure 11: 106a and 126).
As for Claim 3, Yu / Peterson / Chang teaches the device of claim 1, wherein Yu teaches wherein top surfaces of the electronic die (Figure 11: 122) and the optical coupling structure are level (Figure 11: 122 and 126 are level via their top surfaces).
As for Claim 4, Yu / Peterson / Chang teaches the device of claim 1, wherein Yu teaches wherein the optical coupling structure is laterally separated from the electronic die by an encapsulant (Figure 11: 126 is separated laterally from the far-left side die 122 by a gap which is filled with a dielectric material similar to same material that makes up element 126 portion on the right side [0033]).
As for Claim 5, Yu / Peterson / Chang teaches the device of claim 1, wherein Yu teaches having an optical coupling structure (126).
Yu does not teach wherein the coupling structure comprises an edge coupler and a mirror, wherein the mirror is configured to direct light into the edge coupler.
Peterson does teach wherein the coupling structure (Figure 8:801/811 as shown below) comprises an edge coupler (Figure 8: edge coupler 811 functions as coupler designed to be an edge of photonic die 803) and a mirror (Figure 8: 805 provides reflective capability. Thus, it can be considered as a mirror [Peterson’s 0063]), wherein the mirror (805) is configured to direct light into the edge coupler (811). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical coupling structure of 126 from Yu to have the configuration as shown in Figure 8 of Peterson which includes all the components in 801 and 811 to form the optical coupling structure and edge coupler. This modification allows for light to be coupled in an efficient manner which increases the optical transmission of the device
As for Claim 6, Yu / Peterson / Chang teaches the device of claim 1, wherein Yu teaches a second waveguide (Figure 11: 150) is coupled to the first waveguide (104).
Yu does not teach the optical coupling structure comprises a second waveguide.
Peterson does teach wherein the coupling structure (Figure 8: 801/811) comprises a second waveguide (Figure 8: 809 within 801). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical coupling structure of 126 from Yu to have the configuration as shown in Figure 8 of Peterson which includes a second waveguide within the optical coupling structure 801/811. This allows the second waveguide of 150 in Yu to have control alignment due to ferrule channel of 801. The control orientation of waveguide 150 will produce better optical coupling between the second waveguide 150 and the grating 106a.
As for Claim 7, Yu / Peterson / Chang teaches the device of claim 6, wherein Yu teaches wherein the second waveguide (150) overlies the first waveguide (104) and is evanescently coupled to the first waveguide (Figure 11: see arrow lines which indicates light exits 150 then is coupled to 106a via 106 medium which is similar to applicant’s example of Figure 10).
As for Claim 8, Yu / Peterson / Chang teaches the device of claim 1.
Yu does not teach the optical coupling structure further comprises a second lens in a second side of the substrate that is opposite the first side.
Peterson does teach wherein the optical coupling structure (801/811) further comprises a second lens (813) in a second side of the substrate that is opposite the first side (side of the substrate 801 at the location of 813). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical coupling structure of 126 from Yu to have the configuration as shown in Figure 8 of Peterson which includes a connector prism / lens and a second lens 803 to focus the light pattern in order to optimize the light coupling onto the photonic die that makes up 803 ([0063]).
Claims 9, 10, 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication to Yu 2021/0088723US in view US Patent Application Publication to Chang 2021/0096310US.
In terms of Claim 9, Yu teaches a package (Figure 25) comprising: an interposer (Figure 25: 600 bottom layer functions as interposer between waveguides 604 and 104; see waveguide within 500 below) comprising a plurality of conductive lines (Figure 23: 612 bonded to 502) and a plurality of first waveguides (Figure 25: 604); an optical engine (Figure 25: 500) bonded to the interposer (Figure 25: 500 is bonded to 600 via 412), wherein the optical engine (Figure 25: 500) comprises a first electronic die (Figure 25: 122) and a plurality of second waveguides (Figure 25: see waveguides within 500 below), wherein at least one second waveguide is optically coupled to a respective first waveguide (Figure 25: 604 is coupled to waveguides in 500 via optical structure and 106a); and an optical coupling structure bonded (Figure 25: see “optical coupling structure”) to the interposer (600) adjacent the optical engine (500), wherein the optical coupling structure (see “optical coupling structure”) comprises a first edge coupler (Figure 11: 126 or area label as “optical coupling structure” can function as an edge coupler because it is capable of coupling light the edge corner of 500) that is optically coupled to a first waveguide (604) of the interposer (600).
Yu does not teach an encapsulant surround both the electronic die and the optical structures, the encapsulant being a different material from the optical coupling structure.
Chang does an encapsulant (Figure 6b: 120 or 140 or 200a or any of the combination of epoxy resin 120 [0034]/ layer 140 is similar to epoxy 120 [0090] /220 is also made from epoxy [0080]) surround both the device die (Figure 6b: ED or PD or both is surrounded by 120/140/220) and the optical structures (Figure 9: within PD at element 1111; [0075]), the encapsulant being a different material from the optical coupling structures (120 is made using epoxy [0034], 140 is made from epoxy [0090], 220 can be made from epoxy [0080], and coupler 1111 is made from semiconductor materials [0075]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the materials of the encapsulant of which is oriented by surround the electronic die and the optical coupling structures to be made from epoxy in order to easily encapsulant the structures while providing protections to environment exposure ([0080-0090]). The selection of materials being different is functional to the operation of the device wherein semiconductor device such as silicon is well known material for producing low-cost couplers. Epoxy is also well-known materials that is easily molded for over-molding applications due to ability to deform and encapsulate.
As for Claim 10, Yu / Chang teach the device of claim 9, wherein Yu teaches the first edge coupler (Figure 11: 126 which is the same structure as “optical coupling structure” in Figure 25 above) is configured to receive light from an optical fiber (Figure 25: 150 via gratings 106a and transmit to 606) attached to a sidewall of the optical coupling structure ([0037] wherein fiber can be attached to dielectric area 126 using glue; Figure 25: shows the fiber 150 is located to the side thus same process can be used to attach the fiber to side of 126).
As for Claim 13, Yu / Chang teaches the device of claim 9, wherein Yu teaches the optical engine (500) and the optical coupling structure (126 or “optical coupling structure” above) are bonded to the interposer (600) using dielectric-to-dielectric bonding (Paragraph [0064] teaches that both 500 and 600 are made of oxide materials which are known dielectrics; wherein the 600 and 500 are bonded together using 412 for dielectric-to-dielectric bonding).
As for Claim 14, Yu / Chang teaches the device of claim 9, further comprising a second electronic die (Figure 25: contains 2 electric dies 122 in 500) bonded to the interposer (Figure 25: 122 is bonded to 600 via 412).
As for Claim 15, Yu / Chang teaches the device of claim 9, Yu further teaches comprising a heat dissipation structure attached to the optical engine (Figure 25: contains heat dissipation structures 610; [0063]).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu / Chang as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication to Chen 2020/0124798US.
In regards to claims 11 and 12, Yu / Chang teaches the package of claim 9.
Yu does not teach wherein the optical coupling structure comprises a first mirror adjacent the first edge coupler, wherein the mirror is configured to receive light from above and redirect it into the first edge coupler; wherein the optical coupling structure further comprises a second mirror and a second edge coupler, wherein the second mirror is configured to receive light from the second edge coupler and redirect it into the first mirror.
Chen does teach wherein the optical coupling structure (Figure 4e: C and E2) comprises a first mirror (Figure 4e: M1) adjacent the first edge coupler (M1 is adjacent internal sidewall of edge coupler E1), wherein the mirror (m1) is configured to receive light from above (M1 receives light from MM) and redirect it into the first edge coupler (light from MM is redirected to M1); wherein the optical coupling structure further comprises a second mirror (MM) and a second edge coupler ( C ), wherein the second mirror (MM) is configured to receive light from the second edge coupler (C via OF) and redirect it into the first mirror (M1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coupling structure 126 to include two edge coupling housings, and having two mirrors to allows the fiber rest on the top surface in a horizontal manner. This allows the fiber to rest horizontally while in coupling position instead of staying in a vertical manner-like position as shown in Figure 11 of Yu.
The modification will produce 2 benefits to the device:
1) to produce a small form factor in the vertical direction making the device more compact in the vertical direction; and
2) to prevent fiber bending from the fiber as it rests in a vertical manner. Vertical oriented fiber may bend downward, and put undue strain on the fiber which will result in excessive bending loss.
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication to Yu 2021/0088723US in view US Patent Application Publication to Peterson 2015/0037044US.
In terms of Claims 16 and 17, Yu teaches the method comprising: forming a waveguide (Figure 11: 104), a photonic component (Figure 11: 106b-c), and a grating coupler (Figure 11: 106a) on a substrate (Figure 11: 108 or layer 102b-c), wherein the photonic component (106b-c) and the grating coupler (106a) are optically coupled to the waveguide (Figure 11: 106a-c and 104; [0017]); forming a redistribution structure (Figure 8: 120 functions as a redistribution layer because it redistribute different electrical connections to different components via 114/116/124) over the waveguide (104), the photonic component (106b-c), and the grating (106a), wherein the redistribution structure (120) is electrically coupled to the photonic component (114 and 106b-c); bonding an electronic die (122) to the redistribution structure (Figure 8: 120 and 122), wherein the electronic die (122) is electrically coupled to the redistribution structure (122 and 120 via 124 and 116); forming a dummy die separately from the redistribution structure (Figure 7 and Figure 8: 126 is formed to be separate from 120; [0033] using gap fill materials hence it must be preform and separate from 120); after forming the dummy die; placing a dummy die on the redistribution structure (Figure 8: 126 on 120); wherein placing the dummy die (126) comprises aligning the fiber to the grating coupler (Figure 11: 150 and 106a); and bonding the dummy die to the redistribution structure (Figure 6: 120 and 126).
Yu does not teach, wherein the dummy die comprises a lens, wherein placing the dummy die comprises aligning the lens to the photonic die and other component.
Peterson does teach wherein the dummy die (Figure 8: 801 and 811) comprises a lens (within 801 or 811 at 807 or 805), wherein placing the dummy die comprises aligning the lens to the photonic die and other component (See Figure 8: below). The resulting product will produce a device wherein the optical fiber 150 of Yu is coupled to the grating coupler 106a via through the lens (as modified by Peterson). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dummy die structure of 126 from Yu to have the configuration as shown in Figure 8 of Peterson which includes a connector prism / lens and a second lens 803 to focus the light pattern in order to optimize the light coupling onto the photonic die 803 ([0063]).
As for Claim 18, Yu / Peterson teaches the device of claim 17, wherein Yu teaches wherein the optical fiber (Figure 11: 150) is attached to a top surface of the dummy die (126 via glue; [0037]) and directs light into the top surface (Figure 11: 150 and 126).
As for Claim 19, Yu / Peterson teaches the device of claim 17, wherein Yu teaches wherein the optical fiber (150) is attached to a sidewall surface of the dummy die (126) and directs light into the sidewall surface (See Figure 15: wherein 150 is attached on the side of area 126 as shown in Figure 11).
As for Claim 20, Yu / Peterson teaches the device of claim 1, wherein Yu teaches further comprising attaching the redistribution structure to a package substrate (Figure 15: 302 see redistribution routing structures in 302; [0041]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Newly amended limitations have been rejected in view of the newly cited prior art to Chang as detailed above.
Applicant's arguments filed 1/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In this instant, the applicant have amended claim 16 to include the limitations of “forming a dummy die separately from the redistribution structure; after forming the dummy die; placing a dummy die on the redistribution structure” (Remarks Page 13).
However, upon further review the examiner does not think this amendment to claim 16 overcomes the prior art of record to Yu.
Yu teaches forming a dummy die separately from the redistribution structure (Figure 7 and Figure 8: 126 is formed to be separate from 120; [0033] using gap fill materials hence it must be performed and separate from 120); after forming the dummy die; placing a dummy die on the redistribution structure (Figure 8: 126 on 120).
Thus, the newly amended limitations to Claim 16 is still rejectable over the prior art of Yu.
This action is therefore made FINAL for the reason(s) detailed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOANG Q TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/UYEN CHAU N LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874